HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Oaxaca hostels

Reviews of Hostel Don Nino

Hostel | Pino Suarez 804 Col.Centro, Oaxaca, Mexico 68000

92.6% Overall Rating

171 out of 176 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

"One of the best hostels I've stayed in yet! Free filtered water, shampoo, soap etc and really friendly staff. The breakfast is in their restaurant so different everyday."

Read all Hostel Don Nino reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Oaxaca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Oaxaca

La Unidad Hostal
11.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Principal
16.55 USD

Hotel 87.7% 44 reviews
Hotel Bia´na Rari
20.04 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Casa Angel Youth Hostel
12.40 USD

Hostel 95.0% 153 reviews
Cielo Rojo Hostel
9.65 USD

Hostel 88.9% 40 reviews
Aitana Hotel
26.35 USD

Hotel 4 star 90.8% 9 reviews
Casa Gigi B&B
17.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.9% 38 reviews
Casa de Don Pablo Hostel
11.51 USD

Hostel 79.2% 126 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

171 out of 176 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Don Nino'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
94.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 154 of 171 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in yet! Free filtered water, shampoo, soap etc and really friendly staff. The breakfast is in their restaurant so different everyday.

Disliked: Nothing! It's not right in the zocalo, but that's a good thing! It's not too noisy and it's opposite a beautiful park. Only about a 15min walk to the zocalo. I'd say it's location is perfect!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a beautiful hostel and I extended my stay because the hostel was amazing and the breakfast was good. The staff is helpful and it is about 10-15m. walk from the zocolo. The travelers I met were great as well, but there were not much people there when I was staying.

Disliked: It was really quiet, which can be a good and a bad thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mark Speedy

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 May 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Modern and very clean in a good location with a park across the road. Helpful staff and good security

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Curley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 May 2014 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: It´s difficult to rember a time when I´ve stayed at a hostel so clean. from 8am until 6 there is a team of 3 who are constantly polishing and wiping. Even your beds are made every morning?! The nighguard working is a gem of a guy and nothing is too much trouble. I arrived late and he couldn´t have given me a warmer welcome, which continued throughout my stay. The services on offer are top class.... 3 seperate TV areas, 2 computer areas, a super clean rooftop kitchen with seating area... The owners clearly take the business very seriously and it shows. I was lucky to have had an 8 bed dorm to myself throughout my stay, however, there clearly was plenty of space to accommodate a full house. Lockers and shelves were also in the room.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean facilities and a good atmosphere

Disliked: The breakfast was included to the price, but who didn't like the daily offer was stuck with toast and two sorts of cereal.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Meredythe

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 March 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: The outdoor kitchen terrace

Disliked: The dorms are hot! Wifi didn't always work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was clean, the staff was very friendly, a lot of Traveller were there!

Disliked: Everything was fine!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

anja prellberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 anja would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: anja left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good location, good layout to meet other people, staff is super helpful and friendly, breakfast was good. The rooms are big so even if you're in a room with 8 people it doesn't feel crowded.

Disliked: Personal preference here but I would prefer private bathrooms instead of shower stalls. Also the hostel has to be very quiet after 10PM, the rooftop patio and kitchen close at 9:30PM. I like quiet hostels but this is a little too much. No party for New Years Eve, I went to another hostel for their party. Not that many food options in the evening close by.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities, showers. Very helpful, English speaking staff, easy to meet travelers, great breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing! One if the best hostels I've stayed at!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thorsten Willer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2013 Thorsten would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean (even your bed is made) and helpful staff. Allhough it is a 15 minute walk from the hostel to the Zocalo you get a very nice walk through the city and many of its attractions.

Disliked: The hostel is very quite (in a bad way) and not very good for socialising and meeting other travellers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hostel is in the historic center, so it's safe and close to all the important sights. Everything was clean and the room was spacious.

Disliked: The bed could have been more comfortable, but it's only a minor thing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sergey Plakhov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Sergey would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean

Disliked: Bathrooms downstairs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful staff, we helped build an alter for day of the dead and they explained the whole process to us

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Marie-Dominique Mesange

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2013 Marie-Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a mixed dorm for 2 nights. There were only 1 person the 1st night then 2 more on my 2nd night. We had a key each and access to a locker. Beds were made every day. Ladies showers were clean and there were free shampoo and shower gel. Hot water all day. Breakfast provided, all fine. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Showers were on the bottom floor, dorm upstairs. Slightly annoying but not a big deal. Hostal 15mn away from centre. Expensive laundry service

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris holmes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 chris would recommend this property

Liked: after researching all my choices this stood out as the best and not just for the price but its ammenities.id highly recommend this hostal to any of my friends and when in oaxaca this will be the place i want to stay

Disliked: that i had to leave

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and you get given a towel at no extra cost, free water, toiletries provided in the shower. Each bed in the dorms comes with an individual lamp and a large locker.

Disliked: It's a nice place to stay but not exactly "fun"...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neven Brezac

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013 Neven would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is nice, rooms are big and clean, it ofers good breakfast. The guy who works there during the day speaks the best english in Mexico. :) The rooms have some additional things that you do not get in other accomodation like iron, hair fan, free water...

Disliked: Nothing specially.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Good tv rooms. Was I'll during stay and hostel was good place to recover.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Simon Spath

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2013 Patrick Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, architecture, staff, spacious rooms, so pretty much everything.

Disliked: The official rules are a little strict ("if you do not leave the hostel after 12pm, you have to pay extra", however, these seem to be bendable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fernando Bernal

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2013 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Movies to choose.

Disliked: Fernando left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arielle Christian

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Arielle would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, beautiful, great staff

Disliked: Quiet!?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever stayed in. Fabulous!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antje Weisgerber-Johannes

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Antje would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, friendly staff, excellent common rooms to meet other travellers from all over the world, one of the best hostels we had in Mexico

Disliked: We did not have any bad experiences!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronica Augusto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel in Mexico. It is very clean and the staff are really helpful with anything you need.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Oaxaca hostels