HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Oaxaca hostels

Reviews of Hostel Don Nino

Hostel | Pino Suarez 804 Col.Centro, Oaxaca, Mexico 68000

93.1% Overall Rating

165 out of 170 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

"Everything was clean, the staff was very friendly, a lot of Traveller were there!"

Read all Hostel Don Nino reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Oaxaca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Oaxaca

La Unidad Hostal
11.48 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Principal
17.07 USD

Hotel 87.9% 42 reviews
Casa Angel Youth Hostel
12.78 USD

Hostel 94.6% 136 reviews
Cielo Rojo Hostel
9.95 USD

Hostel 89.3% 32 reviews
Aitana Hotel
36.36 USD

Hotel 4 star 90.8% 9 reviews
Casa Gigi B&B
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 37 reviews
Casa de Don Pablo Hostel
11.87 USD

Hostel 82.6% 123 reviews
Nizadú Hostel
12.25 USD

Hostel 85.7% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.1%

Overall Rating

165 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Don Nino'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 149 of 165 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Sugden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: You get a lot for the same price as a basic hostel. It's recently renovated and very clean. You get breakfast in the cafe included in the price, which is a different Mexican dish each day (or toast), and after today's I'm not gonna need any lunch. Staff are nice, beer is cheap, beds are comfortable.

Disliked: The coffee is weak! That's all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elena Neibaur

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: Very low key hostel. Was located within walking distance to the center and close to a nice park. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Coffee that was included in the morning was weak, but that's about it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Edmonds

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here twice now and both times it has been a really good experience. The place is very clean and smart for a hostel. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Its only a couple of blocks from the Santa Domingo. I will be going back again when my parents come to visit.

Disliked: There´s not a whole lot of atmosphere but it´s a nice place to relax.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

25 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is very clean and secure, I met a lot of fun new people. The staff is very nice polite and helpful. Installations are super nice and complete. Location is awesome, a five minute walk to the first class bus station. Breakfats is also very complete and very good.

Disliked: Nothing everything is perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like it

Disliked: NOT FOUND OUT YET

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The outdoor spaces Free water!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the stay in Don Nino. The staffs were very helpful. The atmosphere is very good there and makes you very comfortable during the stay.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Wicks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean rooms (the staff makes your bed each day!), good bath facilities,

Disliked: The hostel is about a 10-15 minute walk from the center. This was never a serious problem though - just a slight inconvenience if/when I wanted to walk back to the room during the day. The route back isn't problematic. The internet in the hostel could use a little work - it kicks you off every so often, especially when traffic is high at the hostel. Again, not a dealbreaker at all, just a minor inconvenience at times.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super freundliches Personal, saubere Zimmer und Bäder, tolles Ambiente. Riesiege Sitzecke mit Flachbildfernsehern und einer großen Filmauswahl.

Disliked: Das Internet war nicht stabil, aber das ist ja nicht der Grund, warum man verreist

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katrina Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2012 Katrina would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a 10 bed dorm but were the only ones staying in it! The wifi was strong it was super clean. The beds were soooooo comfortable. The staff were so helpful and gave us free shots of Mezcal! We ate at the restaurant which was nice!

Disliked: the breakfast was a bit much for me, tortilla chips in a spicy tomato broth. I was craving cereal and fruit but no biggie we are in mexico!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean at all time. Staff are super friendly, helpful and professional. Facilities are great: spic and span. It's opposite a park, very short walk to the ADO bus station, and 15 minute stroll into town. Great included breakfast; again staff are super!

Disliked: no complaints

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHULIANG QIAN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2012 SHULIANG would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a 8-beds female room but we ended up living that room just me and my friend all the time due to the season probably. Well-facilitated hostel, it almost has eveything. The staff even offered us a courtesy which was homemade alcohol. Pretty cool actually. 2 blocks from the ADO terminal. We arrived 6 am after a 12-hours night bus so the location really helped a lot. The hostel even provides shampoo, conditioner in the shower. :)

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near to main attractions and easy walk from bus station. Clean, quiet, good wifi, helpful staff.

Disliked: Another option from corn chips/bread for breakfast would have been nice, also very quiet = no real atmosphere. Given it is off season can't really fault them...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Carla Mota

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent hostel

Disliked: A little bit pricer...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shahla saurin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 shahla would recommend this property

Liked: The showers were amazing!!!!!!!!! Like a hotel at hostel prices! Lovely staff! A really enjoyable stay in a lovely city.....wish I had more time!

Disliked: shahla left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was better then I expected. The place is neat, tidy and the staff are super friendly and helpful. The place is really well maintained and there is a restaurant and bar connected with the hostel.

Disliked: I found that it really didn't have a youthful feel to the place the other patrons seemed to be alot older and quite tame, not a massive issue however. The tour company that they are affiliated with are a little bit of a rip off and don't make the tours very personal, they don't seem to enjoy it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An extremely comfortable, spacious hostel, with multiple lounges and a breezy rooftop terrace. Free shots of mezcal every evening, and an extensive library of movies to watch. The staff is very warm and friendly, and rooms are cleaned/beds made every day. Best of all in smoggy Oaxaca, it's at the edge of the town's biggest park!

Disliked: No big complaints. I don't think any of the dorm rooms have windows looking outside--they look out onto a sort of atrium, so there's no waking up to sunbeams; that's the only flaw I can think of.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Celina Büttgen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2012 Celina would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed one night in the hostel but we really enjoyed it. The beds are so comfy and everything is really clean. After we checked out we could leave our luggage the whole day in the luggage room. Also the breakfast is good, served individually in the little bar and you can select between two menus.

Disliked: The staff was not extraordinary friendly but nice and the bathrooms and toilets have open swing-doors to the common area which gives you not so much privacy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's probably the best hostel in which I've stayed in, modern, comfortable, complete. For instance, there are wi-fi, but also 4 or 6 pc for public use, nice common areas, tV and videos, the place for breakfast looks as a restaurant -I think it is, but just till midday-. Dorms have selves and lockers. Showers have shampoo, acondt, and body gel shower. They took care of my dirty clothes for a convenient money.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Troels Larsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Troels would recommend this property

Liked: Nice placement with a very helpfull staff

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Morris Puegner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2012 Morris would recommend this property

Liked: It`s a very nice Hostel with lots of common areas, a rooftop terrace, many computers to use, good WiFi, lots of warm showers and spacious dorms.

Disliked: It`s a bit away from the center, 15 - 20 min walk to Zocalo. And it`s a shame that not a lot of people were there when I stayed ...but that may have to do with the date right after the Easter holidays.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Practically everything.

Disliked: Almost nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!!! Sooooooooooooo clean! Little extras such as shampoo and body wash in the showers and a hairdryer for the girls. Lovely roof top terrace.

Disliked: Breakfast is individualy served so can take a while. One of the staff in the morning gave us completly the wrong information which lead us to get lost.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay, friendly staff, comfortable beds, all the services and more. Great terrace, kitchen facilities, tv and movies, delicious breakfasts. Also a very good location near the ADO bus and about 10mins walk to the zocalo.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice breakfast, great bathrooms.

Disliked: Can get crowded.


See all Oaxaca hostels