We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Oaxaca hostels

Reviews of Hostal del Mercado * Youth Hostel

Hostel | Aldama 307 Col. Centro , Oaxaca, Mexico 68000

74.4% Overall Rating

28 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/01/2013)

cheryl claassen thinks…

"this location is an easy walk to the zocalo or to the periferico. the students I have brought here 3 times really enjoy the common room (and pool table) and the rooftop. breakfasts were very…"

Read all Hostal del Mercado * Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.48

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Oaxaca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Oaxaca

El Quijote
14.85 USD

Hostel 92.2% 28 reviews
Nizadú Hostel
11.88 USD

Hostel 85.7% 27 reviews
Paulina Youth Hostel
14.44 USD

Hostel 88.8% 38 reviews
Casa de Don Pablo Hostel
11.51 USD

Hostel 79.2% 126 reviews
Aitana Hotel
26.35 USD

Hotel 4 star 90.8% 9 reviews
Cielo Rojo Hostel
10.39 USD

Hostel 89.0% 39 reviews
Azul Cielo Hostel
10.39 USD

Hostel 94.8% 6 reviews
Casa Angel Youth Hostel
12.40 USD

Hostel 95.0% 153 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.4%

Overall Rating

28 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal del Mercado * Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
70.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cheryl claassen

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: this location is an easy walk to the zocalo or to the periferico. the students I have brought here 3 times really enjoy the common room (and pool table) and the rooftop. breakfasts were very generous--pancakes and eggs and juice and coffee two mornings. for a private room the best is #6, most quiet location.

Disliked: drawback is low water pressure and having to straddle the toilet to shower--but ask to have the pump turned on for good pressure.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012

Liked: Stayed here for four nights over the Day of the Dead celebrations. This hostel has a good location and a good common space. The people staying here made it fun.

Disliked: I don't normally write reviews, but one is needed here. Where to start... this could be a great hostel. However, the staff need to be more involved with the guests. They are never around when you need them for something. I would have expected them to organise more outings for day of the dead, or at least stick up a poster with the events listed. We had to find all that out ourselves. The breakfast was good one day then was horrible the other days. Hot dog meat, really? Also this morning one of the staff or their friends was smoking in the kitchen while they were making breakfast. With a bit of work the roof terrace could be awesome but it lacks atmosphere. We booked a four bed dorm which is actually a 10 bed dorm, and actually my bed was the worst bed, right next to the bathroom where the door didn't close properly and next to a window with light coming through. The hostel is meant to be manned 24 hours but some guests were buzzing and nobody answered so they had to climb up over the balcony which was quite risky. One of the staff gave my friend a key to another girl's locker when actually she was asking for a locker, then he told her there were no spare lockers for her. This hostel needs someone who has actually travelled and understands what backpackers want to take it over and turn it into something great. It is a great space, and it is such a waste.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 September 2012

Liked: It was clean and had lots of locked storage space; the breakfast eating area is nice. The room had a ceiling fan, which was the only redeeming factor for how hot it was in the room. It was surprisingly quiet and we slept without being awakened by outside noise.

Disliked: The beds were not very comfortable; the girls' room and guys' room was only separated by a folding partition so there wasn't much privacy. The room locked from the inside, but we didn't have a key and there was also a door on the guys' side of the room. The room was really hot- there was no way to open a window or get any ventilation without leaving the door open.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Joseph Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012

Liked: Pool table, lounge area, roof top area and balcony, location

Disliked: Brown water, toilets not working (had to "flush" manually by pouring a bucket of water through the cistern, small room with no ventilation, loud industrial noise at night kept us awake.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris woodall

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 November 2011 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was very nice - very friendly staff, very clean and a very, very nice atmosphere. it was directly in the center, with easy access to everything.

Disliked: just the fact that some things were different than announced, although it still was very good!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is just perfect, and atmosphere is nice and quiet.

Disliked: Bathroom facilities are a bit poor.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sven Henderickx

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2011 Sven would recommend this property

Liked: All of it

Disliked: no bathroom at our room and the staff don't speak english.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2011

Liked: It is located next to the zocale

Disliked: NO one in this hostel was able to speak English, what is very poor for a hostel. They did not provide any services. The entrance door is secured by a acustic signal, but very often it needs lot of time until anyone from the staff reacts. Therefore nearly everyone could enter the hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2011

Liked: Breakfast! Location!

Disliked: Rooms! Cucaracha in the room! Stuff was not that friendly!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Wendy Hodge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: Big breakfast, the rooms were clean.

Disliked: Combined shower/toilet (and there were only 4 as far as I could tell, not 6 as it says on hostelbookers). There were multiple doors leading into our private room and they only had push button locks - one door locked from inside a dorm next door.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is amazing and the sunny roof terrace is great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. You could walk to mostly anything you wanted to see in Oaxaca. The family that runs the place is very sweet and has a good sense of humor. Great breakfast, almost so much that you don't need to eat again until dinner.

Disliked: Showers were not always hot, not the biggest deal for me because they were not unbearably cold, but some people may not like this. Other than that very minor detail I could not complain about my stay.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Tobias Sterling

22 June 2010

Liked: The breakfasts are great, and it's nice to be served it as opposed to getting it yourself.

Disliked: Tobias left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Beard

15 April 2010 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed my two days here! Great location only a couple of blocks from the zocalo and close to the big market. Also very close to the bus station to Puerto escondido and to get the bus to Monte Alban. The breakfast is very basic and hit and miss. They have a great room with a terrace and also cable TV and pool table (20 pesos per hour). The only negative is the extremely surly staff - two older woman - who seemed to find everything an inconvenience. Try not to let them bother you.

Disliked: Allan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What is special about this hostel is that the toilets are INSIDE the shower cabins ! But really, you get used to it. The breakfast is great, with pancakes, a bowl of fruit, scrambled eggs, pine apple juice, coffee. Individual lockers inside each bedroom.Access to the top of the roof for a relax moment.You'd better speak Spanish if you want to communicate with the staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

29 December 2009

Liked: we stayed in a private room. they didn`t have key to the door and not even to the lockers. they just said that you can keep your valuables under the matres. they don`t speak english allmost at all and you have to know to ask hot water and you get hot like under 5 minutes. toilets are terrible. only good thing was breakfast and the loctions. you can find better places and cheaper price hostels from the same area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and spacious, with fantastic kitchen and communal facilties. Great location amongst the markets.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, couldn`t really get any better. Very clean, staff ultra helpful and very nice and freindly. Breakfast is great and goes on till quite late in the morning...very helpful. We stayed in the cheapest dorm, which was very spacious and airy. I would definately reconmend staying here. Also it has a lovely roof terrace, TV room and lounge.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice very centric hostel, big kitchen, good breakfast served...the staff just did their basic hostel work, so they gave us keys from our rooms, but no additional advices or information about the city... the shower is placed above a toilette, so having a shower is a very horrible experience

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ellen O COnnor

22 October 2009 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: it had a great breakfast and a common rrom with a pool table and TV. The internet was a WiFi connection only but there is an internet and laundry literally next door. They claim to have orthapedic matresses which was a big factor in my choice, but the bed i had was definately not orthapedic!!!

Disliked: Ellen left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

02 September 2009

Liked: great terrace

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 August 2009

Liked: If you do not rent an ensuite room, you will find a shared shower inside the toilet (?????)... take care if you seat down on the WC, maybe you get wet at the same time. My room specially was a little noisy, there was a hole above the window communicating to the contiguous room (big part of the night listening to other people's conversations).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Oaxaca hostels