We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Oaxaca hostels

Reviews of Casa Gigi B&B

Guesthouse | Las Rosas Street, 518, Colonia Reforma, Oaxaca, Mexico 68050

90.7% Overall Rating

39 out of 39 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/11/2014)

"Casa Gigi is a very nice place to stay in Oaxaca if you are looking for a calm and quiet place. It is a little bit far from the city center, but if that doesn´t matter to you, then I recommend it 100%"

Read all Casa Gigi B&B reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Check out 11am Call B&B to arrange time of arrival, please.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Oaxaca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Oaxaca

La Unidad Hostal
14.85 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Don Nino
12.47 USD

Hostel 92.6% 176 reviews
Hotel Principal
16.55 USD

Hotel 87.7% 44 reviews
Casa Angel Youth Hostel
13.21 USD

Hostel 94.5% 154 reviews
Aitana Hotel
38.97 USD

Hotel 4 star 90.8% 9 reviews
La Villada Inn
14.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.3% 101 reviews
Cielo Rojo Hostel
10.39 USD

Hostel 88.9% 40 reviews
Nizadú Hostel
11.88 USD

Hostel 85.7% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

39 out of 39 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Gigi B&B'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 35 of 35 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Casa Gigi is a very nice place to stay in Oaxaca if you are looking for a calm and quiet place. It is a little bit far from the city center, but if that doesn´t matter to you, then I recommend it 100%

Disliked: The only negative about the property, is it is a bit from the city center, but for us it worked out fine, as we had a car.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere. Quiet, big garden, private room for hostel price!

Disliked: location. 20min walk from centre.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lynne Zac

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Lynne would recommend this property

Liked: This was probably the best lowcost accommodation I have ever stayed in. The owners are delightful and super helpful. The breakfast was huge, including yoghurt, granola, fresh fruit, toast and fresh brewed coffee, I was even offered eggs. It is spotlessly cleaned by the owners themselves, so no worries about security, and all set in a lovely garden in one of the best suburbs in Oaxaca. It felt like being at home, with my family, and I can't recommend it highly enough.

Disliked: The only very slight negative was the distance from the Zocolo, it was walkable but you need to be fit for both the distance and the incline. However there are buses very close and they cost only 6 pesos.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

george anne hume

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013 george anne would recommend this property

Liked: The place is well maintained and is kept very clean. For me, the best part was the extra care I received when I became sick with dysentery. They were very attentive and brought me tea, toast and later fruit as I became better. They did this a few times a day. When I did not get well following the program for Mexican dysentery I found on google and with no help from immodium and pepto bismal, they advised me on where to go for help. I was seen by an endrocrinologist at Hospital Reforma and he was excellent.

Disliked: This was their off season so there was little to do at night. I wished there was a TV or radio. I was traveling alone and for a time I was the only traveler there. I was able to use my Barnes and Noble Nook so while there was no TV or radio, it was not much of a problem. I would have liked the TV and radio to hear more Spanish spoken to help me recall my vocabulary.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chaley Zachmeier

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Chaley would recommend this property

Liked: We booked this b&b for one night and once we were there decided to stay there for the whole time we were in Oaxaca. Gigi, her husband and mother are all delightful. There is help available in English and Spanish if needed. While it is a 15 minute walk away from the center, it is a very pleasant stroll and it is easy to catch a bus to the center for less than $1US. There are some tasty cheap food options down the street close to the first class bus station. And it is nice and quiet and fresh feeling in that part of the city; just far enough away from the exhaust of the cars and loudness of everything else.

Disliked: There is breakfast provided, but it is continental just fruit, yogurt, toast and coffee. We did get an omelet one morning and some beans another after I asked, but not a lot of protein going on there. Also my boyfriend and I both stayed in a double room and neither of us are very tall. The bed however, was not huge so be ready to get cozy or ask for a room with two twin beds if you can.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful, you feel easily welcome, the rooms were cleaned every due and thoroughly

Disliked: unfortunately, the room we had was very moist and dark, the matresses had a plastic cover which made it uncmfortable due to screechy sounds , etc.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher French

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 August 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the frieendliness of Gigi, her family and staff who made us feel at home.

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gigi was so nice and made us feel really welcome. Our room was lovely and was cleaned and tidied every day, and breakfast was really good - fruit salad, muesli and lots of toast. There's also a nice outdoor area in the garden, which gives the place a really nice feel.

Disliked: It's quite a walk into the centre of town, but you wouldn't have the nice garden area in the centre of town.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Es una casa muy bonita, limpio, comodo, bien hubicado, y una buena relasion entre costo beneficio :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Marshall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Family run. very friendly and helpful

Disliked: A little way out of the centre

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naomi Dickinson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: My stay was fantastic. Gigi is gorgeous and helpful and looked after me like family although she wasn't in any way imposing. Her breakfast is fabulous and amongst the best I've had in 9 months of travel. I've already recommended Casa Gigi to a number of people and should I return I will definitely stay there.

Disliked: My shower was a bit to cold for me.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yanick Delafoge

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011 Yanick would recommend this property

Liked: The garden, the warm hostess.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marilena Panaretou

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Marilena would recommend this property

Liked: Casa Gigi was a lovely place to stay in beautiful surroundings and garden. Signora Gigi was very friendly and a perfect host. The room was spotless and in immaculate condition... the breakfast was the best I have had in Mexico. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone. It is is walking-distance to the center, in a lovely quiet neighbourhood and it was great staying there.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dmitry Minenkov

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2010 Dmitry would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is very nice, the decore of a garden and dining room is in a very beautiful style. Breakfast is excellent. The price is very good.

Disliked: If you get up at 6 a.m. water in shower is not warm enough, but at 7 it is already ok. Sometimes there are problems with internet.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is a really nice lady and she hosts you as if you were a distant relative.

Disliked: The house is located a bit far from the zocalo and the center (but it is still in walking distance). The neigborhood and the walk from the zocalo to the house are very safe.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, quiet part of town, great breakfast, and a very friendly and helpful duena!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Fowler

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2010 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Gigi goes above and beyond to make you feel comfortable. Nice rooms and good breakfast. All in all a happy stay

Disliked: Carl left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abigail McLean

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2010 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is wonderful - so helpful and friendly. Brilliant breakfast (best we've had in 7 months travelling! - caffetiere coffee included). In a nice, quiet area but quite a walk from the centre (this is the only downside). Rooms are spotless, showers reliable, beds comfy, everything brilliant (oh, apart from wifi which does exist but is shaky at best, depending on which room you're in). Very highly recommended. Thanks for a great stay!

Disliked: Abigail left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gi gi who owns this place has limited Englisgh but is friendly and cleads the rooms and leaves jugs of fresh water and the breakfasts are huge

Disliked: Just a bit too far from town centre

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stanislav Kyncl

29 April 2010 Stanislav would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good breakfast, quiet location

Disliked: Stanislav left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Casa GiGi was very clean, good breakfast, owners were very accommodating and friendly. It was not the best location - the walk to town was about a 40 minute walk - there is a bus on the main road but the owner said it was not the best bus to take because it did not go directly to the Plaza.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice and friendly place with a great helpful owner in a beautiful house, serving a good breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patrick McConnell

15 January 2010 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: B+Bis a bit out of town, at least a 30 min walk but buses into town come quite frequently and only cost 2 peso. As it says it is more of a B+B than a hostal. Rooms were lovely, breakfast was great, hostess was very nice but won't have too much info on city if you don't speak spanish. Gardens of the B+B were very nice and the place was very safe.

Disliked: Patrick left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryony Reid

23 September 2009 Bryony would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely perfect. Beautiful house. Tastefully decorated, clean bedroom. Lovely breakfast. Tranquil and relaxing. Nice neighbourhood. Wireless internet in bedroom. Brilliant for a few quiet nights - not for partying!

Disliked: Bryony left no negative feedback.


See all Oaxaca hostels