HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Amigo Zócalo

Hostel | Moneda 8, Mexico City, Mexico 06060

89.1% Overall Rating

11 out of 12 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/03/2014)

Tanya Cottingham thinks…

"This hostel is about as central as it gets yet at night our room was perfectly quiet (and we were on the street side!). Our room was simply but newly furnished and perfectly clean. The staff went out…"

Read all Hostel Amigo Zócalo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.45

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mexico City

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
15.27 USD

Hostel 92.3% 160 reviews
Mexico City Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 95.3% 435 reviews
Hostel Amigo Suites Downtown
10.92 USD

Hostel 89.3% 141 reviews
Downtown Beds
15.27 USD

Hostel 81.0% 12 reviews
Hostel Amigo
8.97 USD

Hostel 84.0% 232 reviews
Hostal Regina
11.15 USD

Hostel 84.8% 39 reviews
Massiosare El Hostal
7.64 USD

Hostel 87.8% 11 reviews
YWCA Centro Historico
11.38 USD

Hostel 83.9% 104 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

11 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Amigo Zócalo'

Atmosphere
78.3%
Location
96.7%
Facilities
78.3%
Cleanliness
96.7%
Staff
90.0%
Value
91.7%
Safety
91.7%
Refine your results Showing 10 of 12 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tanya Cottingham

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

03 March 2014 Tanya would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is about as central as it gets yet at night our room was perfectly quiet (and we were on the street side!). Our room was simply but newly furnished and perfectly clean. The staff went out of their way to help us. I was really happy with our choice and would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff!! good place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aoife keogh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 aoife would recommend this property

Liked: At 520 pesos a night it is very good value for a private room with bathroom right on the zocalo l. however as there are protesters camping out in the surrounding area at the moment it t unfortunately makes the area smelly and intimidating. very clean rooms. we moved to the condesa area which until the protesters move from the zocalo is where you should base yourself

Disliked: Worst breakfast we've had in central America. bit of confusion when we were paying for our room as after seeing the protesters we decided to change our stay fRom 5 days to 2. staff tried to overcharge us for room and seemed to pluck figures out of nowhere. Matter was discussed with manager and quickly resolved although no apology was given.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tzufen wu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 tzufen would recommend this property

Liked: 1) the location is perfect, 2 min away from subway. and by 7-11. 2) good breakfast. 3) stauff are all very kind and friendly. 4) super hot water

Disliked: 1) internet is very very bad, (not their fault) 2) the pillow is very very small. 3) no offer drinking water for re-fill (envirmental protection) 4) if they can put some hangers on the wall will be nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Brideau

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

31 May 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to metro and tons of other services, amazing staff, great value, and really really clean!

Disliked: It can be noisy, but hey, if you're looking for a quiet vacation don't visit a city with 30 million people!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberley Robertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a room in the dorm but was upgraded to my own room as they were quiet which was amazing! Staff are very helpful and welcoming, they helped me out with all my questions. The tours are good value and a great way to meet other travellers, not just from this hostel but their two other sister hostels too. The location is great, really close to the metro and steps away from Zocalo. Really enjoyed my stay.

Disliked: Quite noisy due to the design of the building. Sounds echo through the levels as rooms are based around a central atrium. Would recommend ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013

Liked: bed was comfortable, room was clean

Disliked: Too expensive, no character, rooftop under construction during day and shut down at night, no bar or common area, shower hard to control, internet went out for a day, staff mostly unfriendly. really not much good to say about this place other than the location, but there's plenty of other hostels in the neighborhood.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rafael Maciel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2013 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: IT IS VERY CLEAN , THE STAFF IS EXCELENT AND HAVES AND EXCELENT LOCATION NEAR THE MAIN AREAS OF INTEREST IN MEXICO CITY

Disliked: Rafael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Un lugar increíble, el diseño es único, es especial pero tiene mujo carácter, las habitaciones tienen todo lo que necesitas y la terraza aunque no esta lista tiene mucho potencial. La ubicación es excelente, muy recomendable

Disliked: Nada

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

María Alonso

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

06 March 2013 María would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Newly opened, some plants are still closed. Proper treatment, safe and good quality / price ratio. Everything is new.

Disliked: Nothing to say