We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Stayinn Barefoot Condesa

Hostel | Eje 2 South Juan Escutia 125, Condesa, Mexico City, Mexico 06140

84.1% Overall Rating

29 out of 32 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/05/2014)

"The hostel is located in a beautiful area of Mexico City. There are lots of great restaurants and bars close by."

Read all Stayinn Barefoot Condesa reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mexico City

Hostal La Buena Vida
22.00 USD

Guesthouse 83.4% 5 reviews
Hostel Condesa Chapultepec
13.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 29 reviews
Hostal Casa Vieja
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 80.8% 47 reviews
Anys Hostal
13.58 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Condesa Chapultepec Privanza
19.39 USD

Hostel 72.0% 5 reviews
Hostel Home
12.83 USD

Hostel 74.4% 18 reviews
Hostel 333
9.81 USD

Hostel 79.0% 78 reviews
Bed and Breakfast Mexico
8.30 USD

Hostel 78.5% 150 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

29 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Stayinn Barefoot Condesa'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 31 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Hiran Leitan

As a family with children

Family Holiday

11 June 2014

Liked: Girls at reception were good.

Disliked: Breakfast was awful. toilet was below 3rd world std

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in a beautiful area of Mexico City. There are lots of great restaurants and bars close by.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Frederick Lansky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2014 Frederick would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very friendly nice staff, free water, coffee and juice all day.

Disliked: Breakfast isn't good. There was constant construction in the hostel early in the morning that bothered all guests (couldn't they at least wait till 11am!), the entire hostel had a weird fresh paint smell that was really strong in the room. The bathrooms in the private rooms are tiny. During my 5 day stay they didn't clean my room even once. I had a decent stay here but I think you can find better value in Mexico City.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013

Liked: I arrived very late but they still had my booking, which was great. The staff is nice, the dorms are clean, beds are comfy and they have several toilets and showers. The design of the hostel is funky and cool and they have a roof terrace, which during better weather I presume would be great for parties. The dorms are on the third and fourth floor though so if you have limited mobility this is a problem. The hostel has a mezcaleria where you can get drinks and there is also a good argentinian place next to it with great empanadas. The area is safe, not in the very heart of Condesa (with all the bars) but not far from it. The metro station is 5-7 minutes away and it's within 20-30 minutes walking distance from the Museum of Anthropology. The Chapultepec park is right next to it as well, although I advise you to get directions to the actual entrance to the park... It's easy to meet people in the common areas and there is a kitchen you can use, also they have drinking water available.

Disliked: Our dorm was facing the street so it was a bit noisy at night, but nothing a pair of earplugs wouldn't handle. The breakfast was not my style (white toast with just "butter" or marmalade and cereal with sugar, but there is decent coffee all day and many places around to have breakfast. Also I'm not sure if they have laundry service?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirstine Bak

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 July 2013 Kirstine would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere and the place invites you to get to now new people, because there are lots of shared spaces. One feels at home at safe in the hostel

Disliked: The breakfast could be better, cereals, toastbread and banana are not the most exciting thing. There was never toiletpaper in the bath rooms in the late evening/early morning, but I see that as minor problems, and I would chose the hostel again.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lyndall Carroll

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013

Liked: It's pretty but it's very much design over function.

Disliked: This is one od he loudest hostels I have ever stayed at. All the rooms face the indoor courtyard and the chatter, music and people traffic just reverberates through the whole place. The rooms are so stuffy, there aee windows but the dnt open and just face toward the indoor courtyard anyhow. Very much a good time hostel but if u just want to chill with a bit of p &q then this one isn't for u....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Conomos

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in with real personality. Plus it has all the facilities you need when you're travelling. Very impressed by how clean it was and the perfect location near great cafes, bars, metro and the park. The bar downstairs is a great place to meet people and they organise cool activities like life drawing classes and movie nights. The staff are really fun, especially the crazy chef Carlos. Make sure you try his mole!

Disliked: I had to switch rooms onc me but on the upside was upgraded to a suite for the one night.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ahmer Waqar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Ahmer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is very stylish and has a nice feeling thtoughout

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit poor and there was more style than substance to this place. Airless rooms got hot during night. A fan might be an idea? And you can hear EVERYTHING due to all rooms facing th central living space. Come as a group here as it would be more fun!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is ideal! You can't get a better deal to stay in Condesa right near Bosque Chapultepec.

Disliked: Some staff are friendlier and more professional than others, but that's normal. Overall, it's a good experience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikita Liddell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Nikita would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are so friendly and ready to help with anything you need, from an extra roll of toilet paper to booking tours last minute. its located in a safe and central area with the metro around the corner and buses going passed every minute or so.

Disliked: Nikita left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Lyon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Located in Condesa, one of the most beautiful and safe parts of Mexico City. As a girl travelling by myself i felt incredibly safe. Everyone was very friendly, the building is modern and has a nice 'boutique hostel' feel to it. Was a calm hostel with good chill-out areas and kitchen, plus a roof terrace! The little resaurant attached was really good too, the chef's were great fun. Also there are plenty of delicous mexican restaurants etc nearby, i would stay here again for sure!

Disliked: There was a lot of construction going on just above/behind the building. As of January 13th 2013. It didn't bother me as i woke up early anyway to get out and aboue, but if you plan on sleeping much past 8am, you will need earplugs! the sound carries a lot in the building too so music etc from the lobby can be heard in your room. I always consider ear plugs a travel essential though so didn't find it too much of a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Whitford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: This is a super cute hostel with very friendly staff in a good location. I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rebecca sadler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2013 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, new, comfortable beds, great bathroom bed ratio. Great neighbourhood, close to metro. Staff professional and friendly. Good wifi, hot water.

Disliked: Impossible to avoid noise from either street or centrall atrium, if you're a light sleeper use earplugs and its totally fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: one employee at the reception didn't speak english at all. this is probably the normal case when travelling in mexico and we had a spanish speaking person in the group, but in an international hostel in mexico city i would expect the staff at the reception to speak at least some basic english.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sarah buchanan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent, friendly & very helpful. They made our stay there. Great to have staff that are interested in meeting & getting to know us travellers! The shared area was great, very comfortable with a great TV/DVD area. The roof terrace was a great extra. Once the work behind is finished it will be even better.

Disliked: Lack of signpost outside made it difficult to find. The kitchen area needs an oven or stove. The water on the 3rd floor wasn't hot for a few days, but this was fixed I wouldn't want to stay on a top bunk, they were very high & think the person underneath would be disturbed.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paul Mooney

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

27 January 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Nice part of the city

Disliked: construction noise

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paul Mooney

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

27 January 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Nice part of the city

Disliked: Construction noise

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antenor Chocano

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 January 2013 Antenor would recommend this property

Liked: La limpieza del lugar y cordialidad del staff.

Disliked: Lo único es que no había un bar o un lounge para comprar algo, pero creo que esto es un valor agregado. El Hostal está bueno.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice cute place, modern, full of designs. Love this place! Staffs are all English speaking except the one on the night shift but all extremely helpful and friendly. Very simple but I stayed very comfortable. Super clean.

Disliked: Sometimes very noisy depending on room you stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Gorgeous place, cool vibe, friendly owners, amazing location, safe, good value for money and spotlessly clean. Can't ask for more than that! I would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Duan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel: Beautiful new property, renovated courtyard style building that has been very tastefully redecorated. All the bathrooms are very clean. Also staying in a private room one night which was very comfortable. Lots of amenities on offer, including a roof terrace, WiFi throughout, TV in the lounge with playstation and a kitchen. Great staff and met great people. Location: In the Condesa which is a safe and convenient location. Close to Chapultepec Metro station (5 min walk) and a 10 min walk to the busy part of the Condesa with lots of restaurants and food. There is a great Argentinian bar right next door with good food as well!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a cool area and it's easy to get to the sights with the metro or taxi. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the hostel is always clean.

Disliked: The only bad thing I can say is that there were not enough people staying there!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A beautifully decorated hostel run by amazingly friendly, enthusiastic and friendly staff. Great common space.

Disliked: Unfortunately sound carried a fair bit and we were woken up one morning by pop music in the lobby. But that only happened once.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time at Stayinn Barefoot Condesa! The hostel is in an excellent (and safe) location in Mexico City. The staff are really friendly and helpful, and have a nice philosophy about travelling :) The building is beautiful with lots of modern conveniences and good common areas, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. There's also a rooftop terrace! I'd highly recommend this place if you're visiting Mexico City.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jim Butz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 August 2012 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is top notch. It has the best location in all of Mexico City (no exaggeration), a few blocks from two great parks (Chapultapec and Espana), and right by all the bars/restaurants/cafes of Condesa (easily the best area of D.F.). It's also next to the metro and main bus lines. The rooms are cleaned every day, it has brand new everything, and a rooftop terrace. Diego, Fer, Javier, and Andres, "Que' onda, amigos!" You guys are the best. Stay cool. Oh, and they have tons of tours lined up to explore, climb volcanoes, kayak, etc. Don't miss this place. Cheers, mates, and happy travels.

Disliked: Nothing.