HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Downtown Beds

Hostel | Isabel La Catolica 30, Colonia Centro, Mexico City, Mexico 06010

81.6% Overall Rating

8 out of 11 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/09/2013)

"Positiv: It was clean.The Rooftopbar of the hotel (you have to consume drinks/food for 15 Dollar to relax there) was really nice though wirhout other persons.The design is quite interesting."

Read all Downtown Beds reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.82

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mexico City

Hostel Amigo
9.98 USD

Hostel 84.1% 231 reviews
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
15.35 USD

Hostel 91.5% 159 reviews
Mexico City Hostel
13.05 USD

Hostel 94.7% 431 reviews
Hostel Amigo Suites Downtown
14.58 USD

Hostel 90.1% 140 reviews
Hostal Regina
11.21 USD

Hostel 85.0% 38 reviews
Hostel Amigo Zócalo
15.35 USD

Hostel 89.0% 12 reviews
Massiosare El Hostal
7.68 USD

Hostel 87.8% 11 reviews
YWCA Centro Historico
11.44 USD

Hostel 83.9% 104 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

8 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Downtown Beds'

Atmosphere
69.1%
Location
92.7%
Facilities
76.4%
Cleanliness
85.5%
Staff
74.6%
Value
81.8%
Safety
90.9%
Refine your results Showing 7 of 11 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lockers with a powerpoint to charge your phone.

Disliked: Not much of a warm atmosphere

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 September 2013

Liked: Positiv: It was clean.The Rooftopbar of the hotel (you have to consume drinks/food for 15 Dollar to relax there) was really nice though wirhout other persons.The design is quite interesting.

Disliked: I booked another more expensive room- got the cheaper mixed dorm instead of a female dorm. The stuff explained nothing to me and the atmosphere was quiete cold. I was travelling on my own and i can really mix well with other persons, but there was no possibility to get in contact with other travellers. The bar was always vacantly though he barkeeper was really friendly :) And there were no offers of the hostal for travellers to explore the city. Wifi didn´t work in all the rooms, ...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Flores

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway

16 June 2013 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is much more luxurious than average hostels. It is super clean and the design is amazing. The shared showers are very nice also, with good hot water. There is also a fabulous patio with foosball (table football), table tennis and hammocks. I think it is the nicest hostel I’ve ever been to (in terms of design, architecture and cleanliness).

Disliked: I went with my boyfriend and had a beautiful private room. However, the window did not close properly and the lights were pretty dim. Also you can use a pool that is in the upper floor terrace (which btw is amazing). However, since the pool is not property of the hostel but of the hotel that is in the same building you have to pay a minimum consumption of 300 Mexican pesos (around 25 USD) every time you want to use the pool.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was new and modern and the beds were comfortable!

Disliked: The staff Werent that helpful - I had to ask about the wifi and for a map.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013

Liked: It was modern and big. Beds were comfy and dorms were spacious. They played movies downstairs.

Disliked: Our room wasnt cleaned once during a five day stay. There were actually guests that slept in beds that the linen hadnt been changed on. Also the toilets were blocked in the communal bathroom at least once a day. The place had no atmosphere and although the staff were friendly theyseemed to be hiding. It is part of an expensive hotel and complex so it looks really amazing when you walk in but i dont feel like it really catered to backpackers well. There is also no kitchen to cook your own food and you have to pay 20 pesos for a tiny bottle of water.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, great staff and good location.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location very near to zocalo. The beds are the best mattress I've slept in a hostel. The restaurants and stores that are in the building are great. This hostel has a pool!!! You need to have some consumption to be there but hey, I was going to have some beers anyway! There's a Ping Pong table on the first floor and the tv room is great. The services was great. There is a tour service there also.

Disliked: The bar downstairs should be open a little longer since I was having a good time but at 11:30 they told me there can't be much noise anymore because it was quiet time.

The property's response is...