We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Downtown Beds

Hostel | Isabel La Catolica 30, Colonia Centro, Mexico City, Mexico 06010

84.6% Overall Rating

11 out of 15 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/03/2015)

"This place was fantastic – honestly one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. The staff were incredibly friendly, the location was superb (right in the heart of Centro – a short walk to the Zocalo and the…"

Read all Downtown Beds reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mexico City

Hostel Amigo
10.58 USD

Hostel 85.5% 238 reviews
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
11.43 USD

Hostel 86.5% 173 reviews
Mexico City Hostel
11.17 USD

Hostel 88.2% 468 reviews
Hostel Amigo Suites Downtown
11.10 USD

Hostel 85.3% 145 reviews
Hostal Regina
11.10 USD

Hostel 84.2% 42 reviews
Hostel Amigo Zócalo
15.02 USD

Hostel 86.1% 15 reviews
Massiosare El Hostal
9.80 USD

Hostel 90.9% 16 reviews
YWCA Centro Historico
9.34 USD

Hostel 82.9% 110 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

11 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Downtown Beds'

Atmosphere
74.7%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
81.3%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
78.7%
Value
85.3%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 10 of 15 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was fantastic – honestly one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. The staff were incredibly friendly, the location was superb (right in the heart of Centro – a short walk to the Zocalo and the Palacio de Bellas Artes) and the general vibe of the place was incredibly cool. I loved the layout, the over-size rooms and contemporary design. The hostel offered a lot – great common areas, shared access to a rooftop terrace, pool and bar, a lay-down cinema and a beautifully illuminated courtyard at night. This place was honestly nicer than a lot of hotels I've stayed at and for the price, I would happily return to experience it all over again!

Disliked: I'd improve the hostel by adding storage lockers in the rooms – not that safety felt like too much of an issue. Other hostels I've stayed at have come appointed with individual power sockets and lights for each bed, so again, those are just extra features that would help to make a fantastic establishment even better.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Design, bar/courtyard, nice entrance through complex of shops and restaurants

Disliked: Would be good if you could use wi-fi in the rooms. Can take quite a while to find someone to serve you in the bar area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great location, clean, comfortable and brilliant common area. An amazing space to chill and hang out.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lockers with a powerpoint to charge your phone.

Disliked: Not much of a warm atmosphere

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 September 2013

Liked: Positiv: It was clean.The Rooftopbar of the hotel (you have to consume drinks/food for 15 Dollar to relax there) was really nice though wirhout other persons.The design is quite interesting.

Disliked: I booked another more expensive room- got the cheaper mixed dorm instead of a female dorm. The stuff explained nothing to me and the atmosphere was quiete cold. I was travelling on my own and i can really mix well with other persons, but there was no possibility to get in contact with other travellers. The bar was always vacantly though he barkeeper was really friendly :) And there were no offers of the hostal for travellers to explore the city. Wifi didn´t work in all the rooms, ...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Flores

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway

16 June 2013 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is much more luxurious than average hostels. It is super clean and the design is amazing. The shared showers are very nice also, with good hot water. There is also a fabulous patio with foosball (table football), table tennis and hammocks. I think it is the nicest hostel I’ve ever been to (in terms of design, architecture and cleanliness).

Disliked: I went with my boyfriend and had a beautiful private room. However, the window did not close properly and the lights were pretty dim. Also you can use a pool that is in the upper floor terrace (which btw is amazing). However, since the pool is not property of the hostel but of the hotel that is in the same building you have to pay a minimum consumption of 300 Mexican pesos (around 25 USD) every time you want to use the pool.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was new and modern and the beds were comfortable!

Disliked: The staff Werent that helpful - I had to ask about the wifi and for a map.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013

Liked: It was modern and big. Beds were comfy and dorms were spacious. They played movies downstairs.

Disliked: Our room wasnt cleaned once during a five day stay. There were actually guests that slept in beds that the linen hadnt been changed on. Also the toilets were blocked in the communal bathroom at least once a day. The place had no atmosphere and although the staff were friendly theyseemed to be hiding. It is part of an expensive hotel and complex so it looks really amazing when you walk in but i dont feel like it really catered to backpackers well. There is also no kitchen to cook your own food and you have to pay 20 pesos for a tiny bottle of water.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, great staff and good location.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a great location very near to zocalo. The beds are the best mattress I've slept in a hostel. The restaurants and stores that are in the building are great. This hostel has a pool!!! You need to have some consumption to be there but hey, I was going to have some beers anyway! There's a Ping Pong table on the first floor and the tv room is great. The services was great. There is a tour service there also.

Disliked: The bar downstairs should be open a little longer since I was having a good time but at 11:30 they told me there can't be much noise anymore because it was quiet time.

The property's response is...