HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Downtown Beds Mexico City

Hostel

Isabel La Catolica 30, Colonia Centro, Mexico City, Mexico

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 81%

Location 93%

Safety 92%

Staff 80%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 10.54USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 81%

Location 93%

Safety 92%

Staff 80%

Value 86%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was just a great time, and i enjoyed very much, thank you!

Disliked: It will be better, when the room have big safety locker..

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Fantastic location, very clean and inside of a nicer hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful in recommending activities and restaurants. Good value for the location and definitely felt safe.

Disliked: Wifi was a little weak in the rooms and there was no other furniture in the private room beyond the beds to put things. Water pressure in the showers was very low and the mirrors by the sinks were fish-eye for some reason.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This place was fantastic – honestly one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. The staff were incredibly friendly, the location was superb (right in the heart of Centro – a short walk to the Zocalo and the Palacio de Bellas Artes) and the general vibe of the place was incredibly cool. I loved the layout, the over-size rooms and contemporary design. The hostel offered a lot – great common areas, shared access to a rooftop terrace, pool and bar, a lay-down cinema and a beautifully illuminated courtyard at night. This place was honestly nicer than a lot of hotels I've stayed at and for the price, I would happily return to experience it all over again!

Disliked: I'd improve the hostel by adding storage lockers in the rooms – not that safety felt like too much of an issue. Other hostels I've stayed at have come appointed with individual power sockets and lights for each bed, so again, those are just extra features that would help to make a fantastic establishment even better.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Design, bar/courtyard, nice entrance through complex of shops and restaurants

Disliked: Would be good if you could use wi-fi in the rooms. Can take quite a while to find someone to serve you in the bar area

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff, great location, clean, comfortable and brilliant common area. An amazing space to chill and hang out.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Positiv: It was clean.The Rooftopbar of the hotel (you have to consume drinks/food for 15 Dollar to relax there) was really nice though wirhout other persons.The design is quite interesting.

Disliked: I booked another more expensive room- got the cheaper mixed dorm instead of a female dorm. The stuff explained nothing to me and the atmosphere was quiete cold. I was travelling on my own and i can really mix well with other persons, but there was no possibility to get in contact with other travellers. The bar was always vacantly though he barkeeper was really friendly :) And there were no offers of the hostal for travellers to explore the city. Wifi didn´t work in all the rooms, ...

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Romantic getaway

Liked: This hostel is much more luxurious than average hostels. It is super clean and the design is amazing. The shared showers are very nice also, with good hot water. There is also a fabulous patio with foosball (table football), table tennis and hammocks. I think it is the nicest hostel I’ve ever been to (in terms of design, architecture and cleanliness).

Disliked: I went with my boyfriend and had a beautiful private room. However, the window did not close properly and the lights were pretty dim. Also you can use a pool that is in the upper floor terrace (which btw is amazing). However, since the pool is not property of the hostel but of the hotel that is in the same building you have to pay a minimum consumption of 300 Mexican pesos (around 25 USD) every time you want to use the pool.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was new and modern and the beds were comfortable!

Disliked: The staff Werent that helpful - I had to ask about the wifi and for a map.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was modern and big. Beds were comfy and dorms were spacious. They played movies downstairs.

Disliked: Our room wasnt cleaned once during a five day stay. There were actually guests that slept in beds that the linen hadnt been changed on. Also the toilets were blocked in the communal bathroom at least once a day. The place had no atmosphere and although the staff were friendly theyseemed to be hiding. It is part of an expensive hotel and complex so it looks really amazing when you walk in but i dont feel like it really catered to backpackers well. There is also no kitchen to cook your own food and you have to pay 20 pesos for a tiny bottle of water.


The property's response is

Hello! Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about Downtown Beds, all your comments really help us to improve!
We are definitly going to talk with House Keeping to get the cleanliness problem solved.
Best regards,

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The lockers with a powerpoint to charge your phone.

Disliked: Not much of a warm atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability