HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal La Buena Vida

Guesthouse | Mazatlan 190, Colonia Hipódromo Condesa, Mexico City, Mexico 06170

83.4% Overall Rating

4 out of 5 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/02/2013)

"This hostel has opened 1 year, only three persons give rates. Besdes the photos which is attractive."

Read all Hostal La Buena Vida reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mexico City

Hostel Condesa Chapultepec Privanza
19.69 USD

Hostel 72.0% 5 reviews
Stayinn Barefoot Condesa
11.49 USD

Hostel 84.1% 32 reviews
Hostel Condesa Chapultepec
13.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 29 reviews
Hostel Home
13.02 USD

Hostel 74.4% 18 reviews
Hostal Casa Vieja
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 80.8% 47 reviews
Hostel 333
11.49 USD

Hostel 79.0% 78 reviews
Anys Hostal
26.05 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Bed and Breakfast Mexico
9.19 USD

Hostel 78.5% 150 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

4 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal La Buena Vida'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 4 of 4 reviews
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

06 February 2013

Liked: This hostel has opened 1 year, only three persons give rates. Besdes the photos which is attractive.

Disliked: I have stayed six hostels in Mexico City within 2 weeks from different price range, This hostel is worst, dishonest!!! The location is very difficult to find, far away from shops, very dark, very quiet, no clear signs of street name, find no people to ask, a place of nowhere, everytime i get lost, took almost an hour to find the hostel, Very inconvenient! Meanwhile, a lof of passby traffic, Noisy. It took more than one hour to airport, It took more than half hour to Zocalo (the main center). This hostel location is the poorest. The property is very small, smallest, narrow staircase only for one person to walk. The common room (as tv room, as internet room, as dining room altogether maximum 15 sq meters, similar as smallest flat living room). The kitchen refrigerator is locked, forbidden to use, there is no spoons, no forks, no knives, no bowls available. (only breakfast time) The buffet breakfast has almost nothing, NO TEA, NO MUSLI, NO YOGHART, NO WARM FOOD, NO EGGS, NO FRUITS, , only coffee, flakes, milk, one juice, one jam, margarine, bread, The poorest breafkast I ever had in many hostels experience.The other hostels which are half price of this hostel, has much, much better breakfast than this most expensive hostel which called buena vida. The bed is very noisy, as sex on rubbish bed, so I have to change another bed, then my body as U shape, the middle part is totally down. So i change another bed on the upper side of bunk beds, since there is no edges, I have to sleep very inward, be careful not to fall down,unable to turn, so only sleep 2 hours that night, the worst night I ever had in hostels experience. The bed mattress is very cheap. The toilet at the entrance, no toilet paper, I asked the staff, then he only gave me few pieces of paper, he explained that the toilet is new,no tissue paper available. This hostel is unbelievely small, there is no bar, no restaurant really available to work. The shower water was all the way to room,plus the shower water was suddenly on, without anyone inside, so made strange noise, that I have to closed shower door, my bed just beside the shower, This hostel do not have official mexican price, but calculated very strangely, they decide the exchange rate as 13 pesos per dollar, (meanwhile airport exchange rate is 12.50 pesos/ dollar), plus 16% iva, (other hostels tax included, the means the other hostels showed the solid price on the list of hostelbookers). Finally I have to pay 271 pesos per night (after 10% downpayment to hostelbookers). Almost double price than the other middle range price hostels, the others I paid 153 pesos (those are big, decent, honest hostels, best location, good beds, excellent breakfast). The atmosphere in this hostel is freezing! ghostly! One staff hostel, no security guard at all. My room mates are very disappointed, wanted to leave immediately, but could not, because they have reserved 3 nights. In the morning breakfast time, guests face are very sore, they took coffee, and went away, because there are almost nothing to have apetite to eat. The photos of this hostel, shows beautiful color, but not the quality. The most expensive hostel, the smallest hostel, the poorest location, the poorest (so called buffet) breakfast, the cheapest poorest bed (which could not see in the photos), the poorest unfunctionable kitchen, The last night in Mexico city, I thought pay high price to get comfortable stay, Big disappointment, plus no curtain on the window, so make sure I wake up early, with noisy traffic. Finally I have to mark is that the price of buena vida hostel seemed only few dollars more, but actually the final price is almost 10 dollars more than middle range price hostels.. I highly not recommend this hostel, but if you insist to book, then one night, if you like to continue to stay, there are many empty beds in this hostel. The wash basins in the middle of rooms, are very disturbing!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Wicks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Hostal La Buena Vida was really, truly great. The place is modern, spotless, has a pretty solid breakfast and towels included in the price, lockers that work, internet that works, coin laundry, a nice common room and helpful staff. All this, with smart design (among other things, there are throw pillows on the dorm beds! I've never seen this before!). Met some good people here, too (it's not a party hostel by any measure, but I appreciate that!). At the time of booking (October 2012) this hostel costed a few dollars more than the big hostels in the Centro Historico, but you really get a lot of value for the additional cost. It's worth it. And if you're worried that staying in Condesa puts you too far outside the center, don't. Condesa is fantastic, and a great base of operations. And this hostel is about five minutes from Patriotismo metro station.

Disliked: I can't really think of anything to complain about. Everything worked. No hassles. I wish they were all like this one.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabricio Lins

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Fabricio would recommend this property

Liked: The design is great and is the meadle of the most trendy neighborhood of Mexico City.

Disliked: The first bad think was I receiving an e-mail one day before my trip apologizing for the inconvenience of canceling my reservation. Then I had to call Hostelbookers to help me out, so they changed their minds and confirmed my stay. After this, my flight was canceled so I e-mailed them asking if they could charged me just for the days that I was actually use my reservation, They answered me saying that it was ok, but charged me for the hole period anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This actually is a design hostel - the most stylish hostel I have ever stayed at and it has the cosiest beds I have ever slept in in a hostel. The shared bathroom is within the room, so no running around in the hallway. Roof terrace, breakfast and location in the safe and trendy neighbourhood of Condesa where you find plenty of shops, bars, restaurants in walking distance. And the staff was very friendly and always willing to help or answer questions - can only recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.