HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Amigo Suites Downtown

Hostel | Luis Gonzalez Obregon 14, Mexico City, Mexico 06300

89.3% Overall Rating

133 out of 141 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/05/2014)

Megan Lim thinks…

"Excellent hostel. I had a private double room and it was comfy, good size, nice private bathroom, tv, safe, clean. Staff were all really friendly and helpfull, especially Victor (he made me write…"

Read all Hostel Amigo Suites Downtown reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 12.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mexico City

Mexico City Hostel
12.99 USD

Hostel 95.3% 435 reviews
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
15.28 USD

Hostel 92.3% 160 reviews
Hostel Amigo Zócalo
17.57 USD

Hostel 89.0% 12 reviews
Downtown Beds
15.28 USD

Hostel 81.0% 12 reviews
Hostel Amigo
7.74 USD

Hostel 84.0% 232 reviews
Hostal Regina
11.15 USD

Hostel 84.8% 39 reviews
Massiosare El Hostal
11.46 USD

Hostel 87.8% 11 reviews
YWCA Centro Historico
11.38 USD

Hostel 83.9% 104 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

133 out of 141 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Amigo Suites Downtown'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 105 of 134 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014

Liked: The staff were friendly.

Disliked: The rooms were incredibly run down and the beds so noisy you would wake up every time someone moved. The walls were like paper; you could hear absolutely everything, which again means you can't possibly get a proper nights sleep. The location was also not near any discernible night life.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. I had a private double room and it was comfy, good size, nice private bathroom, tv, safe, clean. Staff were all really friendly and helpfull, especially Victor (he made me write that, but it's still true). Breakfast was included and was good. Unfortunately I only had one day in Mexico City but the hostel looked like it offered so many different day tours. I wish I could have done one (or ten).

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common area, free breakfast and dinner, running tours frequently

Disliked: hard mattress and pillow. Mosquitos if you left the window open for air flow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yen Shan Wu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Yen Shan would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed with Hostal Amigo Suites twice. It's one of the best Hostal experiences in Mexico. Staffs are super helpful and the rooms are very clean. Knowing that backpackers are having similar foods in hostels everywhere, they try to provide different varieties, so you won't get bored with the food. I would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Yen Shan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wladek Borodin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Wladek would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and polite staff making you feel at home eg. Hector (Manager) Always gives best advice, Viktor (a hardworking and polite member of staff), Juan (friendly bar man). Complementary breakfast 8.00 am. Complementary evening meal 6.30 pm. 3 PC's and Wi-Fi. Extra blanket on request. A good and friendly meeting place for travelling backpackers. Best to make ALL bookings through hostelbookers.com rather than arriving on spec with no booking as bed prices can be higher.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Fan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for price, clean, free breakfast AND dinner, rooftop dining and bar area, friendly staff, private bathroom.

Disliked: Ventilation within the rooms could be better.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location, cleaness, good dinner, friendly staff, confrotable room!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Winston Huynh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Winston would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to the Zocalo. But, then again, there are a handful of hostels around this area. Price is comparable to other hostels in the area.

Disliked: Maybe it was the time I visited but I didn't find the atmosphere as social as I thought. I'm not talking about drunken parties every night but, just meeting new people. For example, even though breakfast and dinner was included, I didn't find that too many people came for meals considering the size of the hostel so, less chance of introducing yourself to new people. The social area is limited to the rooftop bar and sitting area, which again was mostly empty most of the day except for a couple people. Fortunately, my roommates were pretty cool and we went on our own excursions into the city and bars at night on our own.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, en-suite bathroom, dorms for only 4 people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruce Gourlay

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 November 2013 Bruce would recommend this property

Liked: It is amazing. With small dormitories of only 3 or 4 people, each with its own toilet and shower; then with buffet breakfast and buffet dinners (menu changes with each meal) I felt really spoiled. Best possible value for the money.

Disliked: Bruce left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful. Made such a difference to our stay. Cannot thank them enough. The dinner and breakfast included was very handy and made it great value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paula Medina

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

10 September 2013 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful. Cheap really cheap. Room lay out was great too.

Disliked: NO WIFI, and also when i was staying there it was really hot the only way to cool the room was by opening the balcony doors. Lots of mosquitos

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big room. Perfect location near zocalo. Rooftop bar and free dinner!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emma grant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2013 emma would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private room with double bed and it had ensuite, tv and safe around $50US a night, felt like a hotel room. Lots of activities going on, great facilities, good location around the corner from the big cathedral and central down town.

Disliked: Bar could've been more full, only beers on offer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Coleman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a double w/ private ensuite on 22, 23 and 26 April. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the included breakfast and dinner buffets were tasty. We booked a wrestling tour through them which we could have done more cheaply ourselves but it was fun to go in a group. They also helpfully stored the bulk of our luggage (free of charge) while we went out of the city for a couple of nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable - we stayed in 302 and 102 - of those two request 302 to minimise noise.

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing Deal - a dorm bed for $15/night including breakfast and dinner. Super roof top terrace with bar and lounge chairs.

Disliked: No ladder for the upper bunks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Martin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: we enjoyed our stay at hostel amigos,the location was good and the staff very helpful especially Victor who seemed to light up everybody's morning during breakfast before the start of the day's buisness.We cannot speak more highly of this man (you have to meet him,you'll no him straight away )and the other cleaning staff.We would book here again and recommend to others.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicolai Skafte

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 Nicolai would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and a nice and friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Nicolai left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amanda Cohn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great for a solo traveller. The breakfast/dinner and bar area were a great place to eaily meet people and the hostel organises lots of activities and tours.

Disliked: Room was quite small with most of it taken up with beds, but I didnt mind since I spent most of my time in the common areas.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very near the cathedral. Dorm beds are very good value. Dinner is included as well as breakfast.

Disliked: They made me move rooms unnecessarily because they couldn't be bothered to check properly whether there was a free bed in my dorm, even though I told them that someone had left that morning. Very loud music from a bar/club next door - banging bass until 5 a.m. on 2 of the 3 nights I stayed. Random people who don't work or stay at the hostel hanging about - I think they may be tour salespeople or friends of the staff? Staff are mostly OK (Estefania and Misael are great) but one other receptionist is not so great - rude and generally not very switched on. You never forget that the hostel is run as a business and that the staff see dollar signs when they look at you. Examples: - you are not allowed to bring alcohol into the hostel, but the hostel bar charges $25 pesos for a beer! For this reason, the bar is usually empty. - they charge you 60 pesos to use the washing machine and dryer - they do give you soap but this is still way more expensive than taking it to a laundrette, and you have to do the laundry yourself! - tours are heavily advertised and sold all around the hostel. - dorms and bathrooms are very basic - there are no shelves/hooks for your stuff and lockers are tiny, so everything has to go on the floor, which is usually wet and/or dirty because there are no mats in the bathrooms. The bathroom floors get dangerously slippery.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is like a hotel but it has the feeling of a hostel, the rooms are amazing with a good bathroom and TV, the street is a little noisy but is the price that you pay to be in a great location in Downtown. We took the Teotihuacan tour and was a great experience. Highly Reccommended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was really cosy and nice. The tours they are organising are really worth the money. Generally helpful stuff, good atmosphere at dinner time.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice 4 person dorms, plenty of space with lockers and electrical outlets for everyone. I was one level below the roof but didn't have any problems with the noise or even need to use the provided earplugs. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The neighborhood gets a little too quiet at night which could make some uncomfortable walking around on their own, but this isn't the fault of the hostel of course.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Gascoigne

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: great location, clean, friendly welcome from staff (the guy cant remember his name), enjoyed Teotihuacan tour.

Disliked: Bed was on the hard side and pillows were lumpy. Noisy neighbours in courtyard at 5am every morning.