We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Regina

Hostel | 5 de Febrero, Mexico City, Mexico 06002

85.0% Overall Rating

35 out of 40 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2014)

"The Regina is big, cute and lots of fun. It's near the Zocalo and there is so much to do in the Centro that you need never leave to have a great experience in Mexico City. Because it is large, it's super easy to meet…"

Read all Hostal Regina reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mexico City

Hostel Amigo
12.62 USD

Hostel 84.0% 232 reviews
Downtown Beds
14.85 USD

Hostel 81.0% 12 reviews
Hostel Amigo Zócalo
17.07 USD

Hostel 89.0% 12 reviews
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
14.85 USD

Hostel 91.9% 163 reviews
Mexico City Hostel
12.62 USD

Hostel 93.5% 442 reviews
Hostel Amigo Suites Downtown
10.62 USD

Hostel 86.9% 143 reviews
Massiosare El Hostal
11.13 USD

Hostel 87.8% 11 reviews
YWCA Centro Historico
11.06 USD

Hostel 83.4% 105 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

35 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Regina'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
84.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 40 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Regina is big, cute and lots of fun. It's near the Zocalo and there is so much to do in the Centro that you need never leave to have a great experience in Mexico City. Because it is large, it's super easy to meet lots of people in this hostel. The staff is nice. The rooftop terrace is big and nicer than most. It's a great social area.

Disliked: It can be a little bit loud because of all of the activity there. But I personally enjoy all of the activity.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Silvio Sánchez

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

28 September 2013 Silvio would recommend this property

Liked: Es el más bonito hostal de la Ciudad de México. El staff es fundamentalmente maravilloso. Cada uno de los recepcionistas, en particular las mujeres, son extraordinariamente amables y graciosas. Son además guapas y hacen bromas. La atmósfera es siempre agradable; es una casa preciosa de unos 5 pisos muy amplios, dónde están los dormitorios y en hay pequeños rincones para estar. It's Huge, dude. En la terraza se puede estar y tomar tragos hasta no muy tarde. Todo está limpio y huele bien.

Disliked: El café y el panecito del desayuno son aceptables. :p

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tania Perry

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: Location and security.

Disliked: Breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, good terrace, funky decorations, very convenient to the metro

Disliked: bedbugs. seriously, the whole place is infested. They really need to fumigate.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

John Mccormack

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012

Liked: The staff.

Disliked: The noise - loud music and drunk guests for 5 nights. This place is more a nightclub than a hostel. I wish I knew this in advance. If you're interested in a decent night's sleep stay elsewhere. Our private was windowless and hence hot and stuffy. No one ever came to clean the room, not even empty the bin. The cockroaches were more attentive to our needs. Every morning we were woken up after a few hours of fitful sleep by further noise and light from the frosted glass faux-window or sky light high in the room that was actually light from the store room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Goldsmith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

13 September 2012 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, friendly, and always open to talk, drink with you, or even take you on a tour! It is really easy to meet people and party either at the rooftop bar or downstairs. It was kept clean and big thanks for the cleaners for cleaning up after a few really big nights. Sorry again. Just a great atmosphere, location, and building full of great people and at an affordable price!

Disliked: Make sure you bring a lock for the lockers as (in most hostels) some guests might take advantage if you leave your things laying around.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012

Liked: Location!

Disliked: there was something about this hostel! i dunno it was nice and all but just not really a youth hostel i guess! there was a group of people who were staying there that were actually i think living there! it was a big group and every morning at around 7AM they would suit up and get ready for work and the most annoying part was the noise they would make! wake everyone up didn't care about anyone else!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Kaiser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: All good. Price unbeatable.

Disliked: Breakfast was small, but at least you get some coffee.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good common areas (Kitchen and tv room), clean and tidy

Disliked: The breakfast was terrible and the staff weren´t very knowledgeable or forthcoming with information. Also the directions to reach the hostel were very confusing.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012

Liked: It's close to the metro and to many of the sites in the historic part of the city. Our private room was large (we booked a double but all they had was a triple with three twin beds) with high ceilings and a tiny balcony. And believe it or not, it was pretty quiet when we closed the doors. Also nice to be served breakfast in the morning, though it's nothing to write home about. OK because there is an infinite number of places to find inexpensive food in the area.

Disliked: Seemed a bit phony with the boho/artsy vibe. Lots of young, silly travelers. "Party" scene. People up at all hours. Music blasting in the lobby. The streets of downtown MC are very chaotic as it is. The hostel should be a bit more serene. Seemed geared for profit. A business, not a true hostel. Tour packages seemed to be a rip-off. We paid far less to take a bus to the pyramids, for example. The kitchen was filthy. Someone put a beer in the freezer and it exploded and leaked into the fridge. It smelled absolutely awful. It was also ill-equipped for cooking even a simply meal. We cooked one night, but I felt uncomfortable using the kitchen because of the filth. The "fancy" bathrooms were run-down and did not appear as they did in the pictures. Water in showers not very hot. My partner encountered a disgusting scene in the bathroom stall (someone was sick all over the toilet). I truly loved Mexico City but will stay in one of the peaceful 'burbs (Zona Rosa or Condessa) next time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, safe and comfortable. Good value for property.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms and big lockers

Disliked: Very poor breackfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Beck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Delightful, light, airy, clean, building in an excellent location for the metro and all centro historico activities. The restaurant side of the building is on the pedestrianised Calle Regina, so you can sit outside and take coffee or meals etc without the traffic. The sheets are crisp and clean and the beds very comfortable. Bathrooms are also modern and well maintained.

Disliked: There's nothing to dislike about this property

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2011

Liked: Staff at the reception (not the manager!), clean, showers and location.

Disliked: The most bad thing about the hostel is Paulina, the female manager. She doesn´t care about if your things are stolen in the hostel, if others drink and eat your food and if others have sex in your dormroom while you are sleeping. She only thinks about money, about her own position and about showing her power. If you complain, she will say that it is your own responsibility. She will not say sorry to you. And to think about any compensation, is an utopia for her. Think twice if you want to go to this hostel! People steal and have sex in dormitories in the hostel. The female manager doesn´t care about it.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

andrea spindel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 December 2011 andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, modern bathrooms, comfortable beds and great location, very close to the zocalo in centro historico.

Disliked: When I arrived I had only booked for two nights with hostelbookers. The receptionist told me that if you stay 3 nights you will receive your forth night free so I said great, Ill take that. Then, wehn I went to pay on checking out, they charged me the prices set by the hostel = $190 - Not $111 pesos I had originally booked with hostelbookers. I found this very unprofessional, as the receptionist should have told me that they were going to charge me that higher price, not the cheaper price that i booked on hostelbookers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooftop and nice bathroom

Disliked: printer didn't work

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john cooper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011 john would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place , great location, very clean. Roof terrace is a nice place to chill. Seems very secure and the area seems relatively peaceful.

Disliked: Internet price seems only to be for first nights stay then the price becomes about 50 per cent more.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place situated in Mexico City's Centro Historico. Location is meaningless in Mexico City because everything's so far apart, but the place was clean and spacious, the water was hot and there's a lovely roof terrace to relax on. It was a bit quiet but that's not the hostel's fault, and the staff were helpful and polite. Try and book here before you go as the walk-in price is a little bit more.

Disliked: The place was a bit quiet and empty. Sometimes the beds weren't made for days after the people had left.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost of everything was great.

Disliked: The breakfast is not great to look at when you have a hangover. Two empty tortillas with green sauce and sour cream on top and, cordial and crap coffee. You can by an omelete and espresso coffee which is nice though. Had some great tepanyaki meals next door too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good hostel...very cleany and good breakfast

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good beds, spacious rooms, clean, modern, rooftop

Disliked: the breakfast is nearly nothing, no bred, no cereals

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious, good location

Disliked: A bit quiet, despite a couple of socialising areas, but possibly because of the time of year we went just after Easter

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gregory foulachon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2011 gregory would recommend this property

Liked: The location is in center of Mexico city, you have a superb rooftop!!! The staff help me very well to find location.

Disliked: I don't know if at this period that was the off season in mexico but the hostel was not too busy...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011

Liked: The satff was very nice and helpful

Disliked: Too noisy too sleep. It's too close to all the partying. I know that is good for location but not for sleep. Sheets felt like sandpaper and the beds creak and moan evry time you make little movement.