HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Amigo Mexico City

Hostel

Isabel la Catolica #61 col. centro Z.C, Mexico City, Mexico

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 76%

Location 95%

Safety 85%

Staff 79%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 64%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 76%

Location 95%

Safety 85%

Staff 79%

Value 83%

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:

Liked: The place was close to Zocalo, and they had staff at the desk 24 hours, who were all willing to answer any questions. The locker in the room and also at the reception was helpful, as was their laundry service (one load for MXN 60). They also provided fresh towels daily free of charge. internet was sometimes slow, but always stable, in our rooms or downstairs.

Disliked: Firstly, their advertised four bed dorm option is a fake one. We booked two beds in a four bed mixed dorm, but were placed in a dorm with eight beds. The best they could say when we pointed this out, was that after the first night it wouldn't have more than four people, but this turned out to be untrue, we always had 5-6 people in the room. the four bed dorm costs more than the eight bed dorm, but once there we found out there was no four bed option in the hostel at all. Secondly, the room was tiny, with barely a foot and half between beds, and no ventilation at all. Also, there were only three charging points, and one didn't work. Thirdly, the entire place has more of a feel of a professional business location, than a backpacking relaxed space. this can have a plus side, if you like your hostel to arrange tours and such for you (we didn't take their tours, but we did see a fair number of angry people because of late tours; but we also met one person who seemed to have liked one of their tours). However this goes to the extreme of selling water too. The other hostels I stayed in during my two weeks in Mexico either provided water free, or didn't provide it, but this was the first that sold it, and at a higher cost than regular shops. Finally, for our departure early on 1st Jan, we asked at the counter if they thought the buses to the airport would be running early in the morning. The man confidently said that it wouldn't, and offered to book a cab for us. he said it'd take 30 mins to get to the airport, and would cost us mxn 200. it ended up taking 10 mins approx to get there, and we passed the bus on the way which would have cost us only mxn 6 or thereabouts for the trip. It is possible this was a genuine mistake by the person concerned, but given the general money making through lying disposition of the place, I'm inclined to think this was deliberate, and they probably have an arrangement with the cab company. Also the cab didn't look like a regular cab at all, seemed like a private car company, and maybe a regular cab would have cost us less too.


The property's response is

The property advertises a mixed dorm for 4 people, and charges a higher rate for that than the 8 people dorm. However, the hostel does not actually have a 4 people dorm. we had booked places in a four bed dorm, and the room we got had eight beds. we asked about it and were told that all four-bed rooms had become eight-bed rooms with extra beds added during a recent crunch period, but after the first night we would have four people in the room, not more. even this turned out to be untrue, at every point we had 5-6 people in the room during our stay of 5 nights. so basically the four bed dorm option is a fake option to charge people more for the same eight bed dorm, where if you are lucky you may have only 4 people.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, cooked breakfast and super helpful staff at the front desk

Disliked: The common areas are underutilised and a bit akward layout.. feels like they kinda let themselves go in the last few years..

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were friendly and spoke very good English.Our private double room was very spacious.The hostel was in a great location.Shared bathroom was clean.

Disliked: We had 500 PESO AND COSMETIC ITEMS STOLEN by the cleaning staff from our "private room". Under the impression we wouldn't have room service, we nipped out for half an hour and returned to the money and items gone from our bags..The hostel were told and didn't once apologise or attempt to amend the issue with us in any way, KEEP YOU CASH WELL HIDDEN!!! Our first day in Mexico, robbed already :(The staff were very un-informative whilst check-in, if you want to know something you need to ask.The bed sheets had blood marks on them, otherwise the room seemed clean.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: food

Disliked: security

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is sensational - right in the middle of downtown and walking distance to everything (Zocalo and metro are about 7-8 minutes from the front door in either direction). Bathrooms are cleaned frequently. The private rooms are very large and spacious. The free breakfasts and dinner are simple but after a long day of sightseeing, or in preparation for one, it's a welcome way to start/end the day.

Disliked: Noise, noise, noise. Be prepared folks - it's an old building and the sound travels effortlessly from floor to floor and door to door. The local guests love staying up after midnight and making as much noise as they can - guitars, singing, laughing, debating, joking, you name it. The open vents above the doors ensure the sound gets in at all hours.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good value. My private room had a window to the outside so I could get fresh air. Wifi was decent; there was one for each floor.

Disliked: It was really noisy the first night that I stayed (constant noise from maybe 3am to 5am when someone was sick and upset). Bring earplugs! In my private room you had to turn on the light to get electricity to the outlet so I had to sleep for a while with the light on in order to charge my phone. There wasn't always toilet paper in the women's bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Both breakfast and dinner are available for the chea price of the night. The place is quite big and clean.

Disliked: Some lockers are in the room which can be noisy using it in the night.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: it's not a lovely place but free dinner is nice. they have different menus every night. i heard online booking is cheaper than go to the hostel directly.

Disliked: my room was without window. and no rooftop in this hostel.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great staff and good location.

Disliked: Poor atmosphere in common areas

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We booked a private double and it was huge! Great breakfast too, they served fruits, tacos, bread and cereals, all basically unlimited. Good Internet too. They also serve dinner although outside options are way better if you have a few extra Pesos.

Disliked: There's a common area but it's not very inviting. Not many activities so you might not meet many people except for breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability