We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Amigo

Hostel | Isabel la Catolica 61, Colonia Centro, Mexico City, Mexico 06000

85.5% Overall Rating

218 out of 238 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/05/2015)

Benjamin Thomas thinks…

"Helpful staff, fairly clean, great location. This isn't the best hostel in the world but it does the job."

Read all Hostel Amigo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mexico City

Downtown Beds
13.16 USD

Hostel 84.6% 15 reviews
Hostal Regina
11.19 USD

Hostel 84.2% 42 reviews
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
11.51 USD

Hostel 86.5% 173 reviews
Mexico City Hostel
11.19 USD

Hostel 89.3% 467 reviews
Hostel Amigo Zócalo
13.27 USD

Hostel 86.1% 15 reviews
Hostel Amigo Suites Downtown
11.19 USD

Hostel 85.3% 145 reviews
Massiosare El Hostal
9.87 USD

Hostel 90.3% 15 reviews
YWCA Centro Historico
9.41 USD

Hostel 84.0% 109 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

218 out of 238 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Amigo'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
81.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 204 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Benjamin Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2015 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, fairly clean, great location. This isn't the best hostel in the world but it does the job.

Disliked: Room was very hot, and there was no bottled water available at the desk for almost our whole stay. Also, they had no map of the city for us to take, which is quite a basic thing for a hostel to have.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alice kondrat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2015 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was really clean and felt very safe. Breakfast was amazing! Hot water always available and staff were so friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Occasionally didn't like the dinner, felt quite ill after one. Hostel was not very lively and there wasn't much of an atmosphere. Unsure whether this was due to our of season stay or if like this all the time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They offered various tours

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rianna Cooper

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015

Liked: The location is good. The staff were great but they need to make sure the simple rules are followed.

Disliked: You must have earplugs! This is a very old building and the sound will carry. When we stayed here there was a school group who would party in their room drinking until 3am-4am in the morning VERY LOUD. We were staying in a private room as we had jetlag hoping for a good night sleep. The hostel did not enforce the no alcohol policies and they did not enforce the no noise policy after 11pm. So we did not sleep for the two nights we were there. We were offered a free taxi to the airport as a result – but not being able to sleep when that is what we are essentially paying for sucks. Almost everyone in the hostel was also complaining.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Zhu

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2015 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: The location was right in the heart of the Historical District and only a few mins' walk from the Zocalo, which is perfect for a traveller who wants to be right in the heart of it all. All the staff were fluent in English and incredibly helpful with tips on what to see, how to get there, and all the regular hostel questions. The lounge in the lobby was a good place to mingle with other travellers, too. I highly recommend this hostel to young backpackers.

Disliked: No complaints -- this place was exactly what I'd hoped for.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bartender, so funny !

Disliked: no window in my room NO DRINKABLE WATER offered !!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean (except the 2nd floor womens bathroom when it was raining, as the ceiling leaked and the room flooded), great common areas (it is easy to meet people, but not loud), good hot breakfast, lockers in the dorm rooms that are big enough to fit a small day pack. Usually has free wifi, but it was down because of a Telmex problem (not the fault of the hostel).

Disliked: In the dorm rooms, the light is right next to the fan, so that when you turn the fan on, the light becomes a strobe light. Mildly annoying to some, but if strobe lights trigger seizures for you, look for a different hostel--there are no windows in the whole hostel, so the fan is a necessity.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and value for money. Most of the torus they offer you can do by yoursel using the metro/buying your own tickets for cheaper. Really clean and easy enough to meet other travellers. Pancakes for breakfast!

Disliked: Wifi could do with some improvements- couldn't get it to work in the forms (level 2) and it broke completely during my stay but that's life!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, standard hostel, nothing lacking.

Disliked: When I arrived I was given a key to a 4 bed dorm room and told it was on the second floor. When I found the room (in a sea of rooms), all the beds were occupied. I specifically requested the 4 bed dorm and paid a higher price to avoid the 8 and 10 bed dorms. The gentleman at the front desk said he would put me in an 8 bed dorm with only 2 other people and he would not put more people in the room. There were in fact 5 other people in the dorm. I paid a higher price and was not reimbursed, nor did the gentleman seem to care much about customer service or the disorganization of the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna German

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: great location, helpful staff.

Disliked: TV downstairs is pretty loud.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ceilings are really high. Mostly just remarking

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stacey Wilkinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and bar staff are second-to-none. Such a fun place! I even extended my stay while here. The lock to the room was a bit dodgy and the door to my dorm was always left open. Just make sure you have a padlock for the lockers. Someone needed to fill up the toilet paper dispensers a bit more, as there was nine on a few occasions! Other than that, couldn't really fault the place!

Disliked: See above!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

güde folger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 güde would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness was awesome. Everytime I went to the bathroom the woman was cleaning it. The breakfast ist really great and the rooms are so big. The walls are all printed so nice and the bar is so cheap. The staff is very friendly and they offer some great tours.

Disliked: It was incredible loud every night. Especially one night some people went out to a party and when they come back they scream and knock on other doors and even throw some glasses at other doors. It kept be so loud for almost one hour without anybody from the hostel was doing something.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erin Allenby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, lots of character throughout the hostel, good location in the historical district, can book bus tickets at the little travel office in the hostel, large rooms, good cleanliness, day tours available in english and spanish (the pyramid tour was great!)

Disliked: the rooms have small open slots above the doors which allows a lot of noise to enter the room - not only from neighboring rooms and the hallway, but also form the floors below. could be difficult to sleep if you go to bed early. breakfast is very average, but free!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi, close to metro, good breakfast, close to the city centre

Disliked: Everything was perfect

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, close to bus routes and metro stations. Hot water and good showers. Decent breakfast.

Disliked: No free maps, not even photocopies. Staff not overly friendly. Most of the lockers in the dorm were broken and the itself had a horrible musty smell, despite being clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is awesome, nearly everything u will wanna visit here.

Disliked: Noisy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noise late at night

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laszlo Wagner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014 Laszlo would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet includes actual PCs, not just WiFi. Super-central, cheap.

Disliked: Well, the male toilets could do with some fixing... yellow "liquid" standing pretty full and impossible to flush properly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is really nice because all of the stuff is friedly and lovely! the place is in the middle of mexico city so its easy to find everything and i was feeling really safe!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

helen tribbel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 helen would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, friendly helpful staff, sociable, great wifi connection

Disliked: Noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sonia Hippener

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2014 sonia would recommend this property

Liked: everything, excelent place

Disliked: sonia left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kah Fai Hong

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 December 2013 Kah Fai would recommend this property

Liked: Renovated bathrooms

Disliked: Nothing much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joao pedro Vieira bota

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2013 Joao pedro would recommend this property

Liked: the localization is perfect! Have a nice atmosphere and the staff are very simpatic

Disliked: Joao pedro left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is very good, reasonable clean, staff friendly. Good value for money, although somehow the whole place seems to be a bit old/ maybe almost a little bit unattended. But maybe that's only the first impression just arriving from Germany! ;) The breakfast buffet was changing every day so you didn't eat the same every day which was good. All you can eat breakfast with one warm dish (1. day: scrambled eggs, 2. day: mexican bean dish, 3. day: ham & cheese quesadilla), bread (very dry!) and jam, cereals and milk, tea, coffee and fresh friuts and kind of a dessert (jelly). I booked a ofrfered tour to Teotihuacán which I liked a lot!

Disliked: nothing really.