HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Cuija Coyoacan

Hostel | Berlin # 268, Col. del Carmen, Coyoacan, Mexico City, Mexico 04100

91.5% Overall Rating

106 out of 110 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/05/2014)

Andrea Gutierrez thinks…

"The hostel is set up in a very beautiful and typical mexican town home. It has plenty of open space with gardens and roof top lounging area. I loved it."

Read all Hostal Cuija Coyoacan reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mexico City

MARIA DEL ALMA
45.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
El Cenote Azul
15.43 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Condesa Chapultepec Privanza
19.83 USD

Hostel 72.0% 5 reviews
Hostal La Buena Vida
22.00 USD

Guesthouse 83.4% 5 reviews
Stayinn Barefoot Condesa
16.98 USD

Hostel 84.1% 32 reviews
Hostel Home
13.12 USD

Hostel 74.4% 18 reviews
Hostel Condesa Chapultepec
13.00 USD

Hostel 76.9% 29 reviews
Hostel 333
11.57 USD

Hostel 79.0% 78 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.5%

Overall Rating

106 out of 110 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Cuija Coyoacan'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 89 of 101 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Gutierrez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is set up in a very beautiful and typical mexican town home. It has plenty of open space with gardens and roof top lounging area. I loved it.

Disliked: They charged extra for using your visa. So i had to pay with cash.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Noble

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: I recently stayed at the hostal Cuija for 2 weeks. After the hustle and bustle of down town Mexico City it always felt good to return to the qietness of Coyoacan and the hostal Cuija. I had booked a private room with bath room. I had my own patio.Facilities are basic but all in working order. The whole place is kept spotlessly clean at all times. Staff are friendly and helpful and made me feel comfortable at all times. Therefore I would strongly recommend this hostal.

Disliked: Barbara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brandon and all the staff at Hostal Cuija Coyoacan were very friendly and helpful. The property is lovely, with a garden, a roof-top deck, a big living room and dinner table where a delicious breakfast is served every morning. Hostal Cuija Coyoacan is in an excellent location. You can walk to The Frida Kahlo Museum (and others) and to the beautiful plaza where there are many good restaurants, shops, artisan markets and great people watching! We had a private room with adjoining bathroom. It was simple, clean and quiet. We loved this place and will definitely return whenever we get to Mexico City!

Disliked: Nothing. We liked everything.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah catterall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Its in a gorgeous area but not very central if thats what you're looking for.

Disliked: sarah left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and comfortable, excellent free breakfast, nice common areas, home stay style atmosphere

Disliked: Not a party hostel at all, and a fair way from the Metro, otherwise pretty good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charles Gordon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and secure property in an excellent location, walking distance to coyoacan centro y mercado etc.

Disliked: Charles left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The moment you step through the door you feel as if being at home. The staff is very welcoming and warm, it´s clean and has a lovely garden. It is very hard to leave a place like this!

Disliked: I cannot think of one thing.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Bronwen Davies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 April 2012

Liked: Security was good, breakfast was OK

Disliked: I arrived late at night having booked two nights and was told in the morning that I had to leave as they´d double booked my room. No apology was given. The barthroom were filthy and smelly and not cleaned once in the 13 hrs I was there. The staff were unhelpful and unfriendly when I arrived at 9.30pm (I´d told them to expect me to arrive at 10pm from the airport). I asked for advice to get to the bus station and they were unable to even give clear instructions to the local metro station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

virginia dowd

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2012 virginia would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful hopitality, family style breakfast with warm feeling around the table very very clean and quiet and great location near to the metro and the little local zocalo and cultural centre.

Disliked: virginia left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: garden, terrace, breakfast

Disliked: very small dorm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chloe maurouxx

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 chloe would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is absolutely lovely and breakfasts always different from a day to another. the area is perfect as it is not in the center but very easy to reach. also, there is a plazza nearby with markets, shops, restaurants, cafes. and i was impressed with the cleanliness!!

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was a beautiful house, with roof top alfresco area and beautiful furniture. the rooms and bathrooms where also very clean.

Disliked: no one could speak English, as a hostel you would expect someone to be able to communicate with the tourists. It made me very uncomfortable and estranged. it was not what i was expecting thats for sure!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Miller

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 January 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Cuija Coyoacan is amazing. Given I speak Spanish and wanted to stay in Coyoacan specifically, the two things that could possibly be downsides were upsides for me. The place was impeccably clean (they did extensive cleaning of the common areas every day), there was a home-cooked breakfast every morning at reasonable times (they even veganized it for me), and there was free internet and wifi. The place was small enough that I got to know everyone staying there, and we often had dinner together. Also, an amazing kitchen! Plus the neighbourhood is beautiful, quiet and safe.

Disliked: It wasn't a problem for me, but it is about 30 mins by metro or taxi from the centre, and none of the staff speak English very well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

martin erwin

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2011 martin would recommend this property

Liked: Hostal Cuija Coyoacan is an excellent place to stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms and facilities are top notch and the location is very safe and secure. I would highly recommend this hostel to not just budget travelers but also to folks more accustomed to high end, fancy hotels.

Disliked: I have nothing unsatisfactory to report about my stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: one of our best hostels during our 5-weeks trip. The rooms and the kitchen were kept very clean and the breakfast was extraordinarily good. Especially the ladies that keep the kitchen clean and make breakfast are very friendly and helpful. There are computers with Internet access that can be used all the time, free drinking water and a nice patio with a beautiful terrace. The city center is pretty far away, but Coyoacan is a safe district with many sights and restaurants itself.

Disliked: The price is a bit high

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel in an ideal location in Coyoacan. Near to the subway, market, restaurants etc.

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erica Kuschel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfasts were awesome. They have something new every day and will cook and serve it to you while you wait at the table.

Disliked: The wifi does not go up to the private rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander Nasyrov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a really nice hostal where I stayed twice - totally more than 8 days. Located in a very quiet and safe district of Mexico - Cayocan. The hostal is very clean and tidy, so I was feeling myself in a good guest house or at home rather than in a hostal.The staff is very friendly and nice! Once even assisted me to take a taxi outside the Hostal when it was raining and there was a risk to miss the bus to Oaxaca... so the lady from the reception accompanied me up to the taxi place. As well upstairs there´s a very nice terrace for evening meetings.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free internet + breakfast

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mati Messager

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Mati would recommend this property

Liked: Well located in a friendly and beautiful area. Helpful and friendly staff. Sunny roof to enjoy some relax time

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, quiet. friendly. great area

Disliked: breakfast was very poor, not worth eating, breakfast is such an easy meal. it could easily be improved

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice garden, very peacefull location in the middle of Mexico city

Disliked: ok

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aniket Shah

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Aniket would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location. Family-like atmosphere. Really really friendly staff. Don't miss out on a chance to live there!

Disliked: My only negative would have to do the wireless router's strength. I had to come to the lobby as the signals didn't reach my room.