We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mexico City Hostel

Hostel | República de Brasil 8, Colonia Centro, Mexico City, Mexico .

92.5% Overall Rating

421 out of 462 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/03/2015)

Janet Dromarsky thinks…

"It was very clean and attractive! Loved the art work and layout. Beautiful old building that has been well restored. Rooms were very comfortable and loads of character. Good and central…"

Read all Mexico City Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.82

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mexico City

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
11.40 USD

Hostel 86.4% 172 reviews
Hostel Amigo Suites Downtown
12.38 USD

Hostel 85.3% 145 reviews
Downtown Beds
13.03 USD

Hostel 84.6% 15 reviews
Hostel Amigo Zócalo
14.98 USD

Hostel 86.1% 15 reviews
Hostel Amigo
10.42 USD

Hostel 86.5% 237 reviews
Hostal Regina
11.07 USD

Hostel 84.2% 42 reviews
Massiosare El Hostal
9.77 USD

Hostel 90.3% 15 reviews
YWCA Centro Historico
9.32 USD

Hostel 84.0% 109 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

421 out of 462 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mexico City Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 333 of 386 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly a helpful staff, great breakfast and perfect location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janet Dromarsky

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2015 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and attractive! Loved the art work and layout. Beautiful old building that has been well restored. Rooms were very comfortable and loads of character. Good and central location. Decent breakfast - better than any I've had in Mexico

Disliked: I would have liked a written description of the hostel and area- restaurant and shopping info - etc Would have liked a roof top or court yard to hang out in- can't have everything I realize Internet very spotty- only decent reception near front lounge and dining area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, inexpensive, nice and simple

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and great location. Clean bathroons and rooms

Disliked: The hostel could make more efforts to get people to socialise. Also they didn't find my reservation at arrival so I was sent from one building to the other (they have two in the same street). Which delayed my check-in quite a bit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, perfect location, very safe.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great, location ideal for a short visit of the city center, 24h reception was very helpful, free internet

Disliked: ladies' restroom was on another floor as our room, nothing too bad, but a little inconvenient for the weary traveller ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to all historical area

Disliked: all was good the breakfeast was great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe and clean. Staff very nice and helpful. I had a private room which was so clean and beds very comfortable.

Disliked: A bit noisy. Big corridors so everything echoes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Two of us shared a 'basic double room' , it was huge and very clean (bed made everyday) and big lockers. Breakfast was good quality with a decent range of food. Great location next to the cathedral and a nice part of town to walk around, busy in the evenings so felt safe walking around looking for somewhere to eat. Showers always hot, clean and lots of them.

Disliked: Lack of communal areas and no activities offered (apart from tours)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location. helpful, friendly and bilingual staff. plenty of hot water in showers with really good water pressure. big locker. will stay again.

Disliked: bed was a bit wobbly, shook whenever the person above me moved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, helpful staff, good value

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were particularly helpful and friendly and a nice, old building.

Disliked: A bit too noisy, breakfasts were pretty bland.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. The staff is helpful. The dorms are fairly comfortable. Each bed has a receptacle for charging electronics.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ASHLEE OSWALD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 January 2015 ASHLEE would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, staff very helpful, great breakfast and tours available The hostel itself is a beautiful building, lovely to stay in :)

Disliked: Paid for an all female room and was put into a mixed room, and there were no towels given even though it says on the website that there is. Only small issues though, apart from that i loved this hostel!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2015

Liked: Clean

Disliked: boring Staff cold No communal atmosphere attempt to create a fun place u want to stay

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in most of the hostels in Mexico City and this is definitely one of the best.

Disliked: The only negative - my room was on the 4th floor and no lift.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marion Scherer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2014 Marion would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is located in the central city. It s a great place to stay in Mexico City, it s clean - I felt safe - kind stuff.

Disliked: I missed a place to meet & talk to other traveller. There s quiet a nice room with beanbags and computer, but unfortunately with a huge and lound TV.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to the zolcolo and main attractions. Very clean bathrooms, nice rooms and layout. Would recommend for a short-term stay.

Disliked: Did not have our booking upon arrival (this appeared to be the case for other travellers waiting with us). Staff were mixed; some particularly helpful, others provided minimum service.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Foley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is beautiful! Very clean, good breakfast, comfy beds and you can get a good night's sleep thanks to the midnight curfew.

Disliked: It would be great if they offered an in-house tour desk/travel agency (rather than just arrange some Mexico City tours). The bottom bunks are too short to sit on without hitting your head, and individual lamps for the beds would be good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kate Jodvalkis

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, right near the zocolo. The staff were super friendly and helpful and available 24 hours. The rooms were spacious and clean and nice.

Disliked: The wifi was not working the first night we stayed and then it was a bit hit and miss. The bed in our double room was two singles pushed together which wasn't that comfortable. No towels were provided although it says so on the information

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire McNelis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent, it's right in the historical centre. It's very clean, breakfast is good, wifi works.

Disliked: Some of the staff are very good, others are a bit clueless. It doesn't have as much atmosphere as other hostels we stayed in in Mexico.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very secure. Staff is good. Breakfast is good.

Disliked: No activities to allow guests to engage. Makes difficult for solo travellers to meet others.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top location, spacious and light

Disliked: Breakfasts could be better

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very beautiful hostel. It has great facilities like showers and bathrooms. It is very clean and safe within the hostel. The lounge area is great, but for some reason there was not a lot of socializing in the common areas. Everyone seem to be either watching tv or on their digital devices. I did meet some people within my room which was cool. This is not the fault of the hostel of course, it could be the type of travelers during that time. Either way, I definitely recommend this hostel as it is near the zocalo and metro stops.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Carpenter

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, very safe. This location is an excellent introduction to Mexico City.

Disliked: A bit noisy late at night.