We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mexico City Hostel

Hostel | República de Brasil 8, Colonia Centro, Mexico City, Mexico .

93.6% Overall Rating

406 out of 447 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/01/2015)

"The location is great. The staff is helpful. The dorms are fairly comfortable. Each bed has a receptacle for charging electronics."

Read all Mexico City Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mexico City

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
14.85 USD

Hostel 88.6% 166 reviews
Hostel Amigo Suites Downtown
14.48 USD

Hostel 86.4% 144 reviews
Downtown Beds
14.85 USD

Hostel 83.5% 14 reviews
Hostel Amigo Zócalo
17.07 USD

Hostel 86.1% 15 reviews
Hostel Amigo
12.62 USD

Hostel 86.4% 236 reviews
Hostal Regina
12.62 USD

Hostel 85.1% 41 reviews
Massiosare El Hostal
11.13 USD

Hostel 89.7% 13 reviews
YWCA Centro Historico
11.06 USD

Hostel 84.7% 106 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

406 out of 447 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mexico City Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 322 of 371 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were particularly helpful and friendly and a nice, old building.

Disliked: A bit too noisy, breakfasts were pretty bland.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. The staff is helpful. The dorms are fairly comfortable. Each bed has a receptacle for charging electronics.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ASHLEE OSWALD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 January 2015 ASHLEE would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, staff very helpful, great breakfast and tours available The hostel itself is a beautiful building, lovely to stay in :)

Disliked: Paid for an all female room and was put into a mixed room, and there were no towels given even though it says on the website that there is. Only small issues though, apart from that i loved this hostel!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2015

Liked: Clean

Disliked: boring Staff cold No communal atmosphere attempt to create a fun place u want to stay

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in most of the hostels in Mexico City and this is definitely one of the best.

Disliked: The only negative - my room was on the 4th floor and no lift.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marion Scherer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2014 Marion would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is located in the central city. It s a great place to stay in Mexico City, it s clean - I felt safe - kind stuff.

Disliked: I missed a place to meet & talk to other traveller. There s quiet a nice room with beanbags and computer, but unfortunately with a huge and lound TV.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to the zolcolo and main attractions. Very clean bathrooms, nice rooms and layout. Would recommend for a short-term stay.

Disliked: Did not have our booking upon arrival (this appeared to be the case for other travellers waiting with us). Staff were mixed; some particularly helpful, others provided minimum service.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Foley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is beautiful! Very clean, good breakfast, comfy beds and you can get a good night's sleep thanks to the midnight curfew.

Disliked: It would be great if they offered an in-house tour desk/travel agency (rather than just arrange some Mexico City tours). The bottom bunks are too short to sit on without hitting your head, and individual lamps for the beds would be good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kate Jodvalkis

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, right near the zocolo. The staff were super friendly and helpful and available 24 hours. The rooms were spacious and clean and nice.

Disliked: The wifi was not working the first night we stayed and then it was a bit hit and miss. The bed in our double room was two singles pushed together which wasn't that comfortable. No towels were provided although it says so on the information

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire McNelis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent, it's right in the historical centre. It's very clean, breakfast is good, wifi works.

Disliked: Some of the staff are very good, others are a bit clueless. It doesn't have as much atmosphere as other hostels we stayed in in Mexico.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very secure. Staff is good. Breakfast is good.

Disliked: No activities to allow guests to engage. Makes difficult for solo travellers to meet others.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top location, spacious and light

Disliked: Breakfasts could be better

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very beautiful hostel. It has great facilities like showers and bathrooms. It is very clean and safe within the hostel. The lounge area is great, but for some reason there was not a lot of socializing in the common areas. Everyone seem to be either watching tv or on their digital devices. I did meet some people within my room which was cool. This is not the fault of the hostel of course, it could be the type of travelers during that time. Either way, I definitely recommend this hostel as it is near the zocalo and metro stops.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Carpenter

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, very safe. This location is an excellent introduction to Mexico City.

Disliked: A bit noisy late at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff! Very helpful. Obviously the location is great, too.

Disliked: The wifi doesn't work on the higher levels, but it's completely fine in the lobby and communal area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i go in line with everything positive that's been said. It's clean, safe, good breakfast, etc!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mira (Eliezer) Arad

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 July 2014 Mira (Eliezer) would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the architecture of the guest house.

Disliked: not enough rooms for singels.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were beautiful, very clean facilities, they were very friendly (even when we checked-in in the middle of the night due to a cancelled flight. Great atmosphere, and right by many gorgeous sites in Mexico City/ metro.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Duncan Hamra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: The location and staff are great! They made my first few nights ever in Mexico very enjoyable

Disliked: Lots of noise, but hey what do you expect?

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nico Verhelst

Alone

City break

30 May 2014 Nico would recommend this property

Liked: Clean spacious rooms with a locker. I could put my own padlock on the locker. Only 1/2 block from the Plaza de Constitution and all tourist hotspots were within walking distance.

Disliked: Only 2 computers for the whole hostel and internet was slow. Breakfast was average. Washbasins in comunal bathrooms weren't always clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and beds are greatt

Disliked: Breakfast is very simple

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not expensive, had a nice and quiet atmosphere (although that may be because I stayed in a private room, and/or because the hostel was more or less empty when I was there). Very clean, safe. Not far from main plaza/zócalo.

Disliked: Wifi was spotty, turned on and off sometimes for long periods, especially on upper floors. Private rooms can be noisy due to the fact that they are located right next to a busy street. Curtains let in too much light at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, safe and secure, clean and very lovely staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gary Paget

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: staff were helpful, friendly and spoke good English. The room was large, clean and tidy with lockers and hot shower.

Disliked: Gary left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joseph Doherty

Alone

City break

20 March 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The location is brilliant.

Disliked: Nothing