HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mexico City Hostel

Hostel | República de Brasil 8, Colonia Centro, Mexico City, Mexico .

95.3% Overall Rating

394 out of 434 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/07/2014)

"This is a very beautiful hostel. It has great facilities like showers and bathrooms. It is very clean and safe within the hostel. The lounge area is great, but for some reason there was not a lot of socializing in the…"

Read all Mexico City Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.15

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mexico City

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
15.24 USD

Hostel 92.3% 160 reviews
Hostel Amigo Suites Downtown
10.90 USD

Hostel 89.3% 141 reviews
Downtown Beds
15.24 USD

Hostel 81.0% 12 reviews
Hostel Amigo Zócalo
14.73 USD

Hostel 89.0% 12 reviews
Hostel Amigo
9.15 USD

Hostel 84.1% 231 reviews
Hostal Regina
11.13 USD

Hostel 84.8% 39 reviews
Massiosare El Hostal
7.62 USD

Hostel 87.8% 11 reviews
YWCA Centro Historico
11.36 USD

Hostel 83.9% 104 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.3%

Overall Rating

394 out of 434 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mexico City Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 311 of 359 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top location, spacious and light

Disliked: Breakfasts could be better

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very beautiful hostel. It has great facilities like showers and bathrooms. It is very clean and safe within the hostel. The lounge area is great, but for some reason there was not a lot of socializing in the common areas. Everyone seem to be either watching tv or on their digital devices. I did meet some people within my room which was cool. This is not the fault of the hostel of course, it could be the type of travelers during that time. Either way, I definitely recommend this hostel as it is near the zocalo and metro stops.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Carpenter

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, very safe. This location is an excellent introduction to Mexico City.

Disliked: A bit noisy late at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff! Very helpful. Obviously the location is great, too.

Disliked: The wifi doesn't work on the higher levels, but it's completely fine in the lobby and communal area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i go in line with everything positive that's been said. It's clean, safe, good breakfast, etc!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mira (Eliezer) Arad

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 July 2014 Mira (Eliezer) would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the architecture of the guest house.

Disliked: not enough rooms for singels.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were beautiful, very clean facilities, they were very friendly (even when we checked-in in the middle of the night due to a cancelled flight. Great atmosphere, and right by many gorgeous sites in Mexico City/ metro.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Duncan Hamra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: The location and staff are great! They made my first few nights ever in Mexico very enjoyable

Disliked: Lots of noise, but hey what do you expect?

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nico Verhelst

Alone

City break

30 May 2014 Nico would recommend this property

Liked: Clean spacious rooms with a locker. I could put my own padlock on the locker. Only 1/2 block from the Plaza de Constitution and all tourist hotspots were within walking distance.

Disliked: Only 2 computers for the whole hostel and internet was slow. Breakfast was average. Washbasins in comunal bathrooms weren't always clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and beds are greatt

Disliked: Breakfast is very simple

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not expensive, had a nice and quiet atmosphere (although that may be because I stayed in a private room, and/or because the hostel was more or less empty when I was there). Very clean, safe. Not far from main plaza/zócalo.

Disliked: Wifi was spotty, turned on and off sometimes for long periods, especially on upper floors. Private rooms can be noisy due to the fact that they are located right next to a busy street. Curtains let in too much light at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, safe and secure, clean and very lovely staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gary Paget

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: staff were helpful, friendly and spoke good English. The room was large, clean and tidy with lockers and hot shower.

Disliked: Gary left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joseph Doherty

Alone

City break

20 March 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The location is brilliant.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decoration is beautiful and made by a professional. It was our first stay at a hostel and having seen the reception of other hostels (yet not stayed in), we are truly grateful to find this hostel at Mexico City. Secondly, the place was clean and tidy, no humidity smell, no other people's smells, no toilet smells. It was as clean as we would have expected. Third, the people working here were quite friendly and patient with all our questions, we are also grateful for that.

Disliked: The only thing was at the entrance, there were three door bells and only one worked. Then the main door, which is the security point, didn't work properly, it didn't close after the person either entered or came out, one had to push it against the frame to close it properly and sadly not all guests did this, thus almost all the time anyone in the street could have entered to rob any time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Ramone

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and modern, but central and cheap.

Disliked: Mike left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Dotchin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, a big clean room and free WIFI

Disliked: Tracey left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - can walk to most sites. Safe hostel with lockers in dorms. Good breakfast. Staff were friendly. Nice tv/common area

Disliked: Could be more information around to let people know what they can do in the city. The bowls they use at breakfast are so tiny. Seemed to be a few locals using kitchen most days for lunch

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and doorman were EXTREMELY kind and helpful. Location was fantastic--pretty much right across the street from El Zocalo. Wifi worked well most of the time, and is stronger on the lower floors. Plenty of hot water in the shower.

Disliked: Private room was tiny. The top floor is a bit of a hike, so just request a lower floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lydia Ferres

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a six bed female dorm which was in the Hostel Suites property across the road (it's mostly smaller rooms in this property). It was incredibly clean, staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was good, showers were great, lockers were huge, laundry service was good, beds were comfy, really central location, and it was really quiet at night.

Disliked: The wifi only works in the common areas and even then the signal wasn't great. The hostel itsef isn't party central. Also if you want to be surrounded by great places to go out in the evening this isn't the area for you but you can always take the metro, it's really close.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Marjorie Schincariol

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014

Liked: Nothing really to like about this hostel. If I would have to pick something I would say the location is Ok,

Disliked: The beds are really uncomfortable and way too hard. We booked a twin room and they put us in a dorm! There where no curtains in the room and having a big window reduced our privacy to zero! The street nearby was really loud and kept us awake all night long. The bathrooms were broken so when we had to use the facilities we had to go two floors up. The sheets were dirty (blood stains) and the room was cold and not cozy at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds are great, breakfast (scrambled eggs, toast, cereal, yoghurt, juice, coffee) is good (and plentiful!), whole place is very clean, showers are incredible

Disliked: The 6-bed dorms feel a bit cramped and the spacious, comfy social area actually ends up a bit antisocial sometimes with everyone sunk into their beany bags on their laptops (he says, writing on his laptop) not talking to each other.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mark Turner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 January 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the main square. Their tours on offer cost less than the same tour at other hostels. It was clean and the staff friendly. Security was good.

Disliked: The breakfasts are not good. They heavily ration things and still run out. The juice is watered down and when something runs out you have to ask them to replace it they won't do it themselves. The rooms have no curtains. The windows are covered in sun resistant plastic but it does not stop the light or provide any privacy at night when there is a light on inside the room. People from buildings across the street (there is a night club there) could look right in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and new looking.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Good security and clean facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.