HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mexico City Hostel

Hostel | República de Brasil 8, Colonia Centro, Mexico City, Mexico .

91.8% Overall Rating

380 out of 420 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

"Not expensive, had a nice and quiet atmosphere (although that may be because I stayed in a private room, and/or because the hostel was more or less empty when I was there). Very clean, safe. Not far from main…"

Read all Mexico City Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.18

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mexico City

Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
15.30 USD

Hostel 91.5% 153 reviews
Hostel Amigo Suites Downtown
10.94 USD

Hostel 91.3% 138 reviews
Downtown Beds
13.77 USD

Hostel 81.6% 11 reviews
Hostel Amigo Zócalo
14.02 USD

Hostel 89.0% 12 reviews
Hostel Amigo
9.06 USD

Hostel 85.1% 218 reviews
Hostal Regina
11.17 USD

Hostel 85.0% 38 reviews
Massiosare El Hostal
7.65 USD

Hostel 85.4% 8 reviews
YWCA Centro Historico
11.40 USD

Hostel 84.1% 102 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

380 out of 420 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mexico City Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 301 of 345 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not expensive, had a nice and quiet atmosphere (although that may be because I stayed in a private room, and/or because the hostel was more or less empty when I was there). Very clean, safe. Not far from main plaza/zócalo.

Disliked: Wifi was spotty, turned on and off sometimes for long periods, especially on upper floors. Private rooms can be noisy due to the fact that they are located right next to a busy street. Curtains let in too much light at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, safe and secure, clean and very lovely staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gary Paget

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: staff were helpful, friendly and spoke good English. The room was large, clean and tidy with lockers and hot shower.

Disliked: Gary left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joseph Doherty

Alone

City break

20 March 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The location is brilliant.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decoration is beautiful and made by a professional. It was our first stay at a hostel and having seen the reception of other hostels (yet not stayed in), we are truly grateful to find this hostel at Mexico City. Secondly, the place was clean and tidy, no humidity smell, no other people's smells, no toilet smells. It was as clean as we would have expected. Third, the people working here were quite friendly and patient with all our questions, we are also grateful for that.

Disliked: The only thing was at the entrance, there were three door bells and only one worked. Then the main door, which is the security point, didn't work properly, it didn't close after the person either entered or came out, one had to push it against the frame to close it properly and sadly not all guests did this, thus almost all the time anyone in the street could have entered to rob any time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Ramone

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and modern, but central and cheap.

Disliked: Mike left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Dotchin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, a big clean room and free WIFI

Disliked: Tracey left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - can walk to most sites. Safe hostel with lockers in dorms. Good breakfast. Staff were friendly. Nice tv/common area

Disliked: Could be more information around to let people know what they can do in the city. The bowls they use at breakfast are so tiny. Seemed to be a few locals using kitchen most days for lunch

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and doorman were EXTREMELY kind and helpful. Location was fantastic--pretty much right across the street from El Zocalo. Wifi worked well most of the time, and is stronger on the lower floors. Plenty of hot water in the shower.

Disliked: Private room was tiny. The top floor is a bit of a hike, so just request a lower floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lydia Ferres

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a six bed female dorm which was in the Hostel Suites property across the road (it's mostly smaller rooms in this property). It was incredibly clean, staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast was good, showers were great, lockers were huge, laundry service was good, beds were comfy, really central location, and it was really quiet at night.

Disliked: The wifi only works in the common areas and even then the signal wasn't great. The hostel itsef isn't party central. Also if you want to be surrounded by great places to go out in the evening this isn't the area for you but you can always take the metro, it's really close.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Marjorie Schincariol

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014

Liked: Nothing really to like about this hostel. If I would have to pick something I would say the location is Ok,

Disliked: The beds are really uncomfortable and way too hard. We booked a twin room and they put us in a dorm! There where no curtains in the room and having a big window reduced our privacy to zero! The street nearby was really loud and kept us awake all night long. The bathrooms were broken so when we had to use the facilities we had to go two floors up. The sheets were dirty (blood stains) and the room was cold and not cozy at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds are great, breakfast (scrambled eggs, toast, cereal, yoghurt, juice, coffee) is good (and plentiful!), whole place is very clean, showers are incredible

Disliked: The 6-bed dorms feel a bit cramped and the spacious, comfy social area actually ends up a bit antisocial sometimes with everyone sunk into their beany bags on their laptops (he says, writing on his laptop) not talking to each other.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mark Turner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 January 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the main square. Their tours on offer cost less than the same tour at other hostels. It was clean and the staff friendly. Security was good.

Disliked: The breakfasts are not good. They heavily ration things and still run out. The juice is watered down and when something runs out you have to ask them to replace it they won't do it themselves. The rooms have no curtains. The windows are covered in sun resistant plastic but it does not stop the light or provide any privacy at night when there is a light on inside the room. People from buildings across the street (there is a night club there) could look right in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and new looking.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Good security and clean facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reaghan Edmonds

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Reaghan would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel. Have been traveling around Central America now for 5 weeks and this hostel is by far the best one I have stayed at. Great location, Extremely clean, Great bathroom/toilet facilities, Staff extremely helpful and breakfast was included. Great value for money. Highly recommended this hostel!!

Disliked: Reaghan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice bulding, good breakfast

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute building with a lot of character, old tilework and open central courtyard. Bathrooms were clean and easily accessible.

Disliked: Due to the open courtyard in the center of the building, smoke from the entryway often wafts upstairs. The noise from the kitchen and common areas also travels a lot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, facilities & price.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alfonso García

Alone

Romantic getaway

26 December 2013 Alfonso would recommend this property

Liked: the building

Disliked: nothing out of common

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's really near the Zocalo, in the Centro Historico. Although they had me booked at their second property (on the other side of the street), the facilities where clean, the breakfast was good (and they change it daily); there was hot water (evening and "morning rush hour"); metal lockers in the dorm (big enough for a backpack + daypack); really, an excellent choice!

Disliked: It's not a deal breaker, but you can't sit on the lower bunk bed (top bunk is too low); it got annoying, especially since I kept banging my head on the top bunk to get in bed, to get out of bed, to make the bed...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jean francois dospisil

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2013 jean francois would recommend this property

Liked: ALL WAS GOOD ! Staff...price...location...cleanliness. Good choice if you selected it !

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Loukas Manesis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013 Loukas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, super clean restrooms, helpful staff and great breakfast for hostel standards.

Disliked: Perhaps the wifi could be a bit faster, but not big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff, cleanliness, location, price, breakfast.

Disliked: The noise the doors make!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Carly Freeston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right in the centre of town, but the hostel is VERY QUIET. The beds are comfortable and there are lockers in the private rooms too. Really good fan - felt like AC. There are loads of showers and toilets (about 10 of each on our floor). Breakfast was huge and the chef was really friendly. We were given a really good map and some useful information about the area when we arrived. Felt very secure - locked front door. Great wifi.

Disliked: 100 peso deposit for towel - obviously you get the deposit back, but still...