We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Hostel | Rep. de Guatemala 4, Col. Centro, Delegación Cuauhtémoc Mexico City, Mexico 6020

87.4% Overall Rating

156 out of 171 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/12/2014)

Tania Woolford thinks…

"Lockers in the room, approachable and nice staff, TV and sky in the private rooms, location is excellent, roof top balcony with stunning view"

Read all Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mexico City

Mexico City Hostel
11.26 USD

Hostel 93.0% 457 reviews
Hostel Amigo Suites Downtown
10.93 USD

Hostel 85.3% 145 reviews
Hostel Amigo Zócalo
15.24 USD

Hostel 86.1% 15 reviews
Downtown Beds
13.25 USD

Hostel 83.5% 14 reviews
Hostel Amigo
11.26 USD

Hostel 86.4% 236 reviews
Hostal Regina
11.26 USD

Hostel 84.2% 42 reviews
Massiosare El Hostal
9.94 USD

Hostel 90.3% 15 reviews
YWCA Centro Historico
9.47 USD

Hostel 84.3% 107 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

156 out of 171 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 118 of 151 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Christopher Griffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2015 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop terrace is lovely. Breakfast was great. Good location.

Disliked: Probably the noisiest hostel I have ever stayed at. Due to the design, you will likely not be able to sleep before 12 or after 8am. Slamming doors, voices, footsteps. Even when there isn't a party on...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean, tidy, staff very helpful

Disliked: Noisy if you want to sleep

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Tania Woolford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2014 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers in the room, approachable and nice staff, TV and sky in the private rooms, location is excellent, roof top balcony with stunning view

Disliked: wifi is terrible, dirty showers, smelly toilets, not enough staff on breakfast-ran out of dishes and food

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2014

Liked: Location if it weren't for the protests

Disliked: I think this use to be a party hostel but is not any more due to the protests. Is nearly deserted, manager was rude and THERE'S NO WIFI. Pay only for your first night when getting there as if you decide you want to leave there's no refunds. I booked a double private room as a treat after a long few weeks travelling and decided to chose this place based on my previous experience with HI. My main issue with the hostel in Mexico City was the lack of wifi but more so the attitude of the manager. The way he spoke to me when I raised the issue to him was not only rude but humiliating. He cut me short when I was explaining myself in front of several several staff members and told me it was my fault for booking a private room in a hostel. Having payed for a week I left the hostel after only 3 days because the thought of having to see him and the people in front of whom he humiliated me was too much, that and the fact that my room felt like a jail cell, in complete silence with no WIFI, the TV broken, and no point in going to the bar as the building was almost deserted. Other issues were that the room was covered in dust (I am asthmatic) and cold due to the fact that half the wall is a row of wooden windows and when I asked for a blanket I was told I could only have an extra bedsheet by the receptionist (it was one of the security people that found me a blanket when I told him what happened on my way back to my room). I don't care much about the few pounds I wasted but I treat people with respect and like most people I am not used to be not only ripped off, as I did not receive the service I payed for, but also yelled at and disrespected by a man that is likely just used to people that are travelling and cannot be bother doing anything about his attitude.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast and the rooftop terrace has amazing views!!

Disliked: It was a party hostel so very noisy. All the rooms are over the courtyard and the staff don't seem to care that people want to sleep so they are very loud whilst cleaning. However I saw past reviews which said not to expect much sleep so I was prepared!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Egan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2014 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has an amazing atmosphere. I stayed alone for one week, made some great friends and had a fantastic time. The rooftop bar means the hostel is very sociable. I thought it was also great how one of the staff members would take us out for a night out so that we could really experience proper Mexico City. This hostel also offers 1 free night if you pay for 4 which was great.

Disliked: The Wifi is awful, the hostel seriously needs to do something about it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

PARK JAEWAN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014

Liked: friendly staff!! most of valuable thing!

Disliked: room too small for staying even i can't open my carrier

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anita Renner Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Anita would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Unfortunately a huge group of school children were staying there at the same time as me and so there wasn't much of a social scene and I was travelling only own, this was very important.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosalyn Webb

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

14 July 2014 Rosalyn would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome right in the heart of the historical centre. Breakfast is great with scrambled eggs hitting the spot to start the day

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Duncan Hamra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: It has girls

Disliked: It has guys. Specifically the one guy (security guard) who told us to stop ply cards in the kiddy because it was 10 at night

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rustom Marker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Rustom would recommend this property

Liked: Offered all facilities, was in a great location and the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: There was a smell in my room but when I opened the window it was fine

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was really good!

Disliked: I didn´t like that we had to wear a kind of bracelet tho hole time to enter. They said it is for security but nobody cared about it. The atmosphere in general hasn´t been personal, probably because it´s a big hostal. And our room just had a window to an inner courtyard so there wasn´t fresh air and it was to hot inside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Wombwell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is perfect if you want to meet other travellers. The roof top bar means you get talking to so many people, there always seems to be something going on up there every evening. It's right in the main square so a perfect base to explore the city. All the staff are really helpful and speak great English which helped me and my limited Spanish.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location to access various tourism places.

Disliked: Noisy at night, the water from the water fountain is not coean.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derek Seehausen

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

17 March 2014 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. Nice room. Hot shower.

Disliked: Poor wifi speed. Can get loud.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Michelle Koo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good breakfast with great view of the zocalo. Lockers in the dorm room big enough for most luggage.

Disliked: There was mold growing in the shower. The beds felt rickety. if you rolled over, they would shake.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and terrace

Disliked: Bar is to expensive

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right by the zocolo. Friendly staff, felt really safe. Breakfast was cool on the rooftop.

Disliked: Really noisy at night, although staff do tell people off for being loud and it was quieter after midnight. Still managed to get really good sleep!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Castrique

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely fantastic staff, everyone is super friendly and welcoming. They also run awesome free walking tours which are a lot of fun! Fernando is a great tour guide!!! Location is very central and it's super easy to get around in a very safe part of the city. I was supposed to stay for a week and a half but that was a month ago now, it's just too much fun here so i can't leave!!!

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are great Location is right in the centre Awesome showers

Disliked: Internet is horrendous The key cards kept stop working which was annoying Hostel seems understaffed, there are always lines at reception

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Zocalo

Disliked: On Oct 2, Mexico CIty has riots every year and it is difficult to get to the hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anania Tagaro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Anania would recommend this property

Liked: IT WAS AMAZING!!! BEST HOSTEL I'VE EVER STAYED IN!!! I had the greatest time. My room was clean and safe, I met some super cool people that are now my mates, the bar was just the best place to party - and bartenders Igor and Martin were awesome, reception was super friendly - Emiliano and Fernando were extremely helpful, and it was centrally located close to all the main attractions and metro lines. I loved it! I would totes go back!!! :D

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Bruce

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great hostel to stay at with nice rooms and a great roof top bar. The hostel also has a kitchen so you can cook your own food. It is in a safe location and close to the metro which makes travelling around easy. The bar staff are a load of fun and made staying at the hostel lots of fun.

Disliked: The only big downfall of this hostel is that while I was there they stuffed up a few of my friends payments. They had fully paid and then were suddenly accused of not having full paid and they were going to kick them out. This was highly unprofessional and we believe it was due to them over booking the hostel. All I can say is make sure you get a receipt saying you have paid and be very careful as a similar situation happened to other travellers that I met later on. I did really like this hostel so it's a pity that this had to happen as otherwise I would highly recommend it.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lichun Lin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Lichun would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast is good!

Disliked: wifi is bad

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wen-Chieh Fan Chiang

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Wen-Chieh would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hoatel. Great location.

Disliked: Wen-Chieh left no negative feedback.