HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral

Hostel | Rep. de Guatemala 4, Col. Centro, Delegación Cuauhtémoc Mexico City, Mexico 6020

91.5% Overall Rating

147 out of 159 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

Rosalyn Webb thinks…

"The location is awesome right in the heart of the historical centre. Breakfast is great with scrambled eggs hitting the spot to start the day"

Read all Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mexico City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mexico City

Mexico City Hostel
13.11 USD

Hostel 95.0% 430 reviews
Hostel Amigo Suites Downtown
14.65 USD

Hostel 90.1% 140 reviews
Hostel Amigo Zócalo
17.73 USD

Hostel 89.0% 12 reviews
Downtown Beds
15.42 USD

Hostel 81.6% 11 reviews
Hostel Amigo
10.02 USD

Hostel 84.6% 229 reviews
Hostal Regina
11.26 USD

Hostel 85.0% 38 reviews
Massiosare El Hostal
7.71 USD

Hostel 87.8% 11 reviews
YWCA Centro Historico
11.49 USD

Hostel 83.9% 104 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.5%

Overall Rating

147 out of 159 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 111 of 139 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anita Renner Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Anita would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Unfortunately a huge group of school children were staying there at the same time as me and so there wasn't much of a social scene and I was travelling only own, this was very important.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosalyn Webb

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

14 July 2014 Rosalyn would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome right in the heart of the historical centre. Breakfast is great with scrambled eggs hitting the spot to start the day

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Duncan Hamra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: It has girls

Disliked: It has guys. Specifically the one guy (security guard) who told us to stop ply cards in the kiddy because it was 10 at night

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rustom Marker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Rustom would recommend this property

Liked: Offered all facilities, was in a great location and the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: There was a smell in my room but when I opened the window it was fine

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was really good!

Disliked: I didn´t like that we had to wear a kind of bracelet tho hole time to enter. They said it is for security but nobody cared about it. The atmosphere in general hasn´t been personal, probably because it´s a big hostal. And our room just had a window to an inner courtyard so there wasn´t fresh air and it was to hot inside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Wombwell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is perfect if you want to meet other travellers. The roof top bar means you get talking to so many people, there always seems to be something going on up there every evening. It's right in the main square so a perfect base to explore the city. All the staff are really helpful and speak great English which helped me and my limited Spanish.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location to access various tourism places.

Disliked: Noisy at night, the water from the water fountain is not coean.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derek Seehausen

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

17 March 2014 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. Nice room. Hot shower.

Disliked: Poor wifi speed. Can get loud.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Michelle Koo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good breakfast with great view of the zocalo. Lockers in the dorm room big enough for most luggage.

Disliked: There was mold growing in the shower. The beds felt rickety. if you rolled over, they would shake.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and terrace

Disliked: Bar is to expensive

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right by the zocolo. Friendly staff, felt really safe. Breakfast was cool on the rooftop.

Disliked: Really noisy at night, although staff do tell people off for being loud and it was quieter after midnight. Still managed to get really good sleep!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Castrique

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely fantastic staff, everyone is super friendly and welcoming. They also run awesome free walking tours which are a lot of fun! Fernando is a great tour guide!!! Location is very central and it's super easy to get around in a very safe part of the city. I was supposed to stay for a week and a half but that was a month ago now, it's just too much fun here so i can't leave!!!

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are great Location is right in the centre Awesome showers

Disliked: Internet is horrendous The key cards kept stop working which was annoying Hostel seems understaffed, there are always lines at reception

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Zocalo

Disliked: On Oct 2, Mexico CIty has riots every year and it is difficult to get to the hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anania Tagaro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Anania would recommend this property

Liked: IT WAS AMAZING!!! BEST HOSTEL I'VE EVER STAYED IN!!! I had the greatest time. My room was clean and safe, I met some super cool people that are now my mates, the bar was just the best place to party - and bartenders Igor and Martin were awesome, reception was super friendly - Emiliano and Fernando were extremely helpful, and it was centrally located close to all the main attractions and metro lines. I loved it! I would totes go back!!! :D

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Bruce

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great hostel to stay at with nice rooms and a great roof top bar. The hostel also has a kitchen so you can cook your own food. It is in a safe location and close to the metro which makes travelling around easy. The bar staff are a load of fun and made staying at the hostel lots of fun.

Disliked: The only big downfall of this hostel is that while I was there they stuffed up a few of my friends payments. They had fully paid and then were suddenly accused of not having full paid and they were going to kick them out. This was highly unprofessional and we believe it was due to them over booking the hostel. All I can say is make sure you get a receipt saying you have paid and be very careful as a similar situation happened to other travellers that I met later on. I did really like this hostel so it's a pity that this had to happen as otherwise I would highly recommend it.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lichun Lin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Lichun would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast is good!

Disliked: wifi is bad

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wen-Chieh Fan Chiang

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Wen-Chieh would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hoatel. Great location.

Disliked: Wen-Chieh left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to everything. Close to metro.

Disliked: Rooms very noisy. All lead onto main square, no windows so you can hear everyone. Pipes in room very noisy all night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Bernal

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 June 2013 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price.

Disliked: Pyramid tour was more expensive than in other hostels.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good roof top bar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The perfect location: directly in the center, close to the metro The cocktailbar on the roof with great view on the cathedral

Disliked: The only little thing: I would have appreciated more vegetarian dishes in the restaurant

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veronica Augusto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: no

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Cox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent central location, extremely cheap and friendly bar. Free activities and fantastic staff

Disliked: Perhaps it is churlish to mention it, as the basic breakfast is free, but this is not an excuse for the restaurant staff serving it to be rude or dismissive. Way to gets NOT to eat in your restaurant as a paying customer! The hostel can be a little noisy, but they do provide ear plugs :)

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really good. They have a restaurant which is convenient when you're too tired to walk anymore.

Disliked: The breakfast wasn't much. Pretty much cereal and toast.

The property's response is...