We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Merida hostels

Reviews of Hostel Luna Nueva

Hostel | Calle 56 A No.487 x 49, Merida, Mexico 97000

87.6% Overall Rating

15 out of 15 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2014)

"Quiet location, close to the old part of the city. The hostel was quiet and very clean. The staff were helpful although not overly friendly. We had to catch a flight very early and staff were on hand to help us."

Read all Hostel Luna Nueva reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Merida?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Merida

Nomadas Hostel
10.56 USD

Hostel 92.7% 286 reviews
Hotel Caribe
13.03 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Reforma Hotel
22.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.1% 4 reviews
La Mision de Fray Diego
26.99 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel del Peregrino
21.13 USD

Hostel 89.0% 20 reviews
Hostal Sta Lucia
7.55 USD

Guesthouse 70.3% 36 reviews
Hotel H.O.
45.27 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
El Jardin
13.20 USD

Hostel 86.3% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.6%

Overall Rating

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Luna Nueva'

Atmosphere
81.3%
Location
82.7%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
97.3%
Staff
82.7%
Value
93.3%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 11 of 15 reviews
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location, close to the old part of the city. The hostel was quiet and very clean. The staff were helpful although not overly friendly. We had to catch a flight very early and staff were on hand to help us.

Disliked: The breakfast was coffee and toast. We were a little disapointed in this as we had just left a hostel in Havana that served excellent breakfasts

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm and the shared bathroom were clean. I could use without any problems or extra cost a parking lot around the corner. The location is some blocks away from the central plaza but still in walking distance.

Disliked: The staff tries but without any knowledge of Spanish, you will have a hard time. Besides that, I had some details I disliked: the showers did not have enough pressure to get the shampoo out of my hair, I paid for washing my clothes and was just told when I wanted to use the dryer that it is not working properly. It seems to be unusal, that guests actually eat breakfast, I was watched by the staff the complete time. Be aware that the dorm has two ceiling fans and one portable ventilator that don't cover the complete room.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Hemingway

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: I was very impressed with this place. the private rooms are hotel standard, super clean, good wifi, great bathrooms, AC, TV, etc. Its an easy walk to the main part of town, and is in a quiet, tidy street. Walk from bus stations is long but doable. Its great value for money, would highly recommend.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Billy Davison

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Billy would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to stay if you want an entire dorm room to yourself. Brand new property, nice bathroom. Location fairly good.

Disliked: If you cannot speak Spanish then the staff are not going to be able to help you with any questions you might have. How can you advertise your property on an English speaking website and yet not speak a little English??!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location,, friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reid Masters

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Reid would recommend this property

Liked: location was great. very clean. beautiful building.

Disliked: No air conditioning. VERY HOT and HUMID.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I booked this place as the cheapest hotel I could find in Merida with air conditioning and private shower, and it fit that bill quite well. The room was pretty nice all in all, and quite clean.

Disliked: The one serious issue I had is that no one there spoke English. They were nice though and I didn't have any big problems. I took the room on the first floor, which I don't really recommend because you're right by the front desk and some noise carries. I had to run the water for about a minute for it to get hot, but no big deal.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Air-conditioned room was wonderful - a welcome relief from the warm weather in Merida!

Disliked: Breakfast was fine but quite basic - 2 pieces of white bread toast and coffee.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loacated at the very quite townward end of the "Paseo Montejo", Meridas Champs Elysees. The other sights of the city around the plaza are 10min away. Very nice and big room.

Disliked: The two private rooms are behind the recpetion (see picture). The guy at the reception started watching youtube videos at high volume at 7am (samba dancing videos), moving furniture at 11:30 pm and was watching TV all day and all night. (The TV is at the other side of the entrance hall). So in our 3 night-stay we had to ask 3 times for a bit silence to sleep....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

valerie LATHAM

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012 valerie would recommend this property

Liked: not like a hostel like a hotel. basic but all that you need. stayed an extra night. great location and wonderful staff. clean modern and bright.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, near downtown, Santa Ana park and Paseo Montejo. Nice staff

Disliked: not very clean


See all Merida hostels