HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Luna Nueva Merida

Hostel

Calle 49 no. 487 x 56 a col. centro, Merida, Mexico

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 79%

Location 80%

Safety 88%

Staff 84%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Cable TV
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Parking
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Merida?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 79%

Location 80%

Safety 88%

Staff 84%

Value 91%

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful and I arrived early in the morning, check in was not until 3pm (15:00) but the staff let me check in early anyway. That was very kind. They only spoke Spanish (which I guess can be expected in Central America) - however, they were patient with my bad Spanish and understanding.

Disliked: There was not much atmosphere and it was quite far away from the center city. I understand it's Mexico and Central America and it is I suppose expected for only Spanish speaking staff. But it would have been nice to have someone who could speak in English. They didn't offer much tours or advertise they had some. You really had to ask about everything.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great located, very helpful staff, shared kitchen, daily cleaned room.I would stay there again!

Disliked: No daylight in our room. The window was in the direction of the staircase.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice and clean, good private double with clean bathroom. A few blocks away from the main squares but an easy walk. Nice and quiet at night so was able to get a great nights sleep. Very happy with our stay here.

Disliked: Didn't have the option of getting breakfast there and no fridge in room to store breakfast stuff. Some cages nearby though, just tricky when you have to leave early.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Dorms and bathrooms were clean, well air-conditioned

Disliked: There is no kitchen, just some overpriced snack bar and kitchen sink and few plates you can use. There is even no fridge here. There are couple of couches in the reception but no actual area to hang out. Reception guys didn't talk a word english.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday

Liked: Lovely place, near restaurants and downtown

Disliked: We had some trouble finding the property.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice and helpful personal

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Quiet location, close to the old part of the city. The hostel was quiet and very clean. The staff were helpful although not overly friendly. We had to catch a flight very early and staff were on hand to help us.

Disliked: The breakfast was coffee and toast. We were a little disapointed in this as we had just left a hostel in Havana that served excellent breakfasts

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The dorm and the shared bathroom were clean. I could use without any problems or extra cost a parking lot around the corner. The location is some blocks away from the central plaza but still in walking distance.

Disliked: The staff tries but without any knowledge of Spanish, you will have a hard time. Besides that, I had some details I disliked: the showers did not have enough pressure to get the shampoo out of my hair, I paid for washing my clothes and was just told when I wanted to use the dryer that it is not working properly. It seems to be unusal, that guests actually eat breakfast, I was watched by the staff the complete time. Be aware that the dorm has two ceiling fans and one portable ventilator that don't cover the complete room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Gracias por los comentarios, seguiremos trabajando para ofrecerles un mejor servicio.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I was very impressed with this place. the private rooms are hotel standard, super clean, good wifi, great bathrooms, AC, TV, etc. Its an easy walk to the main part of town, and is in a quiet, tidy street. Walk from bus stations is long but doable. Its great value for money, would highly recommend.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Perfect place to stay if you want an entire dorm room to yourself. Brand new property, nice bathroom. Location fairly good.

Disliked: If you cannot speak Spanish then the staff are not going to be able to help you with any questions you might have. How can you advertise your property on an English speaking website and yet not speak a little English??!!!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability