HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Merida hostels

Reviews of Hostal Zocalo

Guesthouse | Calle 63 entre 60 y 62, # 508, Merida, Mexico 97000

88.2% Overall Rating

116 out of 131 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/03/2014)

"I couldn't imagine a better hostel! I've been travelling for two months and have been trying to fit in as much as possible so have only been staying one or two nights in most places but felt so comfortable, safe and…"

Read all Hostal Zocalo reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.53
  • Breakfast USD 3.06

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Merida?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Merida

Reforma Hotel
22.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.1% 4 reviews
La Mision de Fray Diego
27.34 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Caribe
17.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel H.O.
45.85 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Hostel Luna Nueva
9.17 USD

Hostel 88.1% 12 reviews
Hostal Sta Lucia
7.64 USD

Guesthouse 74.5% 34 reviews
Nomadas Hostel
10.70 USD

Hostel 91.2% 273 reviews
Hotel del Peregrino
21.40 USD

Hostel 89.0% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

116 out of 131 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Zocalo'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 104 of 124 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I couldn't imagine a better hostel! I've been travelling for two months and have been trying to fit in as much as possible so have only been staying one or two nights in most places but felt so comfortable, safe and happy at Hostel Zocalo that I've ended up staying a week! This is an excellent hostel in some many different ways. The staff are friendly and welcoming. In the morning they layout a breakfast feast of different types of fruit, cereal, nuts, yoghurt, warm bread, jam and peanut butter. In addition they even offer to make you an omelette and this is all include in the price! It's unlikely you will need to buy lunch after this breakfast. The property is spacious and beautiful and the female dorms have single beds rather than bunks which is such a luxury for a hostel. On the door step of the hostel you have all the main attractions of Merida but despite this you can not really hear any of the music or noise from the square in the hostel. Other perks include a tourist office just under the hostel, very large storage lockers, free towel, plenty of toilets and showers, WIFI and many power sockets. Sal

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

sarah horcoff

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2014 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The location overlooking Gran Plaza is awesome especially if you get one of the rooms with a balcony. The breakfast is great with plenty of options. The women's shared bathroom is very nice. The atmosphere is good with a good socializing area but not a big noisy party place.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Piotr Gawron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: In this hostel I had the best breakfast that I ever ate in any hostel.

Disliked: The men bathroom need a renovation. And it's definitelly to small.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lauri Bruun

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2014 Lauri would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel has a nice big kitchen and wifi was quite ok. Beds comfy. Showers had hot water too.

Disliked: Very crowded and noisy environment. Staff needs to act more respectfully towards customers! There are many better deals in Merida than this rundown Hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maie-Eve St-Germain

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2013 Maie-Eve would recommend this property

Liked: Everything good

Disliked: No problem

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Casey Ryan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Casey would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful stay. Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. Breakfast was almost too much in the morning! Good company, laid back atmosphere, but impossible to be closer to the center of everything in Merida.

Disliked: Casey left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Unfortunately I think the place needs a little renovation, not enought lockers + bathroom could use an overhaul + common area is a bit cramped when the hostel is full

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Well, considering our room was broken into and the owner said no way! Even though I point out that the window screen was not on and someone could have been easly accessed through the window. He still refused admitting there was a problem. In fact he tried to put the blame on us. The good was nothing of our stuff was touch, just move around a bit and the owner stated that if something was missing that he would have paid for it. The other thing was, they kept pointing to another window they just bought and kept saying this one was going to replace the broken one in our room. Which brings up the next question, why place someone in a room that had such an issue. Also, they allow smoking in the room, so if someone is smoking in the room next to yours, you will be able to smell it all night long and you will not be able to detirmine which room it is either. Needless to say we move to a different place because we didn't feel safe and other issues

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gergely Simon

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

26 October 2013 Gergely would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast & location

Disliked: No AC

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No wifi in our room. Would have liked clear directions to get there from the terminal

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is famous for its breakfast. It is bountiful, healthy and nutritious, featuring a wide assortment of tropical fruits, even nuts and dried fruit, cereals, coffee/tea and a fried omelette, upon request. The location of the hostel is excellent. You can walk here from the bus station, and the hostel is right in front of the Main Square, which is lively at night. It is easy to find whatever you want near the hostel and is close to many conveniences. The female staff at the hostel work really hard, especially the breakfast staff and the cleaners, while some of the male staff are a bit lazy. Excellent value for money in a beautiful city. Because of this, the hostel is very popular and very busy with travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location. Wonderful interior both for relaxiing and getting along with fellow travelers. The huge breakfast is unbeatable. It's just very cosy and the staff is helpful.

Disliked: Hotwater is sometimes not available

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Very good location. The interior is very relaxing and it provides wide spaces for chill out and getting in touch with other travellers.

Disliked: Sometimes hot water is not provided.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

clive koffman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 clive would recommend this property

Liked: Location is amazing, breakfast is copious and delicious, beds are very comfortable, hot and powerfull shower... it is a great place. It was hard to leave

Disliked: Nothing because it was great!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chantal Bouveron

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2013 Chantal would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is full of amazing fruits and freshly made omelets. Our room had a beautiful little balcony that overlooked the city square. It was cozy and simple: no bells or whistles, but those aren't needed when you're in such as beautiful city. 24 hour help at the front desk.

Disliked: Chantal left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Strong WiFi, one of the best breakfasts I ever had at a Hostal. Well laid out, comfy furniture and plenty of room to hang out and meet other travelers.

Disliked: Cool water showers

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marco Girelli

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 September 2013 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Ambiente carino

Disliked: I bagni senza porta

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, and the kitchen facilities were amazing.

Disliked: There wasn't really a communal vibe. More cold looks than most hostels I've stayed at. Maybe it's just because Merida is hot and there's no A/C. Maybe it's because there is really no centralized place to 'hang out'. Don't know. Just didn't meet many new people when I was there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helena Savva

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: The perfect hostel! Clean rooms, helpful staff, well priced, beautiful building, great location, fantastic breakfast - would recommend to anyone

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fernando Bernal

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 June 2013 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Fernando left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013

Liked: The location directly on the Zocalo is amazing, and the breakfast consisting of eggs, bread, butter, jam, peanut butter, cereal, fresh fruit, coffee or tea and juice is way above hostel standards. It's served at a big communal table though, which may or may not be your thing depending on the level of interaction you can handle right after waking up. The tour to Uxmal they booked for us was very good!

Disliked: Our room (a double with private bathroom) was kinda tucked away in a backyard, together with drying laundry. Therefor we also couldn't get the WiFi to properly work inside our room. Unfortunately it was rather loud despite the location, because there's a mosquito net right above the door, but no glass, so you can hear absolutely everything that's going on in front of your door and upstairs. Combine that with obnoxious neighbors and you won't get too much sleep. Unfortunately staff didn't seem concerned about that at all, so nobody stopped people from having noisy conversations or STARTING to play music at 2:30am. But that's quite in line with how we generally perceived the employees of this hostel, nice enough, but not exactly going out of their way for you. One of them actually continued to play Pacman on his tablet while we booked a tour and only finally stopped when he had to write the voucher.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were travelling with a child of 5 months and really we got an amazing welcome and time overthere. The staff was helpfull and very nice. We liked the central location and the commun place of the hostal. We have to say that the breakfast are great !

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The house is really nice. The beds are great, very comfortable. The breakfast is amazing!

Disliked: The bathrooms are old.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christoph Ihrenberger

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

01 March 2013 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: the facility and the breakfast

Disliked: nothing


See all Merida hostels