HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Merida hostels

Reviews of El Jardin

Hostel | Calle 70 # 509 x, 61 y 63 Centro, Merida, Mexico 97000

86.4% Overall Rating

17 out of 18 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/12/2013)

"Elsie was a friendly and helpful host. Very pleasant courtyard setting. Breakfast included made for a great lodging value"

Read all El Jardin reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Merida?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Merida

Hotel H.O.
45.82 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Reforma Hotel
22.91 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.1% 4 reviews
La Mision de Fray Diego
27.32 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Caribe
13.19 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostel Luna Nueva
9.16 USD

Hostel 88.4% 14 reviews
Hostal Sta Lucia
7.64 USD

Guesthouse 70.3% 36 reviews
Hotel del Peregrino
21.38 USD

Hostel 89.0% 20 reviews
Nomadas Hostel
10.69 USD

Hostel 93.3% 282 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

17 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Jardin'

Atmosphere
83.3%
Location
86.7%
Facilities
77.8%
Cleanliness
88.9%
Staff
87.8%
Value
90.0%
Safety
90.0%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 18 reviews
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location which is really good and the house is pretty.

Disliked: The wifi doesn´t get into the rooms and the airconditioning has an extra cost.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gary Paget

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet & relaxing with a helpful and accommodating owner.

Disliked: We stayed for 6 nights so a variation in the breakfast menu would have been welcome.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Elsie was a friendly and helpful host. Very pleasant courtyard setting. Breakfast included made for a great lodging value

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sophie jarman

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 December 2013 sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Elsy is really lovely, she can give you good ideas of what to do and where to go. The breakfasts were yummy, it was different every day with typical Mexican breakfast food. The decor of the house is really lovely. Each room has a patio seating area which is really nice to sit out and read or have a drink and snack.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like that much was that the mattress was really soft and soft mattresses give me bad back ache.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Denise Potter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay here very much .When we approached the property from the road it did not look very inviting but once we were through the door it was quite a surprise. The room was very spacious and very clean.The bed was comfortable. Outside of our room we had a table and chairs where we could sit in the sun. The kitchen downstairs was spacious. The kitchen was being renovated at this time so we couldn´t use it as much as we would have wanted but we were told to ask for anything we needed and i am sure once it is finished it will be okay.The breakfast was basic but okay.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and relaxed. Very nicely decorated. Lovely people.

Disliked: No negatives.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anita Murray

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2012 Anita would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the 'easy' laid back feel. Very quiet. 3 blocks from the Main Plaza.

Disliked: Nothing

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room and bathroom. Friendly owner. Relaxed atmosphere. Nice patio to sit out on. Quite close to centre. Nice cooked breakfast.

Disliked: Kitchen a bit lacking in equipment.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jie Miao

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2012 Jie would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location: just a few minutes in one direction to the main bus station, and just a few minutes in one direction to the central plaza.

Disliked: Room was terribly hot and stuffy even with ceiling fan.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very open and kind.

Disliked: I did not like that when I booked a tour to Chichen Itza they forgot to tell me that the price of entry was not included and I had to borrow money from the tour company.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, fan + air conditioning, cable tv, wifi, and a lovely atmosphere. The included breakfast was very tasty (torta sandwich, banana, bread + jam, coffee), and the woman who runs the place was very helpful. She even offered to hold onto our luggage for us after checkout so that we could explore the city for an extra day before our bus left in the evening.

Disliked: No complaints!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amir yaniv

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 amir would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Even though e had to leave at 5:45 am, breakfast was offerred to us at 5:15 am

Disliked: The bed matresses are very soft

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good localization between bus station and downtown, nice and calm , very helpfull and nice staff,

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location and the outside area to sit and relax in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a nice guesthouse painted in white color with open area and small garden. Can relax in tea-time in open area. The private room make us confortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Elsie, the owner, was very friendly and helpful, as were the employees. The atmosphere was relaxed and pleasant and our room was kept clean. We had a great stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Ferreira

06 December 2008 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very good and friendly.

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.


See all Merida hostels