HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of El Catrin Guanajuato Hostel

Carcamanes 3. Callejo Oscuro No.3, Guanajuato, Mexico

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 52%

Location 75%

Safety 64%

Staff 71%

Value 59%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 21.81USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 23:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Lockout
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guanajuato?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 52%

Location 75%

Safety 64%

Staff 71%

Value 59%

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it was ok. dorm clean and fairly standard. the location is a bit sketchy up high on a windy backroad up hill. the view from the terrace is lovely though and its nice to have breakfast there.

Disliked: The only thing i really found annoying was to leave my small rucksack in the hostel for the next afternoon was an extra 50 pesos, which was really annoying and over priced. For this i would not recommend the hostel

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was decent and the building has potential.

Disliked: This hostel was basically a house across the street from the owners' house with some beds for people to sleep in. It was mismanaged and very unorganized. There was rarely anyone in the hostel to answer questions from guests. Breakfast was not served until we asked about it (at which point we were told to go to the cafe down the block), and the bathrooms were never cleaned. There was also never any toilet paper in the bathrooms. Most of all, this hostel is extremely difficult to find - all the reviews saying this were not joking around.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is the most awful hostel I've stayed in. There was no hot water during our stay. The included breakfast was lame. The only thing good about this property is its location.

Disliked: Pretty much everything.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is good, although it may be hard to find when coming with a car. The decoration and the breakfast were nice.

Disliked: They close the door at midnight, you have the key to the front door, but it's not really useful since the internal lock won't let you open; we had to knock until another guest opened the door. The bathroom was not in the best conditions. You could hear all the noise from the reception and hallway.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing staff and other backpackers, value, close to everything

Disliked: Difficult to find - directions on confirmation email not descriptive enough as you need to know once you leave bus to walk through a small square take left/straight street, follow up and take second little alley on left. Try loading on Google maps in advance

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Our room was very big and, view from the terrace ist really great and the staff was really friendly. The hostel is probably hard to find first but the location is really good because it's really close to the city center.

Disliked: The bathroom in our room didn't have a door but only a curtain, so if you feel uncomfortable with this it could be a problem.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: - great location- very nice view from the rooftop terrace- friendly staff, Raul The Manager is taking care that every guest is welcomed and feels comfortable

Disliked: - there is no stove in the kitchen- quite dark common room in the evenings and only 1 electricity plug (which in my case was too far from the table)- didn't understand their breakfast policy - of 10 nights I stayed in the hostel, only 4 or 5 mornings there was breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: location!

Disliked: need to get improved on cleanness

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The property itself had a lot of charm and character and there were good communal areas. The dormitory was large and spacious. The rooftop terrace provided stunning views of the city, that alone were worth the visit. Excellent location, right in the heart of the city.

Disliked: Overall, things felt very disorganised here. Breakfast always started later than expected, bed linens weren't provided until after 9pm one night, several rooms were over-booked (a couple of girls had to share a tent on the terrace and my bed one night was a mattress on 2 wooden pallets). There was never any hot water when I had a shower and the downstairs toilet was broken, as were a lot of the chairs in the dining room.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Only staff. 스태프는 좋음

Disliked: 요리할수없는 주방방에 창문이 없어 습하고 답답함식사가능한 테이블이 매우 부족함방음이 절대적으로 안됨ㅠ자동으로 일어나야함..

Check Availability