HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of EL Catrín

Hostel | Carcamanes street, No.3, Guanajuato, Mexico N/A

85.9% Overall Rating

21 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/10/2014)

Kate Jodvalkis thinks…

"The staff were friendly and helpful and provided information and maps. The hostel is quite new so everything is quite clean and well maintained."

Read all EL Catrín reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Late check-out
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 25.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Guanajuato?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Guanajuato

Homestay Malitsin
300.00 USD

Guesthouse 94.9% 9 reviews
Casa del Tio Hostel
13.36 USD

Hostel 73.9% 28 reviews
Hostel Alonso
8.91 USD

Hostel 58.6% 8 reviews
Hostel Guanajuato
11.13 USD

Hostel 76.1% 44 reviews
Casa Mexicana
15.59 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 10 reviews
Hostel La Hosteria
9.65 USD

Hostel 70.5% 3 reviews
Hostal Casa del Angel
10.39 USD

Hostel 71.7% 18 reviews
Al Son de los Santos
13.73 USD

Hostel 92.7% 32 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

21 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'EL Catrín'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 25 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kate Jodvalkis

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful and provided information and maps. The hostel is quite new so everything is quite clean and well maintained.

Disliked: the wifi didn't work in the rooms only the common area. Towels were not provided as advertised

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Maria Alguero Durany

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the center but in quiet area. Friendly stuff and awesome view from the terrace.

Disliked: Missing secure locker but we didnt have any trouble

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Betz

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was small and has a lot of character. Amazing location with great roof terrace. The staff is really nice and helpful. I highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Scott left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bo Sun

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Bo would recommend this property

Liked: Our group of four stayed in the room on the top floor, which had four beds and opened up to a beautiful terrace overlooking the entire city. The room is spacious and all the facilities are kept clean. The staff at El Catrin is extremely friendly and helpful. I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Guanajuato.

Disliked: nothing really

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shary Torres

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Shary would recommend this property

Liked: The view is fantastic. It is also located pretty close to the downtown area. The rooms are spacious.

Disliked: The matresses in my room were extremely old and not the most comfortable.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sion Jones

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 April 2014

Liked: Excellent location and nice, traditional design

Disliked: Lots of small annoyances that could easily be fixed - paper blind in the bedroom didn't close fully so people could see into the room, bedside table wasn't attached to the wall and so could easily fall down and damage anything on it, shower wasn't warm most of the time, radio playing in the lobby/breakfast area wasn't tuned properly and so was just annoying. Upstairs looked like it was till under construction. Light in the communal bathroom didn't always switch on.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frederick Lansky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2014 Frederick would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, pleasant albeit, beautiful view from the roof, quiet atmosphere. Decent free breakfast of coffee, buttered bread and nicely arranged fruit.

Disliked: Although I booked a private they put me in a dorm the first 2 nights, also had problems with the hot water. Minor problems.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great views of the city from the terrace. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Everyday essentials missing like a wastebin in the bathroom, hand towels, washing up liquid, teatowels/paper towels, drinking water, but this is a new venture for the owner so this can be forgiven.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Carlos Garcia Rocha

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2013 Juan Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very near to Guanajuato downtown, also the guy incharge of hostel ( Raul ) is nice person , kind and also good guide at night. For the clubs, Good Cleanning in this place, and nice view of Guanajuato from the last floor. Safe place also, I like so much and also my japanese friend ( female ) felt good in this place too.

Disliked: Just the entrance to the hostel is not good in appareance but , just appareance.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Walby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The man running this place is a legend, super chilled so you dont get any of those unnecessary, petty rules that some hostels insist on.. amazing views of Guanajuato from the rooftop, & we had a generally brilliant time here!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013

Liked: Good location, close to the downtown. Nice rooftop terrace.

Disliked: The bathrooms were dirty, there was no toilet paper. We booked a room with a private bathroom but we got one with a shared bathroom and no window. There was nobody from the staff at the hostel when we were checking out.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Raul was above and beyond kind to us! He even helped me park my car in a free parking space that was a tight squeeze. I really liked that the hostel was small and quiet. There was room in the refrigerator and the shower had good water pressure and lots of hot water. The rooftop terrace has a great view. We booked the 4 person dorm but were only 3 people and didn't have to share because they removed the 4th bed from the room. The hostel is a very nice traditional looking Mexican home. Overall a very good experience and I would highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: The hostel was a bit hard to find, especially in a car, but Raul called us and told us to ask for directions at the bar on the corner, and someone escorted us to the hostel. I don't recommend driving in Guanajuato, just park somewhere and walk!! We were promised breakfast in the morning but never got it, we were given 1 blanket for 3 beds, and we weren't given any towels. There wasn't anyone around between 10:30 pm and 8:30 am to ask for these items. But, Raul received the feedback well and was apologetic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cayla Popp

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 March 2013 Cayla would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel Inn was the perfect place for my short getaway to Guanajuato. The location was exactly what anyone going to Guanajuato could ask for. The short walk from all of the restaurants, bars, and stores made my stay safe and convenient. I love that I didn't have to worry about calling or waiting around for a taxi! The Hostel itself was not like any other hostel I have stayed in. The beautiful accents and decorations added that authentic 'mexican' feeling I was looking for. Also, it was very clean and there was hot water for showers all of the time, which is a necessity after a night of dancing salsa in 'El Bar'. Raul, the manager, was very helpful and attended to my needs as his guest. I felt safe and comfortable and he gave me his personal cell phone number if I needed anything. He suggested great places to eat and go out, sites to see, and also some locations off of the beaten path that toursits normally do not get to experience. To say it plainly, he seemed like a great guy. Overall, money cannot buy the great time I had, but I can say what I paid for my stay at the hostel was very inexpensive and deffinitely worth more. I will be coming back to this hostel and I would reccommend it to anyone going to Guanajuato!

Disliked: n/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and value. Quiet and peaceful. Raul is a very helpful host.

Disliked: It is currenntly being renovated. It will be a beautiful hostel when completed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Poulnot

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Raul was a great host! He picked us up at the bus station at 9pm for free (which was nice because the bus terminal is a ways outside of town). The location is excellent, as well. It's just a short walk down to whichever plaza you want to see, the funicular car, etc. I had warm water whenever I wanted and the inside of the house stayed warm from the day even though it got chilly at night. There's a fantastic terrace view that overlooks the city that's made for wine nights. Overall it is an excellent value for the money. Would definitely stay again!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Boddy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Host was very friendly. Picked us up at the Bus Terminal for free! Which was great because it was far from town. The room was acceptable and very spacious. The house itself was nice and quiet, with a good rooftop terrace.

Disliked: Was very difficult to find. Despite techincally being in the city center, it is off of a side street, way up a hill, with a pile of garbage in front of it. No signs. If our host had not picked us up, we never would have found it. No internet, or if there was, no information was provided. Room was freezing at night. Showers did NOT have hot water.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christina Gasser

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 January 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: - beautiful view - friendly people - very centric!!

Disliked: Christina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great friendly owner.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2012

Liked: A charming place with the basics of a good hostel, but was still under renovations while we were there. Hostel owner Raul was very welcoming and was helpful with anything you need him for.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was great value for money. Really central location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.