We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Yucatan Mayan Retreat Ecohotel & Camping

Hostel | Yokdzonot, 10 minutes from Chichen Itza, Chichen Itza, Mexico .

85.2% Overall Rating

9 out of 11 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/12/2012)

Daniel O'Keefe thinks…

"The town itself is small with very friendly locals - probably better to be out of Piste where the streets can be crowded with tourists. We had no problem with the bungelows."

Read all Yucatan Mayan Retreat Ecohotel & Camping reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chichen Itza?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.2%

Overall Rating

9 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Yucatan Mayan Retreat Ecohotel & Camping'

Atmosphere
85.5%
Location
70.9%
Facilities
85.5%
Cleanliness
96.4%
Staff
90.9%
Value
78.2%
Safety
89.1%
Refine your results Showing 10 of 11 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pavel Skorpil

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2013 Pavel would recommend this property

Liked: The specific character which differs this property from the others.

Disliked: no claim

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel O'Keefe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2012

Liked: The town itself is small with very friendly locals - probably better to be out of Piste where the streets can be crowded with tourists. We had no problem with the bungelows.

Disliked: Superficially, the retreat was as described - however, what it fails to mention is that there is a bar situated within about five metres from some of the tents. On the first night we arrived, the worker seemed more interested in getting drunk than with the comfort of the guests - meaning that there was drinking and music happening until 4am. This happened more than once during our visit. One member of our party had to ultimately abandon his tent and sleep in our bungelow. This is the kind of thing I've experienced from backpackers before, but I'd expect that a worker at the accomodation would have greater consideration for guests. On our final night, he failed to show up at all - so that the retreat was basically deserted except for the guests - a problem if you needed services of any kind. Of course there was no apology or refund for this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: outdoor shower and toilet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mia Carrasco-Songer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 January 2012 Mia would recommend this property

Liked: It was beautiful there and the room was large and very clean. The bathroom was also clean and had hot water.

Disliked: It is pretty far from the ruins, which ends up being an expensive taxi ride. If you are only there for one night and/or are going just to see the ruins it is not really worth it. You are probably better off just finding a place in the town by the ruins (Piste). If you have your own car it would be ok. The town where this place is is small, like really small, you could drive through and never know you driven through a "town". The guy there told us we could get something to eat in town but it was already dark and we were worried about walking at night. The internet was not working when we were there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barry Longfield

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing - and the actual placeitself if simply picturesque - the bungalows are well constructed, clean and spacious and all the facilities superb. Jorge, the owner is a wonderful bloke and was really helpful in ensuring we were settled and helping to get supplies for our evening meal.

Disliked: Nothing at all - it was a wonderful night and I wish we could have stayed longer!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was little bit far from Chichen Itzá but we were satisfied with accomodation and other service.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

13 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The layout and design of the grounds. They were also really helpful here

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bathroom is so cool and the owner is very friendly and helpful. let him show you where to eat local food!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

15 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The quiet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Endroit vraiment chaleureux. Les pripriétaires sont super sympatiques, avoir su nous serions resté plus longtemps.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.