We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels

Reviews of Hostel Kankun

Hostel | Yaxchilan Avenue, END MARAÑON STREET #26, Cancun, Mexico 77500

69.4% Overall Rating

105 out of 153 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/01/2014)

"Central location but away from the main road, so it's mostly quiet (except when people decide to celebrate their birthday by having a brass brand play awful music from midnight to 4am, but that's Mexico's problem, not…"

Read all Hostel Kankun reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cancun

Hotel Tankah
11.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.2% 21 reviews
BED&BREAKFAST GARDEN
11.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.5% 37 reviews
Suites Gaby Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Hostel Quetzal
10.24 USD

Hostel 78.5% 346 reviews
Haina Hostal
11.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 133 reviews
Hostel Orquideas
11.13 USD

Hostel 86.4% 20 reviews
Hotel Xbalamque Resort and Spa
17.63 USD

Hotel 4 star 87.4% 5 reviews
Hostal Marpez
8.17 USD

Hostel 73.1% 40 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.4%

Overall Rating

105 out of 153 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Kankun'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 93 of 122 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kasebwe Kabongo

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 July 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Almost everything. The house is rundown, dirty, no drinking water. A horrible experience since I came with young children.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Samuel Hostetmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The price and the very nice staff

Disliked: Nothing in particular

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Tobiasz Lebkowski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2014

Liked: It was inexpensive

Disliked: It's dirty everywhere, toilets are discussing. A plastic tube hanging out of the wall meant to be a shower. Dirty kitchen/ fridge I would never use it to cook/store anything.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 January 2014

Liked: Central location but away from the main road, so it's mostly quiet (except when people decide to celebrate their birthday by having a brass brand play awful music from midnight to 4am, but that's Mexico's problem, not the hostel's).

Disliked: This place is atrocious. I have been travelling long enough not to care about missing shower heads or barebone facilities, but 'basic' does not have to equal dirty. Dead cockroaches in the shower were not removed for 2 days, someone's phlegm was left to dry for days in the bathroom sink, hair clogging the shower drain, water supply on and off in the bathrooms on the top floor, toilets in second floor stink of urine, spiders nesting in the kitchen's utensils, a large pot of rice was left uncovered on the stove for days even though it was growing mold and was covered in all kinds of insects, some smelly yellow liquid all over the freezer, rotten food in the fridge, mattresses so dirty that I had a severe allergy attack and I was out of action for 2 days, and I could go on. I understand that they are charging 70 pesos per person, but a bottle of bleach and drain unclogger cost half of that! Window panels were missing in some bedrooms but no mosquito net (except in the owner's windows), when mosquito screen is sold everywhere in Mexico at ridiculously low prices. They DON'T clean every day, they empty the bins in the bathroom and the kitchen every day, which is not the same. The building is old as they mention in the description, but that is no excuse to keep it in such state of disrepair and so f*&^ing dirty. The whole place should be bulldozed. Recommended if you are on a budget, don't have allergies, and don't mind living in squalor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alisa Zaychenko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

25 October 2013 Alisa would recommend this property

Liked: very good staff. if there is enough space they try to put all guests in separate rooms so you have your precious privacy for extremely cheap price. also there is a nice terrace on the roof.

Disliked: kitchen a bit dirty

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Yang Song Freddy How

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 September 2013 Yang Song Freddy would recommend this property

Liked: I did like the property because the staff is nice and the room in clean. The location wise is quite near to most of the places that is quite cheap so is really a budget hunt.

Disliked: The water have to heated up for 10-15 minutes to get hot water at night. The overall cleanliness is not good and the location is a bit hard to find even for the locals.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013

Liked: Fast Internet Close to the main bus station Cheap local restaurant 'fritangas' close by in plaza de las palapas

Disliked: We are travelling in Latin America during seven months and we are used to stay in hostels but... This place is a joke! In the picture it is amazing so you think that is cheap but very nice and clean but the problem is that...they are fake!! None of them represent this place that is not even an hostel. It is a ruin and an insult for turists. It shouldn't stay in hostelbookers. The mattresses where so old and dirty that it was disgusting to sleep there. The toilet dirty and in two days nobody cleaned it. Two days of Death insects in the showers made us feel sick. We meant to stay two days but we left after two days disgusted. We reccomended you not to stay there, it is full of very nice hostel in the surrounding for a little bit more.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013

Liked: Cheapest stay in Cancun Good Internet connection

Disliked: Everything else and it was shocking...never in my life I could imagine someone could charge money for staying in a place like that...broken glass windows, dirty matrasses dumped in the room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for $5US each for 4 of us to get our own room. Sheets, pillows and towels clean but no top sheet so bring a sleeping bag liner. Bathroom has seen better days but ok enough. Not far from bus station and plenty of places to eat. Feels pretty deserted though, definitely not a party hostel. No A/C but does have a ceiling fan

Disliked: Looks a bit scary when you turn up because no one is around but is fairly secure and the neighbourhood is alright.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Main reason for staying was that it is excellent value for money. Only needed one night before flying out of Cancun in the morning and this hostel was one third the price of others in the same area. Decent wifi. Friendly man who checked me in although did not speak English.

Disliked: If you are looking to meet people and have a social time in Cancun this would not be the ideal place to stay.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kate Sugden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

13 January 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: It's the cheapest place in town! I had a big room to myself for 3 nights, then shared with one other person, for a really low price. It's in a quiet street and the staff are nice. Some people live there long term, so it's a different experience from regular hostelling.

Disliked: The kitchen isn't very well-equipped. The shower looks like a penis, emitting a single stream of cold water.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Buck Beaumont

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Buck would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Kankun is the perfect place for people that are looking for a cheap and safe room to lay their head and not much more. For me, my stay was perfect and would definitely stay again.

Disliked: Buck left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

06 January 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Don't know where to start. Everything! Mosquito screens missing off windows. Windows wouldn't close. Every time the 'lady of the night' next door had a new client light went on followed by mosquitos. Couldn't use the shard bathroom as it was in constant use.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was simple, but comfortable, has an industrial feeling but groovy roof top 4 floors high for chilling, and the owner is a really lovely bloke who was very kind to us!

Disliked: No common room, so no way of getting to know other's staying in the property, and the kitchen isn't really a kitchen. It's 1 (2?) electric hot plates, a fridge, and a few random old dusty pans. Blew our microwave popcorn plans right outta the water.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Christine Flynn

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel Kankun is a no frills spot to lay your head, rest and shower and is great for the price. It was also quiet (aside from street noise). Roman the operator is very considerate and his staff very amiable. I was also impressed that the bathroom and kitchen were cleaned daily. I actually stayed more than the original time book. Oh, and the wifi (which worked well from my room) was good.

Disliked: Not really a dislike, but I was under the impression that breakfast was included, which it wasn't. But hey, what more do you want for the price.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price is relative to the conditions

Disliked: need a better description of the location, its hard to find it

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012

Liked: Ramon, the owner was really helpful and friendly. very basic, but clean, hot shower, own fridge and cooker as kitchen area in our room. bathroom clean, loo paper provided. very secure. close to station.basic, good value for money. good place to stay if on tight budget.

Disliked: area a bit dodgy at night. building very run down, though clean. only one plate!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Kathryn Mamone

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: It was $5, you can not expect much but is is just a bed and a secure place to stay, our room was large with a kitchen. Perfect if you arrive late and are leaving early or plan on not spending any time in the room. Staff friendly.

Disliked: not very clean and no linnen provided. location was ok. 5 min walk to main street, shops and market. Notr close to the beach.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they corporate with everything and are very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: es muy barato

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to bus station and the price - perfect for a brief layover

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jenny Wilton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 May 2012 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very cheap... the room wasn't totally clean, but was pretty good and fine to spend one night in on the way elsewhere!!

Disliked: Jenny left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Siobhan Fitzsimons

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: it was super cheap! close to the bus station. Good bars and food near by at a low cost. You get what you pay for here, very basic, but can't go wrong at 5 bucks a night. Wifi, clean shower, a bed and security.

Disliked: It's a very cheap hostel so don't expect luxuary.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very fiendly and accomodating staff, i arrived very early and they tried their best to accomodate me.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner. Close to town and main bus station.

Disliked: Shower lacked pressure.


See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels