HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Kankun Cancun Hostel

YAXCHILAN AVENUE /END MARAÑON STREET # 26, Cancun, Mexico

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 52%

Facilities 58%

Location 80%

Safety 74%

Staff 82%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 65%

Cleanliness 52%

Facilities 58%

Location 80%

Safety 74%

Staff 82%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Liked: Ill say this, it was cheap

Disliked: ultra ghetto


The property's response is

a lot more run down then expected. chipping paint walls and not the same room that we booked

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheap and goodFor less money people like me

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: location,Wifi is work,value of money,room was ok

Disliked: it is a very very basic hostel....

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: If I'm being generous - the beds are okay, don't expect a comfortable pillow or a sheet to put over you.

Disliked: Where do I begin...If I hear or read "what do you expect for this price" one more time...The place was disgusting, and that's being kind. "Furnished kitchen"? By that it means a couple of plates and pans that are so filfthy you would get sick from using them. The smell of mold and old food coming from that fridge...And the cooktop, so gross.The rooftop is nice, sure. But by sunbeds I think they mean a few broken chairs. The bathrooms make you want to vomit. You feel more dirty after a shower. Also no towels are provided, and there is no hot water. Come on guys, let's be honest here.Yes the place is cheap, but I'm wondering what we are paying for? The only thing they clean is the floors and empty the bins. It is disgusting. I've paid less and received so much better.The place is occupied by (friendly) long term stayers/stoners who spend the time smoking or talking. Are they the ones writing the nice reviews? If we had the budget we would have stayed somewhere else. Please do yourself a favour and book somewhere else.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheap clean room , good location for downtown Cancun , very friendly and helpful owner

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: it a very friendly and safe place to stay

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: cheap!

Disliked: no air-conditioner, no safety box

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: do whatever you want.

Disliked: clean sheets would of been nice. or at least sheets from this century.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I loved my stay here. I totally disagree wth the criticism this place gets for being dirty or whatever. Come on! It's about £3 per night! Rather than dirty, I would describe it as delightfully scruffy which added to the character of the place. It has a good atmosphere, lovely guy working there who was happy to help. You only share a room with one other person. It's in a good location downtown away from the ostentacious zona hotelera. It attracts a more eccentric type of traveller because it's so basic. So the craic is great.I hate hostels where as soon as you arrive, the staff bombard you with rules and sales pitches for tours. This place is the opposite. A friendly guy greets you at the door, hands you your key and that's that. Of course you can find posher places in Cancun but if you're fine with sth basic, this place is superb.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Almost everything. The house is rundown, dirty, no drinking water. A horrible experience since I came with young children.

Check Availability