HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels

Reviews of Hostel Mundo Joven Cancún

Hostel | Uxmal num. 25, SM 23 Mz 3 Lt 25, Cancun, Mexico 06020

88.9% Overall Rating

138 out of 145 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

"Room is very humid. It leaks into the room from a WC. AC does not work good and is to loud. The reservation that I have made was no good because the room was not avaible because hostel did notsend an update to the…"

Read all Hostel Mundo Joven Cancún reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cancun

Hostel Cancun HL41
9.93 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Andador Flamboyan 29
30.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Moloch Hostel & Suites
13.90 USD

Hostel 69.5% 6 reviews
Mayan Hostel
11.45 USD

Hostel 72.5% 123 reviews
Hotel Xbalamque Resort and Spa
25.77 USD

Hotel 4 star 87.4% 5 reviews
Hotel Alux Cancun
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.8% 8 reviews
Soberanis Hotel & Hostel
17.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.5% 52 reviews
Suites Gaby Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

138 out of 145 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Mundo Joven Cancún'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 115 of 143 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014

Liked: Room is very humid. It leaks into the room from a WC. AC does not work good and is to loud. The reservation that I have made was no good because the room was not avaible because hostel did notsend an update to the hostelbookers,so I did not got the room I have reserved.

Disliked: Room is very humid. It leaks into the room from a WC. AC does not work good and is to loud. The reservation that I have made was no good because the room was not avaible because hostel did notsend an update to the hostelbookers,so I did not got the room I have reserved.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: dorms had own shower and toilets. Big lockers for each bed.

Disliked: Most people staying there seemed to be working so difficult to meet people to travel with. Room was hot even with airconditioning

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location right next to bus station, friendly staff, breakfast buffet

Disliked: 14 beds in the dorm with one shower is a lot, and our bunk had no light/power but all others did.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Typical hostel. Good Location if you want to be close to the ADO bus terminal. The man who checked me in knew perfect English and was very helpful.

Disliked: A/C was freezing at night time, had to sleep with a window open to bring in warm air. They also never got my booking info from Hostel Bookers so instead of being in a quad, I was put in a 10 person dorm. Frustrating, but the front desk agent was able to help me out quickly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooftop area. Convenient location to buses. Organised activities on offer every night of the week. Clean hostel. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Caldwell

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful - rooms were very clean, layout gave privacy and the bed was so comfortable!

Disliked: Nothing really I disliked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosalyn Webb

Alone

Business / conference

13 May 2014 Rosalyn would recommend this property

Liked: the location is so convenient with cheap food everywhere close by and ADO bus station on the next block...the breakfast is excellent with fresh fruit yogurt & museli, toast n jam, tea n coffee...a great start to the day...rooms clean and spacious for a hostel and well looked after. it has a great atmosphere.

Disliked: nothing i can think of

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nelson Kusnadi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014 Nelson would recommend this property

Liked: Strategic location. great roof top patio. dorm room is decent. good size locker, decent mattress, I felt safe and comfortable. it's nice to have air con in the room. room is clean.

Disliked: bathroom inside the dorm rooms could be managed better - a little dirty. staff at the receptionist was helpful when you ask them questions, but they don't come across as friendly. Internet is very slow and often got disconnected.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the bus terminal, clean, good wifi, good breakfast

Disliked: Make sure you take ear plugs with you if you're staying in dorm

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: niice hostel i cancun!

Disliked: The employments are sometimes unfriendly!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice stuff.

Disliked: Could have been cleaner, but was not dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suyash chopra

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2014 Suyash would recommend this property

Liked: Location, minutes walk from ADO bus station in the downtown and an Indian restaurant, Taste of India. We used to day trips from the bus station as early as 4 in the morning. Roon was very clean and very spacious. Living room had a good couch, Bathroom was big and clean. Hostel had lot of visitors and terrace with jacuzzi, food & drinks, other facilities was the melting pot. It was a good stay and would definitely recommend it to others. It was value for money in Cancun downtown.

Disliked: We stayed in a private room and expected the housekeeping staff to replace towels and toiletries on a daily basis. But it was not so. Rather they placed a note for tip on the second day of our stay itself. Still, we were kind to them and tipped them.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great

Disliked: Nada, genial todo :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014

Liked: Good location to bus station and supermarket. Nice breakfast, travel agency, hammocks

Disliked: Bed bugs were found in one of the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a female dorm, the room was large and wasn't packed with bunks like some other hostels we have stayed in. Very clean and friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good positive atmosphere, rooftop brekkie.

Disliked: I don't really need A/C at night, but it's there if you want me to freeze my butt off!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Richard Knopf

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop deck w/ bar, proximity to buses.

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked its location near the ADO bus station. Short five minute walk. Allowed to get early morning buses without hassel of connections.

Disliked: Security could have ben better at the front door as it seemed people not really checked . No buzz in or key entry.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a mixed dorm with my partner and it was the best dorm I've stayed in! The staff were amazing and I loved spending New Year's Eve with them and all the other beautiful guests! Amazing vibe and would reccommend it to everyone

Disliked: Loved everything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic staff, very approachable and ready to help and show you an amazing time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Parker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: next to ADO bus station

Disliked: Dowtown Cancun is not great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carol Kiecker

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: Location very near bus depot; wonderful breakfast with lots of fresh fruit.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, lively bar

Disliked: It is a pity there is no socializing place with couches to talk and sit with others. The bar is nice, but not meant for chilling out like in a living room. A hammock or two somewhere in the shelter would be very nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Next to main bus station, spacious dorm room, big locker. Value for money.

Disliked: Wifi isn't work well in the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wojciech Pawlowski

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Wojciech would recommend this property

Liked: Very good breakfast - fresh, healthy and big. All rooms and toilets were clean. The roof bar is cool and the staff is really friendly and nice. Great location next to the bus station and old district of Cancun. Lot's of reasonable priced restaurants around and the staff can help you with a little discount ticket or a free drink card to one of them. Great deal for me!

Disliked: Not really much to dislike... it depends on preference. I like small and home style hostels and this one is a pretty big and "industrial" one but it serves the purpose perfectly!


See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels