We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels

Reviews of Hostel Mundo Joven Cancún

Hostel | Uxmal num. 25, SM 23 Mz 3 Lt 25, Cancun, Mexico 06020

86.1% Overall Rating

145 out of 152 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/10/2014)

Nichola Williams thinks…

"The breakfast included, the proximity to the bus station, warm showers (in the smaller dorms), the rooftop bar, easy to get to the Hotel Zone."

Read all Hostel Mundo Joven Cancún reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cancun

Hostel Cancun HL41
9.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Andador Flamboyan 29
30.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Moloch Hostel & Suites
13.51 USD

Hostel 69.5% 6 reviews
Mayan Hostel
11.13 USD

Hostel 71.0% 125 reviews
Hotel Xbalamque Resort and Spa
17.63 USD

Hotel 4 star 87.4% 5 reviews
Hotel Alux Cancun
11.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.8% 9 reviews
Soberanis Hotel & Hostel
17.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.5% 52 reviews
Suites Gaby Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

145 out of 152 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Mundo Joven Cancún'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 120 of 150 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Steve McKenna

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

27 December 2011 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed here a few times and it's a good base if you want to stay downtown (just a two minute walk from the bus station). The staff are helpful and friendly and the rooftop terrace is really nice. They also arrange nights out and events, so it's a pretty social place to be.

Disliked: Breakfast should run a bit later, until maybe 11am....Cancun is a party place, so it's hard to get up for 9.30am when breakfast is supposed to close

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff (ika particularly) were able to provide good information on what to see and organised dinners and nights out for those staying (if they wanted); it felt safe; the roof terrace was good for meeting people, as was breakfast; it is right by the ADO bus station (which runs shuttles to the airport); it has a bar and restaraunt but is also near to plenty of stores and restaraunts if you want them;

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathew Barber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 December 2011 Mathew would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the friendly staff and drinks on the open roof terrace at night. The staff were more than willing to provide advice about how to get to certain places. Over all, it´s a really friendly, social atmosphere and I would definitely recommend other travellers to stay here.

Disliked: Nothing. All was good!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, hostel bar, decent breakfast, clean facilities

Disliked: Location wasn't amazing, but then again few hostels in this city have anywhere better. That said, transport was cheap and efficient to get you down to the beach/hotel district

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anja Schoebel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

27 September 2011 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice location, nice rooms, enough space for everyone and everything, clean, nice roof

Disliked: staff could improve friendliness sometimes

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Christina Heinze

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2011 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very eager to help you and very friendly. It was also convenient that the hostel is located so close to the bus terminal.

Disliked: There could be more showers per dorm (there was only one in the budget dorm).

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, good breakfast, great terrace for hanging out and meeting people..

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dean Mets

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: Close to bus-stop, nice rooftop terrace bar, good vibe amongst travellers

Disliked: Not enough events run by hostel

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gleison dos Santos Souza

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2011 Gleison would recommend this property

Liked: Location (downtown Cancun) is great, easy access to bus station and to cheap restaurants. Breakfast menu is great. Internet connection speed is good.

Disliked: The bathroom's floor is sllipy but it is not a big problem. Breakfast is untill 9:30 am.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms are more like a hotels (didn't stay in a dorm so can't comment). Still have the social aspect with the jacuzzi, bar and kitchen upstairs.

Disliked: -

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, nice bar next door and excellent roof top terrace

Disliked: some noisy guests arriving back late... but it's Cancun, to be expected

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lucy adams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011 lucy would recommend this property

Liked: really helpful staff who went out of their way to talk to you and make you feel wecome

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

erica altieri

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2011 erica would recommend this property

Liked: Mundo Joven is probably the only thing worth visiting Cancun!!! The hostel is brand new (jacuzzi on the roof terrace doesn't need to be rated!) and the staff is "marvellous"!

Disliked: .

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucia Perera

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostals I have stayed in in Mexico! Very clean and well thought out in the design and features to make it easy to live with other strangers. Reading light over your bed, complete with your own plugpoint for charging your mobile, iPod etc. Ensuite with three toliets for a dorm of ten and showers. Nice big lockers, spa on the roof, great breakfast, walking distance from bus station, close to buses to take you to the beach

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joanna Hollebon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: I would thoroughly recommend this place. The private rooms were excellent - modern, spacious, great bathrooms with enormouspowerful showers, comfy beds, big TVs, great a/c and exceptionally clean. The cleaning staff were very thorough and worked very hard - the whole hostel was spick and span. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the BBQ and free spanish lessons were excellent. We spent a lot of time sunbathing on the excellent roof terrace with hot tub.

Disliked: nothing.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Melina Delaunay 9143106040

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Melina Delaunay would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close from the Bus station ADO, and it is Downtown. so if you are looking for traveling aroud Cancun, going to the Mayas ruines, and not staying at the beach every day, this is a good spot!! also there is a bus really near who can get you to the Cancun beaches, and hotel zone. plus every sunday you can take a free spanish lesson at the hostel. Moreover the prices are really good... and with a really good breakfast! enjoy your stay! some computer can be used for free for the internet!

Disliked: you've got to hang out on the rooftop if you want to meet people

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a lot

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Salomon Muriel

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

04 July 2011 Salomon would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the staff! I met Julian, the manager; Susana, who made breakfast (and is drop-dead gorgeous); Marco, the bartender (and magician, and cook); and they were all very chatty, friendly and generally cool. I liked how there was a Jacuzzi to use whenever I wanted, that they had hammocks on the rooftop and that they let me choose whatever music I wanted for the bar. I also liked that I had the chance to meet a lot of poeple even though the hostel was fairly empty. I met some israeli girls, an american and her Ukranian wife and a cute argentinian. I also shared a couple of beers with the bartender. And also, I woke up pretty late the date I was supposed to leave (after check-out) and they understood me and let me pack my things and leave without charging me another day! In general everyone was very friendly and nice.

Disliked: I disliked that the room mirror was extremely small and only one person could use it at the same time. I also disliked the fact that they don't rent out locks for a deposit, and that I had to buy one from them, but it was cheap anyways. Only minor problems, in general this place rocks!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zuzana Galandova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 June 2011 Zuzana would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is just 2 minutes walk from the ADO bus station, very close to the bus stop where buses take you to the zona hotelera where all the beaches and night clubs and shopping malls are, so very well located. I think the best part about this hostel is the roof terrace with hammocks, palm trees, jacuzzi, free tequila nights, yummy breakfast with loads of fresh fruit and good coffee, cool tunes. Easy to meet other travelers chilling up there. And not to forget, the crew of this hostel is just amazing, everybody so helpful and there are good vibes not just on tequila nights hehe! Btw Marcos and Julian are happy to teach you the basic salsa steps too so dont hesitate and go for it! Rooms are spacious and very clean, aircon is really handy in this humid and hot weather. There is a nice kitchen too where you can cook your meals, I really appreciated not being pushed to buy food like in other hostels. I have been coming back to this place several times already during my travels and would definitelly recommend it :)

Disliked: None.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very new and clean, it resemlbes a hotel. Free wifi in the room and very close to the bus station to go to the airport. Staff were quite friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Breakfast was not consistent. Just as an example: at 8am you got fresh squeezed orange juice, at 9am you get the same thing extremely diluted. A bit expensive I think.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic modern hostel, really spacious clean dorms, awesome air con in the rooms, best roof top terrace with hot tub, friendly easy going and helpful staff, easy to meet other travellers. Free Wifi and great connections. The bus station is a few min walk away and easy to get everywhere by bus. Came back to the hostel and stayed for longer!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike about this hostel, great value for money!!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Potaznik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet people at events every evening, great in room air-con, power point and light at the bunk. Strong free wifi and terminals. Decent breakfast with fresh fruit.

Disliked: Bathrooms and showers could use a major renovation. Whatever the fruit juice is at breakfast is disgusting. Rest of breakfast was great.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to bus station.

Disliked: Extremely loud, very much a party hostel, but not in the hotel zone.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

10 April 2011

Liked: I liked the big lockers and big rooms with air condition.

Disliked: that the bar wasn't open upstairs nor the location, far from the beach.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

CHAU WAN LO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011 CHAU WAN would recommend this property

Liked: Good location . My ensuite single room is just like a hotel room.

Disliked: The antiinsect moth ball smell is so irratating .The nearby night club is very nosiy because of the heavy music up to 2 am. On morning,,the music start in the eraly morning, I dont know why.

The property's response is...


See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels