HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels

Reviews of Hostal Marpez

Hostel | Crisantemos 20, S.M. 22, Col. Centro, Cancun, Mexico 77500

73.4% Overall Rating

28 out of 36 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/03/2014)

Marius Otican thinks…

"- modern kitchen - location (near the supermarket, banks, bus stops) - free purified water for guest - silence - tv in the room"

Read all Hostal Marpez reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The owner/manager of this property will contact you after your booking is made to provide you with Paypal details as a secure payment is required. Latest check in time is 22:00hrs

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cancun

HOTEL RIVEMAR
17.35 USD

Hotel 79.0% 14 reviews
Hostel Quetzal
13.78 USD

Hostel 82.7% 342 reviews
Haina Hostal
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 82.2% 132 reviews
Hostel Orquideas
13.78 USD

Hostel 92.1% 8 reviews
Suites Gaby Hotel
1,000.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Hotel Xbalamque Resort and Spa
16.92 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.3% 4 reviews
Mayan Hostel
11.49 USD

Hostel 74.1% 121 reviews
Hostel Kankun
5.00 USD

Hostel 67.2% 148 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.4%

Overall Rating

28 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Marpez'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
72.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 31 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Martin Liznar

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: booking a private room was useless. Had to stay one night in dorms because we arrived at 8pm. Found another place the next morning.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marius Otican

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014 Marius would recommend this property

Liked: - modern kitchen - location (near the supermarket, banks, bus stops) - free purified water for guest - silence - tv in the room

Disliked: - small breakfast (only cofee and some bread) delivery on late hours (after 9 a.m) - nobody to check - in / check-out or others demands of the guests at morning, evening or night (5 p.m - 9 a.m) - security locker on the entry gate (should be a key or other modern system)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location(really convenient), clean, hot water, nice staff, terrace is awesome, spacious, great wifi, no Mosquitos and even a jacuzzi available!! I had the time of my life here staying for New Year's Eve :)!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lavanderia downstairs, cheapest hostel i've stayed at this trip. close to all the downtown amenities..

Disliked: there was/is some kinda problem between marpez and hostelbookers, not sure what it's all about, but my dorm room w. six beds somehow turned into a dorm room w. 10 beds. still everything worked well. no ac at nite, kinda hot & sticky in the dorm at nite.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012

Liked: apart from leaving .. not much. Close to a super market and cheap if you are on a very tight budget

Disliked: i think the use of the word `hot` water was a bit of a stretch. The lockers looked as though they were about to fall apart and there were extra beds crammed into the rooms to cope with overflow of new years. stepping over a mattress on the floor is not ideal but i feel more sorry for the person staying in the bed.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to suermarket

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

yuko tominari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011 yuko would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Switch on a/c only more than 4 people in a dorm room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location off the main street. Was difficult to find though due to lack of signage. Use of kitchen and shower with hot water were good to see in this price range. Cancun is an expensive city so I wasn't sure what to expect at a hostel this cheap.

Disliked: I've traveled extensively through North and South America by bicycle. This is the first and only hostel I've stayed in that I wasn't allowed to bring my bike indoors or provided a secure location to chain it up such as a storage room or garage. Moreover, I was displeased with the owners comments that I could go stay at the Hilton if I didn't like the policy. The bicycle is very important to me as it is my only means of transportation for the next 4 months and having it stolen on my very first night would ruin my whole trip. I was disappointed by the receptionists lack of willingness to even listen to my request.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Edson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2010 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, clean, well run place. Very good value. pleasant balcony. Staff was both friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing negative.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 April 2010

Liked: we were only there for a night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun place, nice living room, internet really bad

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

28 February 2010

Liked: Nothing. This place was so depressing. Miguel (the owner) came into my room without knocking to discuss giving me a job to help bring in customers. lol I didn't come to Cancun for this. I sincerely hope that HostelBookers will investigate this property (without notice). I discovered a nicer a hostel called Pocna in Isla Mujeres and decided to spend the rest of my vacation there. I have never had problems getting my money back for unused days, but Miguel insisted on not giving me my money back. He argued that he reserved two rooms for me and turned people away. It was only around $90 which is nothing to me, but I was offended that he refused on the basis that he saved rooms for me. No one was staying there when I arrived and only two people were staying there when I left. I only booked a single room and didn't ask for two large empty rooms to myself. The whole point of staying in a hostel is to meet people. I advise anyone even considering staying here to ask about their cancellation policy and to look at the room before paying upfront. I will never recommend this property to anyone. I should've stayed at the Soberinus which was a little better.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gordon Gerbitz

11 February 2010 Gordon would recommend this property

Liked: Satelite view is of a hotel that is located next to the left side of Chedraui Supermarket. The Hostel is to the right and on a street behind Chedraui. Walking distance is about the same as the other hostels in Cancun. Location is easy to find because the (old ) Chedraui is a landmark that you will pass on your way in from the airport or by bus. Some of the buses will even stop near the market for you, before they reach the ADO Bus Terminal.

Disliked: Gordon left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was sweet and helpful, although not very visable.. Great location by the big supermarket. Simple breakfast consisting of toast, butter and jam. You can store your stuff there for a fee. If booking a private room, you'll get a whole dorm to yourself. There was also a jaccuzi, which was not open/not functioning while I was there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was easy, clean, and conveniently located near the bus station and supermarket. The guy who runs the place is very sweet and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was centrally located so it was a good base for exploring the city (not the hotel zone). The owner spoke English and seemed like he was around a lot. The room and bathroom were clean and linens/towels were provided. Overall an adequate place to stay but definitely less satisfactory than what we expected from the description.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious dorms and huge bathrooms with excellent hot showers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 August 2009

Liked: its in the centre, so u can move anywhere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was centrally located and close to the bus station. I also appreciated the security there and felt my belongings were safe when I wasn't there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owner told me some places to visit

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christopher Evans

08 August 2009 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great owners, helpful, large rooms, good location

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Olly Deacon

13 May 2009 Olly would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel seems nice enough, the dorms are spacious clean and have ensuite. There's cable tv and a nice lounge area. It has been fine for my first stop in Mexico allowing me to find my feet, but it's very quiet here at the moment and there aren't many people staying - probably as a result of the recent swine flu outbreak...

Disliked: Olly left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

LAHCEN MORDI

29 April 2009 LAHCEN would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: LAHCEN left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay in downtown Cancun.I booked a private singleand they gave me a four bed dorm all to myself!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels