We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels

Reviews of Hostal Marpez

Hostel | Crisantemos 20, S.M. 22, Col. Centro, Cancun, Mexico 77500

73.1% Overall Rating

30 out of 40 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/05/2014)

"I would like to start off my comment by saying that I am NOT a picky person when it comes to hostels and travelling. I've travelled A LOT and I don't need a fancy kitchen and all the luxuries of a 5 star hotel to make…"

Read all Hostal Marpez reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The owner/manager of this property will contact you after your booking is made to provide you with Paypal details as a secure payment is required. Latest check in time is 22:00hrs

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cancun

HOTEL RIVEMAR
1.04 USD

Hotel 79.0% 14 reviews
Hostel Quetzal
13.36 USD

Hostel 78.5% 346 reviews
Haina Hostal
13.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 133 reviews
Hostel Orquideas
11.88 USD

Hostel 86.8% 21 reviews
Suites Gaby Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Mezcal Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 9 reviews
Hotel Xbalamque Resort and Spa
21.34 USD

Hotel 4 star 87.4% 5 reviews
Mayan Hostel
8.17 USD

Hostel 71.0% 125 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.1%

Overall Rating

30 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Marpez'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
72.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 35 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014

Liked: I would like to start off my comment by saying that I am NOT a picky person when it comes to hostels and travelling. I've travelled A LOT and I don't need a fancy kitchen and all the luxuries of a 5 star hotel to make me happy. I've slept in train stations and in 24 bed dorms, so you can trust that I am not someone who expected a 5 star hotel and was disappointed and therefore wrote unjust comments about this hostel. The only thing I liked about this hostel was the rooftop terrace, but the Jacuzzi didn't work.

Disliked: This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. First of all, the woman tried to charge us more by converting our bill wrong (we paid in Canadian dollars and wanted to overcharge us is pesos). Second of all, on hostelbookers, it says theres air conditioning, however it doesn't say that it operates 10pm-6am. It gets extremely hot and unbearable. The internet does not work (and we all know how important internet is when we travel in order to look things up and book next destination). It also says that there is a 24 hour reception. When I confronted the owner about this is he was very rude and even yelled that he didn't care about what the internet said and that he wasn't staying open all day. (This caused a great deal of trouble since we needed to contact them at 8pm...) He also refused to talk to me in English, and only talked to my boyfriend who speaks Spanish (he speaks perfect English but during this argument he couldn't care less and walked away from me when I was trying to talk to him). Since the reception is not open 24 hours, we left our keys and 2 remotes (one for tv and one for air conditioner) in our room. We lost our 100 pesos deposit since we had no way of coming in contact with him before we left (we left very early in the morning). In order to get extra money out of us, they sent us an email demanding we pay 550 pesos for the keys and remotes we 'took'. The breakfast says continental, but it is 2 pieces of stale bread in a bag with jam and butter. One morning, my breakfast had mold on it...The location is pretty bad, not a 5 mins busride to the beach like the woman at the reception said. It is a 15-20 minute busride. Do yourself a favour and do not book here. you can easily find somewhere else better for the same price.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Martin Liznar

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: booking a private room was useless. Had to stay one night in dorms because we arrived at 8pm. Found another place the next morning.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marius Otican

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014 Marius would recommend this property

Liked: - modern kitchen - location (near the supermarket, banks, bus stops) - free purified water for guest - silence - tv in the room

Disliked: - small breakfast (only cofee and some bread) delivery on late hours (after 9 a.m) - nobody to check - in / check-out or others demands of the guests at morning, evening or night (5 p.m - 9 a.m) - security locker on the entry gate (should be a key or other modern system)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location(really convenient), clean, hot water, nice staff, terrace is awesome, spacious, great wifi, no Mosquitos and even a jacuzzi available!! I had the time of my life here staying for New Year's Eve :)!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lavanderia downstairs, cheapest hostel i've stayed at this trip. close to all the downtown amenities..

Disliked: there was/is some kinda problem between marpez and hostelbookers, not sure what it's all about, but my dorm room w. six beds somehow turned into a dorm room w. 10 beds. still everything worked well. no ac at nite, kinda hot & sticky in the dorm at nite.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012

Liked: apart from leaving .. not much. Close to a super market and cheap if you are on a very tight budget

Disliked: i think the use of the word `hot` water was a bit of a stretch. The lockers looked as though they were about to fall apart and there were extra beds crammed into the rooms to cope with overflow of new years. stepping over a mattress on the floor is not ideal but i feel more sorry for the person staying in the bed.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to suermarket

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

yuko tominari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011 yuko would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Switch on a/c only more than 4 people in a dorm room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location off the main street. Was difficult to find though due to lack of signage. Use of kitchen and shower with hot water were good to see in this price range. Cancun is an expensive city so I wasn't sure what to expect at a hostel this cheap.

Disliked: I've traveled extensively through North and South America by bicycle. This is the first and only hostel I've stayed in that I wasn't allowed to bring my bike indoors or provided a secure location to chain it up such as a storage room or garage. Moreover, I was displeased with the owners comments that I could go stay at the Hilton if I didn't like the policy. The bicycle is very important to me as it is my only means of transportation for the next 4 months and having it stolen on my very first night would ruin my whole trip. I was disappointed by the receptionists lack of willingness to even listen to my request.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Edson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2010 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, clean, well run place. Very good value. pleasant balcony. Staff was both friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing negative.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 April 2010

Liked: we were only there for a night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun place, nice living room, internet really bad

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

28 February 2010

Liked: Nothing. This place was so depressing. Miguel (the owner) came into my room without knocking to discuss giving me a job to help bring in customers. lol I didn't come to Cancun for this. I sincerely hope that HostelBookers will investigate this property (without notice). I discovered a nicer a hostel called Pocna in Isla Mujeres and decided to spend the rest of my vacation there. I have never had problems getting my money back for unused days, but Miguel insisted on not giving me my money back. He argued that he reserved two rooms for me and turned people away. It was only around $90 which is nothing to me, but I was offended that he refused on the basis that he saved rooms for me. No one was staying there when I arrived and only two people were staying there when I left. I only booked a single room and didn't ask for two large empty rooms to myself. The whole point of staying in a hostel is to meet people. I advise anyone even considering staying here to ask about their cancellation policy and to look at the room before paying upfront. I will never recommend this property to anyone. I should've stayed at the Soberinus which was a little better.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gordon Gerbitz

11 February 2010 Gordon would recommend this property

Liked: Satelite view is of a hotel that is located next to the left side of Chedraui Supermarket. The Hostel is to the right and on a street behind Chedraui. Walking distance is about the same as the other hostels in Cancun. Location is easy to find because the (old ) Chedraui is a landmark that you will pass on your way in from the airport or by bus. Some of the buses will even stop near the market for you, before they reach the ADO Bus Terminal.

Disliked: Gordon left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was sweet and helpful, although not very visable.. Great location by the big supermarket. Simple breakfast consisting of toast, butter and jam. You can store your stuff there for a fee. If booking a private room, you'll get a whole dorm to yourself. There was also a jaccuzi, which was not open/not functioning while I was there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was easy, clean, and conveniently located near the bus station and supermarket. The guy who runs the place is very sweet and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was centrally located so it was a good base for exploring the city (not the hotel zone). The owner spoke English and seemed like he was around a lot. The room and bathroom were clean and linens/towels were provided. Overall an adequate place to stay but definitely less satisfactory than what we expected from the description.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious dorms and huge bathrooms with excellent hot showers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 August 2009

Liked: its in the centre, so u can move anywhere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was centrally located and close to the bus station. I also appreciated the security there and felt my belongings were safe when I wasn't there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owner told me some places to visit

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christopher Evans

08 August 2009 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great owners, helpful, large rooms, good location

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Olly Deacon

13 May 2009 Olly would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel seems nice enough, the dorms are spacious clean and have ensuite. There's cable tv and a nice lounge area. It has been fine for my first stop in Mexico allowing me to find my feet, but it's very quiet here at the moment and there aren't many people staying - probably as a result of the recent swine flu outbreak...

Disliked: Olly left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

LAHCEN MORDI

29 April 2009 LAHCEN would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: LAHCEN left no negative feedback.


See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels