We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels

Reviews of Hostel Quetzal

Hostel | Orquideas Street 10, Cancun, Mexico 75500

78.5% Overall Rating

324 out of 346 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/02/2014)

Linda Lindholm thinks…

"Staff is very helpful, fun and personable. The breakfast and excellent dinner is included in the price. Great bargain! Welcome me back like family."

Read all Hostel Quetzal reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 44.54
  • Luggage Room USD 3.71

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Party Hostel with daily drinking games and Theme Parties. Check in 3pm, you may leave us your bags in storage and use the facilities and meet our guests meanwhile we prepare your bed. Check out 11am. Late checkout available for 75 pesos. Dinner and Breakfast are included. Free tequila toast at dinner. 24hour reception Only cash accepted. Mexican pesos or US dollars Cancellation Policy one day before We prefer young travellers who are not looking just for a place to sleep Age Restriction under 40 Drinking your own alcohol is not permitted 24 hour bar and snack service Discount tour desk Special Price club tickets with VIP service, express pass, all you can drink, no cover, transportation to the club, table for the hostel at club, waiter for hostel guests. Party Hostel! expect everything associated with the Party! Hostel Quetzal in an elegant Mexican home transformed into a party hostel designed for the young traveller. We do not have an age limit, but as a Party Hostel expect everything related to partying to happen. Please do not stay here if you want a laid back experience. We are pure octane. Fun, frolic, nudity, noise, and more.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cancun

Haina Hostal
13.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 133 reviews
Hostel Orquideas
11.88 USD

Hostel 86.8% 21 reviews
Suites Gaby Hotel
50.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Hostal Marpez
8.17 USD

Hostel 73.1% 40 reviews
Hotel Xbalamque Resort and Spa
21.34 USD

Hotel 4 star 87.4% 5 reviews
Hostel Kankun
5.00 USD

Hostel 69.4% 153 reviews
HOTEL RIVEMAR
1.04 USD

Hotel 79.0% 14 reviews
Mayan Hostel
8.91 USD

Hostel 71.0% 125 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.5%

Overall Rating

324 out of 346 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Quetzal'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 300 of 315 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014

Liked: easy to meet people and nice food

Disliked: location is in a bad area and far away from everything. front door to hostel is never locked. they have these stupid drinking rules to make you buy more beer from them. food is small portion. don't go on there bar tour they say it a good deal but best way is to flag down a taxi and go out yourself you will find a cheaper bar with all you can drink and you serve yourself its quicker, the waiters you get with the hostel tour take forever with your drinks cos there so many of you to get it for and you end up not making the most out of the drink

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and the staff were awesome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Grant Harris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything the atmosphere the people who work here the food ( when your lucky enough to get it) the noise

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Lindholm

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2014 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very helpful, fun and personable. The breakfast and excellent dinner is included in the price. Great bargain! Welcome me back like family.

Disliked: Sometimes the music goes all night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the free breakfast and dinner. The rooftrerrace and garden were really nice places to hang out. Thanks to the nice dinner you can get to know other people easily. It´s a party hostel. For people who like to party it´s perfect and a great atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, free breakfast and dinner

Disliked: Sometimes too noisy

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014

Liked: Room was OK, there was lot of space.

Disliked: There was lot of noise, it is really a party hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

william peters

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2014 william would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful friendly staff. Great athmosphere. Very nice food.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great social atmosphere and lounge areas where one could just sit down, say hello and meet new people...especially if you're not the most outgoing person. Breakfast and dinner included, which was quite decent. Attendance for dinner was great as well, it gets everybody together.

Disliked: No computer station for guests to use.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Having dinner included was great. Really a great way to meet people as a solo traveller. Rooms were spacious and clean. Bathrooms were clean as well.

Disliked: The lockers were either very small, or not very secure.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. The place is clean. It is nice to have the included dinner, although it is not a lot, but really tasty. Luckily, there is a big park close to the hostel where they sell local and good food and I saw some restaurants as well. Cancun as a last stop before leaving the country is okay. Close to the hostel you will find a huge Wal-Mart where you can buy anything you started to like in Mexico (food, drinks) except of a small bottle of Mezcal anejo ;) For souveniers, I found a lot cheaper and nicer things (scarf, blankets, bags, ..) in other cities. And: at the airport in Cancun one could still buy a lot of things, but it is incredible expensive!

Disliked: It is really a party hostel. It got only quiet at 5 or 6 o'clock in the morning. If you are into partying, that's ok, but I joined a tour the next day to Tulum and I had to wake up early, so even wearing earplugs, I didn't get enough sleep the first night in a dormitory next to the reception. The second night I stayed in a private room, located in the back of the reception/garden, this was a lot better. When I joined the tour, I didn't get any breakfast or sandwich to go in the morning, although breakfast time started only 30 min later. A general information about the offered breakfast and dinner: It was really a small portion and you didn't get refill. But it was really tasty. Some further information: I joined the offered tour to Tulum and to Cenotes. The company where they booked the tour is called 'Go Mexico' and it was horrible. I was the first to be picked up at 7 am, the Collectivo was then collecting people from different places for about 2 hours. Around 9 am we arrived at the company meeting point, which is more like a huge touristic shop. Here I had to queue for 20 min to get my 'boarding pass' because my voucher/receipt I got from the hostel was not issued by the company and therefore not enough although it had the identical information on it. Really stupid, especially because the 'boarding pass' was just another random paper which varied randomly for different people. On the bus the guide was speaking nonstop, advertising the company, speaking about what you can do, will do, repeating himself a tousend times... exhausting. We were driving three times to the 'famous' Xel-Ha for people doing a daytrip, people going there after Tulum and at the end to pick them up again. 3 times extra 15-20 min Bus driving for nothing. But I have to say, that the sites I visited, Tulum and Aktun chen cenotes were really nice and worth it. If you don't have a lot of time, these tours are the easiest and still probably the fastest way to see a lot. But if you have time, go on your own and never ever join Go Mexico!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013

Liked: Location is great. breakfast is awesome

Disliked: the stuff is not helpful at all, specially the guy at the reception doesn't know anything. The treat the very friendly cleaning stuff like slaves. big dislike

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast and dinner include

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Meade

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed at!!!!! I felt like I was part of a big family. The nightly dinner is fantastic as you all sit outside and socialise together. Everyone was extremely laid back and eager to tell stories over some beers. We went out every 2nd night and oh boy did we party!!! For the price you pay you won't find a better hostel. Im sad I'm leaving but please if you're ever in Cancun and looking for the most amazing hostel ever.... You MUST STAY HERE!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Fiona left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Timothy Langoulant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: the sfaff were very helpful and overall a good hostel

Disliked: I booked a private room and the shower was terrible with no water pressure at all...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Douch

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 October 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fun and friendly, was a safe environment with lots to do in the surrounding area. Day trips and club nights were easily organised through the hostel and were always great. The food every morning and evening were amazing, couldn't believe it was all included in the price! would highly recommend to anyone travelling or just on holiday.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George Mortimer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2013 George would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel! This hostel is a great way to meet other travelers! Great location very close to buses, local food, and anything you need to find! Would reccomend this hostel to anybody! The best part is the chef who cooks authentic mexican breakfast and dinner every single day that is included in the price!

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ruth Douglas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast and dinners were really tasty.

Disliked: Water pressure

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Lewandowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

26 August 2013 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: ...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Lewandowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

26 August 2013 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Lewandowski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

26 August 2013 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebecca Roycroft

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: great fun staff, delisious free dinners

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, breakfast and dinner, clean, cosy and really pretty rooms!! The dinner is like a meeting where you can easily get in touch with other people.

Disliked: It's a real partyhostel and so it's often quieter during the day than during the night. If they are partying in their garden, in the dorms on the second floor you feel like you're sleeping in a disco. If people are going out and come home during the night, even if they aren't sraying in your room, you will often hear them as drunken people aren' t the quietest.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicola Lyon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed for one night but staff and travellers all seemed really friendly and organised nights out together. Breakfast was good, the outdoor area was nice to sit in the sunshine while eating. Rooftop area always a bonus. Staff were really helpful, showed me where the ATM was and walked me down the street to show me where the bus station was.

Disliked: The share rooms were huge and there was little privacy, i pretty much passed out but am sure fussy travellers would have a problem with how open everything was, no doors to lock and probably lots of drunk people coming in at ungodly hours. This is why it's a party hostel though so anyone who complains about that hasn't read the hostel info properly.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zinaida Good

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

30 May 2013 Zinaida would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfasts and dinners (included!) are really excellent and a great way to meet people!!

Disliked: A bit far from the beach, but ok


See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels