HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels

Reviews of Hostel Quetzal

Hostel | Orquideas Street 10, Cancun, Mexico 75500

78.5% Overall Rating

324 out of 346 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/02/2014)

Linda Lindholm thinks…

"Staff is very helpful, fun and personable. The breakfast and excellent dinner is included in the price. Great bargain! Welcome me back like family."

Read all Hostel Quetzal reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 44.54
  • Luggage Room USD 3.71

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

" if you are arriving later than 11 pm please contact us to let us know otherwise we will cancel your reservation"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cancun

Haina Hostal
11.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 133 reviews
Hostel Orquideas
11.13 USD

Hostel 86.4% 20 reviews
Suites Gaby Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Hostal Marpez
8.17 USD

Hostel 73.1% 40 reviews
Hotel Xbalamque Resort and Spa
20.12 USD

Hotel 4 star 87.4% 5 reviews
Hostel Kankun
5.00 USD

Hostel 69.4% 153 reviews
HOTEL RIVEMAR
16.78 USD

Hotel 79.0% 14 reviews
Mayan Hostel
9.65 USD

Hostel 71.0% 125 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.5%

Overall Rating

324 out of 346 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Quetzal'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 300 of 315 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paloma Torres-Davila

26 April 2010 Paloma would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing. Fun and communal atmosphere with its nightly dinners and cocktails. I also want to add, I got in an accident my first night there and not only were my roommates super helpful, but the hostel staff went out of their way to help me, even getting me crutches and accommodating my needs while I was there. Definitely recommend this hostel to anyone and hope to stay there again!

Disliked: Paloma left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Funky dorm room. Breakkie and dinner included. Staff are really helpful. Only downside is that showers have no pressure.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Estelle Winterflood

25 April 2010 Estelle would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic!! The manager, Monica, and the other staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. The chef, Luis, served us with breakfast and dinner every day - the food was delicious.We stayed in a private room on the ground floor which was very spacious and had a gorgeous patio. The hostel has a very social atmosphere and the building has a lot of character with a beautiful outdoor area.I found the hostel to be safe and secure. The hostel front door is kept locked almost all of the time with a staff member available to let you in and out. We weren't provided the key for our private room (keys were available for other private rooms), however our room was close to the main entrance so there was always a staff member nearby. I believe the dorm room has lockers available.We were happy with the location - it is downtown and hence far less touristy than the hotel strip, it is close to several bars/pubs, a shopping center, food court, etc. It was easy to get around with taxis and buses (although ask for advice if going to the beach because the public access entrances can be hard to find within the hotel strip).

Disliked: Estelle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good ambiance and good staff!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Carnell

14 April 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were incredible, service was amazing. Probably one of the best hostel experiences i bhave ever had. They really look after you and every night a group hits the town. Excellent place if you want to meet poeple and party

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha Keoller

13 April 2010 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: What a place!!!! We started our Honeymoon off here and I wish we had of stayed there the entire time! The personnel encourage and foster a wonderfully inclusive and safe environment to meet other travelers and have an absolute smashing time. Regardless of what ever it is you're doing or planning on doing, everything you could want to see and do can be safely organised through Quetzal - from day tours; sampling local festivities, culture and food; being ushered out every evening by the very smart and fun Entertainment Guide (who is actually the Chef - an outstanding chef too); gaining local knowledge and recent history of the area - I could go on and on. Put simply, this place and the staff have a very special home in mine & my husbands hearts and we plan to go back annually for a reunion! You'll have a great experience staying here!

Disliked: Natasha left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris vogias

07 April 2010 chris would recommend this property

Liked: An amazing place and an amazing experience. Best hostel i have stayed at so far!

Disliked: chris left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Friederike Krebbers

01 April 2010 Friederike would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel with fabulous free breakfast and dinner. Great atmosphere. Loved to stay there.

Disliked: Friederike left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adam Walters

26 March 2010 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: The place to party in town, all lovely friendly people and they put a free minibus for all in the hostel to arrive at the party!

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great family run hostel, highly recommend it to all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Klimo

17 March 2010 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is just wonderful, cooking breakfast and dinner and giving you more if you want some more! All the other guys from stuff are very kind, organizing trips out every day and helping you in any way you need. Perfect place.

Disliked: Jan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent free breakfast and evening meals with delicious cocktails. Though I would be there a day, two max. Currently have no intension to leave.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked everything about it, that's how a hostel is supposed to be. its a beautiful, clean place, very friendly, helpful and well informed stuff, that really makes an effort to make your stay as pleasent as possible. besides the atmosphere is cool and relaxed, there is an aeria where one can party well separated from the one where one can rest in silence. its the best hostel ive been to during my 3 weeks long trip to mexico. i higly recomend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best hostel you can find! Greatest staff, the most amazing service and the best atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Sheepwash

25 February 2010 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably one of the best hostels i have stayed in whilst travelling Mexico. Its clean, well maintained and Family that run the place make the effort to get to know you and help you in anyway possible.

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

AICHE NORA

17 February 2010 AICHE would recommend this property

Liked: L'ambiente e L'accoglienza....tutto molto ok!

Disliked: AICHE left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a huge room with a nice little patio. I was offered dinner when I first arrived in and very friendly people and staff. Pity I was only staying one night before flying out! Definately would recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bram Boerman

06 February 2010 Bram would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel... Nice people and a very good place to meet other travelers!

Disliked: Bram left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacob Russell

15 January 2010 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly people... really helpful people.... very nice location.... right next to the bus station. You can't ask for more... they have SUPER CHEF! who will cook you brekkie and dinner. nice family feeling atmosphere. the private rooms are pretty nice too.Muy buena ubicacion, gente muy amable, nos ayudaron mucho. cercita de la estacion de autobuses. SUPER CHEF cocina desayuno y cena cada día.

Disliked: Jacob left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heewon Park

10 January 2010 Heewon would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved this place! Friendly people, clean and pleasant place to stay in Cancun. Two thumbs up!

Disliked: Heewon left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

stefano cicciopastore

26 December 2009 stefano would recommend this property

Liked: all its ok!!!

Disliked: stefano left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, only stayed here one night, but felt comfortable...everything was clean, secure...bright and colorful rooms...within walking distance of some bars and places to get food...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cameron McDonald

10 December 2009 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Top Hostel great place to meet people the staff are so nice, great dinners by Luis and they definetly know how to show you a time out on the town in Cancun!!!

Disliked: Cameron left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a large house that has been converted so it has a homey apnosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Robert Charlton

04 November 2009

Liked: the staff were good and helpful. but the dorm is a hole with rubbish lockers. stay at hostel mayapan in the zona hotelera its really nice and located in the only place in cancun worth going to. downtown is rubbish

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.


See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels