HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Quetzal Cancun Hostel

CALLE ORQUIDEAS 10, MZA.14, SM 22., CANCUN, QUINTANA ROO, Cancun, Mexico

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 78%

Location 76%

Safety 81%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 28.70USD
  • Luggage Room 2.45USD

Important Information

Check in 3pm, you may leave us your bags in storage and use the facilities and meet our guests meanwhile we prepare your bed.

Check out 11am. Late checkout available for 75 pesos.

Dinner and Breakfast are included. Free tequila toast at dinner.

24hour reception

Credit cards or cash accepted on arrival. Mexican pesos or US dollars.

Cancellation Policy one day before

Drinking your own alcohol is not permitted.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 78%

Location 76%

Safety 81%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

Showing 71-80 of 123 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: everything!!! everything is delightful about this hostel! the location is nice, it's very clean (first hostel i've stayed in where the sheets were changed daily!) very fun, great atmosphere! huge place, really lovely staff!! the best shower i've EVER had in mexico!!! i came because the included dinners were so highly praised, and they were definitely right! the breakfasts also were very good! i really loved it here, and wished out of the 12 days that i stayed in cancun, all of them were at quetzal. so much goodness all for about 6$ US a day, or less, more than anyother hostel i stayed in, in my 24 days in mexico. breakfast, dinner, & community at the highest i've found in mexico! stay here, or regret you didn't!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: it's as close to purrfect as it gets, so there was nothing i didn't like!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: everything

Disliked: no dislikes - one comment for people who have a big luggage and get a room on the 2nd floor: the staircase is steep and narrow

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The atmosphere is so nice, and good people work there.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Perfect location, two good meals included, clean enough, good price...The best hostel (of 5) my wife and I stayed at in Mexico.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This ws the best hostel that I stayed at in my travels, It has the best environment to meet new people. The dinners and breakfast are vary social, everyone comes together and eats at one long table some delicious food prepared by the local chefs. The other staff there are great too, Jerry is more than happy to help out in any way and show you around the city. The bartender brian throws a great rooftop party on the nights that the guests dont feel like partying in the hotel zone. Great place.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, Its located in downtown cancun so you cant walk out the front door onto the beach but the bus ride into the beach is easy and cheap and it gives you a chance to see the real side of cancun.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great atmosphere of a fun hostel to meet cool people

Disliked: Not as close to the beach as I'd like, but for the price, it's quite reasonable

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: These people and the property are wonderful! I'm an older client but that was no problem despite it being spring break week. I was welcomed by everyone, including the guests. They went out of their way to be accommodating. It's a wonderful location, too, close to everything.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location, staff, the architecture

Disliked: walking directions from bus station difficult to follow but we made it. :)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The atmosphere is brilliant, very laid back and friendly. The dinner and organized nights out allows you to get to know the other guests and as a solo traveller that helped me a lot to meet new people.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent staff that care about their guests! Very central and easy to get to from the bus depot. Super clean and and attracts the right type of travelers that keep returning and appreciating the vibe of the hostel. Great place to meet like-minded travelers. I have stayed at other hostels in Cancun but none compare to the Quetzal. I have returned 4 times and always impressed. Felt very safe and often left laptop charging in common area. Meals alone are worth the price of the stay. Just making another reservation for my next trip!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability