HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels

Reviews of Hostel Quetzal

Hostel | Orquideas Street 10, Cancun, Mexico 75500

82.7% Overall Rating

322 out of 342 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/02/2014)

Linda Lindholm thinks…

"Staff is very helpful, fun and personable. The breakfast and excellent dinner is included in the price. Great bargain! Welcome me back like family."

Read all Hostel Quetzal reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.94
  • Luggage Room USD 3.83

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

" if you are arriving later than 11 pm please contact us to let us know otherwise we will cancel your reservation"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cancun

Haina Hostal
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 82.2% 132 reviews
Hostel Orquideas
13.78 USD

Hostel 93.9% 7 reviews
Suites Gaby Hotel
500.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Hostal Marpez
11.48 USD

Hostel 73.4% 36 reviews
Hotel Xbalamque Resort and Spa
25.84 USD

Hotel 4 star 84.3% 4 reviews
Hostel Kankun
5.00 USD

Hostel 67.2% 148 reviews
HOTEL RIVEMAR
17.35 USD

Hotel 79.0% 14 reviews
Mayan Hostel
11.48 USD

Hostel 75.0% 120 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

322 out of 342 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Quetzal'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 299 of 311 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

DAVID YAMADA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2010 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: I extended a day. The meals included with the room were very good and they were helpful in getting me a tour to Chichen Itza. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Disliked: lockers would have been nice, but security was pretty good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Dore

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2010 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. One of the best I've been to and fantasstic value for money given the free good breakfast and great evening meal.Easy to find and very easy to get to places from.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim kershaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2010 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Great place

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great people and vibe. Monica was super helpful and even organised a small cake on my birthday. They were very caring and went out of their way to ensure you were happy and even made us daiquiris!!!

Disliked: nothing can be faulted

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiffany Siegert

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

06 October 2010 Tiffany would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and dinner and very nice staff! Just a perfect place to stay!

Disliked: nothing of course!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

06 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel ever!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeremiah butler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2010 jeremiah would recommend this property

Liked: Quetzal Hostel is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in.- I have stayed at almost 30 different hostels on my world travels. Monica, and her crew make you feel right at home. I can't say enough good things about her place.

Disliked: The only thing I dislike about this property is that there cannot be another Quetzal Hostel in the country I am headed to next.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

eric Wong

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2010 eric would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is super friendly. Easy to meet other travelers.

Disliked: Some mattresses were thinner than others.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice garden and roof terrace. Good and fresh food.

Disliked: We booked a room with private bathroom. The bathroom was not in the room but in the general hallway. Bathroom was not very clean and you need to be very small to be able to sit on the toilet properly. Breakfas and dinner were daily fresh but were a bit small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great people awrsome if you want to party but if you want time to your self its great also

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

constantine paxinos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2010 constantine would recommend this property

Liked: The owner-manager monica is a real gem. Reallyputs herheart and soul into the whole travelling experience. Maybe the best host I have come acros and Ivedone a lot of travelling. Best hostel to meet people bar none. Ifyou can stay here...very good experience. Im coming back for sure!

Disliked: constantine left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2010

Liked: very good place to get in contact with other travelers, specially during dinner

Disliked: not the best place for privacy (if your traveling as a couple)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is incredibly nice, beautifully located and the staff is excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a fantastic place to stay, the staff is very helpful, the dinner is delicious and good to meet other travellers. good place if you are looking for party, and the dorm is very quiet during the nights if you want to sleep early....one of the best hostels in the world...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jill barclay

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2010 jill would recommend this property

Liked: the food was great and people staying here were nice. Plenty to do at night if you wanted and internet access excellent in all rooms.

Disliked: the top floor was busy all night if you were staying up there. we stayed there 1st night and it was noisy but we stayed 2nd floor on 2nd and 3rd night and it was fine.`

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hosts and friendly staff. A very good place to meet new people over dinner and the bar that follows. The staff helps arrange for day trips. And for someone looking for a good night life, night long parties are arranged almost on daily basis.. Had a memorable week long stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Aziz Badro

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 August 2010 Aziz would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about it except for the above mentioned. The people working there are so fun and useful, espcially Monica, the owner! Please, always trust what this woman has to say to you, she is always right no matter what! Go to the places she recommends and do not miss the Coco Bongo!!! The food was pretty good espcially the burritos and the cocktails Monica prepares, I really miss that!!! Jocelyn was very kind and Salvatore was high all the time :))

Disliked: I already mentioned that.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dorota szczepaniak

With friends / other travellers

11 August 2010 dorota would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely great place! Monica was really helpfull, Chris was amazing! We stayed in the dbl private ensuite, the room was really nice and big! the food was also good, we were normally eating all together outsite which was a great opportunity to meet up other travellers! great fun and great people!

Disliked: you need to take a bus to get to the hotel zone but well, it'b be to good to be true if it was next to the beach for that price;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel that I have ever stayed in. Monica goes out of her way to make sure you're safe and having fun. The food is amazing and the atmosphere is just beyond anything you could imagine.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

04 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private rooms have a really nice athmosphere.Breakfast was good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Pieter Reintjes

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 August 2010 Pieter would recommend this property

Liked: Location is in centre of Cancun near busstation. Friendly people, good place for backpackers; room for yourself also possible.

Disliked: The towels were not fresh, stinking. Our room had small bathroom separated.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice hostel. Owner was really friendly. Great dinner and breakfast. Met a lot of nice people there.

Disliked: Nothing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The meals were very nice.

Disliked: It was not very clean. Sheets were not clean in our room. Rubbish bin in our toilet was half full. Floor of bedroom very dirty. I had to go out and buy cleaning products and use my bed sheet to feel comfortable. You could not cook for yourself in the kitchen as you can in most hostels. Too far from the beach. The staircase was quite dangerous and difficult to negiotiate. You had to get someone to let you out the front door and in the front door. Which was diffuclt when we were leaving with the taxi waiting and a timelimit to get to the airport and we couldn't find anyone to open the door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ehmm....everything. It is realy the BEST hostel in Mexico! The owner, Monica, is great. The place looks lovely, the breakfast is very nice, there are partys every night, there is diner etc.

Disliked: none

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and quiet. lovely garden in the back.

Disliked: mosquitoes, but you really can't get away from that in mexico no matter how hard you try.


See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels