HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Quetzal Cancun Hostel

CALLE ORQUIDEAS 10, MZA.14, SM 22., CANCUN, QUINTANA ROO, Cancun, Mexico

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 78%

Location 75%

Safety 81%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 28.43USD
  • Luggage Room 2.43USD

Important Information

Party Hostel with daily drinking games and Theme Parties.

Check in 3pm, you may leave us your bags in storage and use the facilities and meet our guests meanwhile we prepare your bed.

Check out 11am. Late checkout available for 75 pesos.

Dinner and Breakfast are included. Free tequila toast at dinner.

24hour reception

Only cash accepted. Mexican pesos or US dollars

Cancellation Policy one day before

We prefer young travellers who are not looking just for a place to sleep

Age Restriction under 40

Drinking your own alcohol is not permitted

24 hour bar and snack service

Discount tour desk

Special Price club tickets with VIP service, express pass, all you can drink, no cover, transportation to the club, table for the hostel at club, waiter for hostel guests.

Party Hostel! expect everything associated with the Party! Hostel Quetzal in an elegant Mexican home transformed into a party hostel designed for the young traveller. We do not have an age limit, but as a Party Hostel expect everything related to partying to happen. Please do not stay here if you want a laid back experience. We are pure octane. Fun, frolic, nudity, noise, and more.

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to charge your card for the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“Sale Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 78%

Location 75%

Safety 81%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

Showing 61-15 of 15 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: People are very nice, good enviroment.

Disliked: Far from the beach, but if you are not at a resort- hotel zone, you are going to be far from the beach.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Where do I start, such a good hostel, amazing staff (brian and new addition Kevin). Really sociable environment, especially around dinner time. Value for money it is excellent. If your going cancun, you have to stay here, it's a must.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owner was really helpfully and friendly. I arrived late due to missing a flight and was very kindly not charged for the night I missed. Great trips on offer cheaper than offered outside the hostel. Really good place to meet other travellers and relax.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: great hostel! and very social, everyone eats dinner together each evening which is a great way to get to know everyone. Breakfast and Dinner is included (along with a free shot of tequila) which makes is really good value for money. I would definetly come back given the chance!

Disliked: nada

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff and atmosphere were great. Breakfast was delicious. the design was perfect as indoors and also in outdoors with hammock in the gardens. Yes they have more then one garden, Our room was very clean. I will definitely stay in this hostel next time.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: This hostel had a very high rating as the moment that I was searching for a place in Cancun. It was a very good and cozy place. The food was good and i like it overall.

Disliked: It was a bit hot in the dorm, I was in the mixed dorm and the fan in the room wasn't enough to cool down the room. The behavior of the staffs were good, but there was a middle aged guy who behaved inappropriately at the end. I asked him for receipt and he refused.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

THE DORM ROOM HAS AC. I APOLOGIZE FOR THE MAN, HE ACTUALLY IS NOT A MEMBER OF OUR STAFF BUT WAS FILLING IN FOR A HOSTEL HELPER THAT WAS INDISPOSED AFTER ATTENDING A SUPER FUN FOAM PARTY AND MEETING A VERY HOT GIRL. THOSE THINGS HAPPEN WE ARE A VERY SOCIAL HOSTEL. THANKS FOR YOUR COMMENT THAT MAN WILL NOT REAPPEAR IN THE HOSTEL.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel was excellent. The atmosphere was very cozy, welcoming, and casual, and the service was great. The staff was helpful and understanding. It is far away from the tourist center of Cancun but it's within walking distance of a bus station that can take you anywhere in the area.I think the other reviews have covered most of the amenities like breakast/dinner (both decent and home-cooked-healthy), the lounge, in-room AC (important in Cancun's climate) etc. So, I'll point out what impressed me the most: the cleanliness of the rooms. Our room had white tiles but even agaist that contrast, there was not a speck or smudge to be seen. The bathroom was also quite tidy and added to the feel of being in a safe, well-kept home. For me, finding this level of professional care in a hostel tucked into a corner of the city says a lot about the service.This doesn't have that much to do with the hostel's quality, but we ran into one of the staff by pure luck at the airport as we were flying out, and he recognized us, stopping to say hello and even giving us directions to our terminal.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff was amazingy friendly and the whole place is cozy from roof to hammock garden. Included breakfast and dinner were delicious! Its a party scene, and good at it.

Disliked: The showers in the mixed dorm are coed, which is works. But with girls doing makeup and smaller showers, I found it hard to be discrete or room to maneuver in the bathroom. Not near the beach, but what is in cancun?

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We have a new girls dorm with hairdryers, makeup mirrors and all the amenities for great looking girls. That gives the guys more movement in the co ed dorm bathroom.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I have never been in such great places like this. I slept in dorm, it was comfortable. Everything was clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Dinners are great.

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. Clean and safe. The price included a fine breakfast and dinner preparde by local chefs. There were areas for gathering and chatting with fellow travelers as well as quiet spots with hammocks for that needed siesta. They offered excursions to nightclubs, beaches and archaeological ruins and an honor system refrigerator with cold beer. Free internet was a bonus. Really traveler friendly.

Disliked: The circular staircase to the dormitory sleeping area was steep and hard to navigate with luggage.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability