HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Quetzal Cancun Hostel

CALLE ORQUIDEAS 10, MZA.14, SM 22., CANCUN, QUINTANA ROO, Cancun, Mexico

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 79%

Location 75%

Safety 80%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 29.62USD
  • Luggage Room 2.53USD

Important Information

Party Hostel with daily drinking games and Theme Parties.

Check in 3pm, you may leave us your bags in storage and use the facilities and meet our guests meanwhile we prepare your bed.

Check out 11am. Late checkout available for 75 pesos.

Dinner and Breakfast are included. Free tequila toast at dinner.

24hour reception

Only cash accepted. Mexican pesos or US dollars

Cancellation Policy one day before

We prefer young travellers who are not looking just for a place to sleep

Age Restriction under 40

Drinking your own alcohol is not permitted

24 hour bar and snack service

Discount tour desk

Special Price club tickets with VIP service, express pass, all you can drink, no cover, transportation to the club, table for the hostel at club, waiter for hostel guests.

Party Hostel! expect everything associated with the Party! Hostel Quetzal in an elegant Mexican home transformed into a party hostel designed for the young traveller. We do not have an age limit, but as a Party Hostel expect everything related to partying to happen. Please do not stay here if you want a laid back experience. We are pure octane. Fun, frolic, nudity, noise, and more.

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to charge your card for the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“Sale Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 79%

Location 75%

Safety 80%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

Showing 41-21 of 21 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: a good chef and helpful staff

Disliked: they canceled our reservation without noticing us. they sent an email to me 1 day before we arrived there, BUT we were in Mexico!!! I was unable to check my email daily in Mexico!! I (most travellers) could not have data plan in travelling country! Finally, the boss (a dutch woman) helped us find another hotel very close to this hostel, that hotel was much better than this place. So we did not lose our temper.


The property's response is

Christmas Eve a reservation for 9 Chinese students for one night. Reservation was made in Oct. Confirmation sent out on several occassions in English and Mandarine. No response from you. We did not cancel your reservation we preferred that you stayed elsewhere and therefore3 moved you into a local hotel.
We cannot choose our guests, but we can filter when necessary. How you can rate a place not stayed is quite bold. Touche.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel is awesome. The staff are great, in particular Jose is the nicest guy on the planet, Bryan is amazing to party with and Patty is hilarious. There are parties every night and the social dinners are a really cool way to meet people. Gracias amigos

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: If you are looking for a place to party all night, this is the right one, coz there is literally nothing else you can do here!!! No way to sleep! Terrible fasciitis! People breaking into your room all the time! No privacy or safety at all!!!


The property's response is

Yes it was a crazy party but it is CHRISTMAS as well. We are Cancun party rockers it is a party concept. I do not know why you booked into this hostel if you know it is a party hostel. Please go stay somewhere else. Those beds are best for people who want to rock. Our concept is social and interactive. People breaking into the room???? Terrible facilities, I am sorry I do not agree this. Hostel Quetzal is a beautiful hostel unlike any other with gardens, roof terrace and a chef.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great staff and very welcoming. Monica and Patty are great!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hostel is well located near ADO bus terminal. Breakfasts and dinners were amazing. The owner Monica went all the way to help guests. Definitely one of the best hostels that I have stayed in.

Disliked: Hot water was not always available.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Delicious breakfast and dinner is included (don't expect Western-sized portions however). Probably the most social hostel worldwide I ever stayed at. Meals are served on large family tables, so you can't get around talking to others, making for easy connections. Staff is super friendly, though some speak only English or only Spanish. Nightly club outings being led by resident guys if you are there to check out the night life. When we were there their alcohol license was temporarily withdrawn, making for more quiet evenings. I have heard infamous stories from before (incl. free tequila during dinner - you can guess the vibe from that...). Overall, had a pleasant stay and would go again.

Disliked: No hooks to put towels or clothes in the dorm bathroom. (Unisex bathrooms in the shared dorms, in case that matters to you.)Music during dinner is unnecessarily loud, making conversations hard. Music played also rather mono-chromatic, mostly 'clubby'. Don't leave left over drinks in the fridge. We had ours disappear two nights in a row, effectively drinking less than half of the two six packs we bought ourselves. Maybe a sign would help to police what I consider common sense (dn't steal others food and beverages!).

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: It was pretty good. Not great, but there were a few cool people there so it made up for some of the staff being a bit self centred. Irish guy was a cool bar tender.

Disliked: One of the staff was always hanging out with his new gf all the time and I didn't like having to 5 minutes to get a beer everytime I wanted one coz he had to finish making googely eyes etc. I hate to interupt such a blossoming love but really dude, would you rather I waited there watching this shit for 5 minutes or would you prefer to get me out of there in 2 seconds but just grabbing me a beer which would take you all of 2 seconds!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good breakfast and dinner and a lot of outdoor spaces. The range of activites on offer was also really good, with something happening every night.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice Breakfast. Good location for Party or sightseeing. Very kind and helpful staff

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere, great food and amazingly friendly staff!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability