HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Quetzal Cancun Hostel

CALLE ORQUIDEAS 10, MZA.14, SM 22., CANCUN, QUINTANA ROO, Cancun, Mexico

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 78%

Location 76%

Safety 81%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 30.80USD
  • Luggage Room 2.63USD

Important Information

Check in 3pm, you may leave us your bags in storage and use the facilities and meet our guests meanwhile we prepare your bed.

Check out 11am. Late checkout available for 75 pesos.

Dinner and Breakfast are included. Free tequila toast at dinner.

24hour reception

Credit cards or cash accepted on arrival. Mexican pesos or US dollars.

Cancellation Policy one day before

Drinking your own alcohol is not permitted.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 78%

Location 76%

Safety 81%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

Showing 31-40 of 123 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Breakfasts and dinners (included!) are really excellent and a great way to meet people!!

Disliked: A bit far from the beach, but ok

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Best Hostel ever!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Facility is clean and comfortable, with a nice back courtyard for relaxing and socializing.

Disliked: There was a pretty intense drinking crowd when we stayed. Our room was right next to the front desk, and staff seemed to have little care about blasting music. And since the room doors don't lock, people seemed to walk in and out of our room at all hours, often leaving the door standing open during the night. Strongly suggest they invest in locking doors for rooms and have a quiet policy for front desk.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: First off, this is a party hostel, you don't come here to sleep and relax. But I haven't been at a hostel where it's easier to meet awesome people, go out and have an amazing time. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and they all seem to be focused on having a good time.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Super fun! The hostel provides a good dinner and breakfast (with fresh fruit) and also arranges for discounted cover and transportation to a club. The staff is young and friendly. It attracts a fun crowd. The space is interesting.

Disliked: The space is not too secure, though it didn't seem like a problem. The crowd is a bit rowdy if you're looking for a party scene rather than a low-key scene.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location - close to the bus station and lots of markets and stores downtown although far from the beach. Easy to meet people since there is a group dinner every night.

Disliked: No hot water for most of the nights there, loud at night so you NEED earplugs to get to sleep

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

NOISE IS EXPECTED IF YOU COME TO CANCUN DURING SPRING BREAK OR X MAS BREAK ESPECIALLY IN A PARTY HOSTEL WERE GUESTS ARE HAVING A GREAT TIME. IN MEXICO WE HEAT WATER WITH CYLINDER GAS. HEAVY WIND AND RAIN CAN BLOW OUT THE FLAMES BUT IF YOU REPORT IT IN RECEPTION THE BOILER WILL BE RELIT AND VOILA HOT WATER.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great staff, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, great dorm rooms for low cost

Disliked: The location was far from many activites in the hotel zone, not much to downtown, luckily the bus was inexpensive and close to the hostel

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Only stayed for one night but staff and travellers all seemed really friendly and organised nights out together. Breakfast was good, the outdoor area was nice to sit in the sunshine while eating. Rooftop area always a bonus. Staff were really helpful, showed me where the ATM was and walked me down the street to show me where the bus station was.

Disliked: The share rooms were huge and there was little privacy, i pretty much passed out but am sure fussy travellers would have a problem with how open everything was, no doors to lock and probably lots of drunk people coming in at ungodly hours. This is why it's a party hostel though so anyone who complains about that hasn't read the hostel info properly.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hola Nicola, thank you for your review I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Our hostel is set up with one main 12 bed dorm room for travellers who prefer the social atmosphere of a large dorm, the room is wide and open with lots of windows to let light in which our guests love rather than small and cramped. For guests who prefer more privacy we have five bed dorms both mixed and female only and also private rooms. All our dorms have lockers for every guest so safety and security is never an issue.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free breakfast and dinner, close to the bus and great atmosphere. toilets are clean

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: friendly staff and laid-back environment, we stayed in a clean and newly-decorated room. garden view room was a clean and comfortable, with lots of windows.

Disliked: only one drawback, no hot water for the shower when we tried both at night and early in the morning (at 5 am before our early flight)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your comments.. In Mexico the water is heated with cylinder gas tanks. Unfortuneately with rain or heavy wind the flame blows out. For future stay when the hot water does not come let us know in reception and we will relight the boiler for you.
Thanks again for your stay you were lovely guests.

Check Availability