HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels

Reviews of Hostel Quetzal

Hostel | Orquideas Street 10, Cancun, Mexico 75500

79.8% Overall Rating

323 out of 344 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/02/2014)

Linda Lindholm thinks…

"Staff is very helpful, fun and personable. The breakfast and excellent dinner is included in the price. Great bargain! Welcome me back like family."

Read all Hostel Quetzal reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 46.27
  • Luggage Room USD 3.86

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

" if you are arriving later than 11 pm please contact us to let us know otherwise we will cancel your reservation"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cancun

Haina Hostal
13.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 133 reviews
Hostel Orquideas
12.34 USD

Hostel 88.8% 14 reviews
Suites Gaby Hotel
27.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Hostal Marpez
8.48 USD

Hostel 72.7% 38 reviews
Hotel Xbalamque Resort and Spa
26.03 USD

Hotel 4 star 87.4% 5 reviews
Hostel Kankun
5.00 USD

Hostel 68.3% 152 reviews
HOTEL RIVEMAR
32.39 USD

Hotel 79.0% 14 reviews
Mayan Hostel
11.57 USD

Hostel 72.5% 123 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.8%

Overall Rating

323 out of 344 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Quetzal'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
78.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 300 of 313 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I read the incredibly positive reviews on this site before choosing this hostel and I figured they would be too positive but after staying here for a week I can only say that this is the best hostel I stayed at! It is really valuable that this hostel provides dinner at night to all hostel guests. Apart from the fact that the food was absolutely great, it really was a time where all hostel guests assembled and enjoyed the dinner on the terrace. It was a great way to meet the other guests and make evening or day plans. The dorm was pretty big but it was clean and safe. There are good private rooms though The hostel organizes club tours (all you can drink for about 45 USD in the major clubs) and often arranges table service and transportation to the club. Also the hostel facilitates tours to major historic sites in the Yucatan area

Disliked: Basically nothing! Some minor points: Note that this hostel is not located in the Hotel Zone (where the beach and nightlife is) but the R1 bus runs about every 5 min 24/7 from downtown Cancun and within 10-15 min you can be there. Also: the matrasses were a bit hard

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marty P

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 Marty would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Great meal time and socializing.

Disliked: Dothing worth mentioning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is one of the best places I have stayed at while traveling in Mexico. The location is good, in a walking distance from the main square and little stores where you can buy souvenirs. The staff is really friendly and, what is really great; the price includes breakfasts and delicious dinners, when you can meet other travelers. Drinking water is available during the whole day and you can get beer, cocktails and lemonade for a good price. The owner makes great margaritas, I suggest you order one since it is one of the best margaritas I have tasted.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katharina Schulz-Wendtland

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: Dinner/Breakfast is good. The people are nice + friendly!

Disliked: Katharina left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Weng Luen Tang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

08 February 2012 Weng Luen would recommend this property

Liked: Really fun and relaxed hostel. The included breakfast and dinner are fantastic and the rooftop is great to chill out on. Luis and Julio are awesome dudes and they organise club nights for all the guests each night

Disliked: Weng Luen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the main bus terminal

Disliked: they say they have a bar, but no, just cold beers, but ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vera Pospisilova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2012 Vera would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is one of the best places I have ever stayed at. The location is good, only 5 or so minutes from the central ADO bus terminal, from where you can get a bus to the beach or any other interesting places like Playa del Carmen, etc. The staff is really friendly and, what is really great, the price includes not only breakfasts, but also delicious dinners when all the travellers gather together and talk about their adventures while enjoying delicious meal. Drinking water is available during the whole day and you can get beer, coctails and lemonade for a good price. Moreover, the hostel organizes events, such as a beach party, so you can't possibly get bored.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike. This hostel is a perfect place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josie Thorn

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012 Josie would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast and dinners were a bonus and the staff most helpful and entertaining. Visiting patrons were interesting and I learned a lot about their cultures.

Disliked: Dinners were later than stated, which isn't a problem, however I usually eat early. Mucho partying of patrons, ie interrupted sleep throughout the night. I booked a 14-bed, as it fit my budget only. Prefer quieter surroundings, very light sleeper!.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrea spindel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2012 andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Communal dinner

Disliked: andrea left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucia Rovi

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2012 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities have lots of caracter and the staff is very friendly. The food is delicious . The rooms are very clean. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing. Just some new member of staff who didn't seem to know what she was doing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like home! Cleanest nicest hostel I stayed in in mexico

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quite close to ADO bus station, hostel is very clean.

Disliked: dinner served a bit too late, about 9pm. only one desktop for common access.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Anna Khalil

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, very helpful

Disliked: The beds are terrible

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keira Austin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 Keira would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Monica is so wonderfully sweet and helpful! The food is amazing and authentic Mexican. The rooms are clean and sun drenched. Just a beautiful place to stay when you're away from home.

Disliked: Keira left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yujia han

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 yujia would recommend this property

Liked: pretty yard, good to have breakfast and dinner with people coming from the world, close to main street (Tulum) where one can find bank and take R-1 bus to beach area

Disliked: the bathroom is not inside the room, and is quite damp

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms and very social

Disliked: Nohwere to store bags so they are just left in the corner of the lounge room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff that work at this hostel go out of their way to make your stay as good as it can be. The group dinner and nightly outings help introduce you to other travellers, and for the price, cannot be beat. It is close to the bus station, a great plaza and some good local eats so one never has to venture into the hotel zone :)

Disliked: Their only seemed to be one bathroom on the second floor used by all the people staying at the hostel (both female and male) which at times was awkward. The showers had no place to change or even put your clothes to keep them dry so you had to exit the shower to get your clothes, which as a female was a little uncomfortable. The nightly outings, although great in theory mean you also have to put up with people coming home drunk at ALL HOURS of the night/morning and we did not get any sleep. Next time I would only stay here in a private room. The hostel itself was good, but our average ratings are based on the bad experience we had from the guys who were in the mixed dorm room with us.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I made my first stop in mexico here and I was really happy with my choice. Thank you for making me feel so comfortable!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandre Cabana Farjas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

21 November 2011 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel to be if you are in cancun!!very cheap and they serve breakfast and dinner just amazing everiday and a tequila shot before start dinner!very friendly staff and very good place to meet other travelers!definetly if im coming back..ill stya agian here!thanks guys!!

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really great place to stay and you feel at home immediately. The staff, especially Eduardo and Julio, are amazing. The breakfast and dinner make it really cheap staying here and are both great meals. It makes it very sociable also. The hostel is close to the bus stop, cheap food, local bars and easy to get to the beach and hotel and club district. One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in and I would never stay anywhere else in Cancun.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Very clean and amazing breakfast and dinners - what more could you ask! The staff are very hospitable. I felt like I was at home!

Disliked: The hostel is located in Cancun city which is far from the main strip of the beaches which is a tad annoying but the transport there is super easy! Important to note that all hostels are located in this area

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a shame theres no Exceptional option. This hostel is wonderul and has heaps o spirit . Breakast and dinner included in the already-excellent price and cheap drinks can be bought onsite. Would recommend!!!

Disliked: Not all the letters on the computer keyboard work. That's it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophia Goodrich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 November 2011 Sophia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are super friendly, and really made the place feel like ahome while we were there, so much so that we stayed an extra 2 nights! The private room we stayed in initially was beautiful, with big windows. Very light and spacious, with our own private bathroom which was clean and colourful. We stayed a few extra nights in the mixed dorm, which again was clean, spacious, cool (good air con) and had enough soft furnashings to keep the place quiet at night. The food (breakfast AND dinner) was great, home made by the staff, and they also gave us a free shot of tequila with each evening meal. Everyone sits at the table and eats dinner together, which is great, it´s so sociable, and a fantastic place to meet new friends. It´s also in a great location, 5 mins walk from the bus station, not too far from the beaches and hotel district, and a supermarket just at the end of the street. There is also a big square nearby that has something happening every night, live entertainment etc. There is also a little park opposite the front door that holds salsa dancing lessons in the evening. The guys who work at the hostel are happy to help you book and or organise your tours, so ask them if you need any help with anything at all, they seem to know the best deals. They will also do yuor laundry for a reasonable 40 pesos per kilo. The club scene nearby is quite good if that´s what you are into, but it´s quiet enough for you to chill out if that´s what you want.

Disliked: Nothing at all, this place was so great, we´re also spending the last leg of our journey there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the bus station, and the staff were very helpful, recommending top places to go. The free dinners are a great way to get people together, and I really enjoyed the organised trip to CocoBongo - an experience not to be missed!

Disliked: While close to the bus station, restaurants, etc, you will need to catch a bus to the beach, but they are cheap and regular.


See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels