HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels

Reviews of Hostel Quetzal

Hostel | Orquideas Street 10, Cancun, Mexico 75500

78.5% Overall Rating

324 out of 346 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/02/2014)

Linda Lindholm thinks…

"Staff is very helpful, fun and personable. The breakfast and excellent dinner is included in the price. Great bargain! Welcome me back like family."

Read all Hostel Quetzal reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 44.54
  • Luggage Room USD 3.71

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

" if you are arriving later than 11 pm please contact us to let us know otherwise we will cancel your reservation"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cancun

Haina Hostal
11.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 133 reviews
Hostel Orquideas
11.13 USD

Hostel 86.4% 20 reviews
Suites Gaby Hotel
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Hostal Marpez
8.17 USD

Hostel 73.1% 40 reviews
Hotel Xbalamque Resort and Spa
20.12 USD

Hotel 4 star 87.4% 5 reviews
Hostel Kankun
5.00 USD

Hostel 69.4% 153 reviews
HOTEL RIVEMAR
1.04 USD

Hotel 79.0% 14 reviews
Mayan Hostel
9.65 USD

Hostel 71.0% 125 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.5%

Overall Rating

324 out of 346 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Quetzal'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 300 of 315 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Very social and excellent for meeting other travellers. Excellent food. Monica the owner is fantastic such a great help. We stayed in a private room at the back of the hostel, wasn't noisy at night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amir foudeh

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

24 September 2012 Amir would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had a very high rating as the moment that I was searching for a place in Cancun. It was a very good and cozy place. The food was good and i like it overall.

Disliked: It was a bit hot in the dorm, I was in the mixed dorm and the fan in the room wasn't enough to cool down the room. The behavior of the staffs were good, but there was a middle aged guy who behaved inappropriately at the end. I asked him for receipt and he refused.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff that care about their guests! Very central and easy to get to from the bus depot. Super clean and and attracts the right type of travelers that keep returning and appreciating the vibe of the hostel. Great place to meet like-minded travelers. I have stayed at other hostels in Cancun but none compare to the Quetzal. I have returned 4 times and always impressed. Felt very safe and often left laptop charging in common area. Meals alone are worth the price of the stay. Just making another reservation for my next trip!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Alexander

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Free lunch and dinner, great atmosphere, great activities, a hell of a lot of fun, excellent staff

Disliked: Not enough power points in the room, other than that not much.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was excellent. The atmosphere was very cozy, welcoming, and casual, and the service was great. The staff was helpful and understanding. It is far away from the tourist center of Cancun but it's within walking distance of a bus station that can take you anywhere in the area. I think the other reviews have covered most of the amenities like breakast/dinner (both decent and home-cooked-healthy), the lounge, in-room AC (important in Cancun's climate) etc. So, I'll point out what impressed me the most: the cleanliness of the rooms. Our room had white tiles but even agaist that contrast, there was not a speck or smudge to be seen. The bathroom was also quite tidy and added to the feel of being in a safe, well-kept home. For me, finding this level of professional care in a hostel tucked into a corner of the city says a lot about the service. This doesn't have that much to do with the hostel's quality, but we ran into one of the staff by pure luck at the airport as we were flying out, and he recognized us, stopping to say hello and even giving us directions to our terminal.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxing place and everyone's made to feel at home. Complimentary dinner and tequila shot encourage guests to socialize in the evenings. Did I mention the X-Box? Great location that's within a short walk from Cancun's main bus station, major banks and supermarkets. Located in area that's not as artificial as the main strip of huge resort hotels where the beaches are located, but is still a short bus ride away from that area if that's your thing.

Disliked: Somehow imagined the garden to be bigger, but it's no big deal. May not be the best place to stay if you're looking for easy and regular access to the beaches, clubs and strip malls of the hotel district.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People are very nice, good enviroment.

Disliked: Far from the beach, but if you are not at a resort- hotel zone, you are going to be far from the beach.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathon Ilett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Jonathon would recommend this property

Liked: Where do I start, such a good hostel, amazing staff (brian and new addition Kevin). Really sociable environment, especially around dinner time. Value for money it is excellent. If your going cancun, you have to stay here, it's a must.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Christie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel! and very social, everyone eats dinner together each evening which is a great way to get to know everyone. Breakfast and Dinner is included (along with a free shot of tequila) which makes is really good value for money. I would definetly come back given the chance!

Disliked: nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Dexter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was really helpfully and friendly. I arrived late due to missing a flight and was very kindly not charged for the night I missed. Great trips on offer cheaper than offered outside the hostel. Really good place to meet other travellers and relax.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edite Lase

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Edite would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and atmosphere were great. Breakfast was delicious. the design was perfect as indoors and also in outdoors with hammock in the gardens. Yes they have more then one garden, Our room was very clean. I will definitely stay in this hostel next time.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazingy friendly and the whole place is cozy from roof to hammock garden. Included breakfast and dinner were delicious! Its a party scene, and good at it.

Disliked: The showers in the mixed dorm are coed, which is works. But with girls doing makeup and smaller showers, I found it hard to be discrete or room to maneuver in the bathroom. Not near the beach, but what is in cancun?

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elena Maslovskaya

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2012 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: I have never been in such great places like this. I slept in dorm, it was comfortable. Everything was clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Dinners are great.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Martin

Alone

City break

16 April 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: These people and the property are wonderful! I'm an older client but that was no problem despite it being spring break week. I was welcomed by everyone, including the guests. They went out of their way to be accommodating. It's a wonderful location, too, close to everything.

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Lindholm

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2012 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. Clean and safe. The price included a fine breakfast and dinner preparde by local chefs. There were areas for gathering and chatting with fellow travelers as well as quiet spots with hammocks for that needed siesta. They offered excursions to nightclubs, beaches and archaeological ruins and an honor system refrigerator with cold beer. Free internet was a bonus. Really traveler friendly.

Disliked: The circular staircase to the dormitory sleeping area was steep and hard to navigate with luggage.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dennis Land

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, two good meals included, clean enough, good price... The best hostel (of 5) my wife and I stayed at in Mexico.

Disliked: Dennis left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriel Silva

Alone

Partying / nightlife

08 April 2012 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is so nice, and good people work there.

Disliked: Gabriel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jaguar wiraqocha

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2012 jaguar would recommend this property

Liked: everything!!! everything is delightful about this hostel! the location is nice, it's very clean (first hostel i've stayed in where the sheets were changed daily!) very fun, great atmosphere! huge place, really lovely staff!! the best shower i've EVER had in mexico!!! i came because the included dinners were so highly praised, and they were definitely right! the breakfasts also were very good! i really loved it here, and wished out of the 12 days that i stayed in cancun, all of them were at quetzal. so much goodness all for about 6$ US a day, or less, more than anyother hostel i stayed in, in my 24 days in mexico. breakfast, dinner, & community at the highest i've found in mexico! stay here, or regret you didn't!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: it's as close to purrfect as it gets, so there was nothing i didn't like!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wojciech Tomczak

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

03 April 2012 Wojciech would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: no dislikes - one comment for people who have a big luggage and get a room on the 2nd floor: the staircase is steep and narrow

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: This ws the best hostel that I stayed at in my travels, It has the best environment to meet new people. The dinners and breakfast are vary social, everyone comes together and eats at one long table some delicious food prepared by the local chefs. The other staff there are great too, Jerry is more than happy to help out in any way and show you around the city. The bartender brian throws a great rooftop party on the nights that the guests dont feel like partying in the hotel zone. Great place.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, Its located in downtown cancun so you cant walk out the front door onto the beach but the bus ride into the beach is easy and cheap and it gives you a chance to see the real side of cancun.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jeff Wong

Alone

Partying / nightlife

29 March 2012 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere of a fun hostel to meet cool people

Disliked: Not as close to the beach as I'd like, but for the price, it's quite reasonable

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ana Afonso

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

21 March 2012 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is brilliant, very laid back and friendly. The dinner and organized nights out allows you to get to know the other guests and as a solo traveller that helped me a lot to meet new people.

Disliked: Ana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff, the architecture

Disliked: walking directions from bus station difficult to follow but we made it. :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel very friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristin Beate Hansen

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2012 Kristin Beate would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel. Two lovely gardens, beste hostel bresckfast I have ever had, book- exchange, free computer, nice rooms rooftop terrace. The staff will do everything they can to make sure you have a lovely stay.

Disliked: Kristin Beate left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels