We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels

Reviews of Hostel Quetzal

Hostel | Orquideas Street 10, Cancun, Mexico 75500

78.6% Overall Rating

328 out of 350 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/01/2015)

Victoria Magafas thinks…

"Hostel Quetzal is the most incredible hostel I have ever stayed at! Over my entire 3 months of travel this was my favorite place to stay. I stayed for 2 weeks and had the time of my life. It's…"

Read all Hostel Quetzal reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 36.25
  • Luggage Room USD 3.10

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Party Hostel with daily drinking games and Theme Parties. Check in 3pm, you may leave us your bags in storage and use the facilities and meet our guests meanwhile we prepare your bed. Check out 11am. Late checkout available for 75 pesos. Dinner and Breakfast are included. Free tequila toast at dinner. 24hour reception Only cash accepted. Mexican pesos or US dollars Cancellation Policy one day before We prefer young travellers who are not looking just for a place to sleep Age Restriction under 40 Drinking your own alcohol is not permitted 24 hour bar and snack service Discount tour desk Special Price club tickets with VIP service, express pass, all you can drink, no cover, transportation to the club, table for the hostel at club, waiter for hostel guests. Party Hostel! expect everything associated with the Party! Hostel Quetzal in an elegant Mexican home transformed into a party hostel designed for the young traveller. We do not have an age limit, but as a Party Hostel expect everything related to partying to happen. Please do not stay here if you want a laid back experience. We are pure octane. Fun, frolic, nudity, noise, and more. Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to charge your card for the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“Sale Non Refundable”].

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cancun

Haina Hostal
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 134 reviews
Hostel Orquideas
11.16 USD

Hostel 89.4% 40 reviews
Suites Gaby Hotel
23.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Hostal Marpez
10.29 USD

Hostel 72.1% 41 reviews
Hotel Xbalamque Resort and Spa
17.40 USD

Hotel 4 star 82.1% 8 reviews
Hostel Kankun
4.00 USD

Hostel 70.9% 159 reviews
HOTEL RIVEMAR
11.00 USD

Hotel 80.2% 15 reviews
Mayan Hostel
9.30 USD

Hostel 65.0% 130 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.6%

Overall Rating

328 out of 350 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Quetzal'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 304 of 319 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rebecca Roycroft

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: great fun staff, delisious free dinners

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, breakfast and dinner, clean, cosy and really pretty rooms!! The dinner is like a meeting where you can easily get in touch with other people.

Disliked: It's a real partyhostel and so it's often quieter during the day than during the night. If they are partying in their garden, in the dorms on the second floor you feel like you're sleeping in a disco. If people are going out and come home during the night, even if they aren't sraying in your room, you will often hear them as drunken people aren' t the quietest.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicola Lyon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed for one night but staff and travellers all seemed really friendly and organised nights out together. Breakfast was good, the outdoor area was nice to sit in the sunshine while eating. Rooftop area always a bonus. Staff were really helpful, showed me where the ATM was and walked me down the street to show me where the bus station was.

Disliked: The share rooms were huge and there was little privacy, i pretty much passed out but am sure fussy travellers would have a problem with how open everything was, no doors to lock and probably lots of drunk people coming in at ungodly hours. This is why it's a party hostel though so anyone who complains about that hasn't read the hostel info properly.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zinaida Good

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

30 May 2013 Zinaida would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfasts and dinners (included!) are really excellent and a great way to meet people!!

Disliked: A bit far from the beach, but ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Preisig

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 May 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Best Hostel ever!

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013

Liked: Facility is clean and comfortable, with a nice back courtyard for relaxing and socializing.

Disliked: There was a pretty intense drinking crowd when we stayed. Our room was right next to the front desk, and staff seemed to have little care about blasting music. And since the room doors don't lock, people seemed to walk in and out of our room at all hours, often leaving the door standing open during the night. Strongly suggest they invest in locking doors for rooms and have a quiet policy for front desk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: First off, this is a party hostel, you don't come here to sleep and relax. But I haven't been at a hostel where it's easier to meet awesome people, go out and have an amazing time. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and they all seem to be focused on having a good time.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super fun! The hostel provides a good dinner and breakfast (with fresh fruit) and also arranges for discounted cover and transportation to a club. The staff is young and friendly. It attracts a fun crowd. The space is interesting.

Disliked: The space is not too secure, though it didn't seem like a problem. The crowd is a bit rowdy if you're looking for a party scene rather than a low-key scene.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Justine Morgan

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - close to the bus station and lots of markets and stores downtown although far from the beach. Easy to meet people since there is a group dinner every night.

Disliked: No hot water for most of the nights there, loud at night so you NEED earplugs to get to sleep

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleisha Harkink

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 March 2013 Aleisha would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, great dorm rooms for low cost

Disliked: The location was far from many activites in the hotel zone, not much to downtown, luckily the bus was inexpensive and close to the hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and dinner, close to the bus and great atmosphere. toilets are clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was pretty good. Not great, but there were a few cool people there so it made up for some of the staff being a bit self centred. Irish guy was a cool bar tender.

Disliked: One of the staff was always hanging out with his new gf all the time and I didn't like having to 5 minutes to get a beer everytime I wanted one coz he had to finish making googely eyes etc. I hate to interupt such a blossoming love but really dude, would you rather I waited there watching this shit for 5 minutes or would you prefer to get me out of there in 2 seconds but just grabbing me a beer which would take you all of 2 seconds!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing hostel in a great location, monica was great with everything. would happily go back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Luhovy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and laid-back environment, we stayed in a clean and newly-decorated room. garden view room was a clean and comfortable, with lots of windows.

Disliked: only one drawback, no hot water for the shower when we tried both at night and early in the morning (at 5 am before our early flight)

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Julien Dubé

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2013

Liked: Lot of partying. Very well made for hostel

Disliked: not clean. Had to sleep on sofa cushion because someone couldnt find pillow, etc.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

shenqi yang

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013

Liked: a good chef and helpful staff

Disliked: they canceled our reservation without noticing us. they sent an email to me 1 day before we arrived there, BUT we were in Mexico!!! I was unable to check my email daily in Mexico!! I (most travellers) could not have data plan in travelling country! Finally, the boss (a dutch woman) helped us find another hotel very close to this hostel, that hotel was much better than this place. So we did not lose our temper.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Dean

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is awesome. The staff are great, in particular Jose is the nicest guy on the planet, Bryan is amazing to party with and Patty is hilarious. There are parties every night and the social dinners are a really cool way to meet people. Gracias amigos

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Delicious breakfast and dinner is included (don't expect Western-sized portions however). Probably the most social hostel worldwide I ever stayed at. Meals are served on large family tables, so you can't get around talking to others, making for easy connections. Staff is super friendly, though some speak only English or only Spanish. Nightly club outings being led by resident guys if you are there to check out the night life. When we were there their alcohol license was temporarily withdrawn, making for more quiet evenings. I have heard infamous stories from before (incl. free tequila during dinner - you can guess the vibe from that...). Overall, had a pleasant stay and would go again.

Disliked: No hooks to put towels or clothes in the dorm bathroom. (Unisex bathrooms in the shared dorms, in case that matters to you.) Music during dinner is unnecessarily loud, making conversations hard. Music played also rather mono-chromatic, mostly 'clubby'. Don't leave left over drinks in the fridge. We had ours disappear two nights in a row, effectively drinking less than half of the two six packs we bought ourselves. Maybe a sign would help to police what I consider common sense (dn't steal others food and beverages!).

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: If you are looking for a place to party all night, this is the right one, coz there is literally nothing else you can do here!!! No way to sleep! Terrible fasciitis! People breaking into your room all the time! No privacy or safety at all!!!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristen Shultz

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

24 December 2012 Kristen would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and very welcoming. Monica and Patty are great!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fenton Mok

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2012 Fenton would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is well located near ADO bus terminal. Breakfasts and dinners were amazing. The owner Monica went all the way to help guests. Definitely one of the best hostels that I have stayed in.

Disliked: Hot water was not always available.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Breakfast. Good location for Party or sightseeing. Very kind and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Young

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast and dinner and a lot of outdoor spaces. The range of activites on offer was also really good, with something happening every night.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Weymer

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 November 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere, great food and amazingly friendly staff!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nancy Santos

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

05 November 2012 Nancy would recommend this property

Liked: Dinner

Disliked: Nancy left no negative feedback.


See all Cancun hostels
See all Cancun hotels