HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Quetzal Cancun Hostel

CALLE ORQUIDEAS 10, MZA.14, SM 22., CANCUN, QUINTANA ROO, Cancun, Mexico

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 79%

Location 75%

Safety 80%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 33.72USD
  • Luggage Room 2.88USD

Important Information

Party Hostel with daily drinking games and Theme Parties.

Check in 3pm, you may leave us your bags in storage and use the facilities and meet our guests meanwhile we prepare your bed.

Check out 11am. Late checkout available for 75 pesos.

Dinner and Breakfast are included. Free tequila toast at dinner.

24hour reception

Only cash accepted. Mexican pesos or US dollars

Cancellation Policy one day before

We prefer young travellers who are not looking just for a place to sleep

Age Restriction under 40

Drinking your own alcohol is not permitted

24 hour bar and snack service

Discount tour desk

Special Price club tickets with VIP service, express pass, all you can drink, no cover, transportation to the club, table for the hostel at club, waiter for hostel guests.

Party Hostel! expect everything associated with the Party! Hostel Quetzal in an elegant Mexican home transformed into a party hostel designed for the young traveller. We do not have an age limit, but as a Party Hostel expect everything related to partying to happen. Please do not stay here if you want a laid back experience. We are pure octane. Fun, frolic, nudity, noise, and more.

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to charge your card for the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“Sale Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 79%

Location 75%

Safety 80%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

Showing 11-20 of 24 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I really liked the free breakfast and dinner. The rooftrerrace and garden were really nice places to hang out. Thanks to the nice dinner you can get to know other people easily. It´s a party hostel. For people who like to party it´s perfect and a great atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Room was OK, there was lot of space.

Disliked: There was lot of noise, it is really a party hostel.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly, free breakfast and dinner

Disliked: Sometimes too noisy

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very helpful friendly staff. Great athmosphere. Very nice food.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great social atmosphere and lounge areas where one could just sit down, say hello and meet new people...especially if you're not the most outgoing person. Breakfast and dinner included, which was quite decent. Attendance for dinner was great as well, it gets everybody together.

Disliked: No computer station for guests to use.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Having dinner included was great. Really a great way to meet people as a solo traveller. Rooms were spacious and clean. Bathrooms were clean as well.

Disliked: The lockers were either very small, or not very secure.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. The place is clean. It is nice to have the included dinner, although it is not a lot, but really tasty. Luckily, there is a big park close to the hostel where they sell local and good food and I saw some restaurants as well. Cancun as a last stop before leaving the country is okay. Close to the hostel you will find a huge Wal-Mart where you can buy anything you started to like in Mexico (food, drinks) except of a small bottle of Mezcal anejo ;) For souveniers, I found a lot cheaper and nicer things (scarf, blankets, bags, ..) in other cities. And: at the airport in Cancun one could still buy a lot of things, but it is incredible expensive!

Disliked: It is really a party hostel. It got only quiet at 5 or 6 o'clock in the morning. If you are into partying, that's ok, but I joined a tour the next day to Tulum and I had to wake up early, so even wearing earplugs, I didn't get enough sleep the first night in a dormitory next to the reception. The second night I stayed in a private room, located in the back of the reception/garden, this was a lot better.When I joined the tour, I didn't get any breakfast or sandwich to go in the morning, although breakfast time started only 30 min later. A general information about the offered breakfast and dinner: It was really a small portion and you didn't get refill. But it was really tasty. Some further information: I joined the offered tour to Tulum and to Cenotes. The company where they booked the tour is called 'Go Mexico' and it was horrible. I was the first to be picked up at 7 am, the Collectivo was then collecting people from different places for about 2 hours. Around 9 am we arrived at the company meeting point, which is more like a huge touristic shop. Here I had to queue for 20 min to get my 'boarding pass' because my voucher/receipt I got from the hostel was not issued by the company and therefore not enough although it had the identical information on it. Really stupid, especially because the 'boarding pass' was just another random paper which varied randomly for different people. On the bus the guide was speaking nonstop, advertising the company, speaking about what you can do, will do, repeating himself a tousend times... exhausting. We were driving three times to the 'famous' Xel-Ha for people doing a daytrip, people going there after Tulum and at the end to pick them up again. 3 times extra 15-20 min Bus driving for nothing. But I have to say, that the sites I visited, Tulum and Aktun chen cenotes were really nice and worth it. If you don't have a lot of time, these tours are the easiest and still probably the fastest way to see a lot. But if you have time, go on your own and never ever join Go Mexico!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed at!!!!! I felt like I was part of a big family. The nightly dinner is fantastic as you all sit outside and socialise together. Everyone was extremely laid back and eager to tell stories over some beers. We went out every 2nd night and oh boy did we party!!! For the price you pay you won't find a better hostel. Im sad I'm leaving but please if you're ever in Cancun and looking for the most amazing hostel ever.... You MUST STAY HERE!!!!!!!!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: breakfast and dinner include

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is great. breakfast is awesome

Disliked: the stuff is not helpful at all, specially the guy at the reception doesn't know anything. The treat the very friendly cleaning stuff like slaves. big dislike

Check Availability