HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Quetzal Cancun Hostel

CALLE ORQUIDEAS 10, MZA.14, SM 22., CANCUN, QUINTANA ROO, Cancun, Mexico

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 79%

Location 75%

Safety 80%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 33.19USD
  • Luggage Room 2.84USD

Important Information

Party Hostel with daily drinking games and Theme Parties.

Check in 3pm, you may leave us your bags in storage and use the facilities and meet our guests meanwhile we prepare your bed.

Check out 11am. Late checkout available for 75 pesos.

Dinner and Breakfast are included. Free tequila toast at dinner.

24hour reception

Only cash accepted. Mexican pesos or US dollars

Cancellation Policy one day before

We prefer young travellers who are not looking just for a place to sleep

Age Restriction under 40

Drinking your own alcohol is not permitted

24 hour bar and snack service

Discount tour desk

Special Price club tickets with VIP service, express pass, all you can drink, no cover, transportation to the club, table for the hostel at club, waiter for hostel guests.

Party Hostel! expect everything associated with the Party! Hostel Quetzal in an elegant Mexican home transformed into a party hostel designed for the young traveller. We do not have an age limit, but as a Party Hostel expect everything related to partying to happen. Please do not stay here if you want a laid back experience. We are pure octane. Fun, frolic, nudity, noise, and more.

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to charge your card for the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“Sale Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cancun?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 79%

Location 75%

Safety 80%

Staff 80%

Value 82%

Showing 91-27 of 27 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Felt like home! Cleanest nicest hostel I stayed in in mexico

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The facilities have lots of caracter and the staff is very friendly. The food is delicious . The rooms are very clean. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing. Just some new member of staff who didn't seem to know what she was doing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: quite close to ADO bus station, hostel is very clean.

Disliked: dinner served a bit too late, about 9pm. only one desktop for common access.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything! Monica is so wonderfully sweet and helpful! The food is amazing and authentic Mexican. The rooms are clean and sun drenched. Just a beautiful place to stay when you're away from home.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great rooms and very social

Disliked: Nohwere to store bags so they are just left in the corner of the lounge room.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Our storage room is where baggage is stored. There is a small fee however which is why most travellers leave there baggage in the corner off reception. We have receptionists 24/7 and the bags are safe and carefully watched over.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: pretty yard, good to have breakfast and dinner with people coming from the world, close to main street (Tulum) where one can find bank and take R-1 bus to beach area

Disliked: the bathroom is not inside the room, and is quite damp

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely staff, very helpful

Disliked: The beds are terrible

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are not offended by your r emarks as we knoe they are not true. we are the only hostel with orthepedic mattresses and we have a great location +

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff that work at this hostel go out of their way to make your stay as good as it can be. The group dinner and nightly outings help introduce you to other travellers, and for the price, cannot be beat. It is close to the bus station, a great plaza and some good local eats so one never has to venture into the hotel zone :)

Disliked: Their only seemed to be one bathroom on the second floor used by all the people staying at the hostel (both female and male) which at times was awkward. The showers had no place to change or even put your clothes to keep them dry so you had to exit the shower to get your clothes, which as a female was a little uncomfortable. The nightly outings, although great in theory mean you also have to put up with people coming home drunk at ALL HOURS of the night/morning and we did not get any sleep. Next time I would only stay here in a private room.The hostel itself was good, but our average ratings are based on the bad experience we had from the guys who were in the mixed dorm room with us.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Our hostel is very social and inviting. It is difficult for a married couple to stay in the dorm, especially when there are so many beautiful young girls and boys. It is unfortunate that a couple that stayed one night in our hostel can comment on their stay. I do not believe any traveller can give a proper perspective after long hours of travel. We also do not support women controllers, if your man wants to look around at the boys or girls let it be. The hostel is super unique and fun.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I made my first stop in mexico here and I was really happy with my choice.Thank you for making me feel so comfortable!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability