HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Sandakan, Malaysia

Rose Guesthouse 87%

Rose Guesthouse

Guesthouse
3rd Avenue, Block 20, 1st Floor conner, Lot 1A & B
Atmosphere
73%
Cleanliness
93%
Facilities
80%
Location
93%
Safety
80%
Staff
93%
Value
87%

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rose Guesthouse

19 Nov 2013 74%
With my spouse / partner Backpacking / gap year

Good location, clean.

would recommend this property

13 Nov 2013 89%
With my spouse / partner Backpacking / gap year

The staff here are so friendly. We booked 2 tours through the adjoining travel centre and arranged to stay on an extra night as well. The room was clean and the facilities fine, wifi was good. The location was ok, but there's not a lot to do in sandakan anyway! We did the turtle island tour which I highly recommend and the 3d2n kinabatangaan tour which was good but not excellent.

would recommend this property

Read all Rose Guesthouse reviews

Sepilok Jungle Resort 84%

Sepilok Jungle Resort

Hostel
Km 22, Labuk Road, P.O.Box 2082
Atmosphere
88%
Cleanliness
76%
Facilities
72%
Location
92%
Safety
92%
Staff
92%
Value
68%

4 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sepilok Jungle Resort

13 Jan 2013 91%
As a family with children Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

The lovely garden, the kindness of the staff

would recommend this property

24 Dec 2012 54%
With my spouse / partner Sightseeing & culture

The location.

Read all Sepilok Jungle Resort reviews

Sandakan Backpackers 76%

Sandakan Backpackers

Hostel
Lot 108, Block SH-11, Sandakan Harbour Square
Atmosphere
71%
Cleanliness
71%
Facilities
67%
Location
87%
Safety
76%
Staff
91%
Value
71%

7 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sandakan Backpackers

16 Jan 2015 89%
With my spouse / partner Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

Location is great, right in the centre of town and right next to the bus station

would recommend this property

11 Jan 2014 94%
Alone Backpacking / gap year

Staff was very helpful!

would recommend this property

Read all Sandakan Backpackers reviews

Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat 93%

Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

Hostel
Mile 14, Jalan Labuk
Atmosphere
99%
Cleanliness
95%
Facilities
86%
Location
92%
Safety
90%
Staff
95%
Value
94%

29 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

21 Aug 2014 97%
With my spouse / partner Backpacking / gap year

Lovely surroundings, with rooms overlooking the jungle. Lots of nice communal areas. Good food, with options for vegetarians too. Shuttle bus runs three times a day to the RDC and Sun Bear and Orang-utan Sanctuaries. Free pick-up from the bus stop.

would recommend this property

27 Jun 2014 100%
Alone Backpacking / gap year City break Sightseeing & culture

I really enjoyed my stay here. It's really close to the Orangutan centre and the hostel offers a free shuttle service to and from the orangutan centre. The food on offer was good and it's a pretty chilled out place to relax. They helped me book my Kinabatangan river trip too :)

would recommend this property

Read all Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sandakan?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Sandakan hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Sandakan. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Sandakan

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Sandakan. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!