HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Sandakan, Malaysia

Harbourside Backpackers 96%

1. Harbourside Backpackers

Hostel
1st Floor, Lot 43, Block HS-4, Harbour Square

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 99%

Facilities 94%

Location 97%

Safety 98%

Staff 96%

Value 98%

48 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Harbourside Backpackers

11 Oct 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

very clean and safe, great common area with good wifi

would recommend this property

08 Sep 2015 86%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

great location, staff helpful and friendly

would recommend this property

Read all Harbourside Backpackers reviews
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat 93%

2. Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

Hostel
Mile 14, Jalan Labuk

Atmosphere 99%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 86%

Location 92%

Safety 90%

Staff 95%

Value 94%

29 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

21 Aug 2014 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Lovely surroundings, with rooms overlooking the jungle. Lots of nice communal areas. Good food, with options for vegetarians too. Shuttle bus runs three times a day to the RDC and Sun Bear and Orang-utan Sanctuaries. Free pick-up from the bus stop.

would recommend this property

27 Jun 2014 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year City break Sightseeing & culture

I really enjoyed my stay here. It's really close to the Orangutan centre and the hostel offers a free shuttle service to and from the orangutan centre. The food on offer was good and it's a pretty chilled out place to relax. They helped me book my Kinabatangan river trip too :)

would recommend this property

Read all Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat reviews
Rose Guesthouse 87%

3. Rose Guesthouse

Guesthouse
3rd Avenue, Block 20, 1st Floor conner, Lot 1A & B

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 80%

Location 93%

Safety 80%

Staff 93%

Value 87%

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rose Guesthouse

19 Nov 2013 74%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Good location, clean.

would recommend this property

13 Nov 2013 89%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

The staff here are so friendly. We booked 2 tours through the adjoining travel centre and arranged to stay on an extra night as well. The room was clean and the facilities fine, wifi was good. The location was ok, but there's not a lot to do in sandakan anyway! We did the turtle island tour which I highly recommend and the 3d2n kinabatangaan tour which was good but not excellent.

would recommend this property

Read all Rose Guesthouse reviews
Sepilok Jungle Resort 84%

4. Sepilok Jungle Resort

Hostel
Km 22, Labuk Road, P.O.Box 2082

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 72%

Location 92%

Safety 92%

Staff 92%

Value 68%

4 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sepilok Jungle Resort

13 Jan 2013 91%
Travel Type: As a family with children
Trip Type: Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

The lovely garden, the kindness of the staff

would recommend this property

24 Dec 2012 54%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

The location.

Read all Sepilok Jungle Resort reviews
Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel 81%

5. Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

Hostel
Lot 126, Jalan Dua, Harbour Square 14, Sandakan, Sabah

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 70%

Location 90%

Safety 88%

Staff 91%

Value 80%

13 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

18 Aug 2015 74%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Beach / sunbathing

It was cheap and it was in a good location

14 Feb 2015 51%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Price

Read all Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sandakan?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Sandakan hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Sandakan. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Sandakan

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Sandakan. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!