HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Sandakan, Malaysia

96.8%
30 reviews Book Now 
1

Harbourside Backpackers

Hostel
Lot 43, 1st Floor, Block HS-4, Sandakan, Malaysia 90000

30 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Harbourside Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 97% Facilities - 92% Safety - 97%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 99% Value - 100%
Kristen Catanzano
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Kristen would recommend this property 03 March 2014

Staff was nice. The bathrooms seemed to constantly be cleaned. Big towels provided. Nice common area.

Customer review
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 04 February 2014

The location is very good. The owner is very friendly and helpful. And I also booked a river safari throughthis hostel. It was the cheapest I can find, rm 335 including the transfer from the hostel to the lodge, 3d2n package. plus70rm, if you travel alone and stay in the cabin.

92.1%
69 reviews Book Now 
2

Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

Guesthouse
Mile 14, Jalan Labuk, Sandakan, Malaysia 90000

66 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 95% Facilities - 84% Safety - 88%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 93%
James Pack
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
100.0%
James would recommend this property 16 March 2014

Our stay here was one of the highlights of our honeymoon. The location is beautiful - we were in a wooden cabin overlooking jungle with a river at the bottom. Perfect place to unwind, relax and take walks round lakes and well maintained gardens. Food was good and price was very reasonable. Free shuttle bus to and from local attractions kept the cost of our stay down. Staff very helpful and keen to offer advise on best places to go, wildlife to look out for, etc.

Laura Feuerborn
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
77.1%
Laura would recommend this property 11 March 2014

The walls of the room could be opened to allow for sleeping out in the open air. And, the bathroom was open so you feel as if you are showering in the midst of the jungle- well, you pretty much are! I thought the dinners were pretty good. I had barracuda steak, and it was delicious! The property is beautiful! My husband and I walked down to a lake at sunrise - along with all the beautiful birds, lizards, etc. The property at sunset was just as impressive.

83.1%
13 reviews Book Now 
3

Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

Hotel
Lot 125 & 126, Jalan Dua,, Harbour Square 14, (Opposite Sandakan Central Mar, Sandakan, Malaysia 90000

11 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 93% Facilities - 73% Safety - 90%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 81%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 16 October 2013

Staff was really healpful in coordinating plans. They also offer good food and the location is quite central. Anna is the best

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
54.3%
15 September 2013

Convenience of staying in sandakan for tours. But we learnt there are better places to stay for the price.

81.1%
5 reviews Book Now 
4

Sepilok Jungle Resort

Guesthouse
Jalan Rambutan, Sepilok Mile 14, Sandakan, Sabah, Sandakan, Malaysia 90000

4 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sepilok Jungle Resort

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 84% Facilities - 64% Safety - 92%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 72%
Customer review
As a family with children
Family Holiday
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 15 February 2012

Loved the location on the edge of the jungle, however it is a bit far from shops etc. We saw wild animals from the restaurant including a kIngfisher and monitor lizard, hummingbird and they keep turtles there too. Really good to stay if you are intending to visit the Oranguatan Rehabitilitation Centre and also not too far from the Probiscus Monkey place too. The in house restaurant was a bit pricey for Malaysian food prices but really nice food nonetheless.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 10 January 2011

Great location for the Orangutan Rehab Centre and the Rainforest Discovery Centre. The onsite restaurant turns out pretty good meals and excellent fresh pineapple juice.

80.0%
13 reviews Book Now 
5

Winho Lodge B & B

Guesthouse
Lot 8 & 9, Block 19, 1st & 2nd, Jalan Dua, P.O.Box 178, Sandakan, Malaysia 90702

12 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Winho Lodge B & B

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 86% Facilities - 73% Safety - 78%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 84%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 01 February 2012

Super comfy bed. Friendly staff. Hot shower. Laundry service (a little expensive though). Free bottled drinking water.

Henrik Wanscher
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Henrik would recommend this property 09 January 2012

This place is great value for money. The location in Sandarkan is good and you get a basic breakfast and good wifi included in the price. Furthermore the staff is great and the common area is nice.

78.7%
72 reviews Book Now 
6

Sandakan Backpackers

Hostel
Lot 108, Block SH-11, Sandakan, Malaysia 90009

62 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sandakan Backpackers

Atmosphere - 75% Staff - 86% Facilities - 74% Safety - 76%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 75% Value - 74%
Oliver Moencke
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
25 October 2011

The location was ok. The Hostel is located close to the water but it isn't anything special. Unfortunatly the common room was to little, but they also had a roof garden, which was nice but not really used by the other guests. We booked a homestay over the hostel, which was nice.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 11 May 2011

Great location and nice place to chill out to get away from the humidity outside. Friendly staff and good big, although basic, double rooms.

Sandakan

7 Hostels from 5.84 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Sandakan hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Sandakan. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.