We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Sandakan, Malaysia

97.3%
35 reviews Book Now 
1

Harbourside Backpackers

Hostel
Lot 43, 1st Floor, Block HS-4, Sandakan, Malaysia 90000

35 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Harbourside Backpackers

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 98% Facilities - 94% Safety - 98%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 99% Value - 100%
malin åkerlund
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
malin would recommend this property 31 August 2014

A very nice and chill common room, with a tv, films and internet. You will meet some nice people there as well.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 May 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful, very good central location, comfy rooms, very secure, good wifi and a great simple breakfast. The nice, big open communal TV room was a good area. The rooms, showers, bathrooms and communal areas were kept very clean. The staff were excellent with local information and helped us book a tour.

92.3%
71 reviews Book Now 
2

Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

Guesthouse
Mile 14, Jalan Labuk, Sandakan, Malaysia 90000

68 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 95% Facilities - 84% Safety - 88%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 93%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 26 August 2014

Lovely surroundings, with rooms overlooking the jungle. Lots of nice communal areas. Good food, with options for vegetarians too. Shuttle bus runs three times a day to the RDC and Sun Bear and Orang-utan Sanctuaries. Free pick-up from the bus stop.

Andrew Rodgers
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Andrew would recommend this property 14 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. It's really close to the Orangutan centre and the hostel offers a free shuttle service to and from the orangutan centre. The food on offer was good and it's a pretty chilled out place to relax. They helped me book my Kinabatangan river trip too :)

83.1%
14 reviews Book Now 
3

Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

Hotel
Lot 125 & 126, Jalan Dua,, Harbour Square 14, (Opposite Sandakan Central Mar, Sandakan, Malaysia 90000

12 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

Atmosphere - 71% Staff - 94% Facilities - 72% Safety - 90%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 81%
Carlos Almenor
Alone
City break
82.9%
Carlos would recommend this property 24 September 2014

I like the staff- very friendly and helpful. The location is very central and safe.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 16 October 2013

Staff was really healpful in coordinating plans. They also offer good food and the location is quite central. Anna is the best

82.9%
6 reviews Book Now 
4

Sepilok Jungle Resort

Guesthouse
Jalan Rambutan, Sepilok Mile 14, Sandakan, Sabah, Sandakan, Malaysia 90000

5 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sepilok Jungle Resort

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 86% Facilities - 70% Safety - 93%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 70%
Customer review
As a family with children
Family Holiday
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 15 February 2012

Loved the location on the edge of the jungle, however it is a bit far from shops etc. We saw wild animals from the restaurant including a kIngfisher and monitor lizard, hummingbird and they keep turtles there too. Really good to stay if you are intending to visit the Oranguatan Rehabitilitation Centre and also not too far from the Probiscus Monkey place too. The in house restaurant was a bit pricey for Malaysian food prices but really nice food nonetheless.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 10 January 2011

Great location for the Orangutan Rehab Centre and the Rainforest Discovery Centre. The onsite restaurant turns out pretty good meals and excellent fresh pineapple juice.

80.0%
13 reviews Book Now 
5

Winho Lodge B & B

Guesthouse
Lot 8 & 9, Block 19, 1st & 2nd, Jalan Dua, P.O.Box 178, Sandakan, Malaysia 90702

12 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Winho Lodge B & B

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 86% Facilities - 73% Safety - 78%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 84%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 01 February 2012

Super comfy bed. Friendly staff. Hot shower. Laundry service (a little expensive though). Free bottled drinking water.

Henrik Wanscher
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Henrik would recommend this property 09 January 2012

This place is great value for money. The location in Sandarkan is good and you get a basic breakfast and good wifi included in the price. Furthermore the staff is great and the common area is nice.

78.7%
72 reviews Book Now 
6

Sandakan Backpackers

Hostel
Lot 108, Block SH-11, Sandakan, Malaysia 90009

62 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sandakan Backpackers

Atmosphere - 75% Staff - 86% Facilities - 74% Safety - 76%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 75% Value - 74%
Oliver Moencke
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
25 October 2011

The location was ok. The Hostel is located close to the water but it isn't anything special. Unfortunatly the common room was to little, but they also had a roof garden, which was nice but not really used by the other guests. We booked a homestay over the hostel, which was nice.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 11 May 2011

Great location and nice place to chill out to get away from the humidity outside. Friendly staff and good big, although basic, double rooms.

Sandakan

7 Hostels from 7.01 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Sandakan hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Sandakan. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.