We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Sandakan, Malaysia

96.6%
44 reviews Book Now 
1

Harbourside Backpackers

Hostel
Lot 43, 1st Floor, Block HS-4, Sandakan, Malaysia 90000

44 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Harbourside Backpackers

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 97% Facilities - 94% Safety - 98%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 98%
Nigel Dockerty
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Nigel would recommend this property 22 August 2015

Good room with private bath, great common room, shame about the smokers We stayed in room 4 (with private bath). Turns out it also has a private animal running around in the ceiling space, which at 3am was interesting, as it seemed to get louder and heavier as the night progressed. It didn't come through the ceiling though, so all was well. Room is comfortable, (one double bed, one single), good space, good shower and wetroom. Effective air con. Two electric sockets in room. We were able to access wifi from this room. Internet access was good for the first day and then intermittent for the next day. Friendly staff, breakfast is toast and jam and coffee/tea and was included in our rate (and the bread was good thick white bread. The coffee was just as thick and good and strong). There's a well laid out common room with a big TV, small library luggage store and PC internet access. Unfortunately guests are allowed to smoke in this room, which meant that we just left when they did as they seem to fail to understand that a breeze from the open window just blows the smoke into the room. For me this spoiled the experience at this otherwise great place to stay. We also booked our trip to the Kinabatangan River (to Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort - excellent place to stay) through the backpackers, although it was fulfilled through the Borneo Sandakan Packers and Tours (who are just superb, but didn't have a private bathroom option).

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 16 August 2015

Everyone was helpful and friendly, it was a great location, and the rooms were really nice.

91.8%
72 reviews Book Now 
2

Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

Guesthouse
Mile 14, Jalan Labuk, Sandakan, Malaysia 90000

69 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 94% Facilities - 85% Safety - 87%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 92%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 26 August 2014

Lovely surroundings, with rooms overlooking the jungle. Lots of nice communal areas. Good food, with options for vegetarians too. Shuttle bus runs three times a day to the RDC and Sun Bear and Orang-utan Sanctuaries. Free pick-up from the bus stop.

Andrew Rodgers
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Andrew would recommend this property 14 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. It's really close to the Orangutan centre and the hostel offers a free shuttle service to and from the orangutan centre. The food on offer was good and it's a pretty chilled out place to relax. They helped me book my Kinabatangan river trip too :)

82.9%
6 reviews Book Now 
3

Sepilok Jungle Resort

Guesthouse
Jalan Rambutan, Sepilok Mile 14, Sandakan, Sabah, Sandakan, Malaysia 90000

5 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sepilok Jungle Resort

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 86% Facilities - 70% Safety - 93%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 70%
Customer review
As a family with children
Family Holiday
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 15 February 2012

Loved the location on the edge of the jungle, however it is a bit far from shops etc. We saw wild animals from the restaurant including a kIngfisher and monitor lizard, hummingbird and they keep turtles there too. Really good to stay if you are intending to visit the Oranguatan Rehabitilitation Centre and also not too far from the Probiscus Monkey place too. The in house restaurant was a bit pricey for Malaysian food prices but really nice food nonetheless.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 10 January 2011

Great location for the Orangutan Rehab Centre and the Rainforest Discovery Centre. The onsite restaurant turns out pretty good meals and excellent fresh pineapple juice.

81.5%
17 reviews Book Now 
4

Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

1 star Hotel
Lot 125 & 126, Jalan Dua,, Harbour Square 14, (Opposite Sandakan Central Mar, Sandakan, Malaysia 90000

13 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

Atmosphere - 69% Staff - 91% Facilities - 71% Safety - 88%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 77% Value - 81%
Kathryn Chalmers
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa
97.1%
Kathryn would recommend this property 23 January 2015

We ended up staying here 3 nights and the staff were friendly and helpful. They were very flexible in terms of check-in and leaving our bags in storage. Each time we came back to check-in after trips we had a welcome drink and yummy fried banana treats. The place has everything you need.

Carlos Almenor
Alone
City break
82.9%
Carlos would recommend this property 24 September 2014

I like the staff- very friendly and helpful. The location is very central and safe.

80.0%
73 reviews Book Now 
5

Sandakan Backpackers

Hostel
Lot 108, Block SH-11, Sandakan, Malaysia 90009

63 out of 73 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sandakan Backpackers

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 88% Facilities - 75% Safety - 77%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 76%
Melissa Marshall
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Melissa would recommend this property 19 January 2015

Location is great, right in the centre of town and right next to the bus station

Oliver Moencke
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
25 October 2011

The location was ok. The Hostel is located close to the water but it isn't anything special. Unfortunatly the common room was to little, but they also had a roof garden, which was nice but not really used by the other guests. We booked a homestay over the hostel, which was nice.

80.0%
13 reviews Book Now 
6

Winho Lodge B & B

Guesthouse
Lot 8 & 9, Block 19, 1st & 2nd, Jalan Dua, P.O.Box 178, Sandakan, Malaysia 90702

12 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Winho Lodge B & B

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 86% Facilities - 73% Safety - 78%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 84%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 01 February 2012

Super comfy bed. Friendly staff. Hot shower. Laundry service (a little expensive though). Free bottled drinking water.

Henrik Wanscher
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Henrik would recommend this property 09 January 2012

This place is great value for money. The location in Sandarkan is good and you get a basic breakfast and good wifi included in the price. Furthermore the staff is great and the common area is nice.

Sandakan

7 Hostels from 4.74 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Sandakan hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Sandakan. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.