HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Penang hostels

Reviews of Cocoa Mews

Guesthouse | 101 Lebuh King, Penang, Malaysia 10200

87.9% Overall Rating

76 out of 81 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

Murray Adcock thinks…

"In eight years of travelling I've never had staff quite as immensely friendly or helpful. The actual accommodation is pretty standard backpacking fare, dorm room doesn't feel cramped and private…"

Read all Cocoa Mews reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Effective from June 1, 2014, the City Council of Penang will impose a Local Council Tax of MYR 3 per room per night for 4 and 5-star hotels, and MYR 2 per room per night for 0 to 3-star hotels. The star rating will be in accordance to the rating from Local Council and should the rating differ from the website, the local council rating will apply. This fee is payable directly to the hotel upon check-in and is not included in the room rate and taxes stated herein.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Penang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Penang

Red Inn Court
8.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.1% 123 reviews
Clockwise Hostel
7.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Super K Hostel
10.04 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Reggae Penang Love Lane Hostel
10.99 USD

Hostel 87.8% 66 reviews
Love Lane Inn
5.65 USD

Hostel 70.1% 89 reviews
Red Inn Penang
10.04 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 27 reviews
Red Inn Heritage
7.53 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 43 reviews
Red Inn Cabana
9.42 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.9%

Overall Rating

76 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cocoa Mews'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 80 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Murray Adcock

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Murray would recommend this property

Liked: In eight years of travelling I've never had staff quite as immensely friendly or helpful. The actual accommodation is pretty standard backpacking fare, dorm room doesn't feel cramped and private rooms are small but adequate, comfortable and clean. Bathrooms are cleaned regularly and well maintained; aircon is fine. Close to the ferry and local bus stations; very good location, just off the Main Street for food traders, so easy to sample the great local dishes but also not too noisy, plus kitchen facilities and fridge provided, nothing spectacular but definitely adequate for a quick meal. Wifi could be slow but, like a lot of hostels, if you change your DNS settings it ran very well.

Disliked: Can be a little noisy, but generally no issues during the night. Laundry is a little pricey compared to places within walking distance, however everything came back clean and the premium was worth how easy the staff made it all. Not really anything bad to say, a truly exceptional hostel for backpackers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved Cocoa Meaws, the staff are so friendly and always ready to help, one of the nicest dorms I've ever stayed in (clean, stylish and the beds are soooo comfy!) and the location is brilliant! Came back after my first visit :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff. Comfortable bed. Decent air conditioning. Clean, good showers. Location is nice, plenty of restaurants nearby and walking distance to just about everything. A 5 minute walk from the ferry port too so no need for buses.

Disliked: The walls are a bit thin so when people start getting up in the morning there's not much chance for further sleep! It was quiet all through the night though so it's not a major issue.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed 3 nights at cocoa mews, 2 in a dorm and 1 on a single room. The dorm was a good size and had lockers for valuables. The showers were next door and hot water all the time. Everything was clean. A couple more hooks for things in the showers would have been helpful but there was plenty of space. The dorm was quiet but there were only 3 of us there. The wifi didnt work in the dorm as its on the top floor. The single room had the advantage of giving you space for your things but probably not worth double the price of the dorm. It was much noisier as it was next to the showers and the toilets. It was very small, the size of a single bed and desk but it was enough space for me. There was no TV and the wifi still didn't work very well there. The kitchen was small but there was enough space and equipment to make simple meals.

Disliked: wifi didnt work upstairs There is no TV/common room which is a bit of a disadvantge.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014

Liked: Helpful staff with bus routes, restaurants, etc.

Disliked: Rooms are very small. Very noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elise Meertens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, awesome staff. Arthur on the night staff was awesome when I arrived late and his colleague in the morning was amazing helping me with where to go and how to get there for cheap. Also great for food recommendations. Dorm was clean and ac was awesome. Loved this place, stayed longer than I intended. Stay here for an awesome chill place in Penang. Not so much partying in this place but easy to meet people in the dorm.

Disliked: Wifi in dorm room was iffy. But it's okay because there's so much to do during the day that it didn't matter

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Croft

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely polite and happy to be at your assistance no matter what. Really made you feel welcome and you weren't just some other person. Always had a smile.

Disliked: That I had to leave!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucile Arnaud

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

19 March 2014 Lucile would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, friendly and really good location.

Disliked: Lucile left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. They really went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable at cocoa mews. The location in little India was also fabulous and within walking distance of all major attractions in the core heritage Zone.

Disliked: Number 3 room adjoins the communal shower- toilet so we heard noise every time someone went to The bathroom

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sandra Reed

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

12 February 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Location in Little India, and friendly, helpful staff. Very clean.

Disliked: Small rooms, some without a window. Not great air con.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xinyuan Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Xinyuan would recommend this property

Liked: A very lovely hostel. Everything is good. Very helpful staff and very clean rooms.

Disliked: They don't offer breakfast. But it's not a disadvantage anyway, because Penang is a paradise for eaters.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Ackermann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is the friendliest I've ever met. Plus a super nice location in the heart of Little India

Disliked: If I wanna nag... no toilet on the dorm's floor... but again, that's just nagging;-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josephus Verhaar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014 Josephus would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to find

Disliked: Blanket was square and quite small for tall people. Take your own one with you

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location, friendly staff. They gave us helpful maps on arrival.

Disliked: One blanket not big enough for too people, even though it was a double room. Door to shower was broken, there was a decent sized hole in it. Also could have been a lot cleaner in toilets and shower. Beds & linen were clean though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, spotlessly clean rooms, extremely helpful and attentive staff - I would definitely stay again at his place upon a return to Penang.

Disliked: I have no complaints.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alisdair Grahame

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Alisdair would recommend this property

Liked: Great character (it's in a heritage listed building) and brilliant location being in the heart of Little India. The staff are very helpful (and hilarious). Comfy beds.

Disliked: A little overpriced for the rooms and facilities.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful with tips on places to eat. The room was clean, had a window and air-conditioning. There was drinking water in the kitchen..

Disliked: The instructions to get there said we had to take a bus from the ferry. But that was untrue as the hostel is only a five minute walk from the ferry terminal. So it was annoying getting on the bus and suddenly going past the road and being dropped off way do the road and having to walk back. So guys, if you get the ferry from Butterworth, you can walk to Cocoa Mews. Which is actually way better then getting a bus. Super Convenient!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is kept clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Howie is a very cool dude.

Disliked: If you are staying in the dorm room, the bathroom is one floor below.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Danielle Lacroix

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooftopbar where it is nice to meet other travelers Food is good, also in reggae Cafe in KL

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Natalie Choi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The man on night duty was a complete star! Offered v good local advice :) If there was a common room and better wi fi and not having been more expensive for the weekend I would have stayed longer

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Robin Middelhoff

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013

Liked: Staff was quite helpful.

Disliked: This place was ranked high on a different platform. My girlfriend and I were excited to find this place for a good deal. We booked a double room with ensuite bathroom. After we checked in, we were brought to our room. It didn't have a window and smelled quite muggy. Thus, I asked for a different room (one with a window). No problem ... we got a different one. However, this one didn't have its own bathroom - but this is what we paid for. But we decided to accept this as a trade off. The place was not every clean overall. We found numerous hair in our bed which were definitely not ours. Further, the "bedding" must have been dirty since we felt itchy and got some skin rash. The cleanness of the shared bathroom was okay. We cannot recommend this place and will never stay there again.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexandra Sparr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in Little India- close to many attractions, several bus routes and nightlife. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Not a social atmosphere at all. Staff referred us to Banana Tours to book our transportation into Thailand and the company was horrific- more expensive than we were told, an hour late to pick up and the driver tried to con us out of money. Not part of the hostel itself but not good that this is who they recommend. Laundry service was expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ioana Cutcutache

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 October 2013 Ioana would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, quite clean, very nice and helpful staff

Disliked: The walls are really thin so any noise in adjacent rooms/corridor will be heard very loud in your own room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2013

Liked: The room was not as small as it is usually in Asia

Disliked: The neighbourhood was not the best one

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

robert blatchford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2013 robert would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff,relaxed friendly atmosphere,microwave and kettle.

Disliked: Many rooms had no window and a bit pricey for seperate bathroom


See all Penang hostels