HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Penang hostels

Reviews of Cocoa Mews

Guesthouse | 101 Lebuh King, Penang, Malaysia 10200

87.4% Overall Rating

71 out of 76 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/03/2014)

Elise Meertens thinks…

"Awesome location, awesome staff. Arthur on the night staff was awesome when I arrived late and his colleague in the morning was amazing helping me with where to go and how to get there for cheap.…"

Read all Cocoa Mews reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.77

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Penang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Penang

Red Inn Court
8.57 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.4% 119 reviews
Super K Hostel
8.51 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Reggae Penang Love Lane Hostel
10.71 USD

Hostel 87.9% 59 reviews
Love Lane Inn
4.28 USD

Hostel 68.0% 87 reviews
Red Inn Penang
8.57 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 27 reviews
Red Inn Heritage
5.51 USD

Guesthouse 85.7% 35 reviews
Red Inn Cabana
8.57 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 29 reviews
Hutton Lodge
9.18 USD

Hostel 80.5% 347 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

71 out of 76 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cocoa Mews'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 75 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014

Liked: Helpful staff with bus routes, restaurants, etc.

Disliked: Rooms are very small. Very noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elise Meertens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, awesome staff. Arthur on the night staff was awesome when I arrived late and his colleague in the morning was amazing helping me with where to go and how to get there for cheap. Also great for food recommendations. Dorm was clean and ac was awesome. Loved this place, stayed longer than I intended. Stay here for an awesome chill place in Penang. Not so much partying in this place but easy to meet people in the dorm.

Disliked: Wifi in dorm room was iffy. But it's okay because there's so much to do during the day that it didn't matter

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Croft

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely polite and happy to be at your assistance no matter what. Really made you feel welcome and you weren't just some other person. Always had a smile.

Disliked: That I had to leave!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucile Arnaud

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

19 March 2014 Lucile would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, friendly and really good location.

Disliked: Lucile left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. They really went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable at cocoa mews. The location in little India was also fabulous and within walking distance of all major attractions in the core heritage Zone.

Disliked: Number 3 room adjoins the communal shower- toilet so we heard noise every time someone went to The bathroom

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sandra Reed

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

12 February 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Location in Little India, and friendly, helpful staff. Very clean.

Disliked: Small rooms, some without a window. Not great air con.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xinyuan Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Xinyuan would recommend this property

Liked: A very lovely hostel. Everything is good. Very helpful staff and very clean rooms.

Disliked: They don't offer breakfast. But it's not a disadvantage anyway, because Penang is a paradise for eaters.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Ackermann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is the friendliest I've ever met. Plus a super nice location in the heart of Little India

Disliked: If I wanna nag... no toilet on the dorm's floor... but again, that's just nagging;-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josephus Verhaar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014 Josephus would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to find

Disliked: Blanket was square and quite small for tall people. Take your own one with you

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location, friendly staff. They gave us helpful maps on arrival.

Disliked: One blanket not big enough for too people, even though it was a double room. Door to shower was broken, there was a decent sized hole in it. Also could have been a lot cleaner in toilets and shower. Beds & linen were clean though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, spotlessly clean rooms, extremely helpful and attentive staff - I would definitely stay again at his place upon a return to Penang.

Disliked: I have no complaints.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alisdair Grahame

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2013 Alisdair would recommend this property

Liked: Great character (it's in a heritage listed building) and brilliant location being in the heart of Little India. The staff are very helpful (and hilarious). Comfy beds.

Disliked: A little overpriced for the rooms and facilities.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful with tips on places to eat. The room was clean, had a window and air-conditioning. There was drinking water in the kitchen..

Disliked: The instructions to get there said we had to take a bus from the ferry. But that was untrue as the hostel is only a five minute walk from the ferry terminal. So it was annoying getting on the bus and suddenly going past the road and being dropped off way do the road and having to walk back. So guys, if you get the ferry from Butterworth, you can walk to Cocoa Mews. Which is actually way better then getting a bus. Super Convenient!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is kept clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Howie is a very cool dude.

Disliked: If you are staying in the dorm room, the bathroom is one floor below.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Danielle Lacroix

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooftopbar where it is nice to meet other travelers Food is good, also in reggae Cafe in KL

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Natalie Choi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The man on night duty was a complete star! Offered v good local advice :) If there was a common room and better wi fi and not having been more expensive for the weekend I would have stayed longer

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Robin Middelhoff

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013

Liked: Staff was quite helpful.

Disliked: This place was ranked high on a different platform. My girlfriend and I were excited to find this place for a good deal. We booked a double room with ensuite bathroom. After we checked in, we were brought to our room. It didn't have a window and smelled quite muggy. Thus, I asked for a different room (one with a window). No problem ... we got a different one. However, this one didn't have its own bathroom - but this is what we paid for. But we decided to accept this as a trade off. The place was not every clean overall. We found numerous hair in our bed which were definitely not ours. Further, the "bedding" must have been dirty since we felt itchy and got some skin rash. The cleanness of the shared bathroom was okay. We cannot recommend this place and will never stay there again.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexandra Sparr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in Little India- close to many attractions, several bus routes and nightlife. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Not a social atmosphere at all. Staff referred us to Banana Tours to book our transportation into Thailand and the company was horrific- more expensive than we were told, an hour late to pick up and the driver tried to con us out of money. Not part of the hostel itself but not good that this is who they recommend. Laundry service was expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ioana Cutcutache

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 October 2013 Ioana would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, quite clean, very nice and helpful staff

Disliked: The walls are really thin so any noise in adjacent rooms/corridor will be heard very loud in your own room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2013

Liked: The room was not as small as it is usually in Asia

Disliked: The neighbourhood was not the best one

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

robert blatchford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2013 robert would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff,relaxed friendly atmosphere,microwave and kettle.

Disliked: Many rooms had no window and a bit pricey for seperate bathroom

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the old building, 2 funny and helpful staffs.sometime i love the location which is in the quite exotic area:little india.

Disliked: The location is not close to the main spots, bur the buses are convenient, however it still takes 40 to 50 minutes. The design of the rooms locations makes harder to talk or chat with new friends, you have to come down to ground floor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, friendly staff, good wifi

Disliked: No common area to sit and meet other travelers :(

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Possible to walk to restaurants and shops easily. Easy to find when you arrive by ferry. Staff is nice. People in the dorm were friendly.

Disliked: toilets ont on the same floor as the dorm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacob Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was a really nice guy, always willing to lend a helping hand. Hostel is in a good location. Best food ever is located over the street at Kapitan!

Disliked: Jacob left no negative feedback.


See all Penang hostels