HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Penang hostels

Reviews of Red Inn Cabana

Guesthouse | 22, Lebuh Leith, Penang, Malaysia 10200

88.8% Overall Rating

28 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/03/2014)

Alina Dolezilek thinks…

"The whole Hostel is very clean and comfy. Especially the bathrooms have to be mentioned positively as they were very clean and offered a lot of space. The water pressure could be better but it was…"

Read all Red Inn Cabana reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Penang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Penang

Hutton Lodge
9.15 USD

Hostel 79.5% 348 reviews
Red Inn Penang
9.76 USD

Guesthouse 80.7% 28 reviews
56 Red Inn
6.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Red Inn Heritage
7.93 USD

Guesthouse 80.3% 45 reviews
Reggae Penang Love Lane Hostel
10.67 USD

Hostel 87.2% 68 reviews
Love Lane Inn
5.49 USD

Hostel 69.6% 90 reviews
Super K Hostel
9.76 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Clockwise Hostel
7.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

28 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Red Inn Cabana'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 31 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah He

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and the staff was super helpful

Disliked: The toilets and shower are bit untidy and can be dirty to use

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 July 2014

Liked: great location

Disliked: a bit run down

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alina Dolezilek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 March 2014 Alina would recommend this property

Liked: The whole Hostel is very clean and comfy. Especially the bathrooms have to be mentioned positively as they were very clean and offered a lot of space. The water pressure could be better but it was ok. The location is great, in the middle of the city center and close to different bus stations. There is a small Night market next to the hostel offering different kind of food. The staff was very nice and helpful.

Disliked: Alina left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013

Liked: The location and the cleanliness of the property

Disliked: I read that you should take ear plugs due to the noise of the restaurant next door and I 100% agree. I wouldn't recommend or stay again due to the noise. Plus the single rooms are TOO small for the price you pay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

WANG JNG

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 WANG would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good.Walking a street of Little India, one minute to reach the Blue House.Next close to Chinatown and love lane.Small, day to complete the entire city of George.Customer service is quite good, which led me to return are not used to.breakfirst very good.

Disliked: Triple room is small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Bales

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: I accidentally left a hard-to-replace piece of gear there at the hostel, and they actually shipped it to me at my next hostel in Kuala Lumpur for FREE! Awesome staff! Special thanks to Kaine and Leosy!

Disliked: Joshua left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Bales

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: I came to stay a few days and wound up staying almost two weeks. Nice hardwood floors, comfy beds, strong AC, impressive showers, helpful and accommodating staff. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

Disliked: Joshua left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very beautiful elegant comfortable place to stay. This time there was a friendly receptionist (it depends who is on duty)

Disliked: I had to change to a dorm that was not so nice as the previous one, but still good value

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful elegant comfortable place to stay, nice rooms and lounge

Disliked: The welcoming at the reception was indifferent with hard rock music

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Couches in the common area, close to good food, free tea and coffee

Disliked: Breakfast was too early for the day I slept in and too late for the day I had an early flight.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe, clean, decent location in georgetown

Disliked: staff were ok, but not too friendly or eager to help out, social atmosphere wasn't that great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janette Gerrard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013 Janette would recommend this property

Liked: A good welcome. Lovely coffee available all day. Next door to food paradise night food market. Good place.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sian mckelvey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2013 sian would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and spacious rooms.

Disliked: competitive to get a variety at breakfast. most food is gone early.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Wheeler

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 January 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, comfortable beds, great room.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JingRou Lin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 JingRou would recommend this property

Liked: I like it very much. with good environment and nice people in reception, it is very rewarding to live in Rea Inn Cabana

Disliked: The time I stayed there, the wifi cannot be used. As Leosy said, the modem was stolen by others. So it is inconvenient at that time.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is good and room is clean.The reception guy was nice.

Disliked: I guess that was the temporary stuff but the internet has some problem and we had to go to other branch to use it.And many mosquitoes.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are good, good size, decent beds.

Disliked: Bathrooms are a little average.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Hutchins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful property, with lovely big comfortable beds and air conditioning. Was very clean and had a wonderful breakfast (fresh fruit, battered banana, toast and jams and even had a cold vegetarian curry), tea and coffee. Staff were very helpful with where to go, even the weather report. Free wifi and a computer to use.

Disliked: Right next to a food court that has music on until 1am over the weekend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sidharth Kumar

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 September 2012 Sidharth would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good for backpackers as it is very near to bars and clubs...

Disliked: NA

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived at 5 am, way before the check-in time. The staff still allowed me to check in early and showed me to my room. Although I only spent a night there, I felt well taken care of! The air-conditioning is pretty powerful - amazing relief from the sweltering weather!

Disliked: There's a night market/eatery nearby with loud singing that went on in the night... may disturb light sleepers.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large, airy rooms, good toilet/shower facilities, Red Garden next door offering plenty choices to eat for lunch or dinner.

Disliked: Nothing really to dislike, though told it can be a bit noisy at times due to karaoke etc. We had no trouble.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariya Todorova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2012 Mariya would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast and good coffee. Good location - very close to the Old Town and to bus stop. Many food options around. Our dorm room was very clean, each bed has a little cabinet. You also get a locker. The bathrooms are very clean and the showers are amazing - they have multiple fancy jets. We loved our stay and would highly recommend this place to everyone.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was great.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2012

Liked: It is located in a histroic building. The breakfast was good.

Disliked: The place looks better in the photos than in real life. It does not mean that it looks very different or bad, but still I was hoping for more. The room was just 2 beds and an air-con device. The toilets and showers are really strange meaning they are in an open space and I felt that my privacy was a bit threatened.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vivian Weng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Vivian would recommend this property

Liked: very clean! and air-con is strong in the room! awesome!

Disliked: the communal lounge area doesn't have air-con.


See all Penang hostels