HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Reggae Penang Love Lane Hostel Penang Hostel

57, Love Lane, 10200 Georgetown Penang, Penang, Malaysia

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 83%

Location 98%

Safety 93%

Staff 84%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Penang?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 83%

Location 98%

Safety 93%

Staff 84%

Value 86%

Showing 11-19 of 19 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The beds were amazing! It was like having your own little apartment. The staff is also friendly and free breakfast is always good. I also appreciated the towel we got on check in!

Disliked: Wifi was a bit patchy, the bathrooms had little windows that faced outside and so mosquitoes would get in, and they put me in a mixed dorm after I booked a female dorm, which wasn't a problem for me, but might be for some girls.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Liked the location, the general atmosphere and the friendly owner

Disliked: the bunk beds are nice and clean but the upper bunk is unusually high. This means more room for each sleeper but without better restraining /securing bar etc it can literally be very painful should you trip from the top bunk.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was very good with plenty of local shops and restaurants. The dorms had "pod" style bunks which were spacious with curtains for privacy. Each had its own light and power socket. The staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was relaxed.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good facilities such as the cafe, pod style beds, strong showers and free shower gel. The lady on reception in the morning is friendly, kind and very helpful. The breakfast is a nice bonus for the price too.

Disliked: Thanks to Formula 1 style bus driving, we arrived in the morning, far earlier than planned. After ringing the bell twice, reception staff appeared at the window shouting 'Full' at us, even though we had a reservation. They didn't ask or check if we had a reservation, just straight shouting 'Full' at us through the window. When we finally got them to open the door and showed them our booking, they allowed us in. So much for the advertised 24hr reception. It didn't bode well for the rest of the stay.The lady on the front desk afternoon/night was rude, sour, unhelpful and lies. She appeared at our door late evening requesting us to move to another dorm. We asked the reason why, as she hadn't given us any explanation for the request. Her response was given with an absolute disgusting tone and manner, that a family needed to share a room together. We have no problem with that, but the way her request was delivered was appalling.After a few more questions it turned out it wasn't a family but just 4 travellers who walked into the hostel at 9pm and wanted beds together. She couldn't move us quick enough. We moved out of courtesy/kindness to the new guests but the staff were trying to change the bed sheets even before we'd decided to move and again when we were packing up our things. She wasn't in any way gracious or appreciative after we'd moved either. The next day we collected our laundry and she said 'You give me 7.50'. Not a please, thank you, or your welcome in sight.. She lacks basic manners, not the kind of person you expect fronting a potentially lively backpacker hostel. We wondered why the hostel bar was always empty in the evening while other hostels around appeared busy and packed with travellers; meeting that grump and unfriendly of a woman on the front desk certainly explained it.I would recommend other hostel's in the area before this one. It's a shame because, it has fantastic facilities and the potential to be great but with staff like that, the experience was marred. We had a great experience in KL, hence why we booked here. The wifi can be intermittent, I think it's because so many devices are trying to connect at once. When connected it's great.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the way the beds were set up in the dorm rooms. They were not like traditional bunk beds, but more like coffins stacked on each other. This allowed for more privacy!There was an elderly asian man working there. He was very friendly and helpful, but I literally could not understand a word he said.

Disliked: WiFi was a problem everyday

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Decor is modern and fresh and the bar and terrace area are great for chilling out.

Disliked: small problems such as toilet flush not always working and toilet roll not available.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: great place to meet people, good location

Disliked: staff could be friendlier and bathrooms/sheets cleaner

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great 'capsule'beds with individual light and plug socket. Nice balcony and common area to chill out. Good breakfast service and friendly staff - particularly the customer service manager who really helped us whilst planning our stay in Penangand took us to a near by swimming pool!!

Disliked: Not a huge amount of space in the 4 bed dorms for all luggage and some staff members were unhelpful.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good atmosphere, nice people, complimentary breakfast that wasn't too basic.

Disliked: Had bedbugs, but it may have just been my bed.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location. Awesome cubicles to sleep inIncludes decent breakfast

Disliked: Staff was average excerpt for the two key employees/owners. Hostel is big so lacked a tighter community feel

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability