HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Penang hostels

Reviews of Reggae Penang Love Lane Hostel

Hostel | Reggae Penang, 57, Penang, Malaysia 10200

87.8% Overall Rating

60 out of 66 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

"The beds are like tiny, little rooms with a separate lamp, sockets to charge all the devices and a curtain for the privacy. Staff is very friendly and would give you a farewell hug. Upon check-in one gets a towel and…"

Read all Reggae Penang Love Lane Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Penang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Penang

Super K Hostel
10.08 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Red Inn Penang
9.45 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 27 reviews
Clockwise Hostel
7.72 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Love Lane Inn
5.67 USD

Hostel 69.6% 88 reviews
Red Inn Heritage
7.56 USD

Guesthouse 81.7% 43 reviews
Red Inn Court
9.45 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.1% 123 reviews
Cocoa Mews
7.88 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 81 reviews
Red Inn Cabana
9.45 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

60 out of 66 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Reggae Penang Love Lane Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 56 of 62 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Bruni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the staff were friendly, the security was good and the dorm beds were genius. I loved every second in this place! Stay here! It's amazing.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca McLoughlin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The sleeping bunks are very private each with there own curtain and after 6 weeks of travelling they were bliss! The bathrooms were very clean and although only 3 for women you were never waiting! The breakfast was really good, you could help yourself to toast, tea/coffee and they cooked something different each day, e.g. omlette/ french toast/scrambled egg. The bar downstairs offered food at reasonable prices and drinks were relatively cheap as well, bout 15RM for a cocktail. The staff were all lovely but Charlie excelled he is very friendly and came in early one day to work to show us round the city at night and brought us to places we never would have found! The free wifi is good and two computers are available which are good for skyping (have headsets etc). There are lockers (need own padlock) to put valuables in, but hostel very safe.

Disliked: Only minor because food was very cheap, but there was no kitchen for guests to use.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds had curtains and were very private, even in the dormrooms. The bar area was nice and it was very easy to get around the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Kraaijenzank

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Just like the Reggae Mansion in Kuala Lumpur, the Reggae Hostel in Penang at Love Lane is extremely clean and well organized. It's easy to see that the staff's got a lot of experience from running the hostel for more than 10 years. Everything just works!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aissata Diallo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Aissata would recommend this property

Liked: Not only a hotel but also a bar, so you can easily meet people

Disliked: Can be to noisy for some peps.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

yu zhou

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012

Liked: safety,everyone has their own space,and clean

Disliked: the bathroom is a little distance from my dorm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gemma price

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 gemma would recommend this property

Liked: The staff there were all very friendly and helpful. I liked the privacy of the dormbeds. The location was very convenient.

Disliked: The bar downstairs would play music until 2am. It's advisable to bring earplugs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nuria Arnau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2012 Nuria would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm seems to be a single room, due to the beds are all separate. One of the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed.

Disliked: The music in the bar is too load quite late at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, good atmosphere, like being in a hotel!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Smera Kazmi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2012 Smera would recommend this property

Liked: very modern. The staff are really freindly, nice and very helpful.

Disliked: Smera left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Yanling Xu

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Yanling would recommend this property

Liked: Reggae was great! Especially for its location ( at heart of George Town and that means you can go to anywhere around Penang very easily), atmosphere and people you gonna meet. Most of the staffs and the guests there are both very nice. At the first night I was there, one of the staff showed me around and offered me an personal cabinet but I didn't bring any lock with me. Then a guy I met there, he was a traveller as well, gave me one of his code-lock. That was so sweet!! And really made my first hostel experience fantastic!

Disliked: The female host there seems a little bit rough. She changed me to a mixroom while I booked a single female room but there was no one booked that night I arrived. So I think may be she wanted to keep her cost low by not open one more A.C. in the other room. I was kinda angry after I found out it was a mix then I asked for change. She was OK with that but not seem happy about that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hedi Ellafi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 Hedi would recommend this property

Liked: Location Cleanliness Staff Facilities and services

Disliked: Hedi left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andre Frois

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2012 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, great value for money, helpful staff, cheap drinks, scenic location, comfortable beds!

Disliked: Temporary renovations were going on.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly and and helpful.. Good location and easy to walk around ; )

Disliked: a little bit dark but it ok

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, well located, confortable

Disliked: my dorm wasn't closed, even if I had a key....so anybody could get inside and take whatever they want in the big bags (there are lockers for the most valuable stuffs). In addition, anybody from teh bar can get inside the hostel part....no doors, no lock. And if you to meet people, you need to drink....no commun area except the bar where you kind of have to drink ! Clean hostel but not my best...it's personal

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joe redfern

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 joe would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfy beds, good value for money especially the fact you get breakfast!

Disliked: The staff were hard to communicate with due to lack of English speaking! Orders in the resteraunt were near impossible to get rite and the food was Average!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

floris Steinhart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 floris would recommend this property

Liked: its very clean, nice and friendly. Watch out for Charlie, he's nice, but he keeps talking..

Disliked: floris left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Turnbull

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2012 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: great location in Georgetown - close to many things and the bus line

Disliked: sometimes a bit noisy late at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendy staff, very clean. I met I lot of nice people. The beds are very private, the showers are the best I had in weeks and the breakfast is included (toast, jelly, butter and a omelet every day!). I booked 2 extra nights, loved it!

Disliked: There is no place where you can have your own food and drinks becasue the whole ground floor is a restaurant.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jasper van den Hoed

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 Jasper would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet other people. really a lively place, especially compared to the other hostels in the area. Food and drinks can be purchased as well for a reasonable price. The 'cabins' give you the feeling you're having a private room. Sanitary was clean.

Disliked: Can't think of anything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, private beds, strong hot shower, good breakfast included, colourful staff

Disliked: Nothing major, but my bed/pod smelt quite musty.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessica Sheppard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very comfortable, clean and in a central location. Beds are in pods and have electrical socket, light and mirror. Rate includes internet and breakfast which is good.

Disliked: No character and not very Malaysian. Very poor for meeting people as no sociable area, wouldn't come here as a lone traveler.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YOGA PRATAMA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2011 YOGA would recommend this property

Liked: There is so many facilities are value for backpackers, flat TV, Wifi or free internet corner, Bar, and also clean bed and toilet. Also, located in strategic area, easy to find. I like the red-decoration of single bunk bed in mixed dormitory, feel private and comfortable.

Disliked: about the noise. Night music in the bar could be annoyed for those who doesnt like the noise.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean, friendly with nice rooms and a good breakfast.

Disliked: Could be noisy at night, but earplugs are in the bag for a reason.


See all Penang hostels