We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Penang hostels

Reviews of Reggae Penang Love Lane Hostel

Hostel | Reggae Penang, 57, Penang, Malaysia 10200

87.2% Overall Rating

65 out of 73 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/02/2015)

"Nice place, clean rooms and the air con works well. Showers were a bit hit and miss. They were doing some painting while I was around which looked very nice and fresh so that's a bonus."

Read all Reggae Penang Love Lane Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Penang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Penang

Super K Hostel
8.85 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Red Inn Penang
8.30 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 32 reviews
56 Red Inn
6.09 USD

Hostel 90.5% 3 reviews
Clockwise Hostel
7.73 USD

Hostel 82.9% 3 reviews
Love Lane Inn
4.98 USD

Hostel 69.6% 90 reviews
Red Inn Heritage
8.30 USD

Guesthouse 80.3% 45 reviews
Red Inn Court
7.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.6% 130 reviews
Cocoa Mews
6.92 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 87 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

65 out of 73 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Reggae Penang Love Lane Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 62 of 69 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and staff really nice. Dorms are secure, and a cooked basic breakfast is provided. Had a great time hear and good to meet other backpackers.

Disliked: There were a few mice about the place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are in little pods, so you can draw the curtain and have some privacy

Disliked: Quite noisy, as its over a bar. If you're down in the bar your fine!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kang Hong Tuck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Kang would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the main Chulia Street and various attractions. Very clean and nice rooms and beds. You sleep in a pod-like area, so even though you're in a dorm, you really feel like you have your own room.

Disliked: I'm not really into partying, so I didn't join in the parties held every night at the bar held downstairs. In fact I sleep relatively early so that I can wake up early to take photos, so the music did disturb me but not too badly since I sleep quite easily. If you like drinks and parties, then my comments shouldn't bother you.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2012

Liked: It's a hostel but you can still get a bit of privacy due to the pods, although several of us found it a bit awkward climbing up to the top one unless you have very, very long legs since the bars were quite far apart. Wouldn't want to try to do that drunk and since the bar looks nice I guess quite a few people had a go at it.

Disliked: The hostel was nice but since they have a policy of not accepting all nationalites I wont stay there again!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012

Liked: Very clean, bar in the hostel, really good breakfast and really nice staff (although Charlie can be a bit too nice ;))

Disliked: Way too loud music in the bar....it is on until 2 or 3 in the morning, so do not go there if you are not planing to go out. Might be better if you stay in the large dorms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Steven Warren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 August 2012 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Quite small compared with the other Reggae in KL but still a great place. Bigger than many of the other hostels in the area. Seemed to attract more younger travellers. Good bar with the cheapest drinks I could find. Good staff, helpful too. The booth bed concept is really good, though the dorms did not have any storage space for bags but lockers were provided in the upstairs common room/foyer. Well worth a stay if you're in Penang.

Disliked: Nothing major enough to write home about!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Bruni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the staff were friendly, the security was good and the dorm beds were genius. I loved every second in this place! Stay here! It's amazing.

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca McLoughlin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The sleeping bunks are very private each with there own curtain and after 6 weeks of travelling they were bliss! The bathrooms were very clean and although only 3 for women you were never waiting! The breakfast was really good, you could help yourself to toast, tea/coffee and they cooked something different each day, e.g. omlette/ french toast/scrambled egg. The bar downstairs offered food at reasonable prices and drinks were relatively cheap as well, bout 15RM for a cocktail. The staff were all lovely but Charlie excelled he is very friendly and came in early one day to work to show us round the city at night and brought us to places we never would have found! The free wifi is good and two computers are available which are good for skyping (have headsets etc). There are lockers (need own padlock) to put valuables in, but hostel very safe.

Disliked: Only minor because food was very cheap, but there was no kitchen for guests to use.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds had curtains and were very private, even in the dormrooms. The bar area was nice and it was very easy to get around the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Kraaijenzank

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Just like the Reggae Mansion in Kuala Lumpur, the Reggae Hostel in Penang at Love Lane is extremely clean and well organized. It's easy to see that the staff's got a lot of experience from running the hostel for more than 10 years. Everything just works!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aissata Diallo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Aissata would recommend this property

Liked: Not only a hotel but also a bar, so you can easily meet people

Disliked: Can be to noisy for some peps.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

yu zhou

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012

Liked: safety,everyone has their own space,and clean

Disliked: the bathroom is a little distance from my dorm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gemma price

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 gemma would recommend this property

Liked: The staff there were all very friendly and helpful. I liked the privacy of the dormbeds. The location was very convenient.

Disliked: The bar downstairs would play music until 2am. It's advisable to bring earplugs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nuria Arnau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2012 Nuria would recommend this property

Liked: The dorm seems to be a single room, due to the beds are all separate. One of the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed.

Disliked: The music in the bar is too load quite late at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, good atmosphere, like being in a hotel!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Smera Kazmi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2012 Smera would recommend this property

Liked: very modern. The staff are really freindly, nice and very helpful.

Disliked: Smera left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Yanling Xu

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Yanling would recommend this property

Liked: Reggae was great! Especially for its location ( at heart of George Town and that means you can go to anywhere around Penang very easily), atmosphere and people you gonna meet. Most of the staffs and the guests there are both very nice. At the first night I was there, one of the staff showed me around and offered me an personal cabinet but I didn't bring any lock with me. Then a guy I met there, he was a traveller as well, gave me one of his code-lock. That was so sweet!! And really made my first hostel experience fantastic!

Disliked: The female host there seems a little bit rough. She changed me to a mixroom while I booked a single female room but there was no one booked that night I arrived. So I think may be she wanted to keep her cost low by not open one more A.C. in the other room. I was kinda angry after I found out it was a mix then I asked for change. She was OK with that but not seem happy about that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hedi Ellafi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 Hedi would recommend this property

Liked: Location Cleanliness Staff Facilities and services

Disliked: Hedi left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andre Frois

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2012 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, great value for money, helpful staff, cheap drinks, scenic location, comfortable beds!

Disliked: Temporary renovations were going on.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly and and helpful.. Good location and easy to walk around ; )

Disliked: a little bit dark but it ok

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, well located, confortable

Disliked: my dorm wasn't closed, even if I had a key....so anybody could get inside and take whatever they want in the big bags (there are lockers for the most valuable stuffs). In addition, anybody from teh bar can get inside the hostel part....no doors, no lock. And if you to meet people, you need to drink....no commun area except the bar where you kind of have to drink ! Clean hostel but not my best...it's personal

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joe redfern

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 joe would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfy beds, good value for money especially the fact you get breakfast!

Disliked: The staff were hard to communicate with due to lack of English speaking! Orders in the resteraunt were near impossible to get rite and the food was Average!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

floris Steinhart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 floris would recommend this property

Liked: its very clean, nice and friendly. Watch out for Charlie, he's nice, but he keeps talking..

Disliked: floris left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Turnbull

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2012 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: great location in Georgetown - close to many things and the bus line

Disliked: sometimes a bit noisy late at night


See all Penang hostels