HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Penang hostels

Reviews of Hutton Lodge

Hostel | 17 Hutton Lane, Penang, Malaysia 10050

80.5% Overall Rating

331 out of 347 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/11/2013)

"We loved the beautiful old bungalow tucked in around larger buildings and that is was nonsmoking and you had to take your shoes off in the Asian style. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The whole lobby…"

Read all Hutton Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 6.17

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Penang?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Penang

Red Inn Cabana
8.64 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 29 reviews
Hotel Mingood
15.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.6% 242 reviews
Reggae Penang Love Lane Hostel
10.80 USD

Hostel 87.9% 59 reviews
Super K Hostel
8.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Red Inn Penang
9.87 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 27 reviews
Red Inn Heritage
4.63 USD

Guesthouse 85.7% 35 reviews
Love Lane Inn
4.32 USD

Hostel 68.0% 87 reviews
Red Inn Court
8.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.4% 119 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.5%

Overall Rating

331 out of 347 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hutton Lodge'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
76.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 293 of 296 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Aaron Aryo Prabowo Masiki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 Ben Aaron Aryo would recommend this property

Liked: All...

Disliked: Nothin'

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gertjan Lemmers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013 Gertjan would recommend this property

Liked: Goede locatie Diverse tourmogelijkheden Ontbijt Schoon

Disliked: Gehorig Weinig sfeer

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 November 2013

Liked: nothing much

Disliked: We have stayed at the Hutton Lodge on 3 occasions, but we won't be staying there again when in Penang. The place has really deteriorated since our last visit. The building appeared to be neglected and the staff not up to the previous standard.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the beautiful old bungalow tucked in around larger buildings and that is was nonsmoking and you had to take your shoes off in the Asian style. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The whole lobby area was so bright and beautiful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2013 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness throughout was superb especially the toilet and shower block.

Disliked: Linda left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, offer simple breakfast, easy to get to the main parts of town.

Disliked: The Directions on the website could be a little more descriptive, the property map is a little misleading as the property actually about half way down Hutton Lane whereas it looks like it is off Penang Road. There is some tourist info on a board display, however I asked for a tourist map from reception and was provided with a food guide in Chinese (I think).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lewis Jordan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013

Liked: The room had air-con. The man at the front desk was helpful when we needed to make enquiries about trains to Bangkok as he called the station for us. When we left the hostel our taxi left without us and he drove us to the airport! They provided a basic breakfast of toast and banana bread each day. The location was good for the buses and the night life.

Disliked: The place needed some TLC! There were a lot of mosquitoes in the room as there were shutter windows and no curtains. Our room was the furthest it could possibly be from the bathroom, the longest distance we have had to go at any hostel we have stayed.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Very clean.

Disliked: No atmosphere and a little over priced.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristyna Polomska

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013 Kristyna would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly environment, very helpfull staff, great location at the city center of Georgetown

Disliked: Kristyna left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naledi Rasekoala

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Naledi would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and friendly. They really make the place.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are very friendly and helpful, and were very concerned about my partner being ill and offered advice and assistance if a doctor was needed (fortunately it wasn't). It is a big airy building and it was nice to have breakfast included and free wifi.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aichi Fan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Aichi would recommend this property

Liked: it's easy to find. The service is great. they can help to call the clean taxi to the airport.

Disliked: Aichi left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very airy and spacious, with lots of beautiful light entering the building and public areas. Great shower, clean dorms, nice staff, generally quieter, and good location (it's away from all the backpacker ghetto of Love Lane).

Disliked: The dorms were a little dark with small windows. Little expensive for dorms too.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Character property, although basic. Great location for walking around the old parts of Georgetown and down to the jetties. Lovely courtyard with ceiling fans to sit and cool down after traipsing the streets.

Disliked: Shared bathroom was not what we would usually choose. On the second day, facilities were starting to get a little dirty as it was a full house.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly located in the old town of Penang close to everything.

Disliked: There could not more places in the room where I can hang up my clothes or towels.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

TOMASZ RYBA

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 TOMASZ would recommend this property

Liked: Great localisation.

Disliked: No shower in rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a detached house set back off the road, is quiet, staff are very friendly and helpful

Disliked: My other half got bitten over night whilst in the room

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Air Con doesnt work properly, no tv as advertised, paint peeling off the walls, very dim lighting all through the hostel. In private room the light bulb was orange and also very dim. Bathroom - vile! Shower leaks so floor is one big puddle, sink is brown with dirt and grime as is the water that comes out of the tap. The mirror in the bathroom had been smashed so only a 1/4 of mirror is left on the wall. Atmosphere is very eerie and creepy.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

08 October 2012

Liked: the place near the center

Disliked: the room and the noise

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, central location, fine beds, clean and good showers and toilets

Disliked: no bad comments

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable, clean, well-run.

Disliked: wifi in room sometimes weak. Should add a piece of fruit at breakfast. (nice breakfast space)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful. It was in a great location, and good value for money.

Disliked: The inside was a little bare and could do with up dating.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location the most. It was right near the main road and you could walk to the main sites. I liked the look of the exterior of the building, it had an authentic feel. I liked the free breakfast, the aircon was good, the showers had really good pressure and hot water. The bathroom was really clean too.

Disliked: The wifi was really slow. It felt more like a hotel than a hostel. If you're thinking about booking a shuttle to thailand through Hutton lodge, you can find much cheaper routes elsewhere. We know for a fact that we paid 90 myr for the same route than another person paid 70 myr for. The woman at Hutton lodge selling us the tickets either wasn't extremely informed about the transport process or was telling us false information. We were in a very cramped mini-van the entire way and were quickly left in Hat Yai to transfer to another van, with little information about what was going on. Then, when we got to our destination city, we were tricked into paying for a very expensive taxi ride because we thought it was yet another bus transfer. I know this shuttle doesn't really reflect on the character of the hostel, but I just want to warn others to really do the research before booking any transport services through this hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was lovely, slices of banana cake and jam, really polite and helpful staff, room was clean and spacious and bathroom spotless

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gordana Tasner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 January 2012 Gordana would recommend this property

Liked: Liked boy at the reception who was very helpfull, clean toilets

Disliked: Gordana left no negative feedback.


See all Penang hostels