HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Huttonlodge Penang Hostel

No. 17 Jalan Hutton off Penang Road, Penang, Malaysia

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 74%

Location 92%

Safety 86%

Staff 83%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Board Games
  • Common Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 4.50USD

Important Information

6% GST and Penang Local Government Fee of RM2/room/night will be charged on arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Penang?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 74%

Location 92%

Safety 86%

Staff 83%

Value 77%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good value, but could easily improve

Disliked: No mosquito net, (and no net in front of window) No fan, and plenty mosquitos. In stead of spraying they should close the bottom of the door where they get in. Cleaning could be better and breakfast is just toast with tea/coffee. Unstable & slow wi-fi

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: All...

Disliked: Nothin'

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Goede locatieDiverse tourmogelijkhedenOntbijtSchoon

Disliked: GehorigWeinig sfeer

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We loved the beautiful old bungalow tucked in around larger buildings and that is was nonsmoking and you had to take your shoes off in the Asian style. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The whole lobby area was so bright and beautiful.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: nothing much

Disliked: We have stayed at the Hutton Lodge on 3 occasions, but we won't be staying there again when in Penang. The place has really deteriorated since our last visit. The building appeared to be neglected and the staff not up to the previous standard.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The cleanliness throughout was superb especially the toilet and shower block.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, offer simple breakfast, easy to get to the main parts of town.

Disliked: The Directions on the website could be a little more descriptive, the property map is a little misleading as the property actually about half way down Hutton Lane whereas it looks like it is off Penang Road. There is some tourist info on a board display, however I asked for a tourist map from reception and was provided with a food guide in Chinese (I think).

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The room had air-con. The man at the front desk was helpful when we needed to make enquiries about trains to Bangkok as he called the station for us. When we left the hostel our taxi left without us and he drove us to the airport! They provided a basic breakfast of toast and banana bread each day. The location was good for the buses and the night life.

Disliked: The place needed some TLC! There were a lot of mosquitoes in the room as there were shutter windows and no curtains. Our room was the furthest it could possibly be from the bathroom, the longest distance we have had to go at any hostel we have stayed.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location. Very clean.

Disliked: No atmosphere and a little over priced.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean and friendly environment, very helpfull staff, great location at the city center of Georgetown

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability