HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Melaka, Malaysia

Old Town Guesthouse 95%

1. Old Town Guesthouse

Guesthouse
119-1, Jalan Temenggong

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 95%

Location 88%

Safety 99%

Staff 97%

Value 97%

20 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Old Town Guesthouse

14 Feb 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break

Chua, the manager, was incredibly kind and went out of his way to be helpful to me. The guesthouse is very clean (one of the cleanest I have ever stayed out) and even though it's on a busy road, is very quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the water pressure was outstanding. It's in Little India and about a 5 minute walk from the Old Town, which I liked because it let me see the real Melaka. There are some great restaurants nearby. I would enthusiastically recommend this place!

would recommend this property

16 Dec 2013 91%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

The man who runs it was very helpful.

would recommend this property

Read all Old Town Guesthouse reviews
Apa Kaba Home&Stay 92%

2. Apa Kaba Home&Stay

Guesthouse
28, Kampung Banda Kaba

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 88%

Location 84%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

123 out of 129 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Apa Kaba Home&Stay

07 Jun 2016 97%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

Everything. Especially the breakfast!

would recommend this property

09 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Family Holiday

Ok

would recommend this property

Read all Apa Kaba Home&Stay reviews
River One Residence 90%

3. River One Residence

Hostel
60-62, Jalan Kampung Pantai

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 83%

Location 99%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 96%

18 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend River One Residence

18 Sep 2015 77%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Location is excellent, walking distance to all there is to see in Melaka. Situated on the riverside and common area overlooks river so makes for nice views. Easy check in. Plenty of bathrooms which are clean. Small but perfectly adequate rooms. Cheap price

would recommend this property

15 Feb 2015 66%
Travel Type: As a family with children
Trip Type: Shopping

I like the location. The room is simple, acceptable. The 2nd level is great, overseeing the river - just as seen on your website.

would recommend this property

Read all River One Residence reviews
Tonys Guesthouse 90%

4. Tonys Guesthouse

Guesthouse
24, Lorong Banda kaba, off Loring Bukit cina

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 91%

Staff 97%

Value 94%

48 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tonys Guesthouse

21 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers

Everything was awesome! The host and hostesses are wonderful human beings. They are very helpful. A big plus is the cycles available for hire! Highly recommended to all!

would recommend this property

08 Dec 2015 71%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Very basic, but great value for money. in Little India and very close to the famous Satay place.

would recommend this property

Read all Tonys Guesthouse reviews
Bala's Place 89%

5. Bala's Place

Hostel
77 Jalan Hang Kasturi

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 76%

Location 100%

Safety 91%

Staff 98%

Value 87%

9 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bala's Place

31 May 2015 89%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

I liked the very relaxed and authentic atmosphere and the place's quietness. Very basic, but really clean.

would recommend this property

07 Mar 2015 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year City break Sightseeing & culture

- location: at the heart of Chinatown and at 2min from Yonker Street- Bala - the owner - was really friendly and helpful! His staff as well, which contributed to make the place very convivialI really enjoyed my stay there and can only but recommend it!

would recommend this property

Read all Bala's Place reviews
Jalan-Jalan Emas 89%

6. Jalan-Jalan Emas

Hostel
8, Jalan Tukang Emas

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 81%

Location 96%

Safety 86%

Staff 90%

Value 93%

91 out of 96 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Jalan-Jalan Emas

06 Apr 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

The staff were very helpful and friendly. I loved the ambience, and the use of the fridge and clotheslines were a nice surprise!

would recommend this property

04 Oct 2015 83%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Nice simple hostel, it has indeed and atmosphere for backpacking. Beds are comfortable and the staff friendly.

would recommend this property

Read all Jalan-Jalan Emas reviews
Ringos Foyer Guest House 89%

7. Ringos Foyer Guest House

Hostel
46-A Jln Portugis

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 90%

Staff 94%

Value 94%

93 out of 102 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ringos Foyer Guest House

05 Feb 2016 74%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

Value for money.

would recommend this property

24 Dec 2015 74%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

the place is well located with lots of food options at its door steps

Read all Ringos Foyer Guest House reviews
Discovery Cafe & Guest House 82%

8. Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Hostel
No. 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Malacca

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 75%

Location 97%

Safety 68%

Staff 88%

Value 87%

9 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Discovery Cafe & Guest House

29 Feb 2016 83%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 31-40

Met John at check in, who is easily the nicest person in all of Malaysia. Very friendly, helpful at check in, carried my luggage and gave me good tips on the area and what to do.

would recommend this property

18 Sep 2015 94%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

Extremely helpful staff. Good insider tips to Melaka.

would recommend this property

Read all Discovery Cafe & Guest House reviews
Sayang Sayang 2 Hostel 78%

9. Sayang Sayang 2 Hostel

Hostel
9 Jalan Bunga Raya

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 73%

Location 88%

Safety 79%

Staff 80%

Value 84%

14 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sayang Sayang 2 Hostel

21 Apr 2014 66%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

Location.

10 Feb 2014 69%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

it is a self-help hostel for traveller, easy doing and friendly for new people. Location is close to center area and easy to find also. Good wifi. With free drinking water, some free snacks. The boss Mike is a very funny and humous and friendly person.

would recommend this property

Read all Sayang Sayang 2 Hostel reviews
Fernloft Melaka - The Heritage Hostel 74%

10. Fernloft Melaka - The Heritage Hostel

Hostel
24, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 60%

Location 94%

Safety 86%

Staff 71%

Value 83%

5 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Fernloft Melaka - The Heritage Hostel

30 May 2016 49%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 41+

Convenient location

22 Mar 2016 54%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Air-conditioning and fans in dorm. Good location. Good security.

Read all Fernloft Melaka - The Heritage Hostel reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melaka?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Melaka hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Melaka. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Melaka

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Melaka. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!