HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malacca hostels

Reviews of Troka Prewar Residence

Guesthouse | 7 JALAN BUKIT CINA, Malacca, Malaysia 57100

93.9% Overall Rating

20 out of 20 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

Euan Proud thinks…

"Such friendly and helpful staff, kuzman who owns the the place was so great, he even went out and bought our bus tickets, he told us about the city and suggested eating options etc. The hostel is…"

Read all Troka Prewar Residence reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malacca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malacca

Apa Kaba Home&Stay
6.32 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 217 reviews
Old Town Guesthouse
5.53 USD

Guesthouse 95.0% 55 reviews
Yellow Mansion Hostel
4.11 USD

Hostel 75.0% 4 reviews
Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel
7.11 USD

Hostel 78.3% 19 reviews
Discovery Guesthouse
4.74 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 26 reviews
Hallmark Inn Hotel
20.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Riverone Residence
8.37 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 15 reviews
Cyclamen Cottage
15.80 USD

Guesthouse 92.7% 47 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

20 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Troka Prewar Residence'

Atmosphere
94.0%
Location
87.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
89.0%
Staff
99.0%
Value
98.0%
Safety
98.0%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 20 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Euan Proud

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Euan would recommend this property

Liked: Such friendly and helpful staff, kuzman who owns the the place was so great, he even went out and bought our bus tickets, he told us about the city and suggested eating options etc. The hostel is near everything you would want to see in china town and the river and near the bus stop for getting there from sentral.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is perfect

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emily Peacock

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and a great atmosphere. Free breakfast of toast and tea/coffee.

Disliked: Could be cleaner and the toilets/ shower doors don't close very well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LIRU WANG

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 LIRU would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoy our time staying there,the staff are friendly and helpful.We all like the free breakfrest.It、s simply but delicious.the house is easy to find,and near all the scenery spot.We will be back.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jan Vogel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast, nice familiy atmosphere, helpfull staff, great price, guitar and bass to play for free

Disliked: beds could be more comfortable

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliwia Nowak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Oliwia would recommend this property

Liked: When staying in Troka, it turned out I am the only guest that night so Kuzman from the reception offered to show me around Malacca which turned out to be a great sightseeing-cultural-culinary experience. Even though I was there for one night only, I had a lovely time. I think the reception/cafe space is wonderful, you can feel nice atmosphere of the place. The room was nice, they give towels - could be a little bit more spacious but I had a dorm for myself so couldn't complain about the lack of space. If I ever returned to Melakka, I would certainly choose Troka once again.

Disliked: Oliwia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice host, good location not far from main attractions. Quiet nights.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are really nice, and the breakfast was also good(he specially offered traditional Malaysian food). The location is around 'little india' and Sterning Hotel, so it was easy to find. My friend is so picky that she can't bear bad places, but she liked here. And we saved money a lot. This place is cheaper than what it provides.

Disliked: Even though there was an aircon, the room was a little bit hot. But it's cool outside so you keep the window opened. Bath room was not nice, but 1st floor's one was good(I only used the one on the 2nd floor.)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Thoma

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, quiet, and really helpful staff. Good place to discover Malacca!

Disliked: Andreas left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

dilek gonuc

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 dilek would recommend this property

Liked: staff was amazing..friendly..helpfull..ı was really happy here..breakfast was fine

Disliked: dilek left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, free drinking water, free breakfast with nutella

Disliked: just one shower/bathroom on the upper floor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rizky Pratama Adhi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2014 Rizky would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful

Disliked: While we were ther, the shower room was insecurely unlock because the door was a little bit broken

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Weik

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Charming little hostel next to the center. Very friendly and helpful stuff

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the new owners are great people but they must increase the standarts. the hostel needs maintenance and new equipments. in case of late response to necessarities, negative feedbacks will start soon.

Disliked: nothing !!!!!!!!!!!!! (?)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was run by a lovely and warm family - Adam, his wife Aida and their son Daniel. Throughout our stay, they have been very helpful and hospitable. Place, despite dating back to prewar years, was nicely done up, and has plenty of character! Location was brilliant as well, just a few minutes' walk away from Jonker Street. Would definitely recommend this place who are opting for an excellent budget accommodation during their stay in Malacca.

Disliked: Nothing, loved it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, new budget accomodation in a historical building. The hostel owners are very friendly and helpful. Free wifi, breakfast and towels. I would recommend this hostel for anyone who is looking for a quiet and relaxed stay.

Disliked: Of course, you can always find something that could be improved, but If you consider the great price for one dorm bed, there is nothing in particular to criticize here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordi Mogas Recalde

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

04 November 2013 Jordi would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the stay in Troka during 1 week. The staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. All the services we need are included in the cheap price (breakfast, linen, towel). And also they offer other services to be thankful, for example the new bikes to rent and the tasty food they do such as the portuguese egg tarts. I recommend this hostel! PD: I slept in the 4 and in the 8 beds bedrooms; for me was better the 8 beds one.

Disliked: Jordi left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sabina Pilat

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: Place with the character, clean, bright and friendly. It's really nice that you get free tea, coffe and breakfast! Close to the main attractions of Melaca. Stuff was really nice and helpful. If I come to Melaca again, definetely I will stay in this place. I loved instant noodle soup in the middle of the night, when I got really hungry :)

Disliked: Small rooms, no place for backpacks, it's ok when you stay just 1 or 2 nights. very hot at night especially on the lower beds.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

hock guan koh

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 March 2013 hock guan would recommend this property

Liked: the price for single room and dormitory including Breakfast is very reasonable and valuable. 4 bed Dormitory with fan is also okay. There is also a food beverage bar and spacious living room for backpacker. location is also not too far from jonker street. rating is not too bad for a backpacker hostel.

Disliked: hock guan left no negative feedback.


See all Malacca hostels