HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malacca hostels

Reviews of Backpacker's Freak Hostel

Hostel | 1-25/3-25 (1st & 3rd Floor), Jalan PM2, Malacca, Malaysia 75000

78.1% Overall Rating

71 out of 82 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/05/2014)

Justin Liew thinks…

"Good value for money- clean rooms, hot water, and decent Wi-Fi for a cheap price. Very close to many tourist attractions e.g. malls, Jonker Street, and museums."

Read all Backpacker's Freak Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Gym
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malacca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malacca

Travellers Planet Hotel & Guest house
7.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Travelers Hostel
6.16 USD

Hostel 83.6% 8 reviews
AJIT GUEST HOUSE & HOTEL
7.27 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Tony's Guesthouse
5.21 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 154 reviews
Bala's Place
7.90 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 8 reviews
Jalan-Jalan Guest House
5.06 USD

Hostel 90.3% 151 reviews
Budget Lodge
8.22 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Yellow Mansion Hostel
4.11 USD

Hostel 75.0% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

71 out of 82 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpacker's Freak Hostel'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 78 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SU-FEN WANG

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 SU-FEN would recommend this property

Liked: Yes!

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Justin Liew

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money- clean rooms, hot water, and decent Wi-Fi for a cheap price. Very close to many tourist attractions e.g. malls, Jonker Street, and museums.

Disliked: Room was very stuffy as air-con wasn't working. (Triple Room).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

CHUN LAM LEE

Alone

City break

15 April 2014 CHUN LAM would recommend this property

Liked: private room with budget

Disliked: CHUN LAM left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014

Liked: it is situated perfectly to explore the City.

Disliked: Dirty and noisy room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to historical landmarks

Disliked: Squat toilets on the second and third floor

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 December 2013

Liked: The manager had spent some time in Australia so it was nice to hear him talking about his experiences there over breakfast. The girls who were there when I checked in were also really nice, I think they lived there too.

Disliked: Well, considering the pictures on Hostelbookers, it was nothing like I expected. Fairly old and musty, not much atmosphere at all and the bed didn't feel too hygienic.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap.

Disliked: Owner unfriendly and rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eka Laila Kamindang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Eka Laila would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very strategic. It's near by the Heritage. I really enjoyed stay at this Hostel. Oh, the guy or maybe the owner, Sean, he's so friendly and cool.

Disliked: Nothing dislike.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maciej Wojcik

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2013 Maciej would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location. Friendly staff. Very cheap rooms.

Disliked: Tiny room with no windows, but given the price was worth it anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clariza Look

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Clariza would recommend this property

Liked: Their front desk staff is very friendly and assisted us with our late booking.

Disliked: Nothing. I really enjoyed my stay there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nattaput Prathan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013 Nattaput would recommend this property

Liked: Very good. Have breakfast. Staff is Discuss good. Room clean. Safety. Nearby christ church and malaka square you can walk.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: maybe it's cleanness.

Disliked: near the road ,it's too noise

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Massimo Rivetti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2013 Massimo would recommend this property

Liked: Basic place, neither exceptionally good nor bad. I would go back.

Disliked: Massimo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Thanks Peter. He's the best. Very friendly and helpfully.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dmitriy Pavlov

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Dmitriy would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap hostel in good location. Shawn is really cool personable guy.

Disliked: Threadbare carpets all over the place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rina Luciane Manuhutu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2013 Rina Luciane would recommend this property

Liked: clean, the staff very helpfull. cheap. easy to find. near to tourist area. if I go back to melacca someday I will stay there again. very recomended

Disliked: nothing. the best property for backpacker.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very nice and helpful.

Disliked: wifi was pretty weak on our floor (1st floor)

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: doghair everywhere, boozed up host, no receipt, bad smell, bad rooms, bad sanitation. Most of all the host was horrific..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WORAPAT TONGHONG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2013 WORAPAT would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff , near melaka megamall , can take bus no.17 to melaka sentral at the front of door

Disliked: WORAPAT left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Backpacker's freak hostel located at strategic location and can find the hostel easily. The host is very helpful and friendly. He upgraded my room to double room (though I was alone) with air-cond when he noted that I was sick on arrival and allowed me to check-in earlier. Besides, the hostel stay is value for money.

Disliked: The room is abit noisy without wifi coverage.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very helpful

Disliked: noisy in dorms

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Martin Berg Hansen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2013 Martin Berg would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: The rooms are really small, and the walls are so thin that you can hear abolutely everything that is going in the other rooms in the same floor. The common area was not so good. No one was hanging out there except the owners while we where there.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Joanne Lee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: The central location to the main tourist spots - very convenient.

Disliked: The toilet and bathroom..

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2012

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: The owner has a serious alcohol problem. We heard him vomitting three nights in a row. One night there was an argue with a guest. I don't know the details but the police came to settle the situation. The room was clean but the kitchen and toilet where very dirty. It is very noisy. The worst hostel in six months while traveling in asia. Pay a little more and go somewhere else.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, place feels safe and it's pretty clean. Free coffee and tea is always nice!

Disliked: When I arrived, the owner was asleep (2 PM) and would not wake up (took me about 10 minutes to wake him), when he woke up he was extremely rude and grumpy, told me my booking was for the day before (which it was not), and would not apologize when I showed him my reservation. Honestly, I was shocked with the unhelpfullness and rudeness. When I came back later to check in, he was much nicer and more helpful. He should definitely try to work on his behaviour when he wakes up!


See all Malacca hostels