HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malacca hostels

Reviews of Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel

Hostel | 9 Jalan Bunga Raya, Malacca, Malaysia 75100

78.4% Overall Rating

14 out of 19 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/02/2014)

"Very cheap and a good location - easy walking distance to the main "strip" of things to see."

Read all Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 110.26

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malacca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malacca

Riverone Residence
7.56 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 15 reviews
Tony's Guesthouse
5.20 USD

Guesthouse 88.0% 152 reviews
Yellow Mansion Hostel
4.10 USD

Hostel 75.0% 4 reviews
Old Town Guesthouse
5.51 USD

Guesthouse 95.0% 55 reviews
Discovery Guesthouse
4.73 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 26 reviews
Bala's Place
7.88 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 8 reviews
Galileo Guesthouse
13.86 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Jalan-Jalan Guest House
5.04 USD

Hostel 90.4% 150 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

14 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
69.5%
Location
88.4%
Facilities
72.6%
Cleanliness
74.7%
Staff
80.0%
Value
84.2%
Safety
79.0%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 19 reviews
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Bathroom facilities are poor.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap and a good location - easy walking distance to the main "strip" of things to see.

Disliked: You get what you pay for in a shared room - very basic accomodation. Thin mattress on the ground in an attic-like space (low ceilings). Bathrooms were downstairs.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

LIN HAI YING

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 LIN would recommend this property

Liked: it is a self-help hostel for traveller, easy doing and friendly for new people. Location is close to center area and easy to find also. Good wifi. With free drinking water, some free snacks. The boss Mike is a very funny and humous and friendly person.

Disliked: no work stuff at night on duty, though the boss Mike stay there at night but he is not always there, when dark night comes all work stuff disappear...feel a little bit lonely if travelling there alone...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

aditya dewi damayanti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break

03 February 2014 aditya dewi would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very strategic. I like it!

Disliked: I don't like the shower, it's not user friendly. There's no dust bin in room, so you better using plastic bag to put the rubbish.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Julian David Hefter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 May 2013

Liked: location was okay, interesting room, nice decoration

Disliked: There are no showers, all you get is a toilet with a small shower inside where it was always smelly and there was no room, you basically have to sit on the toilet in order to shower. When we complained, we were told that this is the way it is in Malaysia. We insisted and showed the man at the reception the pictures on hostelbookers. Finally he he showed us a bathroom at the back of the building although his wife (?) yelled at him. It was similar to the bathroom in the picture but was obviously not for the use of all guests. The woman at the reception was very unfriendly in general and was onyl starring at us when we came past. Our room was not clean, very dusty Very bad expierience

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013

Liked: Strongly not recommend this hostel. 1. Not YHA standard 2. Worst condition about the shower room, which was actually the bathroom 3. A worst singer from the bar next to the hostel would singe to 12:30 in the midnight, would make you go crazy.

Disliked: Everything, except that the reception boy was actually friendly.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

TSAI HSIAOYI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013

Liked: LocaI、Slightly stale。

Disliked: Space narrow

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicole Preiss

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013

Liked: The location is great! The staff is helpfull and friendly!

Disliked: I stayed in the dorm...maybe the private rooms are ok, but this! NO! Entering the room it smells humid, there are no windows and moving my matrace a cockroach ran away from me! In the picture they made the room look nice...it is not like this! No tables, the white wall is stained by spots from probably water leaks! Also. when people talk in the reception you can hear everything!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything abt this property especially about the room..very nice concept!it was really a great stay!absolutely worth the money!

Disliked: The toilet was very small but it was clean..That's the only drawback for this place..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff! for that price its a no good value for money.

Disliked: not as clean as if could have been..but ok no electricity to charge or work with your laptop some sope would have been nice for washing hands

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, everything worked well!

Disliked: There was a group of school children staying who were noisy and annoying. I was told by locals this is a common occurrence.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nick Hopwood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2012 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting rooms, beds on mezzine levels up a pretty steep ladder, but fun. The rooms at the front have shutters and small balconies, probably better than the ones further inside. Nice old building. Super fast free wi-fi. Lovely staff with a warm and friendly welcome. Bike hire. Great location very close to Chinatown where there are markets on Fri and Sat nights. The bar/cafe a few doors down on the corner will sort out onward travel and taxis to the bus station etc.

Disliked: The toilet cubicles on level two double as the showers and are very small. If you're sensitive to noise, the front rooms get the live music from the bar/cafe on the corner until 10.30pm. It didn't bother me at all but it's worth noting.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kartik Kannan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012 Kartik would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the main shopping district and closer to landmarks

Disliked: I had room no 7. It faces the road and the windows don't have curtains. So whenever me or my wife dress/undress in the lower half of the room, the whole world outside the window gets to watch potentially. Just makes it a little uncomfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and clean! The bunked beds are a cool concept. The location was great- easy walking distance to historical China Town, the Clcok Tower and Studhys, etc.

Disliked: The room we were originally placed in had windows that didn't go all the way up to the top and as a result there were hordes of mosquitoes to contend with. Luckily the manager was super nice and understanding and placed us in another (windowless) room. Bathrooms are not attached, which is a mild annoyance but no biggie.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: マラッカの中心地のクロックタワー広場やチャイナタウンに近く、立地条件は非常に良かったです。スタッフの方も親切でした。また、ドミトリーは2段ベッドではなく、床に敷く布団タイプでしたので、修学旅行のような雰囲気で楽しかったです。

Disliked: 角のレストランでライブミュージック(カラオケ?)の演奏が12時位まで聞こえるので、早寝の人には煩わしいかもしれません。

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Josephine Worseck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Josephine would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff is very,very friendly! Much more than just a "good"!

Disliked: Of the 8bed dorm would have been full, it would be hard to Walk to your bed...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Love the unique concept. In my opinion, it is the main attraction of this hostel. Friendly and helpful staff. Changed our rooms at no additional charge. Allowed us to checkout late as we were stuck in the rain at another part of town.

Disliked: The pillows were not fluffy enough, kinda like non-existent. Deco can be a little too minimalistic at times. Located right at a busy street so can be quiet noisy at times if your room is near the road. Certain areas can be a little dark and could use some extra lights.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dillysul Cal

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Dillysul would recommend this property

Liked: very accommodating; friendly;clean place...good food :)

Disliked: none----

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms with double layered concept. Air con was awesome too.

Disliked: The neighbouring cafe had really loud live music and ended only at 1am. Not the hostel's fault but still grating.


See all Malacca hostels