We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malacca hostels

Reviews of Sayang-Sayang Guest House

Guesthouse | No.16, Jalan Kampung Hulu, 75100 Melaka, Malacca, Malaysia 75100

75.0% Overall Rating

26 out of 34 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/10/2012)

huu phuoc phan thinks…

"location, riverside , u should take a short walk along the riverside in the night, very impressive . the receptionist man is very friendly and helpful."

Read all Sayang-Sayang Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malacca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malacca

Ringo's Foyer Guest House
4.57 USD

Hostel 90.1% 270 reviews
Jalan-Jalan Guest House
4.88 USD

Hostel 90.3% 151 reviews
Bala's Place
7.62 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 8 reviews
Riverone Residence
7.32 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 15 reviews
Hallmark Hotel Leisure
36.59 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Tony's Guesthouse
5.03 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 157 reviews
Discovery Guesthouse
4.57 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 26 reviews
Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel
8.38 USD

Hostel 78.3% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.0%

Overall Rating

26 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sayang-Sayang Guest House'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 34 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 April 2014

Liked: Safe, door was locked at all times

Disliked: Waited 1 hour for staff to come back so I could check in. No kitchen and very little common area to meet other travellers. Disappointing because Melacca is small to begin with.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

aina tamarit clapers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014 aina would recommend this property

Liked: the guy who is working is so friendly and if he can help you he do it

Disliked: the comun room is small

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013

Liked: The room quite good

Disliked: The toilet is not clean

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value the money

Disliked: Not really clean

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

huu phuoc phan

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 huu phuoc would recommend this property

Liked: location, riverside , u should take a short walk along the riverside in the night, very impressive . the receptionist man is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: in the night when it' raining, there was very much water on the floor and we could not sleep. we don't know where did the water come from ??? u should not take the dorm room, private room is only more 2usd but more better

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

brouazin anais

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 brouazin would recommend this property

Liked: nice, clean, not a bid dorm because it's separate, good location, staff

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, they were always cleaning too. Right on the River, beautiful.

Disliked: No cooking facilities/ microwave etc. No fridge. Room locks were a bit flimsy, but staff were always there.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: no windows in the room as it was not stated in the advertisement nsecure locks to bedroom walls were thin noise in the corridor dangerous steps going up to the bed - double room nsufficient and poorly placed electric points unappealing washing facilitiies as we had to pay RMB 4/kg toilet and shower facilities were combined

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location by the river, private rooms were compact and quirky with the split level bed above the sofa area. Short walk into the centre of the town and you can also walk along the river which is pretty at night. A good place to stay if you are looking for a budget hostel in Malacca.

Disliked: The bathroom area was not ideal but fine for a few nights.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

25 October 2011

Liked: It's a cheap hostel near tourist attractions

Disliked: Poor restroom door (rusty) and not clean.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011

Liked: location just is riverside!

Disliked: Too mucj mosquitos! curtain is too small to cover for view between bed. in domi. their room is too small , and not enough shower and toillet to share.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff and the riverside behinde the hostel

Disliked: Although I know that there will be no window offer and share bathroom, but we still feel uncomfortable with the accommodations.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice cosy room.......nice location by the river.......very good value for money........nice staff

Disliked: No cable TV only dvds.........communal room in reception area........pay extra for towels and tea coffee.........no bbq!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Drew Brightfield

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011

Liked: rooms were cool and unique. pretty good location.

Disliked: bathrooms were... in word... disgusting. hotel was full of kids. we only stayed one night but that was plenty

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly. Good location - not far from Jonker street. You can see the canel from the back of the Hostel. The room is clean and very nice.

Disliked: n/a

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good. close to all scenic spots. the backyard is by the river.

Disliked: no a/c for the dorm.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Si Jia Yan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2011 Si Jia would recommend this property

Liked: i love sayang sayang.all of sayang sayang is good.even they dont have ac in dorm.but if u feel hot they also will open.the staff is nice.friendly.helpful.n they will give u useful suggestion.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really good, in Chinatown, we could go wherever we wanted on foot. The room was really small but nice with air conditioning (a must as it is really hot outside) and the mattress was actually really comfortable compared to other hostels we stayed at in Malaysia! The hostel also has services such as bike tours/rentals and laundry service which can be quite useful!

Disliked: The only 2 minus points were those: 1) it seemed that the bed linen in our room hadn't been changed before we checked in. But the staff was really nice and saw to that directly after we went to tell them. 2) the shower is in the same room as the toilet so you actually have your shower in the toilet which is a bit uncomfortable, and the shower was not really clean either. But we had nice hot water 24h a day which is good!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lisa Firth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy little rooms with sofaand bed side light

Disliked: No decent communal area

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, in the centre of Malacca and the staff is very friendly. And you cant rent a bicycle.

Disliked: Didn't like the open walls. It's very noise because you can hear everything (showers, people coming home late, etc.) and it's still warm in the dorm with the fans.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean. Friendly and helpful staff. good location, just by the nice river, The private room was really nice, highly recomended! The dorm was nice, clean and very comfortable beds!

Disliked: The dorm was a huge room with around 25 beds, and because it was uppstairs made it very hot. It is only fans, and it didn't help so much. That was a problem for us, to warm to sleep.. And only 2 hot shower in the hole house, but because it was so warm you didn't want to take a hot shower so it wasen't really a problem for us. And the doors in 2 toilets were broken. And i would like a fridge, a bed lamp, and more plugs !

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adam garrard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2011 adam would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and creative use of room space. the staff was superb as was the owner always offering bike trips and city walk arounds.

Disliked: Seriously, my only issue was that the showers could have been warmer. But that by no means spoilt my visit.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, Cheap rooms, Friendly staff, free evening tours with the hostel staff on Mondays of the town and Tuesdays at the weekly night market.

Disliked: No window, loud machine noise during the evening (could possibly be the air con unit?) bathroom/shower/toilets not of a fantastic standard, but ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, laundry service, good free wifi. We stayed in a double room, which has a little couch and table and a lofted bed--great use of space. Didn't see the dorms. The location on the river is lovely, and there are plenty of places to eat on the back river walk.

Disliked: No real common area.


See all Malacca hostels