HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malacca hostels

Reviews of Old Town Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 119-1, Jalan Temenggong, Malacca, Malaysia 75000

95.0% Overall Rating

54 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2013)

Stacey Kim thinks…

"Staff was friendly and helpful. Even drove us to the bus station, as we were leaving on a late bus and let us use their facilities after check out."

Read all Old Town Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malacca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malacca

Yellow Mansion Hostel
4.00 USD

Hostel 75.0% 4 reviews
Little Rose Youth Home to Stay
3.69 USD

Hostel 86.2% 35 reviews
Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel
4.61 USD

Hostel 79.0% 18 reviews
Apa Kaba Home&Stay
6.15 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 205 reviews
Riverone Residence
6.15 USD

Guesthouse 93.9% 14 reviews
Discovery Guesthouse
6.15 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 26 reviews
Tony's Guesthouse
5.08 USD

Guesthouse 87.5% 151 reviews
Bala's Place
7.69 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

54 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Old Town Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
97.6%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 53 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emily Hansen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The man who runs it was very helpful.

Disliked: It isn't right in the center of the historic area, but close enough, and close to the bus stop that you will catch to get to the hostel from the bus terminal.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Justine Serrano

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and quit place. great location, staff is really nice!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cathie cocqueel

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 cathie would recommend this property

Liked: That was perfet !

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly welcome, location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stacey Kim

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly and helpful. Even drove us to the bus station, as we were leaving on a late bus and let us use their facilities after check out.

Disliked: Stacey left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, it was clean and great value for money, plus we had a really late check-in and were greeted with a hospitable smile.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It feels like home.

Disliked: No bad comments

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

VICTOR ANTROPOV

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2012 VICTOR would recommend this property

Liked: It's a best hostel on my way. 4-bed dorm, personal beside table, lamp, safe and electricity socket. Helpful staff, kitchen, fast wi-fi, breakfast and other nice fetures.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When i booked on hostel bookers there was only 2 nights available so i emailed the owner and told them me and my partner wanted to stay 6 nights and they said it absolutely fine. When we arrived the lady showed us to our room and she said because we were staying longer she had given us a bigger room. and it was very big which i thought was very nice of her. The family run guesthouse is in a good location only a 5 minute walk from china town and jonker street. It is quiet at night so we actually get a good nights sleep here. There are lounge areas where you can sit and watch films which is nice and good kitchen facilities. Basic breakfast of toast, butter, jam etc and fruit. Really nice guesthouse and really felt at home here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liz Lomax

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Liz would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed two nights Feb 2012. Lovely friendly owners, great facilities (full kitchen, tv/dvd, free wifi, free breakfast, towels provided, multiple chill out areas), very clean throughout and communal areas are very spacious. Really appreciated how quiet it was at night too - no rowdy late night revellers!

Disliked: In hindsight, some of the places in Chinatown (Harmony St) are probably a bit more atmospheric and closer to the action, but Old Town is still a lovely hostel and only 5 mins walk down to Town Square and China Town anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john O'Brien

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 john would recommend this property

Liked: A family run hostel/guesthouse which is reflected in the very affordable rates and excellent service provided! Breakfast was very complete with tea, coffee, toast, fruit, treats, huge selection of jams, etc. Also a guest fridge to store small amounts of your own food/drinks, but also you can buy beers, juices, soft drinks etc for reasonable prices. Very well located, walking distance to everything. Shower was great and toilets clean. Wifi very good. Secure accommodation. Also, just make sure when you get the bus from Melaka Sentral station that you sit near the front of the bus if possible and remind the driver that you want to get off at Bukit Cina... even though we did this he still managed to forget and left us past the stop and we had to walk back. It was worth it though when we arrived to our lovely airconditioned double room! Very relaxing place to stay!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannes Vollmer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2010 Hannes would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay!

Disliked: Hannes left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: homelike and cosy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rustem Khamitov

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2010 Rustem would recommend this property

Liked: A very homey place. Really liked it, thanks))

Disliked: Rustem left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the owners were friendly and helpful

Disliked: thw shower had no water pressure, thus the water only trickled out of its head!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a very clean and cozy guesthouseeasy to go sightseeingfull of tasty food in the areanice staff members

Disliked: the location is a little bit far away from the central bus station

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Family Run Hostel! Internet was great and everything was clean.

Disliked: Air conditioning is an extra cost of 10 ringit per hour.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Massimo Vespignani

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2010 Massimo would recommend this property

Liked: Very familiar and friendly atmosphere. Very clean rooms, good breakfast, nice common area. Great value for money.

Disliked: Massimo left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Family atmosphere

Disliked: On a main road, so noisy- take ear plugs

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rayendra Yudhika

25 June 2010 Rayendra would recommend this property

Liked: makes me feel like at home... really nice place !

Disliked: Rayendra left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hosts who even made a delicious dinner for everyone to share and enjoy together.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great family run hostel, very helpful and happy to help. Everything was very clean and great value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely experience living with a family and our host repeatedly brought up local Malaysian foods for us to try and pass around. A really unique Guesthouse. We really recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeannette jasmes

25 March 2010 jeannette would recommend this property

Liked: all the best for them because they deserve it.They give all what we need when we travel.

Disliked: jeannette left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

william hendra

17 March 2010 william would recommend this property

Liked: generally i like old town guesthouse in melaka, they are one of the reasons i'll visit melaka someday in the future. thank you for you kindness and hospitality. it's nice to meet you all there.

Disliked: william left no negative feedback.


See all Malacca hostels