We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malacca hostels

Reviews of Old Town Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 119-1, Jalan Temenggong, Malacca, Malaysia 75000

95.0% Overall Rating

54 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/02/2013)

Stacey Kim thinks…

"Staff was friendly and helpful. Even drove us to the bus station, as we were leaving on a late bus and let us use their facilities after check out."

Read all Old Town Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malacca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malacca

Yellow Mansion Hostel
3.96 USD

Hostel 75.0% 4 reviews
Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel
8.38 USD

Hostel 78.3% 19 reviews
Apa Kaba Home&Stay
6.10 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 221 reviews
Riverone Residence
7.32 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 15 reviews
Discovery Guesthouse
4.57 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 26 reviews
Tony's Guesthouse
5.03 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 157 reviews
Bala's Place
7.62 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 8 reviews
Hallmark Inn Hotel
39.64 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

54 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Old Town Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.0%
Value
97.6%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 53 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna Masset

08 March 2010 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: Might be the best place to stay in Melaka, the owners are really nice, fliendly and helpfull. you really feel at home !! We even stayed longer in Melaka just because of this GREAT Great Guest House ! So stop looking for another place, book it now !!!

Disliked: Johanna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this is a family hostel run by a friendly and helpful young couple who understand what backpackers need as they were once backpackers... they go all out to help you with any need you may have or any information you may need....the location is central and place is kept spotless at all time....I have no hesitation recommending this place to anyone...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carly Lloyd

28 February 2010 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel can only be described as wonderful-it is a real pleasure to have stayed here. As the hostel doubles at the home of it's owner's, there is a very welcoming feel throughout your stay. The owners also run the guest house and put so much care into ensuring that you have an enjoyable stay with them-I couldnt reccomend this hostel highly enough! Plus, the free breakfast, internet access, wifi access and drinking water all combined with the very reasonable rates (with tens of dvd's to chose from to watch also) makes this guest house one of the very best i have stayed in during my 13month travels! -we even extended our stay there from 2 nights to 4 nights as we enjoyed it so much! Melaka is a quiet area, with a really relaxing feel to it.

Disliked: Carly left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Old town guesthouse is one of the very reasonable guest house.Familiar owenres and clean and large house will host you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tania lewis

07 February 2010 tania would recommend this property

Liked: best place if you just want to sit back and chill. good selection of dvd's.

Disliked: tania left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good atmosphere, spacious common places. clean and relaxing place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristian Kellner

04 February 2010 Kristian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean place! Helpful staff!

Disliked: Kristian left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dianne Javier

29 January 2010 Dianne would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is fantastic and the atmosphere was very friendly! Loved my room and the a/c. I'd definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Dianne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DIMITRIS BASIAS

29 January 2010 DIMITRIS would recommend this property

Liked: Without exaggeration, one of the coziest places I've ever stayed at.

Disliked: DIMITRIS left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katharine Larkin

14 January 2010 Katharine would recommend this property

Liked: It's amazingly cheap, clean and a very pleasant place to stay. Its very calm and peaceful; a great sanctuary from the bustle of outside. The breakfast is great, with little treats each morning, as is free internet. I'm very glad I found it and would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Katharine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Theuermeister

12 January 2010 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice owners, friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Nevitt

11 January 2010 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: this place was recommended to me and i am so glad i stayed. In over a year of travel i think this is the best hostel i have stayed at. You feel like a welcome guest in the owners home. The owners were extremely helpful, the place was spotlessly clean with new showers etc. There is a huge airy room with free internet use. I stayed in a dorm which was a huge room with 4 beds in, not a bunk bed in sight.

Disliked: Louise left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruce Graham

09 January 2010 Bruce would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are on site all the time ready to assist you with travel arrangements or anything else that you may need. The shared bathrooms are spotless and the place is airy and bright.

Disliked: Bruce left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Chrisp

19 December 2009 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The Old Town Guesthouse was very clean and tidy, we felt very welcome from the moment we arrived. Has a great family atmosphere and we recommend lying on the big comfy couches and watching a movie (loads to choose from!!) Isnt to far from the main areas of Melaka and the infamous Jonker Walk!! Would stay again!!

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. Amazing facilities - free tea and coffee, computer usage, DVD watching, delicious breakfast. Great atmosphere - perfect for meeting people or just relaxing.Very well organised and run. Owners are extremely helpful and evidently more concerned about helping you out and making sure you have a good time rather than making a profit.Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Georg Kaiser

03 December 2009 Georg would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and friendly owners

Disliked: Georg left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Sopel

16 November 2009 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: very nice stay, a bit noisy though due to the street but i can't blame the owner for the ppl in the street! I highly recommend this place: clean, friendly and welcoming owners and most def value for money. cheers

Disliked: Nicolas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

best cecelia

01 November 2009 best would recommend this property

Liked: I love everything. Room was very comfy and cute. Ad huge common area and the place is very very clean

Disliked: best left no negative feedback.


See all Malacca hostels