We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malacca hostels

Reviews of Apa Kaba Home&Stay

Guesthouse | 28 Kampung Banda Kaba, Malacca, Malaysia 75000

93.1% Overall Rating

211 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

"Great atmosphere and staff. I love the grounds filled with vegetation and birds. Delicious breakfasts. Great value for the money."

Read all Apa Kaba Home&Stay reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Newspapers
  • Outside area
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malacca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malacca

Old Town Guesthouse
5.40 USD

Guesthouse 95.0% 55 reviews
Yellow Mansion Hostel
4.01 USD

Hostel 75.0% 4 reviews
Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel
6.95 USD

Hostel 78.3% 19 reviews
Riverone Residence
8.18 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 15 reviews
Tony's Guesthouse
5.10 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 157 reviews
Bala's Place
7.72 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 8 reviews
Discovery Guesthouse
4.63 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 26 reviews
Jalan-Jalan Guest House
4.94 USD

Hostel 90.3% 151 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.1%

Overall Rating

211 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Apa Kaba Home&Stay'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 190 of 212 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bernard Huis in 't Veld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Bernard would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and staff. I love the grounds filled with vegetation and birds. Delicious breakfasts. Great value for the money.

Disliked: There is little furniture in the rooms, but that is to be expected at a budget accomodation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was such a quaint and homely place - I felt entirely at home, and Kenny was a great host!

Disliked: Nothing at all, loved every single little detail :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tamon Nakaprawing

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Tamon would recommend this property

Liked: I like it ... make me feel at home. :) I recommend you guys to stay at this place if you like homestay and a place in the city. It has 2 entrances 1) From dutch square ...walk pass the St Francis Xavier church and golf club something and the parking lot and the village to homestay. 2.) From dutch square , u can walk pass department store, equitorial hotel and school it takes 15 mins. This way is more safe. u can walk from Dutch square to homestay. Staff is friendly and suggested me to go to Bandar Tasik Station which is easier to go to KL Sentral compared to going back to airport. Very helpful information. Thx

Disliked: Bed sheet is quite old but luckily it was clean. Actually, in night time it's quite dark in the entrance from the road to homestay. so it would be better if hostel has more lights. from the road to the homestay gate. However, i recommend this place.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and an awesome old malaysian house. Quiet clean!

Disliked: It is in walking distance to the sights of Malacca but it will take you 15 minutes to get there. Which is quiet a lot though the centre of Malacca isn't too big.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Carvalho

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

28 May 2014 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: Kenny is the best host possible. Very friendly guy who offers help when asked yet let's you have enough time to yourself. The rooms are clean and the free breakfast is out of this world. Can't imagine how he can offer such a good deal at such a low price! Don't think twice, pack up and head to APA kaba!

Disliked: We loved everything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susann Grametzki-Czech

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014 Susann would recommend this property

Liked: A typical Malayian guesthouse. Good breakfast, both sweet and Malayian style. Very clean. Even the shared bathrooms - although we had our private. Good WiFi. Very familiar. The Grandmother likes to talk to visitors - really great. You get to know a lot of things. Outside a special relaxing pavillon - also for smokers. Nice location to meet other travellers. The Trees and flowers outside are pretty. The poultry running outside were a kind of cinema. Go there and enjoy !!!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place filled with character. We loved the daily traditional Malay breakfast. My kids loved all the animals and trees on the property. The staff are extremely helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JIYEON CHUN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2014 JIYEON would recommend this property

Liked: clean, cozy, kind.

Disliked: far to city center

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Jost

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 February 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice owner! Helpfull and always with a smile! Good value for your money!

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and helpfull owner. Beautiful, old accomodation; very charasteristic.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Huang Qilin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 February 2014 Huang would recommend this property

Liked: The environment and atmosphere are awesome. I like the decoration and garden so much.

Disliked: The sound insulation of the house is not that good. The guests should be really careful lest we may bother others.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

yuantiao hu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2014 yuantiao would recommend this property

Liked: peace,beatiful,local malay style,very nice staff and renters.

Disliked: a little bit far from jonker street,but it is nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline van Baal

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: Authentic and peaceful place

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Dufty

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

28 December 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Great manager, top bloke.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very nice and helpful. Garden is nice. Breakfast is quite surprising and yummy.

Disliked: It's behind the high school and a bit far from joker street. We found it too dark and scary to walk in the evening, so we took taxi all the time.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet environment & nice breakfast

Disliked: Toilet is too small

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evi Ladurner

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013 Evi would recommend this property

Liked: There is a garden with comfortable seats. The breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Evi left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Buttinger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: the garden, friendly atmosphere, helpfull staff

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Doust

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, value and contact with ,ordinary people!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LIU NAN

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2013 LIU would recommend this property

Liked: walk about 10minutes to Jonker street. Very nice staff and perfect breakfast. Valued for stay. I will recommend my freind to choose here.

Disliked: Breakfast is a little late in morning if we must set up before 8:30 am.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and quiet accomodation in an old building in the center. Located in a huge garden with a peaceful village like surrounding. Really helpful and nice staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Buggins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Looking for a nice, clean quiet place to relax and found it! The owners are really nice and helpful. Its a real short walk to the markets and Jonker area.

Disliked: Nothing really, wasn't too pleased with the cockerel outside the widow at sunrise! But I guess it adds character to the place!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2013 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: Aba Kaba Homestay is a delightful little oasis tucked away from the 'madding crowd'. As a home it has been in the same family for generations and the family did all they could to make our stay a good one. For the first time on our trip I found that I could really relax at Aba Kaba it really is peaceful . The breakfast was special - much more than the usual bread and jam. We enjoyed sitting in the garden both for breakfast and during the evening. A gem of a find which I would love to visit again someday.

Disliked: Nothing once we had worked out the best way to get there!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Having read a lot of reviews before booking, we were not disappointed with any aspect of the stay at Apa Kaba. The breakfast was basic but good and more than adequate. The atmosphere is very relaxed. The laundry services was very good. The gardens were really nice. There are a couple of malls in the area and the food courts are very reasonable for food.

Disliked: The location of the property is in a neighborhood area and walking around the area after dark was a bit daunting as the street lighting and pavements are at times poor. Also you need to be aware of the traffic as you often have to walk on the road.


See all Malacca hostels