We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malacca hostels

Reviews of Discovery Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 3, Jalan Bunga Raya, Malacca, Malacca, Malaysia 75100

76.7% Overall Rating

18 out of 26 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/09/2011)

"Cheap, great AC, free internet, free laundry, free breakfast/coffee/tea all day, satellite TV, good roof patio, comfortable beds, only steps away from Pasar Seni LRT station, friendly staff, super clean, cooking…"

Read all Discovery Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 85.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malacca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malacca

Hallmark Inn Hotel
39.64 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel
6.86 USD

Hostel 78.3% 19 reviews
Riverone Residence
7.62 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 15 reviews
Sayang-Sayang Guest House
4.57 USD

Guesthouse 75.0% 34 reviews
Bala's Place
7.62 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 8 reviews
Jalan-Jalan Guest House
4.88 USD

Hostel 90.3% 151 reviews
Tony's Guesthouse
5.03 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 157 reviews
Hallmark Hotel Leisure
36.59 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

18 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Discovery Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
82.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 26 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wan Hua Cheng

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Wan Hua would recommend this property

Liked: great location near chinatown, lots of food options. great bar by the riverside.

Disliked: wish there were more toilets. 2 toilets shared amongst 50 people was rather annoying.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2012

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: You get what you pay for. If you have a couple more dollars to spend, I would recommend going elsewhere.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Zackary Bernholtz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012

Liked: Location was excellent

Disliked: The layout, security there weren't enough lockers, it advertised itself as better than it was

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joshua Browne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012

Liked: I liked that it was close to most of the things to see in Melaka.

Disliked: The staff is terrible! Only stay here if you want to save money because it is really cheap. But the staff is unhelpful about things to go and do around Melaka and every time I asked a question I received a smart ass answer in return.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, great AC, free internet, free laundry, free breakfast/coffee/tea all day, satellite TV, good roof patio, comfortable beds, only steps away from Pasar Seni LRT station, friendly staff, super clean, cooking facilities.

Disliked: I may have just been unlucky with when I happened to stay there, but it wasn't overly sociable. And KL seems to be a big, transitory city anyway, rather than being a particularly lively place to rage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lou McCormick

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Lou would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing stay at the Discovery Guesthouse :-) The service provided was totally more than expected...The owner and his team went out of their way to ensure we were really looked after! The Guethouse is exactly as described if not better! If your off to Melecca get this place booked early so you don't miss out :-) We will be back for sure!!! Lou and Bruce

Disliked: Having to pack up and leave on Monday afternoon :-)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011

Liked: It was safe enough.

Disliked: The rooms are extremely small; there isn't even a chair or a bed stand to put your stuff on. The beds are either too soft or too hard depending on which rooms you choose. You need to turn on the water for the toilet every time you use it otherwise the toilet doesn't work.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its fun, good location and they offer lots of additional services, like arranging transportation to the station and tickets and stuff.

Disliked: as a single female traveller I didn't feel very safe because all the personell are males and the bar also is mainly men! Nothing bad happened, but it was just a feeling. I think if I wasn't alone I wouldn't notice at all. So girls traveling alone- the level of comfort will depend on your safety considerations.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Robert Milner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: See above

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

katie birch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2011

Liked: the bar and the people who work there are very friendly - gave us a spare set of playing cards and a free notebook.

Disliked: the shared toilet/shower rooms were not really hygenic and clean. they are not clear on the description that they are shared toilet and shower facilities or that they only have squatting toilets on the hotel floors - if you want a western toilet you have to go down to the bar! no towels given and only a poor conditioned blanket on the bed - luckily we had sleeping bags which even though it is stifling you needed because the air con is far too cold! Also the guys who worked there had no problem selling us 5 packets of tobacco despite knowing we were going to singapore and would not be allowed to bring it into the country with us - cheers guys!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Candy Tomkins

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

05 December 2010 Candy would recommend this property

Liked: The best bit about the hostel is actually the cafe which is a good place to chill out and relax or meet other people. The staff are very friendly. James was always chatting to me for the 3days i spent there. The rooms are pretty basic as you would expect and the air-con was too cold one night but was sorted as soon as we mentioned it. The showers and toilets are ok. Its in a very good location close to city sights. Would stay again !!

Disliked: Candy left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Angela Robinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for 1 night at The Discovery. The double room was clean and had air con but no curtains so we had to hang a towel at the window to block the light out. The cafe is a good place to sit and have a drink and relax. The staff are really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The loo and shower is very basic. I didn't mind it for a night but couldn't put up with it for more than that really.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

chris matthews

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2010 chris would recommend this property

Liked: central, nice (if predictable) ambience, class spiral staircase up the outside (festooned with blinking coloured lights at night !) for late return

Disliked: Manager is a sour type, a bit overpriced for rooms and VERY for dorms (which are internal no-window prefab boxes) also showers and toilets really need updating

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very nice and helpful and gave good advice on what to do within the areaThe owner was also present and he too was helpful and very welcoming

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are great. Everyone including the boss is very friendly. I would really recommend this place due to the atmosphere and the welcome.

Disliked: beds very average

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent and the staff could not have done more to help me. Whatever I needed, they had already thought of it and even sorted out my onward travel arrangements so I did not have to worry. Brilliant.

Disliked: It was quite quiet although I think that was the time I was there more than anything else.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jaap Hoeve

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

14 August 2010 Jaap would recommend this property

Liked: Actually a lot cleaner than the ratings said. Everything was spotless, maybe the cleanest place I've seen in Malaysia so far. Location is great: right in the centre of Malacca's action. In the evenings, people from other places come here to join in the fun, so that's saying enough.

Disliked: The live band that performed here in the evening (apparently there's one every night) was mediocre and in my opinion unnecessary. But that's Asia for you. Also be warned that one of the staff 'lives' in one of the dorms. He has to wake up at 7AM and has a really annoying alarm clock jingle. It woke everyone up and he pressed 'snooze' twice...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Paul Herrmann

25 June 2010 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked the place.The room and the toilet weren't the cleaniest, but the location, the restaurant and the staff will make your stay to an awesome one.The manager took us every morning to another restaurant to eat typicall malaysian food- and that for free.we definitely can recommend the kitchen, too.the food was just perfect.they have bicycles for rent and internet for free...we think we never had such a nice stay again in sea.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jamie Barden

07 June 2010 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Bob, the owner, went out of his way to make us feel at home at the Discovery Guesthouse and in Malacca. He took us to some great local restaurants. James, the receptionist, was very friendly and helpful. The dorm rooms across the street (they are new!) are clean, quiet and comfortable. My time in Malacca was great because of Discovery Guesthouse and I'm going to stay longer now!

Disliked: Jamie left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

LISA MERIGHI

31 May 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: LISA left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ee Wan Leong

05 April 2010 Ee Wan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room and bathroom, great location.

Disliked: Ee Wan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah thomas

05 April 2010 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We thought this was a "drinking den" from the guidebook we had, but actually it is SO MUCH MORE!!! The location couldn't be better, live music was a hoot, the place was clean (but quaint) and the staff made my daughters Birthday very memorable!! Met heaps of interesting people from all over the world. Would definitely recommend!! Thanks again Teng (and the boys)

Disliked: sarah left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good fun location, discounted beer and quite clean rooms in comparison to other hostels I've had on my way in Thailand and Malaysia. The room overlooking street was quite loud though. But was properly air coned.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Siran Zhan

26 December 2009 Siran would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and some of the staff were really friendly and helpful.It has a bar with a live band which adds really enjoyable entertainment to its own night life. The hostel has a good display of interesting antic stuff and it was very creatively decorated for Christmas.

Disliked: Siran left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Esther Prochaska

28 October 2009 Esther would recommend this property

Liked: Everybody at discovery was awesome, it has a most chill atmosphere. Overall one of the best places I have stayed.

Disliked: Esther left no negative feedback.


See all Malacca hostels