HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malacca hostels

Reviews of Jalan-Jalan Guest House

Hostel | 8, Jalan Tukang Emas, Malacca, Malaysia 75100

90.3% Overall Rating

145 out of 151 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2014)

boram lee thinks…

"The owner sam is very kindness and friendly. and you don't need to worry to be a 2nd floor bed ! in the dorm there are only 1st floor beds :P very peacefull place :>"

Read all Jalan-Jalan Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malacca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malacca

Bala's Place
7.91 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 8 reviews
Tony's Guesthouse
5.22 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 154 reviews
Riverone Residence
7.91 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 15 reviews
Sayang-Sayang Guest House
4.75 USD

Guesthouse 75.0% 34 reviews
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
4.75 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 268 reviews
Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel
7.12 USD

Hostel 78.3% 19 reviews
Fernloft Malacca, The Heritage Hostel
7.91 USD

Hostel 84.6% 5 reviews
Discovery Guesthouse
4.75 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

145 out of 151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jalan-Jalan Guest House'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 143 of 146 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

boram lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 boram would recommend this property

Liked: The owner sam is very kindness and friendly. and you don't need to worry to be a 2nd floor bed ! in the dorm there are only 1st floor beds :P very peacefull place :>

Disliked: the plugs ~ . need one plugs to one bed i think :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Khwanruthai Siriporn Pukhaphak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Khwanruthai Siriporn would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff , great place to stay feel like home , cheap

Disliked: Khwanruthai Siriporn left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2014

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: They didn't mention they don't have glass in the windows, it's like sleeping in a shed, Mosquitos in and out as they please, showers in the gardens. Free tea and coffee but no milk?

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

EU KIAN LEONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2014

Liked: I like the location, atmosphere and the staff, everything seem very good and good value for money.

Disliked: Except the main dorm room at first floor, the rest of the house included the living can be a place for smoking, it is unfair for non smoker because I can feel the smoke came into first floor dorm room. I hope the management can take this seriously because not everyone like this kind of smell.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kartika Lestari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Kartika would recommend this property

Liked: I love the atmosphere of jalan-jalan.. awesome experience stayed there.. friendly and helpfull staff... very recommended!!

Disliked: Kartika left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the indoor outdoor feel. I didn't have any more problems with mozzies than I usually do after putting spray on. Good value for money and location is excellent.

Disliked: I stayed twice, and the first time I was in the main hostel in the large dorm which was great, but the second time in the other hostel and all of the mattresses and pillows were dipped and lumpy- need to be replaced ASAP everyone was complaining about their backs they were very uncomfortable. I don't understand why have one shower that is cold? Ends up being a queue for one hot shower and with hot people have the option to turn it to cold if they want. Air con is on a timer apparently because people moan about it being too cold and too hot, I wasn't allowed the remote to over ride it when the room was baking. I think just leave the remote in the room everyone in there are adults and are able to discuss among each other if they are too hot or cold. Washing machine needs a clean out clothes come out covered in fluff. Despite this I would stay again for sure as I really liked it, just some suggestions.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Jenkins

Alone

Relaxation/spa

30 December 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and helpful staff

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Bicycles available. Map of the area. Laundry service. Hot water. No bed bugs so far.

Disliked: The dorms can be sometimes very hit and only a fan can cool down. The hindu temple and the mosque can be noisy in the morning. Make sure you have earpluhs if you want tonavoid being wokennuo too early.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only one dorm, no bunkbeds. Creates very social atmosphere. Great location.

Disliked: Staff was almost never around. When I left (around 10am) there was nobody at reception. Am happy I didn't have a deposit that needed to be refunded. When they were there though there were very friendly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the heart of Chinatown and therefore full of character. Very nice dormitory with lots of space and no bunkbeds.

Disliked: I don't like the smoking that's allowed in the reception area - and the yes to shoes policy results in dirt and noice (on a wooden floor).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Briah Fischer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Briah would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Briah left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kristen Catanzano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Kristen would recommend this property

Liked: Sam was pretty nice. Good location.

Disliked: Bathroom was a walk outside. The other front desk guy wasn't too helpful. The people staying there at the time weren't too chatty but that's no reflection on the guesthouse itself.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place, situated around what I wanted to see...I guess since the city's not that impressive. But the hostel was really a find and clearly I'm not the only one to say so. Met plenty of people and the owner rent bicycle for 5RM per stay ;)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Groth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: JalanJalan is my favourite Hostel on my trip so far, I stayed 2 weeks! Sam is so cool, and even surprised me on my birthday with a party! The place has so much atmosphere, and is very social, with most of the guests joining eachother for dinner at some local restaurants. The dorms are great with a fan on each bed, electricity plugs and lockers for everyone. The shower had great power and I allways had a cold one (which was great in the heat). Thanks Sam and Manuel for a great stay! Thanks for all the beer :D

Disliked: Most people complained of mosquito bites, but I didnt get bit once in the two weeks I stayed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere & location. Friendly & helpful staff. Large, clean & airy dorm with single (not bunk) beds. Plug socket & individual fan for each bed. Cheap beer, & free tea & coffee. Amazing cafe round the corner (Limau Limau) serving wholemeal bread (not sweetened), ciabattas, apple crumble, milkshakes & smoothies.

Disliked: Did not provide towels, blankets very small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic but clean bathrooms. Great location just off Jonker Street and all tourist attrations are right on the doorstep! Quiet at night!

Disliked: Only 2 showers - however never had to wait!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ewan Kingston

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 May 2013 Ewan would recommend this property

Liked: Very genuine hosts, clean place, easy procedures.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. The atmosphere is very good.

Disliked: Too many mosquitoes. But this is probably the general problem in Malacca.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lesley Toms

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2013 Lesley would recommend this property

Liked: We phoned for extra details to find the hostel and Sam the owner was very helpful, he even rang us back to check where we were and that we were ok. Unfortunately we were pick pocketed on the bus to the hostel, but Sam and Lee were very helpful and offered to help us make a police report and even contact home. The hostel was in a great location, only seconds from the famous Jonker Street. The beds and dorm were very clean and even tho there was just one hot shower for all there was no queuing.

Disliked: The showers although we're clean, they need serious renovation! There were lots of Mosquitos and creatures in and around the showe/toilet area. The dorm room had no door, or glass in some of the windows so with no mosquito nets everyone in the dorm were covered in bites, Sam did give us mosquito coils but they just weren't enough, I'm still itching now!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has a very nice atmosphere, thanks to the high and open rooms there is a lot of space and the staff is super nice.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very socialble, staff were helpful and the dinner club is great if you want to meet new people. Location is good also.

Disliked: Dorm is very open, windows open and light on all evening so mosquitoes had a field day! You also have to walk outside to goto the bathroom and shower which isn't ideal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really cute hostel in a great part of town. The 'dinner club' where those staying in the hostel go out to eat together is great if you're travelling solo.

Disliked: No air conditioning...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Moxon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the indoor-outdoor style, even if it did incur a few extra mozzy bites! The staff are really friendly, they've got a good library of travel guides, and the Dinner Club idea where everyone goes out to eat together is such a great way to socialise. The showers are good too.

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The meeting with the other guests and the very helpful stuff. Very good experience.

Disliked: Like nearly everything.


See all Malacca hostels