We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malacca hostels

Reviews of Jalan-Jalan Guest House

Hostel | 8, Jalan Tukang Emas, Malacca, Malaysia 75100

88.9% Overall Rating

149 out of 156 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/02/2015)

Amelia Goodson thinks…

"I can't say a bad word about this place! Clean (both showers and dorm), good security, cute little place in Chinatown, bike rental for 5RM for the duration of your stay, reliable wifi, friendly and…"

Read all Jalan-Jalan Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malacca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malacca

Bala's Place
6.98 USD

Guesthouse 88.9% 9 reviews
Tony's Guesthouse
5.58 USD

Guesthouse 89.5% 161 reviews
Riverone Residence
6.98 USD

Guesthouse 90.9% 17 reviews
Sayang-Sayang Guest House
4.19 USD

Guesthouse 72.9% 36 reviews
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
4.19 USD

Hostel 90.4% 274 reviews
Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel
6.14 USD

Hostel 78.3% 19 reviews
Fernloft Malacca, The Heritage Hostel
4.74 USD

Hostel 75.2% 6 reviews
Discovery Guesthouse
4.19 USD

Guesthouse 77.0% 29 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

149 out of 156 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Jalan-Jalan Guest House'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 147 of 151 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: within center

Disliked: bathrooms dirty or not working

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sreesh V

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2015 Sreesh would recommend this property

Liked: Nice environment to stay and get to know other solo-travellers!

Disliked: Nothing, really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia Goodson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2015 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: I can't say a bad word about this place! Clean (both showers and dorm), good security, cute little place in Chinatown, bike rental for 5RM for the duration of your stay, reliable wifi, friendly and helpful staff and social activities organised (lunches and dinners) all for a super cheap price. Loved it.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robin van Hees

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015

Liked: Jalan Jalan is centrally located and the staff is very friendly. It is a clean and bed bug free place with nice hot showers and free coffee and tea in the morning. Comfortable beds. Guests can rent bicycles from the guest house for only RM 5 unlimited (I didn't do it, but it is very cheap)!

Disliked: Many positive things, but also a couple of negative things unfortunately: The floor in the fan-dorn is made of wood, which means that when someone walks through the dorm, your bed will be shaking a lot. The 'blankets' the provide are more kitchen towels...too small too cover your whole body. Every bed in the dorm has its own HUGE fan, which is a very bad idea! The lowest speed is already far too strong, and number 3 is like a hurricane! So at night the dorm is too windy (makes you sick) and the noise of all the fans together can be very annoying. About 30 metres from Jalan Jalan is a mosque, waking you up in the very early morning, every day. Another thing, which is more a problem of the whole Melaka Heritage area is the disco-rikshaws which drive through the streets until after midnight, with their super loud music. Super annoying. They should prohibit it. All of those negative things together resulted in me having an extremely bad sleeping quality.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

boram lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 boram would recommend this property

Liked: The owner sam is very kindness and friendly. and you don't need to worry to be a 2nd floor bed ! in the dorm there are only 1st floor beds :P very peacefull place :>

Disliked: the plugs ~ . need one plugs to one bed i think :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Khwanruthai Siriporn Pukhaphak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Khwanruthai Siriporn would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff , great place to stay feel like home , cheap

Disliked: Khwanruthai Siriporn left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2014

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: They didn't mention they don't have glass in the windows, it's like sleeping in a shed, Mosquitos in and out as they please, showers in the gardens. Free tea and coffee but no milk?

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

EU KIAN LEONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2014

Liked: I like the location, atmosphere and the staff, everything seem very good and good value for money.

Disliked: Except the main dorm room at first floor, the rest of the house included the living can be a place for smoking, it is unfair for non smoker because I can feel the smoke came into first floor dorm room. I hope the management can take this seriously because not everyone like this kind of smell.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kartika Lestari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Kartika would recommend this property

Liked: I love the atmosphere of jalan-jalan.. awesome experience stayed there.. friendly and helpfull staff... very recommended!!

Disliked: Kartika left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the indoor outdoor feel. I didn't have any more problems with mozzies than I usually do after putting spray on. Good value for money and location is excellent.

Disliked: I stayed twice, and the first time I was in the main hostel in the large dorm which was great, but the second time in the other hostel and all of the mattresses and pillows were dipped and lumpy- need to be replaced ASAP everyone was complaining about their backs they were very uncomfortable. I don't understand why have one shower that is cold? Ends up being a queue for one hot shower and with hot people have the option to turn it to cold if they want. Air con is on a timer apparently because people moan about it being too cold and too hot, I wasn't allowed the remote to over ride it when the room was baking. I think just leave the remote in the room everyone in there are adults and are able to discuss among each other if they are too hot or cold. Washing machine needs a clean out clothes come out covered in fluff. Despite this I would stay again for sure as I really liked it, just some suggestions.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Jenkins

Alone

Relaxation/spa

30 December 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and helpful staff

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Bicycles available. Map of the area. Laundry service. Hot water. No bed bugs so far.

Disliked: The dorms can be sometimes very hit and only a fan can cool down. The hindu temple and the mosque can be noisy in the morning. Make sure you have earpluhs if you want tonavoid being wokennuo too early.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only one dorm, no bunkbeds. Creates very social atmosphere. Great location.

Disliked: Staff was almost never around. When I left (around 10am) there was nobody at reception. Am happy I didn't have a deposit that needed to be refunded. When they were there though there were very friendly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the heart of Chinatown and therefore full of character. Very nice dormitory with lots of space and no bunkbeds.

Disliked: I don't like the smoking that's allowed in the reception area - and the yes to shoes policy results in dirt and noice (on a wooden floor).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Briah Fischer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Briah would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Briah left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kristen Catanzano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Kristen would recommend this property

Liked: Sam was pretty nice. Good location.

Disliked: Bathroom was a walk outside. The other front desk guy wasn't too helpful. The people staying there at the time weren't too chatty but that's no reflection on the guesthouse itself.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place, situated around what I wanted to see...I guess since the city's not that impressive. But the hostel was really a find and clearly I'm not the only one to say so. Met plenty of people and the owner rent bicycle for 5RM per stay ;)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Groth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: JalanJalan is my favourite Hostel on my trip so far, I stayed 2 weeks! Sam is so cool, and even surprised me on my birthday with a party! The place has so much atmosphere, and is very social, with most of the guests joining eachother for dinner at some local restaurants. The dorms are great with a fan on each bed, electricity plugs and lockers for everyone. The shower had great power and I allways had a cold one (which was great in the heat). Thanks Sam and Manuel for a great stay! Thanks for all the beer :D

Disliked: Most people complained of mosquito bites, but I didnt get bit once in the two weeks I stayed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere & location. Friendly & helpful staff. Large, clean & airy dorm with single (not bunk) beds. Plug socket & individual fan for each bed. Cheap beer, & free tea & coffee. Amazing cafe round the corner (Limau Limau) serving wholemeal bread (not sweetened), ciabattas, apple crumble, milkshakes & smoothies.

Disliked: Did not provide towels, blankets very small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic but clean bathrooms. Great location just off Jonker Street and all tourist attrations are right on the doorstep! Quiet at night!

Disliked: Only 2 showers - however never had to wait!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ewan Kingston

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 May 2013 Ewan would recommend this property

Liked: Very genuine hosts, clean place, easy procedures.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. The atmosphere is very good.

Disliked: Too many mosquitoes. But this is probably the general problem in Malacca.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lesley Toms

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2013 Lesley would recommend this property

Liked: We phoned for extra details to find the hostel and Sam the owner was very helpful, he even rang us back to check where we were and that we were ok. Unfortunately we were pick pocketed on the bus to the hostel, but Sam and Lee were very helpful and offered to help us make a police report and even contact home. The hostel was in a great location, only seconds from the famous Jonker Street. The beds and dorm were very clean and even tho there was just one hot shower for all there was no queuing.

Disliked: The showers although we're clean, they need serious renovation! There were lots of Mosquitos and creatures in and around the showe/toilet area. The dorm room had no door, or glass in some of the windows so with no mosquito nets everyone in the dorm were covered in bites, Sam did give us mosquito coils but they just weren't enough, I'm still itching now!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place has a very nice atmosphere, thanks to the high and open rooms there is a lot of space and the staff is super nice.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.


See all Malacca hostels