We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malacca hostels

Reviews of Ringo's Foyer Guest House

Hostel | 46-A Jln Portugis, Malacca, Malaysia 75200

89.8% Overall Rating

250 out of 269 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/09/2014)

Lucy Clark thinks…

"The owner is very friendly and makes sure you feel welcomed and included. He'll introduce you to everyone and remember your name! Also felt quite safe as you can't get in without your key card and…"

Read all Ringo's Foyer Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malacca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malacca

Sayang-Sayang Guest House
5.49 USD

Guesthouse 75.0% 34 reviews
Hallmark Hotel Leisure
36.59 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Fernloft Malacca, The Heritage Hostel
5.49 USD

Hostel 84.6% 5 reviews
Jalan-Jalan Guest House
4.88 USD

Hostel 90.3% 151 reviews
Bala's Place
7.62 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 8 reviews
Riverone Residence
7.32 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 15 reviews
Tony's Guesthouse
5.03 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 157 reviews
Budget Lodge
7.93 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

250 out of 269 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ringo's Foyer Guest House'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 240 of 246 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lucy Clark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2014 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very friendly and makes sure you feel welcomed and included. He'll introduce you to everyone and remember your name! Also felt quite safe as you can't get in without your key card and there is security cameras on the front door. The roof terrace is a nice place to hang out and meet other travelers and the free breakfast (toast and jam) is a bonus.

Disliked: Not much

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very clean and a lot of chill out areas. Free coffee, tea and water all the time. Howard is a great host and amazing. Everyday you have the opportunity to have supper in the city with Howard and the other guests staying at the house. Absolutly recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the most friendlist owners I have met and invites everyone in the hostel to do stuff together which is really nice

Disliked: How sometimes you have to wait to check in if the owner is not about

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

lisa achatzi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 June 2014 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Roof top is nice, location ia very good

Disliked: You have to pay for everything, towels, computer. Breaky is plain toast. there is never anyone at reception. And knowledge about bus... not there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Romy Gallardo de la Hoz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2014 Romy would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Staff is fantastic, location is good. Facelities are nice. Its clean , comfort. The owner goes out every night invite the whole hostel so you can meet everybody.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Madonna Crouse

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014 Madonna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. It is a very sociable place to stay; group bicycle rides and dinners out on various nights. It is obvious that they enjoy the travelers and is a welcoming atmosphere. The location is perfect. It is close to the river, restaurants, fresh fruit & vegetable markets, attractions, and public pool. The accommodations are clean, comfortable, and homey. We had access to clean water, refrigerator, and we were able to keep up on our laundry. We lengthened our stay because we were enjoying ourselves and it is a nice relaxing atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing, we enjoyed our stay emensely.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Vautier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2014 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have stayed at! Howard makes such an effort to know everyone and introduce us all to each other, and every night he took us all out for dinner in a big group and cycling around the beautiful city, then beers on the hostel rooftop .... awesome.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing owner "Howard" who is super friendly and helpful. He runs free bike tours each evening which normally ends up at a local food place. Gave us a real insight into Chinese new year by taking us to a local celebration as well as setting off Lanterns from the roof top.

Disliked: The two bathrooms on our floor were a little far from our room, one was great and the other was very basic without sink. But this is nit picking.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthew Jackson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Howard was very helpful and seemed to really love what he did. Accommodation was just what we needed and location to all the main sights is perfect, especially if you want to go to the night markets on the weekend.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chelsea gee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2014 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: Howard was brilliant and very friendly. We liked the homely atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

marie-eve Bedard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 marie-eve would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place, the atmosphere is good, staff and the people there at the time were nice! Really good value for the price and there's lots of good places to go eat around!:)

Disliked: Not a very bug deal but there's only 3 plug ins for a 4 bed dorm so it's a bit inconvenient when the dorm is full but there's other places to charge your stuff in the house so it's not too bad!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

helen lin

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2014 helen would recommend this property

Liked: friendly owner you can meet other travellers easily there

Disliked: helen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ben Pettitt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with loads of character, near to Chinatown and the centre of the city. Comfortable room with aircon, kitchen and rooftop terrace. Really social place with lots activities going on so would be good for solo travellers. Excellent value.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location just near Chinatown. Room was a good size with comfortable bed. Good atmosphere with plenty of areas to hang out & meet other travellers including the roof top chill out area. Owner Howard organised a trip to the night market, a couple of bike rides & made a real effort to make sure his guests were enjoying their stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved our stay at ringo's. It's basic but good for the price. Howard was great and his bike tours were a great way to see the town and get some good local cheap eats as most of the restaurants on the main strip are a bit more pricey and touristy. Would definitely recommend this place to others.

Disliked: Not really a dislike but just Make sure you book or let Howard know your coming because he is often out and about and the door will be locked so you can't get in to enquire.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alexandra Sparr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013

Liked: Close walk to attractions and Howard is very nice.

Disliked: Located on a road that is very sketchy at night. Taxi had A LOT of trouble locating this place when we were coming in from the bus station (thankfully, Howard came to find us). The place is not well maintained-- bedrooms were horrific, my friend has said several times that it felt like someone had been murdered in our room. Everything in there was probably older than I am and the curtains had some huge brownish-red stains on them (hence the murder comment). The beds just felt filthy. Pillows provided were old throw pillows that had their cases sewn on and no additional, properly cleaned pillow case was provided. Pillows were heavy and lumpy from all the dead skin that collects in pillows over time. This place felt so dirty that neither my friend nor myself could bring ourselves to shower during our short stay here. Very uncomfortable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

cheung wai ping

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2013 cheung would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: cheung left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was quiet at night, at nice to have a good night sleep.

Disliked: on the weekdays, u cannot walk back to the property after 10 at night, u can get mugged.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bo Ning

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Bo would recommend this property

Liked: surroundings are great! and So cozy, it just feel like at home

Disliked: Nothing for dislikes

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best way to describe ringo's is its like grotty student digs but you don't mind being there because the people are nice.

Disliked: the bathrooms. breakfast was 2 slices of toast with butter, no spreads

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anke vom Hemdt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2013 Anke would recommend this property

Liked: Das Gebaeude ist schlicht und einfach eingerichtet. Details wie die uberall verteilten Fahrraedern geben dem Haus einen WG scharme. Ueberall verteilt befinden sich gemuetliche Sitzecken die zum abhaengen einladen. Desweiteren ist die Rezeption und der Aufenthaltsraum gemuetlich eingerichtet. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und zuvorkommend. Dazu gehoert auch die morgendliche Begruessung sowie die persoenlich begruessung durch den Chef selbst per Handschlag bei Ankunft. Alles in allem bassiert dieses Angebot auf Fairness und Ehrlichkeit. Hier ist man kein Kunde sondern gerngesehner Mitbewohner. Wenn man moechte erzaehlt der Howard (Chef) gerne etwas ueber sein Land und Politik, wer es ganuer wissen will sogar bis spaet in die Nacht. Da er selbst ein Interesse fuer seine Gaeste hegt, ist er auch der beste Ansprechpartner, wenn es um Tipps fuers weiterreisen geht. Alles in allen haben wir unseren Aufenthalt genosssen. Ein weiteres plus ist die Grosse Dachterasse auf der man abends ein kuehles Bier geniessen kann.

Disliked: Die Unterkunft ist ein wenig runtergekommen, diesen Nachteil kurriert der Besitzer aber durch seine Herzlichkeit und natuerlich durch den unschlagar guenstigen Preis pro Zimmer.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Shubbuck

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

09 April 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Howard, the owner is a whirlwind of energy so when you arrive, take the time to ask him about the city, he knows all the best places to eat.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ringo is the loveliest, friendliest, kindest guy in the world. He really goes out of his way to introduce guests to each other and take care of lone travellers, Lots of great just hanging out areas, including a rooftop

Disliked: Nothing! It's a great hostel

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Diah Ayuningtyas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013

Liked: It's really close to the attractions

Disliked: We were given sheets that were too short that they wouldn't cover the whole mattresses, our room was really dark and the lamp was not helping. The curtains weren't really covering that people could still see inside, and this was really uncomfortable since we were wearing hijabs and aren't allowed to be seen without it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for two nights. The location and the atmosphere are perfect! The owner is really helpful, he took us to the nice bar and cycling. Ring's Fiyer is very cozy hostel!!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Malacca hostels