HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Malacca hostels

Reviews of Tony's Guesthouse

Guesthouse | 24, lorong banda kaba, off lorong bukit cina, Malacca, Malaysia 75100

88.7% Overall Rating

141 out of 157 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

"the room was very clean, as well as the toilett and the shower. also it is very close to the cit center, but still in a quite area."

Read all Tony's Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Internet café
  • Newspapers
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Malacca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Malacca

Bala's Place
7.62 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 8 reviews
Jalan-Jalan Guest House
4.88 USD

Hostel 90.3% 151 reviews
Riverone Residence
8.08 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 15 reviews
Sayang-Sayang 2 Youth Hostel
6.86 USD

Hostel 78.3% 19 reviews
Sayang-Sayang Guest House
4.57 USD

Guesthouse 75.0% 34 reviews
Yellow Mansion Hostel
3.96 USD

Hostel 75.0% 4 reviews
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
4.57 USD

Hostel 89.8% 269 reviews
Discovery Guesthouse
4.57 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

141 out of 157 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tony's Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 133 of 139 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room was very clean, as well as the toilett and the shower. also it is very close to the cit center, but still in a quite area.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tracey Pedersen

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: This is our third stay at Tony's Guesthouse and it just gets better and better! The location is as great as I remember. Walking distance to decent food choices, Little India, a major shopping centre with a cinema, the weekend night markets and the famous Capitol Satay House! Tony's breakfast is still fabulous and now he's making his own bread - gawds my waistline is suffering after everything I ate! This is a great little place to stay at an amazing price! You'll love Tony and his wife!

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. It's not in the humble of chinatown but close enough to wander around. The breakfast on offer (which is excluded of the price) is wide and yummy. The stuff is helpful and offers rides to the bus station for only 15rm instead of 20-25rm like taxis. Even though there was obly one shower and one toilet for 3rooms, it was the cleanest i've seen a bathroom to share.

Disliked: The walls aren't thick enough, so you can hear everything that's going on on the street and in front of your room (some kind of lounge are). In the middle of the night someone knocked on our door or nearly ran in our room, which frightened us a bit since we were asleep. We had to share one blanket, which was even too small for one person. But with the heat it was ok.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guesthouse is located in an handy area. It has a nice atmosphere and good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close enough to all the sites without being in the centre with all the noise. Very cute rooms - basic, but everything you need and CLEAN! The friendliest owner - nothing is too much trouble, and although breakfast isn't included in the price, there is a cafe downstairs with a very good range of food for good prices

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jeffrey Yu

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 December 2013 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: very old melaka style. everything simple

Disliked: a bit run down and far location.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Trang Le

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 December 2013 Trang would recommend this property

Liked: Staying there for just 1 night but everything is so good. Best thing I like about Tony's Guesthouse is the extremely friendly attitude of the staff as well as their helpful guides. I required a taxi to go to the Melaka Sentral and Tony gave us a drive himself with only 15RM as taxi there is quite difficult to catch in a short amount of time. The room is nice and cozy that is everything I ask for a place to sleep. From the guesthouse its just a roughly 5 minute walk to the Red Square and Jonker Walk where you can spend whole evening for shopping and food experiencing. Theres a night market in China Town every Friday and other days that I dont remember and tbh, "foody heaven has came to earth" is to describe such place.

Disliked: Trang left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Close to tourist sites.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2013

Liked: Secure property and very friendly staff. Best part: Located only a minute walk from Satay Celup!

Disliked: Rooms had a lingering odor and mattresses seemed quite old. One mattress was propped up by cardboard and sunk in the middle. The shower only had a trickle of water coming out. But since it is very cheap to stay, you get what you pay for.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sally Douglas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2013 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very helpful and drove me to the bus station at 4.30am to avoid issues with taxis not turning up. The room was small, cozy and clean with a place for clothes washing and drying and a kettle for tea.

Disliked: Sally left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location within the city center. Clean and tidy rooms with windows and balconies, bed were comfy as well. Friendly and helpful owners, and the bfast was superb. Great value for money. We really enjoyed our stay here. Would definitely stay here again and recommend the place.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owners were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Owners would leave at various times during the day and closing reception. This was the case when trying to check in. Had I wait around outside for 2 hours before being able to check in.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lloyd Potts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2013 Lloyd would recommend this property

Liked: Tony and his wife were very helpful and friendly, Although there was no free breakfast we did buy the breakfast from Tony one morning and it was delicious. Good price.

Disliked: Had to pay an extra 12Ringgit a night for air-con. On our final night we discovered Bed Bugs- we stayed in room A1 Ko Tao, We told Tony so believe the problem will be getting sorted, was a great shame as apart from this it was a great hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2013

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: In single private room not have air condition.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dien Doan Thuy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Dien would recommend this property

Liked: good location, good layout

Disliked: n/a

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Nguyen Vu Long

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012

Liked: The common room is very good for all the people gather and chat!

Disliked: The toilet in 2nd floor is nearly not working!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Pedersen

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

13 November 2012 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Tony makes Tony's Guesthouse the great place that it is. Whoever left that he was grumpy in their review obviously didn't take two seconds to talk to him. He is funny and well travelled and will give you any information you need about Malacca and the surrounding areas. The guesthouse is just what you would expect for the price. Comfy and homey. Tony's breakfasts are to die for. Laundry service is reasonably prices and the guesthouse is in a great location - just a short walk to Chinatown, a shopping mall, McDonalds and Cinema. There is loads of cheap food in the area so you won't blow your budget too!! We loved Malacca but most of all we loved Tony! Take the time to talk to him and ask questions - you'll be glad you did!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Silvia Alice Butta Calice

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Silvia Alice would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is a wonderful person! The guesthouse is very warm!

Disliked: Silvia Alice left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap yet very clean hostel. Would definitely recommend it for a stay in Melaka !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to tourist sites. Hot water boiler, glasses, and utensils in kitchen.

Disliked: Around 5:00 am, I would hear some kind of hammer noises outside. Not sure what it was. It was off and on for a bit and then ended. If you're asleep, it shouldn't bother you.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristal Cheong

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

26 March 2012 Kristal would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very home-ly and different from typical plain hotels. The doors, walls, and paintings were all hand-painted by Tony in a unique and colourful manner. It was also quite clean, and the beds were either very comfortable or we were very tired but we had a good night's rest.

Disliked: For security reasons, we had to lock the gate to the hostel everytime we entered and left the hostel. It was less convenient than using a coded card to open or close a hotel room's door.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner seem cold but he is friendly and helpful if you take time to chat with him. The cold expression is more of a cultural misinterpretation. Room, location is good.

Disliked: A liitle hard to find even if you have a map of the city ... cheap map not to scale.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ruth Walden

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Property was easy to find and near everything. It was also really cheap.

Disliked: Found it not as clean as I thought it would be and overall had a run down feel to it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big refrigerator

Disliked: Morning noises from neighbourhood

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Some kind off loundry starting work very noisy at 5am in the next building


See all Malacca hostels