HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Zackry Guest House

Guesthouse | Lot 735 Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi, Malaysia 7100

90.9% Overall Rating

401 out of 455 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2014)

"Friendly staff, accomodation without problems, quiet location but near some restaurants and shops."

Read all Zackry Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation policy no show or cancellation less than 48 hours due to arrival date: one night. Full-night-cancellation fees for November - February. No refund after checking in. Due to our limited rooms, we only hold the room until 1800hrs of the day; please call if you come later than that to avoid any inconveniences. Early check-in and late check-out are possible however this is subject to the availability of the room. We accept cash transactions only and all bookings must be paid for in full Unfortunately we do not welcome children below 8 years old in our property. We have a minimum stay of 2 nights - you still need to pay for 2 nights even if you stay for 1 night. Please book at another place if you do not agree with this as there is no negotiating.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Langkawi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Langkawi

Holiday VIlla Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
611.90 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 74.0% 9 reviews
Rumah Cantik
45.89 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Baiduri's Place
21.42 USD

Guesthouse 74.3% 5 reviews
Kedawang Beach Inn
10.71 USD

Guesthouse 74.6% 105 reviews
SIMFONI RESORT
10.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Island Time Motel
9.48 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.7% 4 reviews
Eagle Bay Hotel
16.83 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.8% 36 reviews
Citin Hotel, Langkawi
16.83 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

401 out of 455 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Zackry Guest House'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 354 of 380 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, accomodation without problems, quiet location but near some restaurants and shops.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff encouraged a convivial atmosphere in the common area and all were welcomed. Really pleased to be able to cook our own food as well as get decent recommendations of local restaurants. A great stay apart from one thing...

Disliked: We believe that cleaning staff went through our bags and stole some cash - only 100 ringgits so as not to be so noticeable. Management took our accusations seriously and there response was prompt. Thank you.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

KELLY WILLIS

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2014 KELLY would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly hosts a great atmosphere as an older backpacker. Very easy to extend your stay with them though be warned this place is good and is always full! Great location just over the road from the beach. Near to shops, local restaurants (though walk a little further for better sea food). Rooms are spacious and cleaned well. Unlimited water and hot drinks and cheap soft and alcoholic drinks if you want them. I would stay here again for the friendliness alone. A great mix of people. Langkawi itself is more expensive than Thailand, so don't compare it or think it's as cheap to be here as it isn't. It is very good value for the money.

Disliked: The only downside would be having to book two nights minimum, however it is always full and I understand why the owners would do this.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tonci Frleta

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Tonci would recommend this property

Liked: Room was very simple but clean. There was a air condiitioner and it's stop to work couple of times. Staff was ok, they are very nice and like to hang out to their guests. Other parts of hostel was no to clean, but for us was the most important thing taht room was ok, and it is. For that value of money, hostel was ok and it has a "soul", it's different and you need to be prepare to atmosphere, people enjoying in staying there.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Reed

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

08 February 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay in Langkawi would not have been as great if we had stayed elsewhere. Peet and Sam were excellent hosts, friendly, helpful and a mine of information. We booked for two nights, and have been here almost a week. Location is excellent, close to the beach and restos. Renting a motorcycle made our stay even more fun, and we explored pretty much every road on the island. Sam organized a karaoke night, fishing, provided a meal for all the guests with entertainment. If you are lucky enough to stay here, enjoy!

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

06 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: -

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2014

Liked: Knowledgable about the island.

Disliked: Dirty area next to the bar space. Not close to one of the decent beaches. Run down much more than we expected for such a well rated place. One female staff member made us feel unwelcome and unintelligent when discussing our travel plans to and from the island.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Ayres

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Zackry`s is awesome! The staff are friendly and hilarious and there is generally a really good atmosphere. I ended up extending my length of stay there twice. Hope to visit again in 2014 :)

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great budget hostel - big-ish room and the shared bathroom was with only one other room. Really cool place to hang out with lots happening here - they staff are great with local and onwards travel. The lady gave us advice equivalent to about 3 hours of googling in a single conversation.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good staff..Sam took us all out twice on trips! Clean rooms Good location right near the beach Good sociable place Cheap beer Good to have free water all the time!

Disliked: Not a thing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Dore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 December 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: For the money (this is highly popular tourist resort area), this guesthouse is brilliant value. The owners are very approachable and helpful and the location is close enough (for me anyway) to the resort centre and the nearest beach. A very enjoyable stay.

Disliked: The kitchen area could do with a toaster and, perhaps, a microwave (the latter could be regarded as nitpicking!)

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nushrat Ahmed

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 December 2013 Nushrat would recommend this property

Liked: I think the ambience of the hostel was appreciable. I like the access of having free cold drinking water and coffee& tea. I liked the room as well.

Disliked: The only thing I totally disliked was the staff , Sam. He is so unfriendly, rude and cold. At times i felt that he is cold towards asians more than europeans/americans. He was mostly busy playing cards, drinking and partying and if you approached him asking any tourism question, you will definitely receive a cold response.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Beadle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Such helpful and friendly staff a really great atmosphere and a fantastic location. Unfortunately. I had to be hospitalized due to an infection contracted in Thailand and the staff were very helpful and supportive to my partner. Thank you.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great. Its budget, very clean and has the atmosphere of a great hostel. Everyone is invited by the guy who works there (Sam) to come join in at anything that's going on in the common area. really enjoyed my stay and ended up staying 3 extra nights. Also very close to a great beach.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laurentiu Grozescu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2013 Laurentiu would recommend this property

Liked: Location - walking distance from the beach and downtown. Staff - great, helpful, friendly. Atmosphere - great common area for backpackers, european standards. Price - reasonable for a douable room with AC and hot shower at the end of November.

Disliked: Keep in mind that is a backpacker place. You must be young, at least, at heart to stay here. That's why the wise policy that don't allow young children and old people. One of the last places on this part of the island where a backpacker can stay near to a good beach and not pay a lot of money at the big resorts that invaded the island. The rooms aren't that big, but big enough because I've stayed in even smaller rooms on this island. Maybe the rooms need a small renovation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Rodriguez Alvite

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

06 October 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel. The best place in Langkawi. You have the beach 5 min from the hostel. Places where to eat cheap malaysian food close to the hostel ( I recommend Nasi Goreng Sunset in front of Taxi Counter 6 ringgit and delicious ) Party clubs near the hostel Swimming pool in the hostel Everydays party together as a family I booked for 6 nights and finally 10 nights, it is hard to leave Fishing trips everybody together, after, fish for dinner :D Excursions renting VAN together around Langkawi Free water 24 hours (cold and hot, tea, coffee) Shower gel in the bathrooms AMAZING

Disliked: Hard to leave

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicola Heeley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the most welcoming guesthouse we've stayed in. The staff especially Sam was very friendly and welcoming, and included us in all activities and organised a fishing trip for everyone to go on and then the fish was cooked for everyone to eat definitely an experience :) Very clean rooms, basic but that's all we needed. Affordable, good location surrounded by many restaurants and shops.

Disliked: Nicola left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Libiao Ye

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Libiao would recommend this property

Liked: Not far from the public beach, you still can use swimming pool in the Holiday Villa.

Disliked: Room is too damp & mildew, small lavatory, faucet is bad, the boss attitude is not friendly.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Massimo Rivetti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2013 Massimo would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, clean, helpful and friendly staff, close to Tengah Beach and restaurants.

Disliked: Massimo left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to a nice beach.

Disliked: The room smelled really bad.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rhian Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Rhian would recommend this property

Liked: free water/tea/coffee, good communal area and with being the only cheap place there were lots of people around. beach was close

Disliked: the staff were rude and inappropriate, we also found unhelpful because we didn't want to join the activity he arranged. The room smelt damp and the smell clunge with us for the rest of the trip (I know it's not a 5* hotel etc etc)

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

chantelle mengal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 chantelle would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious and had all you needed but the main attraction was the host, Zam, he took us around Langkawi and showed us the best spots for eating etc. Also the guesthouse put on a BBQ and local cuisine a couple of nights, lovely!!! The common area is a good spot

Disliked: chantelle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mogilev Andrei

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2013 Mogilev would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, nice, clean

Disliked: Mogilev left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: low price - good position - friendly fellow guests.

Disliked: cant complain at price paid

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel krupicka

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013

Liked: the owner put on a free buffet of local foods for his customers one night//// beyond the call of duty I am thinking.......free coffee,,tea,,,cold water,,hot water.......cheap beers,,soda on the honesty system....

Disliked: a bit far from the main beach but the walk did us good,,,they say 1.7 km and that seemed about right.....